(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Ya, pris can see bb's spine vy cleary..but bb lazy jz sit there & rest against one side of my tummy..mayb is his/her resting time liao cos yesterday clinic vy crowded waited till 9pm.

fjm, i'm in beg of wk17, coming to end of 4th mth

Donkeymami, my bb is 19cm yesterday according to dr. Last thursday, bb was like close to 18cm but sleeping and yesterday very active haaahaa.

Me 14weeks only 6.7cm
hope bb grow faster..
doc told us eat durian bb grow faster.
i also jus contact TMC for the FBI.
Feel it is worthwhile to get it.
Cause,i'll b getting 1bedded, which immediate will get 100off,then follow by 10%off total hospital bill.
Then also being told that my gyne is able to offer me 5%off delivery charges.
Other then these will be given goodie bag n 3books.
These will be more then $148 liao.

fjm

Puked 6 times??? R u sure u'e ok or not? My goodness, I cannot imagine how u keep in the nutrients when all ur food is puked out. Really hope u get better soon. Dun be the last one left here puking hor haha.

Motherhood Fair meaning the one at Expo ah? But so early to go wor... The Taka BB fair will have sales on BB wipes too right?

Oh the swimsuit thing I think I am still interested. But I am a very confused abt the ordering & shipping costs & procedure. Lemme try to figure it out, then I will post again for u gals to order ok? Me nvr did online shopping b4, so a bit mountain tortoise lah :p

donkeymami

Congrats on another successful checkup. Too bad cannot see the gender hor? Then can tell Regg what colour booties u want liao haha.

Ur BB's 2x mine's size. I think 6cm already quite shen2 qi2 heehee.

BabyS haha i also only talk to baby in private. or like whisper whisper, donno if baby can hear or not

janice omg... take care. I know that spotting is quite bad for baby de. whats the reason of ur spotting? did doc told u?

Pris Your MIL is really too much leh. Disturb others confinement month and still dare to comment -ve stuffs about SIL and her baby. If she dont intend to help out for the month, then back off!!!

how often do u buy toys for ur son? and how much each time?

miaon actually, can infant sleep in a good queen sized mattress on the floor? If so then maybe don't need to buy baby cot which can be converted to playpen. But i am worried how to "trap" baby so that when I go to shower, I can have a peace of my mind.

mashy lucky that your MIL is a busy woman and not so busybody to go and bother you!! I think mine, even if she is super duper busy, she will still bothers me EVERY SINGLE DAY. Sian!!! We already told her straight about not bothering us about our baby last weekend, then she exploded. Saying things like "I will not bother about your (as in my hubby) things in the future". Then yesterday, she came and kepoh again.

pink you are living with your MIL? I don't feel like moving to their house to do confinement. I rather rent a whole 3 rooms flat for the confinement and don't tell them the address until confinement month over. Sucks to not have our own flat yet... haiz!

babyjon Get a confinement nanny, maid wont know how to cook traditional confinement food for you and how to take care of baby with extra care.

fjm Are u feeling better today? Actually baby wipes is for when baby poo poo and wipe the butt only?

If I put baby in infant care, i have to buy baby wipe to put at the infant care center or they provide?

babyjon - whoa! then i cannot eat durian! scared that baby will be too big to give birth naturally!! Actually it is not 10% off total hospital bill. There is a limit one. For gynae fee, 5% or max $100. But overall, it is worth it.

Jul - I am also very confused. Donno if should purchase from the site or not. So troublesome. The set of swimwear I like cost about $39.98 usd. Convert is like $55 sgd already. If include all the shipment, donno end up how much it will be. >_< I plan to go to vivo to shop shop and see if got nice maternity swimwear or those sports bra bikini 2 piece.

I think my baby is around 6cm at 12 weeks.

Have you gals plan what to do during the 4 months maternity leave? I will take maternity leave 2 weeks before EDD (I think). Then after confinement 1 month, donno what to do le. Will be so sian at home unless any mommies wanna go out together (bring along babies)!

hi Jul, was hoping can see bb's gender yesterday cos surrounding frens all ask me expects gal or boy. I thk bb knw i wanna to knw that's why purposely show his/her back to us. If i'm not wrong during details scan can cfm gender..so jz wait another mth.

6cm is right size for 12wks. tat time i did my OSCAR bb also at 6cm+.

reira

Well, if there's something nice at the shops, tell me also wor!

