(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

reira:
erm.. the bedok one is a condo.. :p that y can sell b4 it is completed.

finance de stuff can learn slowly lar.. just need to control and keep track ur spending lor

if u put $$ on housing, u r hoping that the value of the property will go up which of course it will appreciate. Normally houses are considered non-liquid asset. so u must have some cash on hand in case of emergencies. the ideal amt is ard 3-6mths of ur monthly income.

having bb is a siong thing.. coz other than ur pre-natal, delivery and post-natal expenses, u have to spend on baby items as well as baby's visit to the dr for jabs and checkups. Worse if bb has to be hospitalised. so must hv contingency $$.

then u still need to get basic insurance for the bb. esp healthcare n hospitalisation plan after bb turn 1mth (coz insurers take accept policies on infants after they turn 28days)

Reira, the songs are very nice. i got the CD before i given birth, i always on it for my #1 when he is still in my tummy.

But i realised that the current one, i did so little thing for the bb, no reading, no music, less talking also.....

That's is why when my husband said to get the babyplus for the #2 is not fair to the #1, but i told him off, with the #2 we spend lesser time on the baby as compared to #1.

Steff:
lol i am always constipated de.. 3rd tri was sepecially bad so i took alot of fruits,veg and fybogel.. i m also constipated now.. haha.. just have to do extra work by eating more fibre n drink more water.

no need to envy.. i think i getting myself into trouble with 2 young bbs. haha.. how old is ur #1 liao?

Bf:
i remember that time i got a shock when the nurse squeeze my boobs to get milk for my girl.. it was so painful.. this time i am gonna start my massage early liao..

Talking about hospitalisation plan. I got my boy the Great Eatern and we bought the highest premium for him. Recently he was hospitalised due to virus and my insurance adviseor told us to take the single ward.

Both of us did not realised that we can claim back only when we hit the min cap $3K. My son stayed only for 1 night and the bill was about $1k and now we've to fork out our own $ to pay this bill. We were so pissed with my advisor.

Any mummies know does or insurance company does the same if we purchased the highest prem for the hospitalisation plan?

taslyn/shirley,
Tks ... I'm not sure if i'd use oliver in the end .. will see how hubby reacts to it. I've actually told him some wks ago, if its a girl, we call her olivia. If its a boy, then oliver. But we were only talking abt it lah ... nothing serious.

reira,
There was once this pervert was standing infront of me but he put his hand behind and actually groped my private parts. Was with hubby (then bf) at that time, so both of us gave chase and rained blows & kicks on him. Luckily got police nearby and they took him away. Few mths later, the police wrote a letter to say that he's fined $2k.

Taslyn: So I believe that lots of mummies will have the similar problem (constipation) during preg. I remember my hubby have to but lots of strawberries and cherries every week during my #1.

#1 son born on 14 Apr 08 and was a premature @ 32 wks. He stayed in NICU for 8 days and the bill came to bout $10k and we've to fork out cash about $8k. Now he is 10 months plus.

I supposed yours is about 6 mths?? Started on solid already ah...

Hi Steff & Taslyn

I'm also hving constipation leh. Eat a lot of fruits and vegetable also like that.

Hi Jul

Take care if can have some rest.

Thanks, SL

I think maybe I haven't been taking enough fruits lately. Shall buy some fruits tonight & try to eat more over the next few days.

steff:
the 3K is medisave/cpf rules which in insurance terms is called deductibles.
u can get PRUshield Extra to cover that. Prushield Extra takes care of the deductibles and co-insurance.
My ger was recently hospitalised also. We got her Prushield Premium and Extra. It covered everything.

THe normal hospitalisation plan normally cover the part after the deductibles of 3K. after that amount, u still need to fork out the co-insurance which is 10% of the bill. watever that is excess of the amt will then be paid by the insurer. so simple terms:
you pay: 3K + 10% of (total bill less 3K)
insurer pays: watever is left on the bill

The different kinds/price of hospitalisation plan normally meant covers for the kind of ward which u will place ur child in. in ur case, i believe it is prolly for pte hospital wards and other benefits which u can refer to the policy itself

hope this helps. if u need anymore explanation, i try to help.

my ger:
yeah.. she turning 6mth next week. i start on solids liao.. giving her fruits puree and cereal. haha..

steff

gosh, fork out cash $8k.... pls advise if tis thing should happen, how to minimise the cost..

very worry now, cuz my hubby is jobless, im the sole income. now.

