(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

NICI, Lili
I'm staying in Beijing now and I went to check out the prenatal yoga class conducted here last weekend. When I'm in Singapore a few weeks back, I've shortlisted the following prenatal yoga classes.

- Mother & Child
- True Yoga

My choice is Mother & Child in Tanglin cos its more specialise and if you sign up the package, can also use it for post-natal with BB.

Usually can start yoga after 1st tri as long as you get clearance from your dr.

reira,
The medela freestyle is a newer model rite? I do agree it looks more compact, and was thinking of getting it too, but abit out of my budget le.

I normally eat my pills at 11+ after my breakfast

pegsfur

Cannot meh? The lab lady told me that she will send the report with the photos to my gynae. Guess she prob wun send ALL the photos lah, coz she took 10 over for the neck. Maybe she will pick & choose a few to incl in the report. Think u will get ur report when u see gynae.

She also gave me one photo print-out showing the BB.

I suppose so lah. Coz he's quite a "scientific" man, so can understand why he finds it interesting. Weird thing is, he is more interested than hubby hahaha.

reira,

i used to eat them in the mrng aft breaky.. very guai de.. like 9ish-10.. already popped liao..
den slowly slowly.. smtimes i forget.. smtimes i purposedly forget (haha..) then end up..alot of times, i pop them in the aftnn or even night time. lalala~

disgusting to pop all those pills in lar! yiarkz!

Re : Breast Pump

The Medela PIS is like $700+ leh. How come so expenive ah? I see those Avent type only $200+ at Robinsons.

jul04
agree that PIS is very ex...but i strongly recommend tat..haha. intend to buy PIS for this preg round too...=)

jul,

Ya lor... so ex hor .. but it's cheaper if u can get it in US. Anyway, i dunno how long i'm going to bf, so i dun want to spend so much on the pumps.

But bear said the one i bought is noisy, i'm afraid the noise might scare my dog instead.

i read from some web that its recommended to eat the vits at night. Dont know why also...
i take mine at night, just before going to bed. so wont feel the fish oil burp. its really bad.
i usually take vits with milo or ribena. i felt that when burping, the fish oil smell is alot better then with just plain water

Hi Gal Li Li

I'm not the mummy who has the Cool T-shirt... Actually hubby say wana print for me but I don't want....

Hi Kikilala

Hi5. I also hate milk. Even the chocolate milk powder I also hate it leh. So hard to swallow it.... Will try your method by adding Milo.... But scare will be v heating leh. Nw on n off I just drink HL milk lor....

Hi Flower4

Of course never engaged the CL lar.... So many requirement. In the end I engaged 1 that is recommended by my frd. The CL actually has another assignment but that lady didn't pay the deposit so we will come n do for me lor....

If we can't think i will also give up liao....

I also thought of taking all 16 wks maternity leave but will see how cos my colleague also pregnant smemore due date also in Aug.....

Hi Babymaking

Sorry to hear that. How u get well soon. Take care and rest more....

Hi cloudme

Think u shd get a CL. If u really don't have a place to let them rest, just let them know in advance. Some don't mind sleeping in the living hall....

Like to check with those mummies who have engaged a CL before. Do the CL wash our undergarment or do we have to wash it ourselves? Cos my 1st kid confinement was done by my mum. So my mum does everything for me. As per my mum, CL is v particular on this....

So wana check it out....

pegsfur,
is your doggie sleeping with you in the same room?
mine always insist and will hide under my bed when its time to sleep.
Still thinking on how to handle leh...

KiKilala:hi i've been goign to pure yoga since my 1st bb(of cos and b4) never try others but felt comfortable there

they do hv mother and baby session too for post natal

maybe we can go together kakakkaka,but i'll be back only in june....doign it roght now in hkg though

reira,
no lah...both me and sil are "daughter-in-laws"...
so the diff treatment is bcos her's is 1st inner grandchild and soon again it will be 1st inner grandson...

regg,
dun blur...take ur time to read thru...

kikilala,

Hahaha .. ya! She sleeping with us. Although she has her own bed, sometimes in the middle of the nite she will sneak onto our bed too. I'm not too particular now as i was thinking since bb will be sleeping in the cot instead of in our bed, so just let her lah.

