(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

morning all,
Im suppose to post my pic too but was home late yday from wedding dinner. Will try to do the post today

morning ladies....

Wondering besides taking Multi-V, Calcium and DHA pills, how many cups of milk you drink everyday to ensure enough amount of calcium?

Also, I normally take calcium and milk in the evening at home. Is the time gap to close?

Any idea?

thks regg & sharon,
I had no problem swallowing the soft gel till recently. For the past 2 weeks, either I choke on the capsule or worst still, the capsule burst open and the oil flow out. I puke everything out.
I think i will ask my gynae for a smaller size one.

Btw, my gynae wrote an article in Mind Your Body today on nutrition for pregnant women, you all may wish to take a look.

mashy
my cot is the standard size (cannot remember the measurement).. i got an existing super single bed (my hb's old) waiting for him in his room.. but i really cannot bear to kick him out of the room, just coz another bb is coming.... there's always this problem with most working mums-- that they like to bunk in same room with kids for bonding since most of the hrs they r not with the child
.. i oso dunno how to manage to 2 cots in my room or worst, a newborn crying in the rm waking the toddler up

Morning gals!

Haha it is very exciting & fun to see all the tummy photos.

fjm

I'm still waiting to cfm with my gynae on Sat that's it's ok for me, b4 I register for the aqua fitness. I hope the slots dun fill up so quickly!

re: supplements

Hoa come u gals are taking all these fish oil, obimin etc stuff? I dun get all these from gynae leh. Issit bcoz I'm still considered early?

i just read that KK aqua fitness is full.. boohoo... but may we're entering 3rd trimester liao, still can or not?

jul. ur dr will start u on those by 2nd trimester... thats what happened for me..

wah, all posting tummy pics liao ah... mine look very big leh, baby plus pre pregnancy tummy...

piggy,

My house has limited space, so was thinking it'd be good if it can be converted to a playpen. My fren has strongly advised me to get those which are convertable one so that it can be used longer :p

smurfy

Then u should kick him out of the room now than later. Coz if u do it only when bb comes, he'll think that it's coz of the bb. But for now, it's coz he's a big boy now. U don't need to bond with your boy when he's sleeping anyway. I kicked my boy out of my room when he turned one (I was working then) and i was already finding that it was too late coz he kicked up a huge fuss then.

It's better for u that they're not in the same room, else your bb might wake your boy up later.

Pegsfur,
ya my aunt gave me a playpen n i only need to buy a mattress n lay over it and adjust the height will do quite gd subsequent can convert to playpen when baby grow older.. so maybe u buy a playpen instead?
there is a taka fair comin up in March maybe can go ther to check out also:p

Pink,
I just read, thanks!
Oh pink, b4 take the fish oil(bcos it is BIG), i normally seep some water first, sometime our throat too dry the pill diff to go down.

babys

Har! Full again? Then the next class wud be in Jun right? Aiyoh by then I wud be.. er.. 7 mths liao???

babys, piggy

Oic, thanks. I was wondering why my gynae din gimme. I tot maybe bcoz she tot I dun merlion so am getting plenty of nutrients from food haha.

jul and babyS - call your gynae and ask.. dont wait la. babyS - if not sure, also tell aqua fitness IC who calls you your EDD. she prob can tell you as well from their perspective we can or not.

hey, MTBs, realise we are about the most 'chatty' mothers around! i noted that other than Jan MTBs and Mar MTBs, we are next highest in terms of postings! haha.

re: baby cots, playpens etc

My SIL passed me a cot & playpen, I think... I also din really go check it out. My hubby went to collect & stored in the storeroom by himself, coz I wasn't supposed to lift anything heavy. Hmm.. I guess this means I dun need to buy anything liao?

jul, no no.. i meant the April one full liao..

I wanted to call KK and ask but no one answer... maybe i should just sign up today..

i suddenyl very very very hungry and wanna eat yummy noodles soup now.. i told my colleagues "can we go for lunch now please?"

hahahaa

piggy

Personally I don't like playpen. It's rather hot, and rather low. And can really break the back changing diapers. For the cot, u can adjust the height according to the bb's age. When they're bb and can't turn, it's at the highest so that we can change the 7-8 times diapers a day. When they can turn and move a bit, move down 1 level. When they can stand up, move down to the lowest level. Once they can climb, time to change to toddler bed. Playpens doesn't allow such changes. I think that's better at the grandparents' place for weekend visits.

can we take dried oysters?
i like to munch on dried oysters(those for cooking soup) b4 preggi
been craving for raw oysters with lemon juice at marche(yum yum)but my gynae said no raw stuff...so wonder if can take dried oysters...

mummies interested in aqua fitness, i called KK!

she says each class only 5.

classes are for the month of may. 1pm slot left 3 places. 2pm slot left 2 slots.

Can call them to book ur places..

quick quick call and obok ur slot! (she says 3rd trimeaster still can, but if too close to due date not adviseable..)

patient Education centre: 63941268

I gave my name for the 2nd may classes, 2pm slot liao.

one thing good about playpen is that it can be kept away when u dont need it, and portable.. but back support not as good as cot...