Taslyn/reira:i agree with taslyn on finance........bb does cost alot but......if u're not choosy and op for pass down or 2nd items....really can save a lot

clothing/toys/books:all can be reuse

formula /food wise can spend abit more(bb will drink 1 tin of milk per week...depending...boys usually consume more i found

insurance for them

stroller:best to buy a good one(i used maclaren XT,after having GRACO/2 COMBIs,found hat maclaren's the best,not weight wise though) its a long term investment,just likegetting a good set of tv

REst of the items......buy as u go along
cos eperience tells me.....i dun/seldom use some of teh stuffs i bought for bb

steff:
omg.. nicu cost alot. normally is the big bomb n there is no insurance to cover that..
i tot 32 weeks considered full term liao or his lungs still not v developed ar?

flower:
to minimise the risk, must rest more.. normally if u high risk, gynae will give u med to stabilise the bb and make u rest. that y some mummies opt to go maternity leave 1 mth b4 EDD
if really scared then contingency plan is to go to KKH C class ward. coz more subsidies.

Taslyn:tks for the website
Breast milk ~yup my SIL also helped to squeeze me boobs kakakak till bruise.....no choice cos c-section mah.....milk dun come after 3 to 4 days or more le........bt after all those it came on the 2nd day.
DEpends on how bb can latch on too,some more diffcult or with inverted nipples,then more tough looooo

flower$:cannot minimise one le ......best is choose kkh or govt hospitals...then less loo if doc feels there maybe some complications......no one knows le

pegsfur:WAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!tat guy really hv guts le!!!!!!i would kick him badly once caught!!!!!!fine for 2k!!!!!!!should be jailed for one or 2 months too......to some wat is 2K?????

Ladies the pills gynea gave us also causes constipation le...so i think diluted prune juice may help????? "diluted"

reira

Sorry, I said I aud let u know the swimsuit model to order from motherhood.com but I haven't gotten round to it yet. I was sooo tired yest.

Promise to tell u tonite ok?

pegsfur:
WATTTTTT??? 2K is so little!!..
my ex-colleague had this encounter where she was groped in Heeren.. then she lost sight of him.. but that day they were having some signing by soem stars.. so she saw that bugger in the crowds, lurking ard to find prey again. then she got a guy fren to follow him and immediately called police. they caught him just as he was molesting someone else. in the end, the fella was jailed 1 mth.

Constipation:
the multi vit that gynae give also give mi constipation. erm.. i know this sounds disgusting.. even the color changed... sigh i drink prune juice oso dun help.. so i try to massage my tummy hoping to stimulate my intestines to move lor...

Flower4: Dun worry too much cos maybe becos i'm small build and mine is a private hosp (Mt.A). So it cost more... I am only 1.48am and @ 32wks my son is abt 2.29kg. I had contraction about 2 to 3 mins and have to opt for emergency c-section. Jus my gynae to operate cost us $2k and that does not include the cost of the room yet.

I realised in S'pore to have a baby is a bomb and cannot buy any insurance to claim for the cost. But one of my friend bought US policy and they can claim for everything lah... So good.

taslyn,
I was groped at the airport, cos some HK stars were arriving too! Such perverts like to lurk in these crowds to avoid detection ... but me & hubby really gave him a hard time punching & kicking at him.

weishy,
Maybe he was a 1st offender .. dats why only kena fined.

weishy:
i din go for reflexlogy.. but some mums in my sept08 thread did... inititally will work but in 3rd tri not effective liao

pegsfur:
these kindda people shld be caned lor.. warrau so deprived meh.. cannot even spoare $30 to go geylang ar? :p

I tried the Apple cranberry from minute maid which help to relieve on my constipation but still have to eat more fruits...