U want your dog to sleep outside when bb comes?

pegsfur

I am not sure if Freestyle is new one. Just happened to read about it. In SG, it is sold at $900 bucks. SIAO!!! lol In USA, only around $300 USD!!! And, I like the tote bag :DD (my hubby said I want the freestyle must be for the tote bag only... haha) If buy Freestyle in USA, it is like cheaper than PIS buying in Singapore. Only like $500 or so SGD included shipping. Still have to check with my friend if it is sold at $300 in Florida.

I know there is a spree going on but I am scared it turn out faulty if no one test the motor for me before sending to me.

Jul

PIS in USA only sells at rougly $230 USD lor. I rather ask my USA friend to help me buy and test for any faulty then send to me via UPS and I paypal the money to him before he buy.

KiKilala:maybe u would like to start training ur little doggie to sleep on the floor???cos sad to say.....we humans carry germs too on our body even though we clean ourselves daily.....for precaution....maybe can think about it

Reira, the PIS is definitely considered much much quieter than the mini. The sound from mini is like grass-cutting machine!After you pump you can still hear it in your head.

I think they have different kind of breastpump to let you test out TMC leh. That's what I heard from my friends.

Pegsfur, you will get back the test result and scan pics when you see Dr Wong the next round.
Mini got dual pump one ah? Mine was single that time so pump one side for 20mins then pump the other side for 20mins. Faintz!!!

I bought my PIS 2 yrs ago at around $600. They were clearing the stock for the haversack one.

You can try using the mini for a while 1st and when you are more determined to continue to bf, you can invest in the PIS. Its so ex that after I bought it, I have no choice but to continue pumping till my son is 1 yr old.

reira, miaon, pegsfur

The Medela PIS can be used for more than 1 child right? If can only last fir 1, then not very hua to get hor?

But if buy from US, no warranty right?

How abt the other popular brand? The Ameda something? I think it's abt $300+?

Jul,
the PIS can last many yrs.. the reason y medela is so popular is becos it can really help to increase the flow many mommies feedback they can really feel the diff wor.. other brand review might not suit every1..

bear,
At first i thot wanna ask my sis to get PIS for me since she's going to US. But i found out the mini electric plus, which is a double pump, is cheaper and somemore its on sale, original is $305, aft discount is $229, so i got this one lor.

Ok, shall see how determined i am on breastfeeding .. haha ... actually, i'm not very keen to do it but for bb's sake, no choice lah. I think i will bf for at least for 3 mths lah.

Ya, mini got dual now. it is called mini electric plus. waa, now i canceled out the probability of buying mini electric le. if it sounds like grass-cutting machine, I am sure I won't be able to stand it cos i am very very sensitive to noise. My hubby click click click while playing game, I already almost go crazy nowadays.

Oh ya, where is the customer service center for medela in SG wor? I wonder if i bought one from USA, can i bring to them to fix if it is faulty. ofcourse i will pay them for the fixing since it wont be SG warrant.

irene

Really? Like grass-cutting sound? So kuazhang!

But I suppose the gd thing abt investing in a very expensive pump is that it will force us to continure BF?

Jul, my friends using Ameda told me its good too. But those who have tried Ameda and Medala PIS will say PIS has more power.
What I heard is Ameda's parts are more fragile. Most of them changed their Ameda parts before while I didn't change any in that year.

Its worth it to get the PIS as it makes pumping milk easier. I can pump and surf the web at the same time.

jul04
yes. the PIS can last for many years. the last time i bought, i was thinking to get a new one for 2nd bb so i sold off mine second hand...plus i dunno when i intend to have my 2nd bb so dun want to hog an "electronic" for too long... haha

the PIS supposedly the motor almost hospital grade liao...so it is deemed very gd and high end. i found it a worthwhile investment coz i pumped at work and really needed a simple and gd pump. since it worked well for me tha last time round, i intend to get the same pump again lor.

piggy

Oic. I hear so many raving reviews abt it, & I wonder issit really true sometimes haha.

pegsfur

I m determined to BF. But hor, I have to admit that only half the reason is for gd of BB. The other reasons are more like, save money on formula milk & b/c I heard it will help me lose weight! hahaha

Pegsfur, huh...you not keen to breastfeed for you bb's sake ah? You just tell yourself you will pump for 1 mth, then when 1 mth is up, you tell yourself you will continue till 3 mths...so on and so forth.
Best if you can pump for 6mths as it can help to build up their immunity and hor, it can help you lose weight fast! Plus hor...reduce the possibility of getting breast cancer for mummy.

