(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

mashy ha ha, now even #2 can probably benefit from these wet wipes
Where is your boy attending kindy now? is it near your place?

mich

he's at paya lebar methodist. he's creating such a headache in school. sigh. But now lesser complaints from teacher, hopefully things will be better.

pegsfur
oh, have to pay ah, i thought it was free. then if got time, should just join the credit card one. that one only $12 per yr and get 3-5% discount card discount.

mich

no, he likes school, except he's uncontrollable.
Doesn't wanna do work properly, run ard, walk ard in class when teacher is teaching etc. The teacher has to hold his hand all the time else he'll roam off.

mashy, some kids simply refuse to sit still and despite that they are actually learning stuff still from listening to things going around. Think it'll improve with time, usually by 4-5 yrs old, their attention will increase and can sit through lessons. My girl also did the same thing last time at CC, took a while to settle. She simply won't sit still and went to pple's class to kay poh what other teachers are saying *faint*

mich
u girls at which cc?

i'm sooo scared that my boy will not be able to settle in... 2 mummies in my other thread gotta remove their kids frm cc... coz the kids gotta more quiet... one kid even has daily nitemare..

fjm
Take note that the ebay site for babyplus that I posted, the SGD price is estimated based on current day exchange rate, might have some slight changes during actual transaction

dolcevita

haha, that's the only credit card that i'm still paying subscription for. :p The sales are just too good to stop the card.

When the kids are older, u can go and chiong for toys. The toys will go for 30% off, instead of the usual 20%.

smurfy, my elder one used to be at NTUC childcare at AMK. BUt this year, she has since moved to Chen Su Lan Methodist Childcare. How old is your elder one? Don't worry, kids eventually adapt. Mine cried big time for 1 week and then it was ok.

mashy, how can even suggest that? Kids are kids. If they insist, maybe you should seriously reconsider the school. They obviously can't handle the kids.

mich
my boy 2 yrs old.. plan is to put him in half day cc in june.. 2 mths before our delivery.. hopefully he got 2 mths to settle in :p currently we are attending the weekend class together

mashy,

I keep telling myself to send in the application so that I can go for the sales...but I never get to do it even till now!!!!!!!!!!!
Okie, i must do it this evening when im home and sent out tml morning, the application....

mich
err actually my plan is to put him at pat's at lim ah pin road.. we are currently attending the d-story club there on saturdays... i registered him for their half day cc last oct during their enrolment.. but indicates my preference to start him this june.. so because of this..most probably if any kids there withdraw ard that period (coz i understand all 4 classes r full).. then my boy can onli goes in... or unless i go pester the teacher and principal lor :p ... some saturdays.. i keep on reminding his teacher to keep a lookout for him for his enrollment in june :p

mich
yah... the 4 classes full by nov? ... 3 classes were formed from their d-story club students or those with siblings inside.. these 2 grps will get priority lor... so i guess no-one else in d-story club on waitlist except us.. hopefully they can squeeze him in there in June.. :p

wow lao, his d-story club 8 toddlers... all graduated except him... stay behind in d-story club then coz he's the youngest hahhaa.. but oct/nov the teacher oso said he's not ready lar.. too clingy

mich..
from webbies half day.. $909.50.. but me working mum, so half day got $150 or $200 subsidy right? . i oso dunno whether can afford #2 there or not in future.. just take one day at a step... let him/they be there until cannot take fiancially...

then again, the other montessori school i shortlisted at my place - sengkang oredi $700+ for half day leh... oso expensive..

smurfy, think subsidy will be $150 for half day... expensive, but heard they are very good, so its worth the money bah. Dun think about #2 now, can always adjust later on.

mich
i guess the teachers makes all the differences lor.. really energetic and lively..engage the kids in the activities.. *whispers* that particular branch hor,.. the principal sucks :p :x

pegsfur, cc range from not so expensive to expensive so depends on which one you pick. Last time I paid $500 for my nanny 5 days a week. But that was 3 years back now, so now could be $550-600? Are u looking for a nanny for the baby?

pegsfur
nanny oso not cheap.. ard $550 ... nannies r good when ur kids r small... they can have homecooked porridge.. some full time ccs do not provide dinners.. so meaning to say, u got to rush and fetch the child.. then go foodcourt for dinners... unless u wanna ur child to have dinner at 8pm (After u cooks:p)?.. when child is older 2 onwards.. at least outside food does not seems so much of a taboo.. and the child gets to socialize with others ard the same age grp...

mich,

How much roughly does the not so expensive cc cost? But then i oso think, the more expensive ones are the better ones rite?

