(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

pris

it's usually the women bosses who are the worst. Somehow they expected more from female colleagues. Even those who had children. Think they prob had an easy preg and expect everyone else to be able to cope like them.

I also wish I can be a SAHM.......but there are a lot of financial considerations in my case.
I am going back to work coming Monday, after a 2 month break, not sure if I will get use to it. All my colleagues must be thinking I "siam" the recent restructuring workload. Haiz....but when I think of the 4 months paid maternity leave, I will "ren", somemore from now till Aug its only about 6 months left & I still got another month of annual leave to clear.

Baby S, thanks. Read about Prayers and Promises for Supernatural Childbirth too.

Smurfy,I really missed those bfd time with my boy haahaa, he will look in my eyes and bfd. And I was able to read and sing to him while bfding.

He never like bottle feed too, so I can even feed him while sleeping.

ok, finished making lunch and going to rest liao. Last night got a funeral at the hall downstairs and they had a bonfire until midnight. So tired now. Dunno why they must burn so late in the night. Can't they do it earlier so that the rest of the world can go and sleep?

pinkmama

We also had a hard time when deciding whether i can be SAHM coz my hb was also not earning much. But thank God, He really helped us thru this time by providing us again and again. Many pp were surprised that we can live on a single income.

mashy, coz she is a very dedicted p and treated me like a little girl and she told me when I reported back to work on Monday. I was laughing in her office and told her since 16, my mum does not curfew me even taking trips with my church, I told her like a day before we flew off and my mum knows me well and trusted me haahaa.

The problem is that some of these bosses are too dedicated as teachers , hardly has time to socialise, never get married and they can't comprehend about dating, watching late movies on friday or sat night.

Pris, Pink - Thanks :D

Yen - Is the instant birdnest from Eu Yan Sang good? i wonder if there are any preservative added inside.

mashy, that person who wrote the letter is def a person with no life and he expects everyone to suffer along with him......

cloudme, I have two gynae, one is Dr Tan Hang Yang then he could not deliver me as so problem with tax stuff, I went to Dr Kek, which is very motherly.

Pink & Mashy, it is possible to live and one income if both are willing to readjust abit of lifestyle.

I agreed with Mashy, by God's grace and providence, we are able to live on one income too and we are amazed by how God really provide for us our basic needs.

pris, mashy,
yes, I agree its possible. but at the current moment, dh is looking at the possibility of starting his own biz. so for the initial years, there may be some instability, plus we have to take care of his parents......

pinkmama09
yap...
i eat them like that..not salty at all...

babys,
yes, as in munch them as a snack...the max i can take in is only 5 pcs as it is expensive loh...(heartpain if i eat more)

can eat or not huh?

pris,

can't eat them like that huh?

well...then have to endure till i give birth...b4 i resume...

pinkmama
a mummy in my other regular thread managed to get by with her hb's salary of 2k ++ only.. i guess it's a lot of adjustement to ur lifestyle and whether u think u wanna make the change or not..

SAHM's really not my cup of tea.. will go crazy if i stay 24hrs with my kiddos.. kekeke.. i rather quality but limited time with them.

cloudme
wat dialect grp r u frm ar? likes to eat dried oysters? even soups cooked with 3 dried oysters is too much for me.. (too fishy taste).. my hb's a heng hwa and he loves dried oysters a lot though

Reira - yes, theose instant bottled bird nests sure have presevatives...if not, have to last so long until their expiry dates which is 1-2 yrs down the road. But bo pian, we dun have 'ai-xin-yan-huo' (home-cooked, full of luv bird nests) to eat, so have to eat bottled one. And I duuno how to cook them myself.

This morning, kenna irritated by my husb's hp alarm. At 7am, his hp alarm rang LOUDLY, i opened my eyes to see but he is not around on bed.. And the stupid hp alarm is still blasting away. Then I practically 'Rolled Myself' over to his side of the bed, and turned off the alarm, his hp was placed on the bedside table beside his side. Turned out, he woke up at 6plus, and was outside in the kitchen eating breakfast.
So irritating ...after that, i couldn't get back to sleep, and lay on bed until 7.30am when my alarm went off.

cloudme, they are raw and not cooked which worried me.

pink, think with carefully planning should work.

