(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

just checked the straits times, jurong point ntuc has baby sale. I'm going to get the bouncer, yeah !

My colleague told me it's very useful, it's cooling and can rock baby to sleep.

joeey, i saw that at ntuc (hougang point that day..)

i think is the same bouncer.. its very much bigger than the others.. $40 right?

Thanks also, babys

jul, yep, wait for taka sale, they usually provide free delivery if you buy more than $150, and then got free gifts too ... hehe

Hmm..
As for me, i take over a bb cot n prime already, the rest i dont intent to buy yet.. i will see when date nearer sure got sponsership from friends n family.. hehe

joeey, oh.. later i go to the NTUC andcheck again.. i dunno if $40 is the orginal or discoutned one..

but the one we saw, was very much bigger than those usual bouncer.. good lah, can accomodate all sizes. haha.

regg, you can buy a few items here and there when there's a sale, eg napkins, bb detergent, brush, small items.

ask your friends and family to sponsor money, more practical , hehe , cos mummies like to shop

My sis is going to U.S next mth ... any cheaper bb stuff that i can get her to buy for me there? There's like 1001 things to buy but i dunno where to start ....

im goin to check out the NTUC baby cot later...my frend say muz make it sure comes with mattress n bedding then its considered cheap...will try to take some pics...best thing the cot is WHITE is colour! i dun like brown ones....hahaa

Can consider V-tech toys from US, half price there, but they may be a little bulky to transport ...

I personally prefer Leapfrog toys from UK.

If you go australia, buy Pumpkin patch clothes and organic bb food.

Just my thought

Jul - haha, the 'somebody' who said was me la.. i kept posting to say enrolment size is small - 5 to start a class, max 6, not many places left. i counted for may 2pm class. see, after i signed up, left 5 places. say, fatBobo, babyS, jul - that makes 3. maby pegsfur. maybe calla? who else? easy to fil up! must be fast.. we make it a aug MTB class!

joeey - just my 5 cents' worth, avent good to have. but not all babies are suitable / or rather, can suckle well on their teats. i bought like one set of avent bottles the last time. only when my first baby came, i realise
he doesnt like the teat. seems like NUK is a better choice.

sharon - me also tempted.. but did you read about the myths on pregnancy. cannot do mani and pedi cos also considered 'painting'. you believe?

fjm

U mean the 2May 2pm class is mad up of all of us here, no "outsiders"? Ooh...

Hiaz I dunno what u gals are talking abt.. all the Avent pump lah, teats lah, dunno what... Sigh.

piggy,
Ya, was thinking abt the pumps as well, but i wonder how much is the price difference? And I dunno which type to buy!!!! So many diff ones, avent brand, medela brand, single/double pumps, manual/electric ... wah ... headache siah ...

sharon,
No problem de, u can do pedicure. Some of the ladies here did mani/pedicure during the cny

joeey,
Gap clothes worth to buy there is it? The other day me & my sis were at DFS & we were browsing burberrys & RL baby clothes, they were so irristably CUTE! But of cos, expensive lah.

pegsfur

I think I will prefer electric one. Seems faster & more convenient. The manual ones seem so clumsy & hard to use.

pegsfur/babyS, can go to the factory outlet shops in the US to buy polo, carters, Gap, Old Navy -- all at marked down prices as its from the old season ;)

Otherwise, diaper cream like desitin, and toothpaste like First Teeth all very cheap there when compared to here.

Some pple even buy the Medela pump in style from the there... but this one not so ideal since in spore you get warranty and technical support.

jul in wk11, u more vain for yourself now than your baby...duno why I got more urge to buy stuffs for my baby than myself first...

smemore my tummy nt very big now, buy looser clothes can wear le...

piggy, i swear by the Medela Pump in Style... it has served me well for 2 kids already... really worth the money I paid though its expensive

pegsfur, i used the medela double electric pump, cos I followed my sis and sil. Tried and tested. I believe other brands have their pros too.

Gap clothes, i'm still buying online organized by Mummies in the overseas spree. Try to get those 100% cotton material. I believe if you buy in US, you save on the shipping fee ... can save quite a bit leh ...

carefree

Yeah, I suppose so. Coz maybe I'm not as developed as u gals, so no urge for BB stuff.

