(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

miaon

I also tot so. I rem I saw my SIL pumping with manual one b4. Machiam squeeze & squeeze. No wonder she no milk the first BB!!!

pegsfur

Hahaha yah lor, so funny when he gave me the shocking face hearing need to wash cloth diapers using HANDS. Cannot throw in washing machine mah, else washing machine all "sai" how?

Jul

I am the only one thinking about all those things de. Mine never do anything leh, sianz. ;_; donno if i missed out anything or not. so far we never bought anything for baby yet. waiting for great singapore sales. cos if buy now, scared later collect dust and no place to put lol (still renting room outside)

i only spent $149 so far on my clothes. can last me throughout my pregnancy, only need a pair pants. actually dont really need but i need something bottom to bao my legs when i go to TMC for check up after giving birth.

I havent calculated the antenatal visit,OSCAR. What is FA?

my hubby is lazy also de. atfirst he said buy manual cos cheap, then i say u pump lor for 2 hrs a day and he scared liao.

reira

I am also not gog to buy any BB stuff till the Taka fair or the GSS lor. Now really a bit too early, & no place to keep. My storeroom full of the barang that SIL passed down to me liao.

FA = fetal assessment. I think done at 20 weeks issit? To scan the fingers, toes, organs, got cleft lip or not etc.

How come u spend so little on clothes? Actually hor, I think the $4k BB bonus is enough only for my clothes & confinment hahaha.

sigh - an eventful morning for me - puked twice already. ate machiam never eat. haiz.

gals - five cents' worth - unless you are the sort who wants everything new (i m the sort, actually), you can start being a 'garang guni' and ask for 'hand-me-down' clothes. three advantages: 1. save $$ 2. typically hmd clothes are typically softer on the bb skin
3. save you headache - lesser things that you will go 'alamak! i forgot to buy!' cos you already have them!
for me, for the first bb, in the end, i was only v happy when i found my 'sources' for hand-me-down stuff!

re pump, i dunno much abt freestyle. but i can say that avent electric pump, the one that costs approx $799 is really good.

RE: pump...

electric pump is good when first establish ur milk supply and when u return to work...

after ur supply is established...
can use the manual one at home as the let down is faster...(that is what i did)

but to get milk supply must rest well and eat well lah...otherwise where got milk to pump?...dun even mention having the famous pumps...

reira - dont give yourself undue stress on what to prepare. what i read here - the preparation, etc - are some sharings as we counter the 'odds' together as we tread towards the month of aug. but really, it is still v early. some MTBs find pleasure as they rack their brains what to buy and feel excited about getting everything ready early. i remember for my first bb, when i was abt now (~15th week), i was still BADLy puking away, half dead, and going thru counselling to bring back my spirits. only got back on my feet by 17th week. and started to go back to office around 18th week. my hb and i took things one step at a time. first time MTBs - remember to enrol in Mrs Wong Boh Boi's Parentcraft class if you want to be concentious about what to do during labour, during delivery, and about childcare. but even that will happen around 20th week. around that time, then start to shop around for stuff still not late. at least will not get into the 'problem' of your bb stuff collecting dust by the time bb comes out!

jul - i want to cry already.. but i m not exactly lamenting cos got worse experience during first pregnancy. sigh! it is awful. i m in my 15th week already!

stupid hubby went out to work also havent called me...me puked and puked. suffer in silence.

fjm,
same..as u...i also puked out my food yesterday morning...
and likewise got worse experience during my first preggi...
as compared this time round is better...

and now i gather that this bb like fried onion egg...

Jul

How much will FA cost? I didn't know about that! It must be done exactly on the 20 weeks ah?

I only bought a few clothes so far. Cos before pregnancy, I am already very fat le. So now it is only increase in tummy size. lol Original also got tummy (fats), so most clothes can still wear. Even all my skirts, just need to pull down infront till below tummy.

