(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

janice,
haha that's wat i do too.. i stay in the room when even pils are ard or in the living rm and i dun wan my ger to hv contact with the adopted kid either.. she is spoilt rotten by my PILs. dun wan her to teach my ger all the bad manners and habits.
imagine my mil hv to chase her to eat her porridge and ev morning there is a screaming/crying episode coz she refuses her porridge. super irritating. coz my ger will be napping and she will be stirred from her sleep and get scared.

as for IL carrying kid, u can place bb in playpen or mat, walkers, etc and tell them not to carry too much coz bb will be dependent. tell them plenty of horror stories where bb wan to be carried for hours on end. do it when bb is still small... then when bb is older eg 4-5mth, let them carry.. they cannot tahan it for long coz bb will be ard 6-7kgs (my ger is now 7.8kg at 5mths). it is like carry a sack of rice which moves non-stop.. haha

pegsfur,
expected lor. my mil oso start her nonsense when my hb not ard. that y to minimise conflicts, i dun go out of my rm.
i really hate my mil. that time when i doing my confinement, my mum brought fish over so i can make soup or cook to eat. MIL happily store the fish away n cook it for my BIL when he returns from NS. i was so pissed.
so i told my hb, this time ard, even if his mum volunteer to do confinement for me, i dun wan. i had to cook tonic soup myself and she only cook 1 meal a day n expect me to eat the same food and reheat for dinner. plus the food is the same evday. thank goodness my hb had the mind to tabao sesame oil chicken n the vinegar pork trotters for me.

BabyS/Pink,
good luck and update us with the result ya.

SL,
abt the bb cord blood thingy, i signed up for 10 years,total after GST is 3k.
The break down as follow:
for yearly:
1 lum sum $888, then every year $250, after 5th year, they can inc the price not more then 10%.
i go for 10 years, cos 1 lum sum $2888, no need to pay yearly anymore, after gst is $3k,(the amount is for 8 years, 2 years FOC).
all this will deduct from CDA acc,mean we can open an acc at OCBC or standard charted, gov will match the amount u put in not more then 6k. this $ is for bb cord blood n education de.
and u can name a person/friend/relative who also put bb cord blood with the bank n that person will received a $50 cheque.

good luck Pink!

Jul/taslyn/pink - i got a bad scare. i always have higher regard for filipinos than indonesians, in terms of maid quality esp education (at least for those sent here). i talked so slow liao, still not enuff, must one word by one word, and repeat 2-3 times. and must talk eye to eye, face to face. else, she says "sorry Madame?". Honest - my past Indo maids dont even have this issue..

it is all a matter of luck - so Jul, hope you have better luck. my mum says i am those swift (and negatively put, impatient) people. so she said this one sent by God to test me. goodness.

i have to wait another 10 days before i can see my baby...earnestly waiting for my gynae appt.

strictly speaking, i m on my 16th week. pegsfur, you are on your 17th week? i got confused the last count and wonder why your EDD earlier than mine but your week count how come slower than mine. or did I ccount wrongly? :p

very strange - your EDD is 17th Aug and you are 15th week, my EDD is 22nd Aug and me in 16th week? me lost count?? anyone around same date can help me verify? i dont want to be happy for wrong reason....*me also counting down to 20th week* haha, me crazy... saw a few pink rompers so cute..bought on Friday. my hubby and my mum asked me, so i know the gender? i said my guess is it is a girl.

fjm:
hmm i always had higher regards for fili maids too since they are better educated. but my recent reads on maids are so scary eg they are here for hols n no heart to work, having bf, even maid agencies are dishonest.. sigh

my aunt who is of fili descent oso hv prob with her maid and she converse with them in tagalog. so i really wonder what are the so called screening are like.

my hb n i got this crazy idea to go thailand n find a maid to come to sg to work for us.

Taslyn
baby wipes: I guess every month we need to spend like $30 a month just for wipes!!

confinement food: yah, if got confinement nanny then don't need to order those food.

heartbeat: Thanks Taslyn!! I almost wanted to buy the thingy where it claims that we can record/hear baby's heartbeat. haha. But I read online that around 25 weeks, he can hear by placing ear on my tummy. How many weeks are you now? I remembered you said you let your girl place her ear on your tummy to hear baby's heartbeat right?

freebies: Thanks for the webbies! Haha, I never knew company dealing with bb stuffs actually offers freebies. Need to sign up now or is it on going?

omg... I hate PIL who only care if DIL is expecting boy. Actually I hope my PIL don't come and visit me in hospital cos MIL will make my blood boils only. I pray that she don't bother me also during confinement. Everytime I see her F***UP face, I get pissed off. She act as if she is very very nice to me in the presence of her relatives but behind the scene, she is a evil MIL.

cloudme
what nightmare did you dreamt of? Recently I gets nightmare often also. Sometimes my hubby got so shocked when i suddenly woke up, cling onto him and start crying badly.