Actually if I can fiure out how to do the shipping thing, &amp; it's not too expensive, I may wanna buy some clothes from the website too.

donkeymami

Yeah I understand. I also hope to be able to see gender at my week16 appt so that I can start buying clothes. But.. I think if BB doesn't cooperate, u still might not be able to tell the gender from the FA scan right?

donkeymami,
great to hear tt ur baby is doin well.. nvm by FA shd be able to see the gender:p me cant wait to see my baby nex sat:p

Babyjon,
ur baby only 6.4cm at wk14? u sure??? 6.4cm is ard 12wk+ only leh..

reira,
i tink the rest of the ML u be too busy with the baby to tink of wat other thing to do keke... end of the ML u might find too short:p

reira
actually i think for 1st few months better to use cot leh. coz teh bb dun really move much but u will be bending a lot to carry bb since they are quite "soft" for the 1st 3 months. may be tough on ur back which rightfully we shd not stress so soon after birth.

its juz tat i think dun need to get 1st hand cot at high prices coz i did not use the cot for long. i moved him to the floor to sleep at 5 months. by then he was already rolling front and back ard. i tried to confine him using pillows but he quite persistent..ha ha. machiam commando in training. my boy cannot be confined one...so when i shower, there is usually someone ard looking after him especially when he got mobile.

if u will be alone looking after bb, maybe u wanna consider playpen then? at least can "trap" bb till toddlerhood? =P

Reira, I'm not sure if I dare to bring baby out alone after 1 month confinement, baby may still be quite fragile ? Sorry, i'm not confident myself.

donkeymami, nice to hear from your results, i'm looking forward to my next gynae visit.

babyjon, durians is quite "bu", remember to drink salt water with the durian shell.

hi gals, haven't logged in for a few days cos i had fever on sunday. I ate a paracetamol to reduce my temperature, is it a "no no" ? Have been having headaches till now ... pain pain

Jul, not sure le..cos i heard during FA scan will nit to take alot of measurement so i thk no matter how dr will make bb turn in order to perform the scan bah.

Piggy, hope u can see ur bb's gender nxt Sat

joeey

Panadol is ok. Just make sure u dun take those with extra ingredients such as Panadol Extra, Panadol Cold, that type.

donkeymami,
ya lor i hope so den i can start with my shoppin keke...

joeey,
dun worry 1-2 panadol is fine in fact my gynae say as long as u dun take more than 8 per day is ok.. but still i try not to take any medi if possible.

Jul - Sure, will let you know! :D I wonder if I should go to vivo tonight after work (work and live in jurong area). I want to go to the pool so badly!!!

piggytoh - Haha, I hope so! I think my baby will be crying all day leh. Cos recently my emotion is like very sentimental. Watched anime yesterday, got someone die in the anime and I was like crying so badly.

Haiz... so sad today my hubby wont be home. have to go to army RT cos he failed his IPPT... Plus, he work night shift. Normally I rush home to see him for the 30 mins.

What maternity shop is available at vivo? Thyme maternity can only be found in OG?

JUl,
yup latest by the detail scan u will sure know cos from tt scan u can even see the baby organ:p

Reira,
hahah u cant judge tt way 1 la u cryin partly due to ur hormone;P
u know hor when i was 18 i been helpin my sis look after her baby tt was only 1mth old every wkend while she go clubbin etc.. she quite lucky tt her baby is quite an easy baby sleep most of the time except when he is hungry.. i even bath for him hmm i tink once u get used to it u will get use to the "fragile" feelin..

Thanks Jul, piggytoh.

Reira, i understand how you feel, last time when my hubby was in reservist, i will also take taxi home to have dinner with him before he goes back to camp. Go window shopping is good, can feel happier

Not sure why my headache doesn't seem to go away... gynae visit is this thurs, i think i may bring forward to tomorrow. Headache pain pain ah, no mood to do anything.

ladies not sure if i did tell u about bird's nest......it may cause bb hv to allergy skin

can do a search on it

i read from a hkg magazine

pris

haha, actually my boy is also more into shinkansen. His collection of trains includes the many various JR trains and thomas but he plays with the JR trains more often. Our train collection are all the plarail types so that they can grow with him. To him, he just likes trains, whether it's Thomas or the shinkansen.

reira

Go see lah! Since u wanna swim so badly hahaha.

piggy

Oic. Thanks! That's gd to know.. which means latest I will know gender by.. mid-Apr leh! yippee

Joeey,
headache is part of pregnancy symptom i tink i get them v often too last time i feel better after a nap but now the headache no matter how long i sleep does not go away

weishy,
u r rite.. i tink becos the chemical used to clean n bleach the birdnest might cause allergy so we r not encourage to eat so much...

miaon

I think some cot can turn into playpen and toddle bed right? (saw from kiddy palace) Now I wonder how to change cot into playpen when baby is laying inside lol

joeey

Haha, I will carry baby everywhere once the 40 days confinement is due!! lol

I think paracetamol 200mg or was it 500mg is ok. I got a lot of those (from dentist for my wisdom tooth and from gynae). But I am very scared of panadol le... cos end of nov last year i got so depressed (about stuffs and didnt know i was pregnant) and tried to suicide. But somehow vomit everything out (i think it is my baby's doing! now baby also scared when i eat pills cos i will feel like vomiting when i see pills), then end up fine. Next day discharge from NUH already. Funny thing is, they never detect that I am pregnant (somehow draw so many blood for donno what test!!!). End of nov is like around 4th week pregnant le.