I'm actually thinking of letting my mum bb-sit my child ... was thinking she cannot do it for free mah, although i know she wldn't mind at all. So want to find out how much is the market rate then give her accordingly.

pegsfur, CCs range from $500-$1.5K before the $300 govt subsidy. Certainly those more expensive ones will also have the quality to go with it since the fees pay for better programmes and hopefully better teachers

Its great your mum can babysit, definitely better than an outside nanny.

pegsfur.
there r some average ranged ccs that r quite good lar.. :p.. it depends on individual parents.. u got to go in there urself to have a feel of the environment.. u stay in punggol right? u know punggol end got one cc got carpe diem.. wooooooo it has a massive outdoor area.. faces the sea somemore... has a small swimming pool oso (though never in use).. a lot of parents chose this sch coz of the outdoor feel... and the fees ard $300 - $500 for half day (cannot remember the details)...

but i dun like got alot of PRC teachers :p :x

smurfy, wow outdoor and faces the sea, think I would be won over too! And the fees are quite reasonable leh...

As for the PRC teachers, depends on their quality. Some are actually better than local chinese teachers ;) My girl's school has this PRC teacher and she is very very loving.

mich,
Ya, other than it's safer to let my mum take care, i oso want him to bond with my family side rather than my mil.
Then again, i'm only working in the morning, so after work i can take care of him myself lah.

smurfy,
Oh yes, i've heard of that cc at punggol ... was oso quite interested becos of the environment. Oh the teachers are from PRC? So do they speak eng or mandarin?

mich
yeah! their canteen faces the sea leh.. imagine having ur tea breaks and lunchie facing the sea.. kekeke.. it was a fun fun place... very rugged type oso..

i dun mind PRC teachers teaching chinese (they r afterall the natives).. but i mind abt the PRC teachers talking english :p... i oredi speak broken english cum mandarin.. dun wanna further expose my boy to this env.... u would faint if u see the number of PRC teachers there :x

pegsfur
some mummies commented on the english cum chinese talking.. but then again..individual parents have to go there to see it themselves lar.. u might love the outdoor env so much that other things become secondary.. it really seems a fun place lar.. that time i visit the school, they happen to have a day camp and invite other branches over to playyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy ... imagine the school decorated for a games day kekekee

Aawww .... i feel like attending the cc myself!

It really seems like a nice place but of cos, must also look at the curriculam and what is being taught. But then i think, will wait till bb come out 1st then decide bah. Now like .. seems abit early hor?

pegsfur, its great you have a part time job, can earn money and yet look after the baby yourself! The best of both world
Will the company be paying for your maternity benefits?

smurfy, yes, cannot stand PRC teachers speaking English *faint* their English got very weird accent, and I don't want my girl to speak like that. The PRC teacher in my girl's cc only speaks mandarin *phew*

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $155

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $10

self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

mich

yah, i thought of changing schools, but cannot find one with available slot in the morn. Also, need to get one which will allow him to roam. Well, the teacher seems to have accepted the fact that he's staying and paying more attn. She has also become more friendly, guess she kenna feedback that she's doesn't appear friendly.

Re: isetan pte sale

I think there's another one in May. So maybe I might wait till then for the sale. Now like still abit early to buy leh. anyway, I've most of the stuff, just need to get a car seat & the bottles.

mich,

Hahaha ... yah, although i dun earn much working part-time, but at least there's some income to supplement the expenses, and i get to look after bb
But then again, the downside is I dun have any benefits other than cpf contribution. So when i'm on maternal leave, i've completely no income.

joeey
Congratulation on having a baby girl!!

About confinement nanny, actually I find confinement nanny from TMC more trustable. They are fully TMC trained!

<font color="ff6000">The TMC-trained Nanny</font>
All nannies trained at TMC undergo an extensive hands-on training programme conducted by its ParentCraft specialists. They are trained in areas such as understanding and handling a crying baby, diet and nutrition planning, and the handling of common emergency situations.

