(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Pink, when bb is bigger, it is easier to detect bb movement, during the 1st pregnancy, I asked my gynae as I got the flutter feeling a couple of time a day at the lower abdomen, was scared then, she told me it is bb movement.

When bb is bigger, some time voices made it excited and would feel movement too. I remember once, gynae was telling me to stop dairy products as bb is getting so big at week 31 and bb kicked her as she place her hand on my tummy to check. Then she mentioned again, she could feel the kick again, told me to reduce the amount I take.

Speaking of loud noises, I have been in close distance with a few lion dance troupes, at one relative house, and even at hawker centre. I hope my bb will not be alarmed.

michele, ur bill is expensive, wat it include?

only the OSCAR & blood test... so yes, its expensive.

hi thanks thanks..

yen, last time (long long time ago) i heard those old wife's tale that long feng tai (1 girl 1 boy twin) not good or watever.. s like.. some duno-wat previous life duno-wat lar... BUT NOW, i dun bother abt all these... boy-boy, girl-girl..or (best) boy-girl/girl-boy oso can.. hoho... ya..most important.. both healthy..(i oso healthy..haha) ya?

i felt my bb's first movement at end of 17wks... by 20th weeks, it was quite strong oredi... hahaha... by end of pregnancy, could be like the advertisment for the lil nonya show .. can feel the waves on ur tummy..somtimes very drastic painful kicks on the breastbone.... the nite of my delivery, my boy kicked my waterbag soo strongly until it burst... water gusts out frm my below (literally ike a water balloon bursting)

Michele,
Where did u have ur oscar done?

All these baby's movement talk is makin me so excited! Smurfy,ur boy is a super kicker!

Hi gals!

Fatbobo, Big congrts to having a twins

Mashy & shirley so great so fast u 2 can feel bb's movement liao..so envy.

mashy, ur bb sounds big le..last visit dr nv measure the size of the bb le..cos bb back facing us but can see bb grow quite alot from previous scan.

cherrios, my tummy i thk still not obvious mayb becos i'm tall. i told most of the colig i'm preg but they all said why still not showing

hello all,

Is anyone of u still experiencing nauseous feeling every now and then ? I am still feeling that way and if its bec im hungry that im feeling naueous then i need to eat every 2 hrs after i had a meal, be it a complete meal which i finish everything. Hope this is normal ?

Also im experiencing alot of rashes, on both sides of my breasts, armpit area, lower stomach and also now at the back of my neck.
Its super itchy and u can feel the rashes, some of them has brown pigmentation..making me pretty uncomfortable n worried too.

Dolce
I am feeling itchy all over...esp side of my thighs, lower back, around my nipples. The skin around my nipples r peeling!
I also keep feeling hungry but no nauseous.

donkeymani

haha, i seem to always get big babies. My #1 was also big in my tummy, but now so small outside. Hardly grow. SHould have let him stayed inside me for a longer period.

smurfy,

Is it good news ? I had thought 2nd trimester means more energy and less MS...
Im at my week 14 now...but seems to get tire more easily and naueous feeling attack me more.

Pinkmama,
The skin around my nipples are also peeling. And as i mention in my previous post, there are some whitish stuff which i always need to clean off once every few weeks.
Do you have rashes too? or just itchy ?

mashy,

big baby will hv prob in delivery woh! jz right size can liao...
I'm tall 1.7m OB keep telling me no prob in delivery. he said ang mo can give birth 4-5kgs bb woh..i heard liao vy scared le..cos will my bb as big as 4kgs? tat's really big to me..haha

dolve, i thk itchyness is becos our skin is dry, for me i dun hv rashes jz feel itchy.

dolce, like smurfy said, some are us are in the same boat! My gynae says it'll mostly be gone by week 16, so hang in there.

donekymami, think most Asian babies rarely reach 4kg... most are aroud 3+kg only...

donkeymani

haha, i no prob, going for c-section this time too.

Yah, my boy's former classmate was born 5kg. He's a french mix. I've a friend who delivered her son 4kg naturally too. And she's real petite.

mich, my SIL's bb gave birth at 9.8 pounds close to 4.5kgs..but bb vy cute lo..cos he's not fat just the build is big..now he's 1yr old + but alr wearing 2-3yrs old clothes liao. haha

mashy,

u will opt for C-sec as ur #1 also by c-sec la?
save the trouble & time to wait for dilation hor...everything settle within an hr

Dolce, I was just surfing around found this consoling piece of news from this morning sickness website that things will get better soon:
"When you are between 10 – 12 weeks pregnant your hormone will reach a peak and start to reduce as the placenta becomes fully functional. A lot of women exepct to feel better around week 12. You will gradually begin to feel better as the hormones level out and are likely to feel human again by week 16 and definitely by week 20. Very rarely it will continue."

donkeymami, wow 4.5kg! Yup I guess the boy must be of big built!