I am also having headache sometimes. It can last the whole day like yesterday. I think it is because of my high blood pressure... must control (but donno exactly how)

piggy

when is detailed scan? haha, i heard if you are depress/sad/cry all the time during pregnancy hor, when baby is born, always cry de.

sometimes, my headache also doesnt go away no matter how long i rest... last time, it sure go away when i woke up

irene

so qiao!! singapore is really small. where is ur hubby going for RT? (last sunday one canceled also?)

weishy

what chinese "bu" should we eat that doesnt cause any harm to our baby?

piggy, i think someone mention before that headache is due to hormone change ?
headache headache, please go away
* sob sob *

Ok, i need to go back and rest now. Have a nice evening to all ~

joeey,
possible also.. for me is mostly migraine
u go rest well

Reira,
for tonic i tink moderate is ok la like birdnest i am drinkin also but not so frequent other tonic u can consider chix essence, cordyceps etc...

Reira, I went out everywhere with my boy after 40 weeks of confinement.

I have a reward system with my boy from young, he will not insist on toys even we bring him to Toy R Us or see Toys he likes in the mall, he will not insist. He knows that he earns his stickers to get them but I do buy lots of books.

Mashy, haahaa, we have lots of trains that can grow with him and also lots of legos for him. We have this friend of ours in Vancouver collected lots of miniature train and building his model tracks and more, my boy wanted to do that in his room next time. He has been to a couple of train exhibitions, museums and a couple of miniature trains collectors' clubs gathering and see how they work on trains haahaa.

Reira, there is also this shop at Vivo, called Maternity House. Also, u can drop by next door, Harbourfront to see their Mothercare outlet (supposedly the largest Mothercare 0utlet they said).
Seeing all these bb items make u happy and look forward to the bb's arrival. But muz control, see only...try not to buy...haha

I ever heard drinking soft drinks, e.g. Sarsi or 100plus will reduce headache. Maybe can try drinking.

pris,

Why? I've been drinking 100+ almost everyday, though i try to limit it to half a bottle per day instead of 1 bottle.

pink

I've been getting almost cramps in my calves since week 8. Think it's deficiency in something, some vitamin.. issit E?

pink

Check this out...

Nocturnal Leg Cramps: Night-time Calf Muscle Pain
Nocturnal leg cramps can lead to a rude awakening: You're suddenly sleepless and in pain in the middle of the night. Symptoms of nocturnal leg cramps include excruciating contractions of the calf muscles, and sometimes of the foot muscles as well.

Nocturnal leg cramps are true cramps and not spasms. The muscle remains in a cramped and contracted position, which accounts for the intensity of the pain. If you touch the affected calf, you may be surprised to discover that your muscles feel very hard, almost like concrete, a measure of the power of the cramp.

Studies have shown increased electrical activity in the affected muscles, but doctors still don't know what causes nocturnal leg cramps. In some cases, it may be a fluid imbalance or a vitamin deficiency.

Treatment for leg cramps is straightforward and easy to follow. Avoid tight bed covers, which can lead to pointing of the toes and subsequent cramps. Stretch your calf muscles for about five minutes nightly before getting into bed. If you have a cramp, pull your toes back (don't point them), and, if necessary, put your foot on the floor and lean forward.

Some evidence suggests that a potassium deficiency may cause nocturnal leg cramps. Many sleepers have eliminated their cramps entirely just by making sure they eat plenty of potassium rich foods, including
Bananas, apricots, nectarines, dates, grapes, or raisins
Beans
Cabbage/broccoli family of vegetables
Oranges, grapefruit, and their juice
Pork and lamb
Potatoes and corn
Saltwater fish (for example, tuna)
Tomatoes and tomato juice
Of course, if you wake up with a leg cramp, a banana's not going to do you much good, so here are some tips to relieve cramps immediately:

Apply a hot compress to the cramped muscles.
Massage the cramped muscles.
Stretch and flex. Lie on your back in bed, lift your legs, extend them toward the ceiling, and then point your toes to the ceiling and flex them slowly back toward your calf. Repeat this flex and stretch until the cramps stop. For an extra good stretch, grab your toes while still in this position and pull them down toward your knees. You'll feel this stretch working in the back of the calf muscles.
Other studies have linked cramps to dehydration. Staying adequately hydrated at all times is a good idea for many reasons, so add preventing nocturnal leg cramps to the list. Finally, pregnant women, dieters, people taking diuretics, (medications that increase the amount of urine you produce) and people who've experienced a bout with vomiting and diarrhea may also experience leg cramps because their calcium and phosphorus levels get out of whack. If you fall into any one of these categories and you have a bout of nocturnal leg cramps, consult with your doctor for the best course of treatment.

pegsfur, I have read reports of taking too much all these sport drinks will do damage to the health. And even through dh, ds and I used to exercise alot, we try to avoid them.