Cheryl
Is you left eye ok now? How come it was swollen? I was shock also when I read today's ST that merlion kenna striked by lightning. Must be heaven trying to punish govt sector who anyhow invest and lost tax payer's money!!!!

Janice
Info about TMC confinement nanny: http://www.thomsonmedical.com/press01.htm
Quite expensive and "bo hua" to get the day time confinement nanny service leh. only $300 cheaper.

My FIL is around but MIL stick to my hubby cos my FIL bo chap her. When she talk to him, he NEVER reply de!!! Cos long time ago, she nag at him until he ignore her totally. Serves her right!

mashy
Yeah, I did lost weight. Now 17 weeks already. Very weird leh! A bit worried. >_<

pegsfur
Oh my god... I am glad that you are ok after the fight! Nearby clinic as in with gynae? Now I don't even bother to answer my MIL's call, so irritating lor. Can't stand her menopause mood swing.

WTF... your MIL is really too much and really heartless. F*** B***!!!! What kind of mother will break up her son's marriage? Haiz... will be very difficult to "chase" her out now. You guys should have never agreed to let her live with both of you. If it was me, I would tell my hubby "if she dont move out, i move out with baby cos too stressful with her here, i will break down anytime soon!!". When I say it, my hubby will know i meant it!

How can you put up with her nonsense and verbal abuse for several years!?!? Your "ren gong" is really good man! I couldn't stand living with my MIL for just half a year.

I dont think you are mean and petty at all. If it was me, I will do exactly the same. Will not let her touch my baby at all!! Your hubby did the same thing as my hubby leh. He also don't like even the presence of his mother. I find it pathetic also.

smurfy
Pretty tummy! I don't think it is pre-pregnancy fats. I got the real pre-pregnancy fats - 3 layer fats! 2/3 of my tummy is pre-pregnancy fats, the other 1/3 is baby. Can see my tummy bounce bounce when I Walk de. *sob* Your is like solid pregnancy tummy. :D Very nice.

Jermaine
Your in-laws are really too much... What did your hubby comment about it? or they only do that when your hubby is not looking? For me, my in laws also never ask me about my health. I am sure they know I hate them. To me, it is best to not contact them (basically the mother cos his father is like statue in the house). If not sure make my blood boils!!!

Which hospital do you plan to give birth in? I've heard lots of good comment about Dr Joycelyn Wong from ACJ (located in TMC). Her appointment is like fully book de lor. Start of Feb when I tried to book, they told me all Sat slots taken up for Feb already. Read from forums that even if you have appointment, still have to wait 1hr +!

Are you planning to buy a flat? I also want to buy a flat before I give birth but seems that it is not good time to buy flat now. The price of flat will only drop by the end of this year.

Same, I also don't intend to give PIL our address when we got house. Now we are renting room outside and they forced hubby to give them address. so he only gave them a fake one. I hope my hubby will stand on his feet and tell them "NO!" when the time comes.

Regg Kong
Which company did you sign package with for cordblood banking? I signed up for 21 years with CordLife, cost about $5.5k (include doc fee to collect cordblood. :D They said my gynae - Dr Joycelyn Wong collected a lots of cordblood so far already)

yen
I experienced the same thing as you also!! Got once I only ironed my skirt (ONE SKIRT!!), then she gave me a PILE OF CLOTHES (hers) to iron... My MIL also say that to me "as a wife you should wash my son's clothes" and then said things like she have been washing his clothes for the past 25 years. I also feel that my hubby dont give me any allowance, so why should I do his chores?

Then, MIL also hire part time maid during weekend to do chores (iron clothes ect). She purposely ask the maid dont iron my ONE SKIRT. Then give me reason like "maid need to rush home, no time so u iron yourself". Wa lao... my skirt dont even need 5 mins to iron lor.

BabyS
I signed up with CordLife last month. If the bank closes down, they have a policy to transfer the cordblood to another cordblood bank with equal service (like AABB certified ect) with no charge at all. If I remember correctly, if you prefer the cordblood to be transfer to another bank, they will refund you the remaining storage money.