So far, I only bought 4 babydoll top ($20 each, 3 of them same design but different color lol), 1 maternity skirt ($49) and a jacket ($20). Bra still can wear but bought the bra "extention" just incase. But I plan to spend like $90 on a nightgown (this one!! http://www.expressiva.com/store/French-Toile-Nightgown-p-99924.html ).

fjm

Hope your morning sickness will get over soon!! D: I am quite lucky le, never throw up unless I am super upset due to arguing with hubby. lol The only time I puke when I am not angry was that time my hubby cook dinner for me. But then after the dinner, suddenly throw up everything. So I told him, baby angry that you always bully me, thats why made me throw out the food that you cook for us!

thanks jul for the encouragement. i dont want to indulge in self-pity but honestly, carrying a baby in the stomach is really not the most pleasant experience to me.

cloudme - which week are you? why you said your bb like fried onion egg? lol. we jia you together..

reira

Um.. I think ard $100? Coz I got OSCAR + FA package so it's a bit cheaper. Then I also got 10% disc with the FBI card. So in the end, paid abt $300+ for both. Think high $300.. sorry cannot really rem the exact price. If u want, I can go home & check for u.

I think it's around 20 weeks like that.

Oh my thighs, arms, all expanded. Then chest area also bigger. Not to mention the tummy. Basically most of my bottoms cannot be worn anymore!

Ooh.. nice nightgown

fjm

Nah, everybody has some sort of prob or another with being preg. Some pple financial, some pple physical. Most impt is that we get thru & see light at the end of the tunnel lor.

cloudme
My bb dont like strong smelling stuff like onion, string onion, galic, etc. I think bb already following his dad bad habit lor, always pick out these things from this food. Normally I love these kind of stuff one, now eat already will feel sick

Jul, wahaha...ask your hb to use the manual pump and pump for you! He can has nicer wrist muscle.

Yes, single pump means pump one side at a time.

wahaha..once you stop bfing, your breast will reduce in size to pre-pregnacy lah.

Mich, your PIS lagi wu hua ah!!! Wahaha...

Riera, must hold ah...but same as Mich, I also use one hand to giap and use my thighs to support so I can msn and surf web.

Pegsfur, you haven't try out the motor of your mini ah? The noise when you turn on is considered soft..when you pump, it will be slighly louder.
Don't worry lah, you can always buy the PIS later on if you want to continue bfing.

fjm, are you on MC now due to your morning sickness? I can fully empathise with you... for my #1, I puked until cannot go to work at all for 5 weeks... could only stay at home and alternate between the toilet bowl and bed. Oh, I'm also reaching week 15 now, but still wretching out white foamy stuff on and off...

i think over the weekend my tummy like became much smaller!
so strange leh... how ah?
I just went to weigh myself, not much difference from 2 weeks ago. I've been eating well and no ms/puking already.
I'm 16w3d now and only put on 1 kg so far.

fjm,
now in my 13wk...and the fried onion egg is the best food that my bb like and like bb's sis...this bb hate garlic smell and now ginger smell too(b4 that still ok)...
if i happen to smell these i sure use my "medicated oil" to cover the smell...

won't puke if i eat the onion eggs or anything with onion like sardine with onion...
or at least the puking sensation is not there...

that time my 1st one only can cater to fast food...always have mac but not those too oily fried stuff...

so guess this bb like onion stuff loh...kekeke

irene, ya man, already after Joy the PIS recuperate cost and more already... this round, if can pump 6 more months, this machine really worth thoroughly... after this, the PIS shall go into retirement.

For me, I cannot have any fat meat. Like example pork, cannot have those fat there, must be the lean meat. If not feel like vomiting.

kikilala

Atleast you gain 1kg!! For me, I lost 3.3kg liao... 16 weeks somemore.

Jul

OMG! I never knew we can sign up both together leh!!! That ex-gynae of mine never told us cheaper to get OSCAR + FA!! T_T Sad! I paid close to $300 for OSCAR only. Haha it is ok lah, I need to check with my new gynae when I visit her for the first time on 21 March. By then I will be 20 weeks le, donno if still in time for FA mah... It is something that scan for abnormality right?

For me is only tummy bah. Today morning I weigh, I lost some weight again. End up 68.7kg... I told my hubby immediately then he was like "you dont scared me leh... I think that weighing machine spoilt".

*O* Yeah, I love that nightgown! Wondering if can find something similiar in Singapore or not, if not buy it online is very expensive. $42 USD + $16 USD for shipping T_T

irene - haha, dont ask jul to really submit to buying a manual pump! men - they talk only..they cannot be with us 24hrs a day.. wait for them to pump for us.. our breasts will engorge and at the end of the day, the one to suffer is us!

jul / mich / cloudme / reira - i just puked the 3rd time today.
jul probably had a pt there. i really feel soft and want to give up. the last one was just plainly cough-induced. i coughed.. and the urge came and out came my last makan effort. me on-off go office, ask secretary see see look look for me. got meetings, etc, no choice. but i really hate it to let people see me puke. cos i really look horrible.

sigh.. my throat now damn uncomfortable..