Reira, its at Toh Guan. Not sure can bring there to fix the one you bought from USA though.

Jul, I not kua zhang hor..you don't believe you go hear it yourself! Anyway single pump is too time wasting lah.

Yes leh..I scared my hb kill me if I stop bfing too soon with the PIS so I pump and pump. Wahahah...I think will get addicted one too.

pegsfur and weishy,
My doggie only wants to sleep in the room when I'm around... when I'm not in Singapore, he will sleep in the living room where there's a corner for him. He is not allowed on my bed though.
The thing is that he cannot make up his mind where to sleep, so during the night, he wants to move in and out the room which can be quite noisy

Jul

Yeah, I heard Ameda is good also but most ppl like Medela more so I also go with the flow. My hubby very weird one. I told him freestyle, PIS will help to increase milk flow cos of the imitating baby suction function and he is more than happy to buy it for me even though it is expensive, cos he also wants to drink breastmilk...

If buy from USA, no warranty cos it is US only. That's why I asked my friend to help me to buy and test before he pay. But I wonder if Medela customer service center helps to fix or not, if we give them $$. Cos imagine for handphone, even if ur warrant over, can still bring to Nokia, SE to fix what...

Check this site out http://www.breastfeeding.org.sg/shopping.html (they have demo pumps to test test)

Irene

Is this contact correct? http://www.medela.com/ISBD/gen/contact.php

irene, miaon

Thanks for your comments.

I biefly mentioned that I saw the Medela PIS price for $700+ & he kinda jumped. Asked me why cannot get manual one that costs $50??? Wanna pengz.

Jul

Wa lao. Tell him if he is so cheapo only wanna spend $50, then pump for u while you do other things lor. Tell him need to pump 1 hour for each side!! After one week of pumping, he sure jump and offer to buy electric pump. By then, tell him you want the SGD$1000 Freestyle!!! >=(

Our wrist will take a long time to get back the strength from what I read.

irene

U mean single pump = can pump only 1 breast at a time, while dual pump = can pump both at same time? I tot the diff b/w single & dual is the speed only hahaha.

reira

I think my hubby opposite from u. He doesn't really seems to care abt whether I BF or use formula milk. He just wants my boobs to grow bigger *sigh*

reira

That's what he said! I told him my frens told me manual one will kena hand cramp coz so hard to pump. He said he pump for me. Faint!

Jul, ha ha, tell your hb that FM for infants is super expensive one... 1 tin close to $40 and they drink at least 4 tins a month... then maybe he will be quite happy to sponsor the PIS for $700. You only have to pump 4 months to recuperate the cost of the pump lor...

irene, your PIS use for 2 kids, very "wu hua" already

My hubby wants mine to grow smaller. Recently he complain liao, said must be milk producing already cos they are getting heavier. I was like hello? I am only at my 16 weeks.

Actually I heard from colleague, after u stopped breastfeeding, boobs will go back to normal size de.

Dual pump got 2 pumps, can use both at the same time. I just happened to read this

"Introducing our newest breakthrough — Freestyle is our first hands-free, double-electric pump. It’s the performance you expect from Medela in an innovative pump that fits in the palm of your hand and includes thoughtful features that provide true mobility, freedom and flexibility. Inspired by pumping moms… freedom is born."

Does it means PIS must use hands to hold one?

reira, the PIS I will somehow support it by placing the bottles on my thighs... and I can do other things like surf internet also...

Er, mine didn't go to normal size, it became even smaller after bf... haiz...

bear,
Initially i dun even want to bf, cos i think it's very mah fan lor. But now for bb's sake, i will try at least 3 mths lah. Now tat u mention abt building bb's immunity, maybe i try to bf up to 6 mths ... using the 'psycho' method u suggest

But eh, u really scare me with the mini electric noise leh ...

kikilala,
Hahaha .. u have a notti dog ... sometimes my dog oso mad de, wanna go out and bring her toys into the room in the middle of the nite. Sometimes i ignore her, then after a while she will go back to sleep le. Why dun u try to ignore him when he wants to go out?

