(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

jermaine:
being DIL of only son will encounter more probs.. or that is the situation i see ard here.
ur hb support ur decision of not letting ur PIL know the new address?

get digital locks.. then this way, they cannot come to ur house.. even if they demand for the pw, u can change it anytime u wan. that is wat i am gonna do for my house.

Good morning mummies….

Hi Reira

Tollyjoy and pigeon wipes is rather exp. Tend to use quite a lot leh. Specially if u are Breastfeeding baby tend to poo quite often. Can be 4-5 times a day. 1 time will use around 4-5 pcs of wipes…

My friend commended that the food is not bad and consider ok lor…. She order this for both her confinement. U can consider the trial and see how it goes to place save…. Cos don’t know how is the standard now since the last order was 2006.

Hi pegsfur

Cool down. Glad to hear that u n bb is alright...

Hi jermaine

Yr MIL is too much leh.... Never even concern and asking is whose fault.. Can understand how u feel. Will pray hard for u and hope the result will be fine... Take care and don't care abt her....

Hi Regg

can share with me about the bb cord blood thing. How much is it?

Hi Jul

Glad to hear the gd news....

morning ladies
this morning a lot of explosions accumulated from the weekend. my friends, ren3..no choice. i had my share of bad Sunday experience guiding my new maid. she is a Filipino, but her command of English is nowhere near any of my previous Indo maids! ...... So it is really bad, cos the ONLY common language is an issue. Last time, at least we can try Malay on the Indo maids. Worse, even though I told her no 2 rule of my house is cleanliness.. realise she can be q dirty. She actually kept her soiled clothes, underwear and bra in my guest room! goodness. The list goes on..so many things happened, cannot recount. I wanted to pull my hair.

Kikilala - you want to place order for BabyPlus? Can I join you? May I know how are you going about to place your order? How much in all? Thanks.

As I type, I am still having spinning headache. My son has had high fever and I managed single-handedly, and maid ....

Hmm.. actually my ILs have the keys to my place. It's left at my SIL's, as she's also staying near my area. Just for emergencies lah, but they have not really used them except once or twice when they came in to leave dinner for us when we were out late.

Guess it's from reading all the horror stories that I can appreciate my ILs more.

Yup.. He is the one who doesnt want his parents to know... Now his parents are very angry with him as he is always standing on my side..

pink,
never heard of him...
u tried the singaporegynae webbie to read reviews on him?

oops.. i did a search on him there but nothing much is said.. :p

fjm

Oh no! U r resurrecting my worries over maid nightmares. Yest I was just mumbling to hubby whether we shd get a maid, whether we can make do with PT maid & childcare etc etc b/c of the maid probs.

But in the end, I did say to stick to getting a full-time maid. Now u make me worry again *sob*

Jul
No lah, just that I am going to see him later to do the fetal heart scan thing. He is recommended by gynae as he is one of the few in pte practice who can do the scan.

fjm
hmm... maids...
i m also waiting to get a maid.. coz i dun think i can cope with looking after my babies and dogs in the near future.

anyone know of a good agency/agent?
i just need a maid to do housekeeping and look after my dogs...

Re: maids
Btw not all filipino maid can speak English. Last time my bro got one who totally cannnot understand. He send back to agent after 2 days.

pink

Oic. I got a shock, b/c I rem u r quite happy with ur gynae, which is the same as jermaine's right? Wondered y u suddenly wanted to change haha.

haiz... i think during my confinement i will have to take care of my own baby... both my mum and MIL working.. den no place to employ a CL..

have to order tingkat liaoz...

janice:
both times my gynae ask us if we wanted to know.
ard 15wks, gynae shld be able to tell the gender. but it is harder to see if bb is a BOY.
though my gynae told me this time it is a BOY, he say he is 70% sure coz he knows that my hb wants a boy.

even if gynae dun tell u, u always ask them. to be uber confirm abt the gender, the FA test ard 18-22wks will give u a definite answer

janice

The gynae shd tell u when he/she can see. If they dun say, I guess it's b/c they can't see yet. Coz norm during scan, they will say, "oh the BB is very shy, legs are closed.. or back to use, so cannot see" etc.

janice,
My gynae just told us without us asking leh ... But the other gynae i saw last weekend did ask if we wanna know if it's a girl or boy
So i asked him if it's a girl or boy? He said,"90% is a boy."

pinkmama,
Good luck to u

my gynae always tell me the baby is doing ok ... den thats it... the FA test is it the test supposingly to be done on the 5th month?

i'm bery keen to know the baby sex...

i keeping finger cross that its a ger.. but i thinking to stop at 1 so if boy i can "answer".. i having gynae check-up tml.. will ask my gynae tml

pegsfur, think your MIL is that kind of cannot let go type. After they rise their son to them it is still a boy, and she still refuse to 'let go'...