Try munching biscuits here and there? D: I hear already also heartpain. I hate the vomit feeling, like my organ gonna vomit out like that.

FJM, the 'feeling' i was referring to is the feeling of coming to work every day!!!! i so sian leh! I even dream that i dont wanna go to work!! (but i dare not post the whole meaning, cos in my facebook, i got one spy there... see anything on my facebook will bao toe to boss one.. yes facebook not work related but will still bao toe lor..)

The mini electric plus, its also dual pump right? Price is so much cheaper than PIS... maybe this sunday i go to mums & babes at AMK hub to check it out..

mummies, did u know u can rent medala pump from mums and babes? I thought of doing that..

kikilala - me like you, my tummy still v small. only when i wear super tight, then anyone can see it. my ms is the only tell tale sign that bb is there.

cloudme - me same! first bb, i kept eating macDonalds' big Mac. never tired of it. for this current one, it ditn last, although there was one juncture i kept ordering in, it lasted for 2 weeks, so i got tired of it.

reira - do you mean that at TMC, can pay for both OSCAR and FA (to be done at 20th week) together and enjoy greater disc on top of SBI? thanks.

errrh.. can we actually eat yogurt? i juz finished a small cup of yumi yogurt not long ago.. den now my tummy feel cramp & some pain...

Reira,
The FA scan i believe is the detailed scan tt is to scan for baby organ, body etc to ensure all is well.. the abnormal 1 is oscar test include NT scan n blood test the scan mus be done be4 wk14 if not wrong...

babyS, yup, can rent from mums and babes... that is my standby plan incase my pump every breaks down. But I have tried the hospital medela pump before... but I personally still prefer my PIS over it. Mini electric plus much cheaper, but "power" very different fr the PIS...

babyS- i (look ard, make sure no 'spy) also dont feel like working now! haha. i know the final hurdle is delivery but i cannot wait for the day (after that) to come when i can hold bb in my arms and enjoy (i assume) myself during the confinement mth! haha. at home - well deserved rest, w CL n maid, w my bb n boy boy, n lotsa warm and nice food (i assume) to eat, n got massage lady to come .... the only drawback is i must serve as a cow then. kekeke.

BabyS

Mums & babes got sell maternity swimwear? How much do they rent medela pump for? If used in the middle of rental period and it spoilt, what will happen?

fjm

Ya, Jul told me that she paid high $300 for OSCAR + FA Package. I remembered from the form, there is an option for OSCAR + FA also, I never knew what is FA so never ask about it.

fat Bobo

Wa!! Don't scared me leh. We cannot eat yoghurt!?!? I ate one HUGE tub last week (cos cannot eat solid food after my wisdom tooth surgery). I didn't experience any tummy cramp / pain.

piggytoh

What is NT?

i dont mind being a cow.... i wanna stay at home... *look for spy too*....

sometimes after i get stupid phone calls, i complain to my colleagues that i wanna go on maternity leave liao.. haha

fjm, if Jul's hb wants to pump then let him try lor. He needs to help her pump every 3hrs and each time its like 40mins to one hour. We see if he can tong for one day or not!

You don't have any comfort food at all? Any food that makes you feel better and not puke?

Yes, I paid for the oscar+FA together at TMC when I went for the Oscar scan.

BabyS, I think mums and babes do have rental of breastpump. TMC has it too.

reira, about the swimwear and pump, i not sure leh.. i will go there this sunday after church and ask and look around ok?

:D Ok, thanks BabyS! I went everywhere cannot find those sports bra type of 2 piece swimwear, a bit sian. I am too shy to wear bikini and think buying one piece maternity wear is waste of money cos can only wear 5-6 more months only.

When do we need to stop swimming ah? 36 weeks or can swim till 40 weeks?

also, how often can we drink coke/ice lemon tea? T_T Last week I never eat much (cos of wisdom tooth surgery) and now my headache coming back... is it because I drank too much soft drinks? Haiz, I got high sugar level and blood pressure quite high. *worried*

fjm/babyS, I am also slacking big time at work! Only pretending to be busy, but most of the time am surfing the internet or chatting on forum/MSN.

reira, pump rental not cheap... if my memory is right, its about $7-10/day depending on which pump it is.

irene - no standard comfort food, every few weeks get sick of the same food, must change. now drinking a&w root beer. hope to wash down the awful feeling.

reira - boohoo! i paid almost $400 for OSCAR alone! sigh.

babyS - in Aug / Sep, we will all moo together! haha.