Or maybe I one-track mind, can only focus on one thing at one time :p

piggy,
Oh .. ok, ok ... i will go check out later

jul,
I think i'll take electric one as well .... but hor, after reading the mummies talking abt breasfeeding previously, i'm scared of the pain & engorgment leh ..

And i found out my mum's lying!!! Last time she told us she dun have enough milk dats why she feed us with formula milk. Dat day went shopping with her at the bb section, i told her i'm afriad i'm like her, dun have milk for bb to drink. Then she said, all mummies will have milk naturally lah. So i asked 'den why u said u dun have milk for us?' And then she laughed & said, 'aiyah, breasfeeding so mah fan ... milk powder is so much easier.' I was like *roll eyes*

Mich,
yes many of my friend commented tt the PIS is gd.. n can really help to increase the flow other brand some say gd some say no keke..

pegsfur

I also scared. But for the gd & health of BB, I will ren & do my best. Hope I have milk for BB and it's not affected adversely by small boobs hee.

Aiyah last time our mum's generation where got liu xing breastmilk one. Formula's the in thing then mah.

piggy, yes, I know some pple who use the Ameda Lactaline... seems like can only last 1 kid leh... after 1 kid like almost end of shelf life liao. Someone told me their PIS used for 3 kids over 7 years!

pegsfur, last time their generation, formula milk rules! My mum stopped bf cos she had fever which came with engorgement... it was like any kind of excuse to stop bf!

Erm... I ask silly question hor.

The breastmilk will be pumped into a bottle that can be used directly for feeding, or need to transfer one ah?

And how many bottls does the pump come with? If not enough, can we buy from outside? And issit limited to Brand X must use Brand X bottles?

sharon - i was reading alot of the threads on montherhood during my first trimester (to kill boredom and take my mind off vommiting). there is one thread whereby a young undergrad (i think) was doing research on myths about pregnancy. there were 1-2 MTBs giving a LONG list.. goodness! i almost fainted. :p

jul - you are right. pumping milk is no joke. manual one - v difficult to last. your thumb may become numb and sore from pumping.

jul - if you gals said only 2-3 places left by the time you gals started to call, maybe shld have at least 2 'outsiders' for the aqua fitness ba, my best guess.

dear all - since you girls v interested to buy clothes, give you this lobang. my friend who has gone overseas to US started selling on blogspot.
http://beyondwardrobe.blogspot.com/

Er ... the medela PIS looked like a little machine hor ... is it very bulky?

Mich/joeey,
How much did u pay for the medela pumps?

fjm

Hmm.. so far, u, me, bobo.. so that makes 3 of us. Wonder who are the others?

pegsfur

R u signing up for the aqua fitness? I KS & booked my name liao. But I will wait till I can call or see gynae to send in the payment.

anyway i got a dumb qn to ask....hahaaaa
DH = husband/hubby.....but y dont use HB or something else? wats does DH stands for?
my hubby read this forum and ask me this qn
heheee

i'm still using my ameda lactaline - it has not failed me YET (keeps fingers crossed). having said that, i don't pump that often and if cost is not an issue, then PIS is a great machine (it was S$700+ 2 years ago, not sure about now) - my gfs who use it all swear by it! i understand that it is possible to get relatively good condition ones 2nd hand at about ameda's price range. just ask the lactation consultants at various hospitals.

alternatively, it is cheaper to buy from US (abt 60% of the price here) - you just need a converter and plenty of luck that the one u got is not faulty as the warranty is not valid here.

as for the bottles, you can use the bottles that you pumped in since you will most likely have sterilised the bottles. there are plenty of kits available to 'match' the bottles/pumps.

medela PIS!!! kekeke i oso love it.. tot any manual pumps can do..bought one manual one before delivery but end of the day, after delivery decides to invest in PIS... very very good..too good until too much supply for my case... by the end of my 1yr bf-ing career, i got to throw 100plus packets of frozen EBM away.. :p initial mths even donate EBM to a mummy in my other thread.

i got a question to ask about milkbottles..

do i really need to get a BPA free bottle? Whats wrnog with BPA? (So far i heard non BPA free bottle discolour faster, got abcteria growth, but its ok since u sterilize...)

and BPA free bottles are much more ex leh.