Mrng ladies,

so excited seeing all of your loving tummies

I bumped into ex-colig this mrng, & she asked me "ni you le?" haha...i so happy cos finally got pple can see tat i'm pregnant lo..mayb the top i wear today. but still happy

wow..u ladies with pics of yur tummy.. hehe..

yep..am back. gynae actually asked me to meet him at glenE A&E on tue evng..but i din wan to..cos i scared cost very high (agn!). so ystrday mrng went to the clinic, n was put under drip.. gosh, so drowsy aft dat for the entire day.

bbs r ok.. ya most likely i hurt my esophugus when puking.

then, aftnn was at NUH for the scan.. resutls ok:
fetus 1> trisomy 21 - 1:11753; Trisomy 18 - 1:8892; Trisomy 13 - 1:42493.
fetus 2> *actually same as above, these are adjusted risk lvl le*

during scan, they both not too coorperative, haha, back facing us. then ya.. latr on, saw the upper one kicking the other in the face. hahaha.

yep, i juz called KK to reserve a place for 2 may 2pm class too le... those who hvnt.. pls faster, limited space le.

Wow thanks for letting us know BabyS.

I also just called KK & booked a place on the 2pm 2 May slot. But hor... Must fax over form & make payment by credit card. Does that mean my place not cfm-ed yet? I din ask too many qns coz I'm in office.

bobo, ur dr put u on drip cos of the vomitting ah?

hope u are feeling better now..

congrats on the good oscar results..

i have to start wearing maternity wear liao.. makes the tummy even more obvious. haha.. but i'm loving my bump.. hee..

Re: baby cots
has anyone heard that its good to get a "hand me down" cot from a baby who has grown well ? My friend was trying to offer me her, but I am not sure about taking a used cot.....

smurfy, mashy, my boy is also sleeping with me on the bed. When the baby comes, bb will sleep in the cot, all 4 of us will be in one room.

I'm staying with my in-laws and there's only one room for us.

jul, if you got babycot, i believe you just need to buy a new mattress. Old mattress may not be sturdy enough for the baby.

Comparing babycot and playpen, babycot has more support for the baby's back.

jul, they will keep ur name for 3 days.. if after that they still dont receive your payment, then they take ur name off..

So best is to send in the form and payment by today..

I in office, cannot fax, so going to post over.

Fatbobo,
wow congrats ur twin r growin well so can see the gender?

Pink,
it ok to use a used Cot if the condition is gd jus buy a new mattress n clean up the frame will do

Jul - you cannot ask her straight (or rather, she may or may not entertain). But you can ask her thru her assistant. Tell the assistant your concerns and why you need an answer urgently. Ask the assistant to check with your gynae on your behalf and specific to your condition whether you are able to go for a class like this. Ask the assistant to call you back once she gets an answer today. Say class is fast filling up, you need an answer. :0

Pink,
erm no leh i nv heard be4 for me it more of savin $$ cos if u got hand down 1 wat for spent $$ to buy another 1? i rather spent the $$ to buy a better mattress... but if u dun like the idea of usin a used cot den jus go n buy a new 1 lor..

donkeymami, you must be happy

pinkmama, i believe you can take the 2nd hand cot, just buy a good mattress eg Baby-safe mattress from Kiddy palace, about $100 plus, more ex but support is good.

hmm, got pantang about used cot meh ?

hee~ thanks.. nope.. cant see gender yet.

anyways babyS.. oops, they din tell me they will oni keep the reservation for 3 days niah.. i oso cant fax in offc.. better quickly ask my hb to help me fax le.

hooo.. by May.. we shld all be quite big le hor.
haha.

cloudme, i know AMK Hub's NTUC extra have..

we also considered the ikea cot, but dont u find even at the highest point its quite low? then u have to keep bending over to pick up baby, will get back ache leh.. and its not height issue.. i am tall, my mummy is shorter... both of us think the cot is too low... thats my view lah..

maybe u go ikea and try try, see if u have to bend alot or not.. must take care of ur back..

you see you see, haha, babyS and Jul - now you gals gan chiong.. i thot initially i more gan chiong for you gals than you gals yourselves.. kekeke.

joeey

Are all baby cots the same size? Or do I have to measure the dimensions so that I can get the correct size to fit into the cot?

babys

If they keep my name for 3 days, then I have Thu, Dri, Sat.. Sat I will see gynae. Maybe I can ask her on Sat, then fax over the form? Hhahaa

fjm

Aiyah I tot can slowly slowy, then suddenly the Apr classes full. Then someone said only got 5 slots per class. Then bobo booked liao. So I start to gan chiong also liao lor hahaha.

jul, yep, got different cot size and different mattress size, mostly differ in length. I think mine is 48 inch length, bigger one is 52 inch.

hahah.. y i booked liao then make u gan cheong? hahaha.

juz nw when i called.. the kuku lady told me they oni hv Mar classes nw.. April's date not out yet.. den i like bu ke neng mah... den yuan lai, she heard wrong, tot i wana sign up for duno watever else course. sai la. make me gan cheong suddenly.. wat if during her kuku-ness.. the slots full. BAHAHHAHA.. i lagi more gan cheong rite?

joeey

Uh oh.. then I guess I better measure properly b4 I buy. But anyway no hurry right?

I can wait for that May/Jun Taka fair.

babys

Will they call if they dun receive form by 3 days? Or they will just delete my booking one ah?

bobo

Maybe bcoz u got twins mah.. So in my mind, u took 2 slots? muahahaha

Btw hope u're feeling better after ur drip thing.

jul, i dunno leh.. hmm....

the taka fair is only in may/ jun? i thought april have?

oh, my friend share with me, sometimes Seahorse, has promotions on custom made mattresses, so she custom make her baby's cot mattress (ikea cot) at a good and cheaper price.

jul.. 2 slots? bahahahhaha.. *pengz*

babyS.. dun try to scared me leh.. but i dun tink they hv such classes there la hor?

lalalala~ u all arh.. try to pian wo.. huai ren!