Will you stay with her during your confinement period?

jul/pegsfur:
coz most of the time, bb giap their legs so cannot see.. unless they open their legs big big... i heard of many cases where parents were told they expect boys but turn out to be girls coz not clear. and i think gynaes are more cautious when it comes to telling parents if they are carrying BOYs coz SG parents tend to want BOYs more

FA test is more accurate coz they are able to scan for the testicles or ovaries.

for my case last visit, i cannot see anything but gynae say most prob is boy. then i ask him how he see. then he point out 2 dots which i think is the testicles? lol... but i trust him lar.. coz for my ger, when she was 14wks, he told me that he is confirmed that she is a ger lor.

shirley,
She's living with us, but i shld be going over to my mum's place in the day, den come home at nite. Anyway, she just knew that i was preggy cos the part-time helper was trying to calm me down and saying it's not good for the bb. MIL overheard it and said,'Big tummy, dai sai ah?' meaning big deal.

Ok lor, since she said that, i'll not let my son greet her. She oso dun ever dream of coming close to my son. Dun ever come & tell me things like she is the child's grandma afterall ... or that she has the rite to carry bb etc all these shit. I'll not hear of it.

taslyn

Oh like that one ah? Anyway I'm really looking forward to my next visit. Coz will get back my OSCAR report, BT report, & still got scan for gender also. So many exciting happening things

pegsfur:
i really wanna slap ur MIL. can u mk arrangement to stay with ur mum while u do confinement? i cannot imagine the stress u will feel when bb comes.

pink, good luck... =)

i'm going for my dr's appt tonight, hopefully baby will be well, and can see gender..

so far, all my friends have told me they think its a boy. no one said girl.. haha..

pegsfur, ur MIL is terrible man...

Jermaine, good lah, ur hubby on ur side.. i mean, if he wasnt, then very hard for u too...

pegsfur, it is better for your to staying full day at your mum place.

Bcoz during the confinement MIL sometime will 'change' they will carry your bb whole day... and sometime give comment such as "mummy no milk to give you.."

your MIL Is canto?

taslyn

I almost slap her too, during the last fight when she said the things abt my m/c bb. But i controlled myself and pushed her on her bed instead.

I was really dat close to slapping her.

jul, happy to hear that you're all cleared from thal!

BabyS, pink, all the best for your gynae visits.

Janice, my gynae will normally declare the gender to us when he is finally certain. If he cannot confirm, he will say he is not sure, next round then scan again.

Pegsfur, can you get your hb to speak to your MIL and tell her to stop all this nonsense? If you hb makes a stand, maybe she will be more reasonable?

shirley,

I dunno leh .. still working out if i'm gonna stay at my mum's place or coming home, cos my mum's place dun hv room or bed for me.

Oooh .. i said liao .. i WILL NOT allow her to even come close to my bedroom door, let alone carry my bb. Ya, some pple might say i'm mean and petty, but after all that she has said & done to me, i dun think i need to reserve any respect for her.

pegsfur:
i really salute u..
but i really think u shld not stay at home during confinement coz it is a really difficult phase of motherhood. if got such a crazy person driving u mad, very easy to get post-natal blues de.
and like wat shirley said, she may even try to get ur baby from u and start saying stupid things to bb like u got no milk, mum is a evil woman who snatch daddy from me, blah blah...

during all these issues, ur hb not ard? coz i know mils who like to provoke their DIL when their sons not ard.. then deny when son question them

hmmmm...does it seems like most of you gals here are expecting a boy ? Anyone expecting a baby gal ? Ive chosen not to know the gender of my baby though

pegsfur... yeah, keep her away from u..

dolce, what do u feel about baby's gender? for me i feel its a boy, but i dreamt twice liao that its a girl... so i always tell pple cannot trust me.. haha.. i half hearted. hahaha..

thanks shirley and mich... =)

actually i think i quite mean also.. although my in-laws treat me really well... in my heart.. i know that once my baby is born.. i will keep the baby in my room.. will not allow my them to carry baby too often. Cos baby cannot always carry later they always wan carry.. even if i really need to travel overseas.. i'll ask my aunt to look after..

*shrug*

mich,
No use de ... watever needs to be said has already been said and she's still like dat. She thinks that the world owes her, dat only wat she said/done is correct. Nowadays, hubby oso dun bother to explain anything to her le. Can u imagine, when she comes home and we r in the living room watching tv, my hubby will switch it off and tell me say let's go to the room & watch. He doesn't even like his own mother's presence in the house. How pathetic can a mother get?

taslyn,
Ya, most of the time she starts her nonsense when hubby is not around.

pegsfur, if she won't realise her folly, then no choice for u and ur hb to ignore her. Hopefully one day she will wake up!

janice, I think all grandparents are the same like to carry baby cos they love the grandchild. Since your ILs are nice to you, then you explain to them nicely why they should not carry baby too much. Maybe they can help you keep an eye instead by placing baby on the playmat?