Dolce
I also have whitehed like stuff from my nipple which I press out every couple of wks. As for the peeling skin around my nipple, I use baby oil.

donkeymani

yah, after spending 18hrs of labour, still cannot push. So end up #1 under c-section. This time round wanna save the 18hrs of waiting & pain.

Mich,

Thanks so much!
So I still have abt 2 more weeks to go b4 things will start to be better.

But concern abt the rashes, my mum alert me yday she had to abort two babies previously due to some measles or rashes she had that would affect baby. She examine me and say seems not to be the same type of rashes. Made me so worried. I had thought rashes is one of the symptoms as well. hmmm but seems like none of the MTB here has it, except the itchness...

dolce
err if i remember correctly, ur gynae will send the blood samples to do some required testing, and measles is one of them? (cannot remember, i know hep b and HIV are included though).. me oso waiting for the ms to go away
.... same as u, week 14th now...

mich.
i got a net mummy very unlucky.. MS the whole pregnancy, even just before delivery. she say she onli got a few weeks of no MS.. hope none of us is like her...

smurfy, yup, one of my friends had that... let's pray it won't happen to us!

When did MS go away for your previous pregnancy?

Smurfy,
Ive not had my blood test done yet. Will only do so next mon.
Mich,
As i had the appointment next mon, is waiting then to let the gynae check. Had thought its normal till what my mum mentioned last night.
Thus abit worried now, but I will monitor the situation, if the rash pattern become different, will go to the gynae immediately.
Thanks for all the advise

mich
i dun have MS in my previous pregnancy.. but i was physically very weak, giddiness and fainting spells, breaking out in cold sweat...nearly fainted a few times on the street type.

Donkeymami, I am also 1.7m, gained 3 kg as at week 12 (2 weeks back), now 14th week..so sad, now I'm getting bigger-sized. I hope i dun look like a king-kong. Think must be those preg women's milk, that 's causing the weight gain.

Read somewhere, the weight should increase by 2-5-5 (2 kg in 1st trimester, 5kg in 2nd, 5kg in 3rd).

i just back from my gynae visit.
Done the NT scan of BB neck thickness, result was OK, doc said is within the norm range(1.6mm).
For the first time we saw bb was so active, moving here and there, while doc scanning for bb sex, she say " hm.. something protruding out, u get what i mean lah hur!"
HB and i were so happy! doc said high chance is a baby boy! hurray!!!
Oh.. so happy forget to update u gals,
i am 13w as of today, baby is 7cm.

yen, 2-5-5kg seems quite unrealistic... I bust the charts every pregnancy ha ha.

regg, congrats on the good results of the scan!

Yen2008, depends. The normal weight to gain is about 14kg. U will prob gain most in 2nd going into 3rd trimester, last month of pregnancy or so, you slow down or even lose weight (ie sign that labour is coming).\

smurfy: You are probably turning anaemic. Let your OB know. you may need some iron supplements. I remembered I almost passed out when I was abt 32 weeks at Sunday school.

Oh ya, to add on. I have friends who put on like 20kg. It really depends. But if u realise u are putting on too fast, please watch weight cos dun want to result in the Pregnancy type of diabetes (I forgot what they call that). Will cause complications.

I can feel my lower abdomen flutter sometimes. So that's bb movement? Gosh! I always thought that its just my stomach... me 1st timer's lah, no experience how bb movement is like

RE:weigh gain
I read alot abt this issue as i am pretty concern.
Summary : depends on your current wt.
Current wt : below/ average - to add 10-13
Current wt : over weight( like me) - to add 7- 10

Jul: haha...why ur husb and my husb say the same thing...all guys think alike..
Dr Caroline shd be not bad too, saw some positive comments on her.
Me too...still duuno to choose TMC or Mt A. Have not visited the hospitals to tour around yet. Will find a time to drag my husb there too.
Btw, the TMC FBI card confirmed will have some discount on the OSCAR, and subsequent 20th week detailed testing.. Remember to ask the nurse if u see your bill dun show the discount.

Regg, congrats on having a boy!! now, u can start looking around for blue-colored items, such as clothing lah...socks lah..

Regg

Congrats on having a boy!

Re: TMC/Mt A
From what i heard, TMC is better at neonatal care than Mt A. Not sure how true that is.

Piggy,
Ya, HB can see it b4 doc mentioned. He just stay quiet till doc also said something protroding out hehe..
Today i signed up the package, as my blood pressure not stable, a bit on the high side, so doc issued me some mild high blood med.

Package $800
cal/high bood pressure/multi vit/iron $82
NT scan $50
Total bill for today $997.33

regg, congrats u to having a bb boy. as for clothing i thk u wait after 5mth detailed scan confirmed gender then buy lo since no hurry mah.

yen, mashy
not 100% yet but doc said high chance!
when i step in house, first thing i wanna share with u gals already ... so happy!