SL
_______

Bah.. just vomitted. feels so bad >_< can smell the fish oil ack..

looking at the posting of some of the mommies.. i think i'm quite lucky cos my clothes are all wash by my in-laws.. and we employ an auntie to iron the clothes for the whole family of 6..

yo ladies - how come so funny, so many of you the EDD keep changing. mine i got from the internet then went to gynae she also said 22 Aug and then period. hmmm. let's see - EDD 14 Aug, 15th week, then EDD 22 Aug (8 days later), huh..14th or 13th week only???? sian! haha, for the benefit of my sanity, i will take taslyn as my guideline - haha, EDD 21 Aug and 15th week... one week i can still take it!

pegsfur - to update table, we have our dear kyrie to do it.
must engage her help.

reira:
i think i spend more on diapers. my wipes can tahan quite long so long as my hb does not do the diaper change. he can use up to 8sheet when my ger poo.. faint ar.

freebies: they are a ongoing thingy just that it may vary from time to time. anyway u can join now, since they give free milk sample for mummies. even my gynae clinic gave milk samples. i even got step2 milk samples from the clinic.. haha

heartbeat: the dopper which cost $30+ does not work. unless u get those like what u see at dr clinic. but no need de. i am 15 wks. the reason i let my ger lie on my tummy is to let her get used to the idea that my tummy is growing. dunno if she can hear her bro's heartbeat or my gastric juices moving. but she seems to like it. haha.

re: updating of table...
i think i will consol the table and post the update ones once/twice a week. else the table v long n hog space.. lol

janice:
the edd will change according to bb growth. normally at 15wks, bb is ard 10+cm. however u dun really need to be concerned with the everchanging edd. the gynae will be able to tell u reoughly what ur edd will be. u will realise that towards the end of pregnancy, the edd dates are erratic.

oh my gosh.. i hfta wait another 12 days then can c bbs.. hb actually asked me to chg appt to this sat.. so he cld c bbs earlier.. but the clinic is full le.
):
such a long 3 wks wait....

btw.. the entire weekend.. i FORGOT abt my supplements! how nice!

last evng my MIL made birdnest for me.. duno why.. her birdnest is dark brown colour de! *faintz* den my hb asked her got soak &amp; c if got feathers or watever dirt or not.. she like simply said.. 'no lar, very clean de.. dun hv feathers!'
gosh! made me abit worried if i shld drink it!

but.. i tink pegsfur is really unfortunate to hv such a MIL.. (sorry to say this)..n hb to hv such a mother. perhaps she has some psychiotic problem? was she very affected when her hb passed?
guess if i were pegsfur, i prolly already have murdered her already! put poison in her meals or watever... else, i would hv already been in the mental hospital!
even when her own son is like behaving such towards her le.. she still continue to be such...

tink..hmmmm..... perhaps sometimes try the 'reverse' effect or watever on her? be the super duper obeying DIL to her.. be so nice..n watever, make her feel guilty of what she's said n done to u!

fjm:
actually u can sign up at webbies eg babycenter.com.sg where u key in ur edd and they will tell u which week u are in. then u dun hv to count so hard liao lor.

no lar.. those were from some hampers de.. CANNOT BE!

hahaha.

she just has no idea of preparing all these de la.. cos she n my SIL both cant take homemade birdnest.. they will hv gastric attack de.

Pegsfur,

Last time when I had my #1, I engaged one CL (we do not have maid at that time), she asked the CL to cook the food the suitable for the entire family, so it is not totally those kind of confinement food.

My #1 is their first grandson, they love to carry him day and night.

My MIL is “kan cheong” type, when I am BF my bb in my room and baby is crying, she just comes into room without knocking the door. (From that day onwards, I always locked myself in my room).

I cried a few times during my confinement month.

keke... ooops
i tot prep birdnest is easy?
soak overnight, then clean ie look out for feathers n dirty, then double boil them with rock sugar n some pao shen. or double boil in milk (<-this is yummy)

when i was with #1, my hb was the one who prepared the BN for me.

shirley:
wah ur mil is like mine. always open the room door w/o knocking. sometimes i was in the midst of BF my ger, n she still dun excuse herself s and even forget to close the door.
dunno y. my ger oso dun like MIL. if my hb bring her out, she will cry or pout immediately when she sees her. hahaha
i know of this lady whose MIL oso v kan jiong. they were out eating at some restaurant in orchard road, then bb was suckling under a BF cover and making those sucking sound. MIL got worried n lifted the cover in front of evone n continued to look. the mother was so embarassed coz her breast was exposed for all to see. the mil even acted as if nothing happened.

