(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

mashy, your boy is still very young, now is the exploring age.

Thanks for letting me know that Merchant Court still have the durian mousse or pengat.

Heard that the seafood restaurant at Big Splash is pretty good.

Went for checkup last Sat got scolder by my dr... sign.

When the nurse took my weight, I put on 2.7 kg. I'm like smiling to dh thinking its good. When the dr see me, she was like screaming "why are you eating so much... 2.7kg is too much!!"

the next second, she is screaming again "what have you been eating!!!" my sugar level is 250. Also very high.... sign...
so now have to watch my diet and cut down on starch and sugar. so definitely no bubble tea for me!
Have to go for the full gestation diabetic check next month, must draw blood every hour for 3 hours! MA MA MIA!!!

In the end, we are so shocked that we forgot to ask how big and heavy is bb now after the scan.

kiki
think 2.7kg is quite alot for tri2.. coz that is the kind of weight we put on at tri 3.. maybe that y ur dr is concerned.

nvm lar.. just watch ur diet form now on.. or the food in beijing is so rich that y u put on weight

pris

there's other kids there his age leh. And they don't run ard like he does. He'll just zoom from one end of the clinic to the other. Can't make him keep still and sit at the chair to wait. sigh.

jul
coz june class is too cramp in my schedule.. coz prolly shifting house then.. then too much things.. i worry cannot juggle.. then end up missing the sessions n getting stressed.. so i kiv it.. will discuss with my hb when he comes back from reservist this weekend lor..

mashy, have you set boundary for him from young? I have set boundary for my boy from young, so he knows what he can do and what cannot. Usually at clinic, he is at the toy corner or book corner.

kikilala
OMFG... seriously? draw blood every hour for 3 hours?!?!?! Ok from now on I cannot eat anything sweet liao. Else 21 March when I see my new gynae, she also make me draw blood then how??? *faint*

Aqua Fitness Class
Actually is it good to join around June? Like isnt it too late to start exercising? only 2 months till labour wor. When do I have to stop swimming?

pris

set boundary also no use for him leh. So really headache. He doesn't care. I just ended up having to chase after him all the time. I even resorted to bribing him with a manuka honey lollipop today and it only kept him there for like 5mins.
How? Any advice for such a free spirited boy? Sometimes really feel like chaining him up like a dog. sigh.

mashy, you have an active boy, can let him go to gym classes. I used to do that for my boy and told him only at gym classes he can be active but must follow instruction.

Jul,
2.7 kg from start till now. I'm 18w2d now.
I'm also concern on the high sugar level, was 250 when the dr checked. Also dont know how to cut that down... everything I eat contains starch or sugar.

hi kikilala,
i also think like you...2.7kg is considered good for 18weeks pregnant. did you take sweet stuff just before your check up?

Any of you going to ISETAN PRIVATE SALE this coming Thurs?

pris

i used to sign him up for gym classes coz there's no other classes that can get his attn! All those that needed to sit down and do work, i will end up half dead at the end of the session. Only during gym classes, he'll run abt like a crazy kid and try every gadget in the circuit.

But ever since he started school, i've stopped his gym classes coz simply no time other than sat already. And on sats, we'll bring him out to the pierce reservoir or ikea to let him run.

Hi Pinkmama

So nice leh.... Make me drool...

Hi Jul

Hi5. Me also born in the year of horse...

Hi Pris

Merchant court during is still available. That is nice too.....Going there for buffet is just because of that.

Re: durian puff

There is 1 at Joo Chiat is nicer than 707. But can't remember the name. They have a outlet at suntec city. Should give it a try....

pris
oh.. that one.. i was v disappointed with the ending.. imo, the show is too long n draggy

bobo..
yeah guess i have to just walk or go swim/float

kiki
2.7kg for whole of 1st tri til now is okay mah.. alot meh? i tot it was the increase from last visit til current visit

pris

he's 3 now. For lunch, it's still ok. He'll sit with me throughout most of the time. But for dinner, he'll start to roam. We allowed him to bring one toy to the table but it didn't work either. And he's a slow eater, so his dinner always stretch for more than 1hr.

When we go out, it'll depend on whether if the food is to his liking. If he likes it, he'll stay and finish it. If he doesn't, he'll wanna be off.

kikilala

Har? From start to 18 weeks.. 2.7kg is counted as too much? Ur gynae very ke4 bo2 leh!

I tot can put on 2kg during first tri. And abt 0.5kg per week during 2nd tri is also ok what.

can i ask arh.. do u ladies sit (on chair) with legs crossed or wat? do u find it difficult to cross leg? (as like one leg hang over the other kind)

nici,
actually, I was on the flight from Beijing to Shanghai in the morning b4 my checkup, cos no time to eat proper breakfast, so I ate the 3 small pcs of bread/cake on the plane. Then after touch down, I ate fries and salad.

Dr says it was on the high side during the last checkup, then this checkup went up even more...

fat bobo

how to cross leg with a big tummy in front? Hahhaa. No lah, can't do that anymore. It'll be worse in the later stages, the fat thighs can't even be kept closed, so have to wear pants else very unsightly.

mashy, usually my dh is very firm with my boy so he usually sit through dinner from very young. Mil allowed him to walk about and fed him and dh would make noise since he could eat with us through dinner. So i think maybe get him papers and crayons to draw?

hi kikilala

I think is because of the breakfast u have that cause your sugar level to be high. In future, before the checkup try not to take so much sweet stuff.

i oso cant really hang one over the other.. hfta use hand lift one leg up n throw over the other.
sit too long like that.. oso abit backache.

but than.. if dun cross.. buttocks ache.

kaoz.. den sometimes i cross both my legs on the chair (like in sch).. but.. ma bi aft awhile.

kaoz.. i duno la.. i wana lie down! i wish i can juz lie down!
haha.

pris

we also refused to let him walk abt. When he was younger, he would still obey coz he couldn't really get anywhere too when he's strapped on a high chair. But ever since we transferred him to a normal chair, he'll start to roam. We stopped him all the time, but he would still do it.

haha, table too small, no space for papers & crayons.

bobo.. get a stool n place ur leg on it lor..
think we have to change our positions often coz even when not preggy also can get aches mah...
put a cushion under ur butt lor.. for some people it helps.. n stack more cushions behind ur back too

I was cutting my toe nails yesterday and have some difficulties crossing my leg and bending to get near to my toes.

Was telling dh that he got to start helping me to cut my toenails soon... he's reaction was like huh!!! He said "I thought you like to go to pedicure? why stop???"

pris

oh yah. He's super active. When we brought him to sunday sch, his teachers also said he's very active, cannot sit still. At home, we've lots of toys to rotate for him to keep him occupied. Else i think i can hardly stay as a SAHM. I slimmed down 5kg in 3 mths after i became SAHM with him. Now, altho preg, i didn't put on a lot of wt coz i think i've been 'exercising' more compared to my 1st preg. He can really zap all my energy. Good thing he still takes 3 hr afternoon naps.

kikilala,

Like the rest of the ladies, i agree that 2.7kg is ok. U didn't read our earlier postings in the morning? Some of us here have put on 4 - 6kg. And i've put on abt 5kg as well.