Anyway, does any mummies been drinking red dates wf logan tea now?? My mil kept asking me to drink and say is good for the baby. But is really heaty..

steff;
no ley.. i dare not drink that.. wun we get too heaty?
i mean already constipated liao ley..

tat time my ger jaundice then my mil say give red date water.. in the end my ger puke blood.. send her to hospital.. scare the hell out of me n hb..

u tell ur mil u wan birdnest n cordyceps lar

weishy

i go for pvt pd, jus wish to ensure extra care.. i worry about KK. as my health is very weak since young.

steff.

i oso very short build im 1.52m.

my germans colleague too mention they have pregnancy insurance which they can claim.

shirley

Wat is babyplus?

shirley,
u intend to get from which website? I also want to get leh, but just now the guy from the S'pore office told me, even if I get via the S'pore website, it still out of stock.

Insurance:
singapore insurance does not cover pregnancy. reason being: Woman are sure to give birth at some point in time thruout their lives so it is a thing that will "SURELY" happen so they will not pay...

one thing abt hospitalisation, it is renewed on a yearly basis.. so if u dun hit the 3K this yr eg ur bill is only 2k by end of policy anniversary. it will go back to ZERO. n u hv to accumulate again

steff- tasyln is right. think your adviser is new in business, dint realise the one you bought (although highest premium) but doesnt cover deductibles and co-insurances. currently, Prudential's PruShield and PruShield Extra are one of the most competitive in the mkt. you can consider.
you can surf Prudential website for more details or if you need help, i can do so or my guys can help.

reira - you havent ordered the swimsuit right? i join in?
in time? btw, how to pay you? where you live?

kikilala - you accumulated the order for the BabyPlus already? me confirmed i want. let me know how to pay you. i can meet you somewhere in tampines.

Hi Flower4,

You may refer to the following link abt babyplus

http://www.babysingapore.com/
http://www.babyplus.com/

Pink, i am still considering where shld i get it from. If get it from SG, first out of stock, second the price is S$288/- which is much expensive compared to those selling at e-bay. But my worried is, if i get it from e-bay and 'sway sway' the item got problem, how to send back?

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=360008997748 ==> this seller fm e-bay said the item came with 6 mths warranty.

so i am still thinking to get in SG or e-bay.

shirley, i share the same tot as u. if buy from e-bay really got prob hv to send back to australia all the way. dun thk spore ofc will entertain de. even u order from e-bay it takes 2-3wks to mail over i guess, by then spore bbplus stock shd came in liao.

donkeymani, how many week you are in now?

I 'try' to decide asap bcoz i am going to 18 wks soon, i hope to let me bb use it asap. :D

shirley, i alr in wk18 liao. i thk babyplus start to use from wk18 right? cos so far i hvnt feel my bb's movement yet so i hope wif babyplus i can feel movement earlier :p also this is my #1 so i can use for #2 also

for the CD, mayb u can upload somewhere & we download from there easier.

re: maternity photo shoot
i used yew kwang for my wedding, very pleased with his skills...hmmm...but now his maternity package seems ex...dunno to take up alot

re: cot
i saw this cot at the babyfair...at $299...5 in 1...got 3 levels, even can take away the side to convert to a toddler bed....seems a good deal n very stable...the uncle can even sit on it....comes a free mattress too dat is those with holes, supposed to be breathable too....tinking of buying...includes delivery n installation....saw the advert in one of the baby mag too....only thing is its comes in brown colour...so still considering

donleymani, then i think it is ok for you to buy in SG, bcoz S$288/- / 2 is only S$144/- per baby still worth it.

I already can feel my bb's movement liao.

Can you recommend where can i upload to?

thanks taslyn!
me been in the financial services sector for > 9 years and now in mgt. *feel old* haha. can help wherever possible. you sounded q financial savvy too. u working? same sector?

me alittle off action these few days cos me firefighting in 3 areas - son w high fever, maid who is brand new (me near tears!), work. bah! *hair standing* but good thing is that i managed to set up my baby cot already! yeah! happy! :p now hoping to do up the room. saw a few websites for wall decals...still undecided. anyone with any good recommendations? thanks in advance!