taslyn oh man, that mil who just lifted the cover is terrible!!!!

ur girl clever eh.. pout at her grandmother. haha

duno lar..

that's why hor that day when she took out another (small) box.. i brought it home with me.. either i boil myself.. or i will bring over to my mummy to boil for me (n sisters..haha).

last nite my hb oso kept saying wana go buy those double-boiler.. so we can make ourselves at hm.

my in-laws just hv no ideas abt food &amp; their effects de lar. last sat we went for claypot chicken rice dinr.. den when hb &amp; i reached.. my FIL said he ordered a cup of cold barley for me le. i was like barley? ya, though sometimes drink abit is ok.. but not a big cup of cold barley lor. im not sure if my body can take it or not leh..but im definitely not taking the chance de lor.

then sun cooked curry.. then he asked me.. why pregnant cant take curry..cant take chilli arh? (cos we're all chilli freaks de) but i was like.. i feel curry will make me feel very bloated de lor..n im still not out of MS yet! like..i know what my body wan or dun wana take de lor. juz told i dun hv appetite..
guess i wld appreciate a 'is there anything else which u can take better' or something lor..instead of asking me such kuku (n kind of sacastic) qtns can..

babyS
haha yeah lor. i never teach her that either. i guess it is coz she can recognise her voice as the one which is always screaming n shouting ev morning bah but one thing is my ger always smile when she play with my FIL. i think this makes my mil pissed.

babies are very smart these days, they know what they like and will show it.

Taslyn, u reminded me...becoz i stay wif my mil. Next time, i bfeed my bb, i will lock the door and bar anyone from coming into the room. In case, she kaypoh, wan to see.

fatbobo..
lol.. i guess ur ILs are the bochup type.

re: cold drinks
TCM believe that we shld stay off cold drinks coz bb will hv alot of phlegm. also too much give us cramps lar. barley is cooling too so cannot take too much.

re: spicy food
some people say dun eat too much spicy food esp 3rd tri coz after birth threashold for chili will drop.. dunno how true.

Taslyn: and maybe when baby was in ur tummy, can sense all the bad vibes ur MIL was giving.. so she also developed a dislike from there...

yeah babies dont care one.. dont like means dont like, like means like! hee..

BabyS,
Initially I had a feel its a boy...
But now though i hope its a boy, somehow I feel its a gal...hahahaha..contradicting feeling.
But we'll know it only in Aug.
Out attendance in posting anything in Aug is crucial...hahahaha...as it might be assume that we have POP..

the BF part:
i guess those who have daughters and their daughter gave birth they will understand the need for privacy when we BF.

my mil only has sons so i guess she does not know how to communicate with me. initially when i BF she disapprove. even unhappy that i express milk. keep asking me to pack away my pumps and disallow us to wash the pump at the kitchen basin.

they only bother abt themselves.. their daughter..n ya..prolly son.

anyways.. ya.. even if my FIL duno barley is liang de... when he ordered.. dun tell me my MIL became deaf that moment meh? she also know de mah.. sometimes will boil barley for the family to reduce heatiness.

they are simply insensitive.

i still take cold drinks at times.. cos really feel like so 'hot'.. but ya..i dun take too much of liang stuffs.. oni once in awhile, i will steal a sip.

oh btw.. my whole face outbreak till very jialat now!!! whole forehead so many outbreaks.. den face n chin oso.. den look so kuku nw.. cos on both side of cheeks and chin.. all hv at 1 very bigger n obvious spot. so retarded look!

dun worry abt the outbreak, it is the hormones at fault.. just make sure face is cleanse properly all the time.

BabyS:
yeah i think my ger knows mil dun love her much compared to someone who is not her own granddaughter. coz she always calls the other kid "my bao bei", "ah ma's ger ger", "xin gan bao bei" whilst she just ref to my ger by name.

taslyn, yeah.. good point...