Mich

Yeah, then maybe he will do the caln & show me that buying the $50 pump will reap the benefits in 1.5 weeks! hahaha

Nvm I think if I insist on buying he wun complain lah. I just brought up th topic the other day out of the blue, so he kena shocked lor. Think he still hasn;t adjusted to the financial demands of parenthood.

Poor Jul. Is this your first child? My hubby wants our child to have the best, as well as for me (if our finance allows us to). Well actually I am the one controlling finance de.

Actually I plan to breastfeed till baby is 1 yr old. Then sell away the pump for half price. Most 2nd hand pump/stuffs doesn't have warranty so it doesn't matter.

Imagine Freestyle is $988 in SG, I sell it for $500 SGD. Since I will be buying it from USA for around $500 SGD, it is like I never spend a single cent at all wor!! If $500 is too expensive, I will sell at maybe $250 (bet many ppl will fight for it le), end up I only spent $250. :D

Come to think of it, my hubby donno heard from which stupid colleague telling him to use cloth diapers to save cost. Then I told my hubby, sure we can buy cloth diapers. But then hor, YOU have to wash like 10+ diapers everyday only, instead of spending $100 a month on disposable diapers, you wash 10+ diapers a day lor. No difference for me.

After hearing that, my hubby scared liao. He said he rather spend $100 a month instead of having to wash smelly diapers everyday for years.

Mich
Wa lao! serious!?!? 1 tin $40 and baby drinks 4 tins a month!??!

freestyle is new product leh... some ppl say that it becomes loose after losing, cannot "kiap" onto the breasts well.. me still waiting for more reviews of freestyle...

PIS is good good good! ... recommended by tMc... AVENT DUo oso another good dual pump... though PIS Suction is still faster n stronger..

Jul, yup think your hb is stressed out! Remind him got bb bonus!

reira, yup, the most expensive brand Similac is something like $38+. And some are big drinkers can drink more than that... faintz...

reira,

Hahaha .. the part abt diapers ... i asked my hubby if he wanna use cloth diapers or disposable one, he said cloth one is cheaper and can save money. So i told him, ok lor, then u in charge of washing the nappies, cos got bb sai de .. u wash it yourself ah? Then he give me dat 'huh???' look and said ok lah, disposble de better hor?

reira

Yeah first child. I think right now, hubby is still very kiddo... He's more fascinated by the changes in my body shape. But he is thiking a lot abt other things lah.

He keeps thinking abt whre the BB shd sleep, shd we do any reno, what furniture she we buy.. haha I think he is quite stressed. Poor thing, like culture shock. He's also thinking mostly abt things that I dun think abt, & vice versa.

Which is a way is good, in the sense that at least both of us wun forget issues b/c he will concentrate on "practical" things while I only care abt BB only lor.

Mich

Yup I told him abt the BB bonus, & he sort of.. ok ok.

We have officially spent $2k on the BB so far, not incl my clothes, bras etc misc stuff.

jul04
my hubs was originally oso not onz for me to invest in such a ex pump one...and somemore 1st child then, not sure got milk boh. so in the end we only got avent manual pump. then hor during my 1st 2 weeks, i think i machiam so stressed and modd swing from the exhaustion that he was the one who told me that if i wanna buy PIS juz go buy...so hor we bought the PIS and then i had an easier time...heh.

but manual pump really no joke leh. the hand so tired!

T_T Ya lor, baby is expensive. We are already gonna spend like roughly $5600 on banking of my baby's umbilical cord blood for 21 years le. But will bank in $2800 so that govt will top up $2800 also and CordLife can deduct the money from CDA.

The only thing I am worried is if baby got any complication or cannot give birth via natural. I plan to try natural only, good and can save $$ also. Unless during labour, I am really going to die cos of the pain, then will get epidural. But I don't like epidural cos it will damage my spinal cord permanently.

smurfy

$2k is on antenatal visits, antenatal package, OSCAR, FA scan, supplements from gynae, & FBI card lor. Scary hor?

I think my clothes & bras already ard $500.

Luckily my SIL passed me car seat, stroller & BB cot. So I at least dun have to buy such things.

I shd be gog for single rm at TMC, the maternty package is already $2k. Think plus gynae delivery fees, & the misc for the BB's checkups & jabs etc, shd be ard $4k???