I am very worried got no milk supply so must invest in good pump to "help" me. Else later my baby suck until frustrated cos no milk and not willing to be latch on, then i will cry le.
Yah! We all jia you together! :D

Anyway, how much do you gals' hubby spend each month on his own food and transport ah? I am wondering if I control my hubby's money too much le.. scared later he buay tahan, ownself earned money also cannot spend. But hor, if he got extra, I scared he go and buy cigarette or take cab everyday. Haiz... brain gonna explode

Mich

Waaa! I think buy pump better haha! Renting so expensive sia!

fjm

O_O Where did you do your OSCAR scan wor?

reira, renting is a short term measure, not meant for long term... end of day, best to have your own pump. If really got problem bf, can seek help from lactation consultant. The consultant told me baby must be "taught" how to latch as much as mummy must learn how to bf.

Reira,
NT scan is a scan to check the neck thickness according to my gynae below 2mm is gd but u mentioned ur 1st visit is 21wk i dun tink u can scan leh...

fjm,
when i was having ms earlier, i found that if i dont eat, i will feel more like puking. need to have abit of food in the stomach but too much also cannot wor.. I found that it helps by drinking those "soup" from cooking porriage. can hydrate and got some energy also

Mich

Do I have to bring my breastpump to hospital wor? Incase both of us (mommy and baby) take time to learn, then maybe can pump first...

There will be lactation consultant there teaching me how to latch on ah? Right after giving birth? I heard that you must latch on asap after giving birth. How long will the consultant be there to teach?

piggytoh

No lah, I mean for FA scan. on my 12 weeks, I went to OSCAR le. Oh!! NT scan is the one where baby need to be in good position in order to measure neck thickness ah!? Haha I did that one. Spent 4 hours there cos first 3 scans baby don't wanna cooperate. Then I have to walk walk around to wait for baby to turn. When I saw the measurement, I already fang xin le. Cos the thickest they could measure was around 1.6mm only, plus I am 23 years old. Only thing I was worried cos one of my cousin (father's brother's daughter) got D/S.

reira - i did mine at TMC. initially thot i very clever somemore, cos scan at 9am, i reached at 830am to sign up for SBI. thot got good bargain loh - goodie bag, 10% disc..

sigh! but me never see the OSCAR +FA loh.............

btw, reira, got milk means got milk..the pump doesnt help to produce more milk. me got big boobs, contrary to popular belief, i dint have that much milk loh the last time.

Reira,
how much our HB spent is v individual it also depend on the workin location n himself... for my HB i control the finance (as request by him) but i gave him extras to spent la cos i believe he got need for it n also he can save n buy me gifts :p most imptly he is thrifty so i dun have to worry much..

i think my friend check b4, they told her $90 per month..

talking about swiming, i may have to miss the last class of the aqua fitness on 23 MAY!!! so sad.. my colleagues last min change date of a seminar to that date and i cannot escape one.. i told them to confirm with me about the dates, cos i got classes (trying to hint)... they just reply by cold heartedly "yes seminar on 23 mar. sorry about the classes.)

and KK say cannot join any make up class.... =(

reira, i saw two piece suits at thyme maternity (i think about $89 for a set) and egg maternity (at vivo)

fjm,
the pump do make a diff leh.. my friend she use other brand to pump n the output is v little n she is so stress up but when she switch to medela the output is so much more..

Reira,
btw the FA test is $100+ so add up abt ther cos i remember 1 gal mentioned after dicount for both test is ard $400 so the savin is not a lot...

reira, no need to bring breast pump... if for any reason you really need, ask your hb to bring for you. But 1st few days, just direct latch on cos those early days only have colostrum. Pump also nothing much will come out... best to take this time in hospital to practise latching. As long as you are staying in the hospital, consultants come daily... and you can see them for free. When you discharge already, gotta pay $50 to see them for private consultation.

Reira,
I'm very small size, now with all my preggie weight its 44.5 kg. Still consider underweight.
Maybe that's why my dr ask me to eat alot of protein.

------------------------------
On Sunday, I'm too lazy to go out for breakfast and lunch, so just eat bread for both meals. I'm quite worried now as my tummy like flatten overnight!