Maybe i should make a door sign that says breastfeeding in process if i am feeding, so no one opens the door on surprised and exposed me!!

bobo, me too.. got outbreak.. thats what makes me think baby s is a boy.. cos my skin usually quite ok one..

i have got very bad outbreaks oso.. but it started from the chest area, now spreading to the neck and the back.. haiz.. i can see some spreading up to face ler...

it is pretty bad.. i went to GP for cream, but i tink need to bring it up to my gynae this thursday~

Fat Bobo, me too... My complexion used to be very good last time and i spent a lot of skin care.. Now it look like shit.. Now everyone is saying that i will have a baby boy.. Lol!

joyful, yeah mine started with chest too... but chest lesser outbreaks than face..

my colleague came straight to me and said "I think u are having a boy cos ur nose bigger and redder."

haha!! I told my colleague i already so sad with my outbreak why he so brutally honest!! hahaa..

but i do find my nose has been bigger and redder...

I was reading the postings.

Pegsfur, please take care of yourself, dun get too upset.

All of us have a fair share of horrible mil.

Taslyn, mil also came into the room to disturb when I was bfd my ds then. So I am so glad that she will not be over here to do my confinement and that everything will be fine even if I become a panda tbfd bb and caring for 1 big boy and 1 small boy haahaa. Inside of still needing to serve her.

i wonder y mil like to intrude when we BF or that we really hv to stick signs and lock doors?

wat i am afraid now is if this bb is a son, then my mil will wanna insist to do confinement for me and then go my new place to stay n bring the other kid along... *nightmare!!!*

if this bb is confirm son.. then he is supposed the 1st grandson, 1st son. my hb already told my ger that he will sayang didi more... *faint*

BabyS, same too.. My chest is like shit too! My colleagues told me my nose is bigger too.. But i dont see the difference...

oh but i tot i heard something like will be girl.. cos bb girl will take away the mum's beauty.. haha.. something like that.

anyhw.. ya.. nw i look like shit oso! din even bother to put on contact lens, din even put on any makeup (well, with all the outbreaks..oso cant apply anything!), look super aunty n yiarky!!

hmmm,
when i carry my ger that time...my face ok de...only my other parts like back got outbreak...

now my face also got outbreak...wonder???

re: nose

if i rmbrd correctly.. tink last time my bio teacher said too much salt intake will cause the nose to swell....
babyS..jermaine.. juz in case is really the case.. or in any case u tink yur salt intake on the higher side?
im eating out most of my meals..in fact all. cos my MIL' cooking damn saltish de.. so i dun considered hers home cooked food! n im never drinking enuff water.. so ya.. i watching my nose!

lol...
i tot will be girl too.. coz my frens who had sons did not have outbreak ley.. just drink plenty of water to help flush the toxins out..

my pri school gf gave her mum a terrible outbreak which left her mum scarred and pock face. that made her dad dislike her... prior to having my fren, her mum has v good complexion de.

people say give birth daughter, mama look uglier, give birth to son, mama prettier.. dunno how true... but for my ger, she gave mi a sharper face. hahaha

i only worry abt the weight which i will put on. so far i lost 2kgs... lol.. i hope i wun put on more than 10kg coz that was the weight gain i had when i hv my girl.

bb girl taking away the mum's beauty usually the indian's beliefs..

scientifically, when one is carryin bb girl, there is more female hormones, hence the mum shld look more radiant.. when one is carrying bb boi, there is rising increase of male hormones in the body that changed the hormonal balance..

duno if it is true though..

my ex-colleague got her entire chest, neck n body covered with outbreaks with she was expecting her girl.

that time she very funny.. shared with me her detail scan experience.. then.. she wanted to see her girl's face mah.. when they scan scan to the bb's face.. she said she omoz cried out! cos the bb looked like mickey mouse from the screen.. (cant rmbr if it was the 3D scan or wat..) cos the nose small small.. then the smiling mouth wide wide.. haha..they way she described was so funny.

haha... mickey mouse...
to me, it looked like alien.. coz cannot see properly. but i really enjoy the FA scan coz it is so detailed and so long.. can really see bb up close. but that time my ger very playful, she was either hiding her face with her hands or legs so i cannot see her.

then the technician will show u her face, legs, hands, count the fingers and toes, measure the heart's length, bb hands n feet length.. show u if it is boy or girl. it was really very fun.

hmmm... xiao wanzi.. ya.. your point oso make sense.. haha.

oh.. the take away mum's beauty is indian's belief arh? hahhaha..

oh dolce... when u go for your detail scan.. remember to tell the person in advance u do not want to know bb's gender yet leh..

last time my 'so-call' aunt oso chose not to know the gender.. den sekali when she went for her detail.. the sonographer or technician or whoever lar.. juz blar out your girl's this..your girl's that... then frm then, no surprise le... they know she was carrying a girl.