Equally important is that the TMC-trained nanny is modern and up-to-date as the training emphasizes clinically-proven care techniques dispelling common myths and beliefs formally held by many nannies.

In addition, all nannies placed by TMC have 24-hour access to a ParentCraft consultants to have any of their questions answered.

<font color="ff6000">A Nanny to Suit Your Needs</font>
Mothers can either choose a stay-in confinement nanny, which costs $2,200 per month, or a part-time nanny who works from 7am to 6.30pm daily, costing $1,900 per month. All mothers-to-be will have the opportunity to interview the nanny before employment.

weishy
Ask your SIL to not worry about it! Did her gynae advice her that by week 8, the baby's heart becomes more fully developed? Check this out: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/prenatal-care/PR00112

mashy
Where did you read the article? Must show my hubby!!! Thanks for the sales date!

kikilala
Thanks for the ebay page that sells BabyPlus!! One is $123.50 and most are $137.61. Which one should we get?

Claire
=( Hope you start to feel better soon!! I was quite lucky that I didnt get much MS at all (maybe maximum vomitted 5 times)

BabyS
About the feminine powder, make sure to find 100% Talc FREE!!! Thanks for your help regarding GAP maternity &amp; mum &amp; babes sales!! Wah, I just went to search about United square and there is quite a couple of shops there selling maternity clothes.

pegsfur
Actually I am still wearing my denim mini skirt (x2!) from FOX. XD Just wear below waist line. But better to buy during their sales (half price!!)

What part-time job are you currently doing? I am still doing full time now and after paid maternity leave, I am thinking of leaving my job. Haiz... or should i continue and put my baby at infant care? 3 months old baby in infant care makes me so "bu fang xin"!!

<font color="ff6000">About BabyPlus</font> I am quite interested after reading the details. However, I have some queries. Does it really work? o_o Is there any article in news about it? Any hospital in SG highly recommend it?

<font color="ff6000">Baby wipes</font> How long do we need to use baby wipes to clean baby till? 2 years?

<font color="ff6000">Sales</font> Why is Isetan and Taka sales all start on weekday!! Haiz!

<font color="ff6000">Q:</font> Sorry but what is Pat's at lim ah pin road and PRC?

Reira
I emailed to the seller of the $123.50 one to check if its brand new and what does the full warranty means. No reply so far. He/She has 10 sets to sell.

The $123.50 and $137.61 one are the same product but slight price difference.

<font color="0000ff">reira</font>
almost missed the post you placed for me re the skin revival. thanks - may find opportunity to try out!

<font color="0000ff">kikilala</font>
thanks for the note on the BabyPlus. i suppose slight fluctuations are understandable. already, whatever given there are very good indications of the actual price.

<font color="0000ff">ladies</font>
i m back from the Babycare Fair... in my humble opinion, it is a ........disappointment! not many booths, or rather, not as many booths as the motherhood fair i went before. sigh - i cannot find the angels baby wipes! no booth this time. i bought a few things only (just to feel that the trip is not entirely wasted, so to speak). they are:
(1) 3 tubes of Mustela Vitamin barrier cream (basically diaper rash cream) at $28 in total
(2) 2 tubes of Palmer's Cocoa Butter Formula Massage Cream for Stretch Marks (in anticipation that my current one will run out by 5th mth) at $36 in total (i was told outside it is selling at $23 per tube.)

other than that, i got a free $100 rustic nirvana voucher and a free cooking pot from delphin. i suppose which is worth mentioning. i spent only one hour+ there.. then decided to take refuge as crowds gather. you cannot imagine - already it was crowded, and there were people who brought their kiddos there, AND the STROLLERS....sigh! there was one juncture when someone ramped her stroller into my heels.

hey kilala, are u getting this shipped to Singapore or Shanghai. Hmm, if u get response, can u let me know, then you can help me order and I will trf money to you. Is that ok with you?

Kikilala, glad you found the Babyplus on ebay, the fully warranty covered about 120 days to 180days of service if the product is faulty. I can't remember exact how many days. So far, it is so good. There is altogether 16 different heartbeat paces and there is a self-explanation booklet inside it.