Baby S, not late to start now.

smurfy,
i am teochew...
but i just like to munch on the dried oyster cos i like the taste...
guess nothing to do with dialect groups...

cloud, oysters are shell fish... and dunno hows the level of mecury.. better to tahan and not eat for now bah?

haiyo, today i got heartburn! usually i get it once or twice only... today so many times liao!

Yen, look at the earlier thread, I give the method to double boiled, you can do it on weekend. Over here, I have no one to do it for me too as we are all alone and sometimes my church friends will make me chicken soups, spaghetti etc.

cloudme, i love it in porridge and soup too, cause my ex-neighbour used to make it for us and pass to my mum. exchange for food, mum gave her peranakan food.

Baby s, do not eat and drink together.

babys,
my gynae said can eat oyster but must be very cooked...so wonder if the dried oyster already process with cooking or not b4 they dried them...

guess they are not processed with cooking b4 being dried...

so like pris said maybe throw them into soup b4 i eat them

Pris, my case different. i am not staying on my own, staying at my mil's house. Not so convenient to cook in her kitchen, and if i make bird nest, then i need to prepare extra portions..or else, paiseh..i cook for myself only. If i eat bottled bird nest, i eat them inside my room.

BabyS, u also kenna this before ar? After my husb come into the room, i told him ' your hp chao-si-ren leh...wake me up early morning'.

cloudme, they do not processed them, so better washed and cook first. I asked before in Vancouver as I always buy a lot as my ds loves them in porridge, I will try them to make sure I am getting a good one. The owner told me before for young kids better washed and cooked before giving.

yen
ask ur mum to cook for u and u go back to eat during weekends kekekekee...worse... hint to ur hb that ur mil shld start brewing birdnests for u.. kekkeke then u dun even got to do it urself

yen, yeah sometimes.... i am guilty of it also, cos i need my alarm to remind me how much time i have left (cos i give myself like 15 mins each morn to get ready..)

but my DH can sleep thru it... haha..

i feel so vex now... now on unpaid leave for 1 month. as baby not stable even now 4 months already. scare of losing my job

with hubby income, i duno whether can survive or not.. duno whether can i overcome it or not.

baby stuff not bought yet.. sad...

this pregnancy really no cravings...really dun feel like eating anything.. just eat to fill my stomach up.. eating less than pre pregnancy times somemore... how i envy u girls who has cravings of somekind

janice,
don't worry too much, not good for bb. I am 15 weeks already but also haven't bought anything bb stuff. I think I will only start to buy during the May-June period.

Yen, can try what smurfy said, my dh used to tell my mil, my mum not only bought me tonics to brews at home, she also made chicken essences, chicken soups in pao sheng & cordyceps for me during the weekday which sometime I will go to her place to drink or she will get my brother to send to my place. Mil paiseh, on weekend, even she did not like it, make chicken soup for me and then pil came out with money to buy tonics.

janice.. oh dear...

re the dried oysters.. if its fresh u can tell by smell and taste or texture if its fresh.. but if its dried, it smells, feels and tastes like the rest.. cannot tell...

smurfy, dont envy leh... i have lots of cravings leh.. and when cannot satify feel so miserable! haha

Smurfy, my mil cooked 1-time bird nest for me, I come back from work then she scooped into a bowl for me. And I can see it is still 'unclean'..lots of small impurities which i can see using my naked eyes. From there on, i scared liao..think her eyes ' lao-hua' so cannot see clearly.
I got differnt cravings all the times, sometimes..roti prata, icecream sometimes burgers ..haha. And I have gained 6kg liao, from 55 to 61. Gynae said i must control my wt, or else hard to slim down after delivery.

janice, dun worried too much, I have a spotting scare last week and was in and out of hospital for testing,U/S etc. Then I started reading this book Supernatural Childbirth by Jackie Mize recommended by Baby S and pray to God and thank God, everything turns out fine.

babyS
is the book Supernatural Childbirth only available at the christian bookstores or can I buy it from places like borders or kinokuniya?

pink, my mil is those that need to save face, when she heard my mum spending close to $2k to get me tonics and one of my dh's senior colleague, very motherly one also bought tonics for me, she must win mah haahaa.