(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

elicia mum,

U too ... stay strong, stay positive ok? Hope to hear your good news tomorrow

Hi mashy,

yes i am sure the bal of the mummy here or new aug mummy joining will be able to give birth to an healthy baby.. and best still gender of what u are hoping for.. keke

pegsfur
u r v strong indeed.. i think i will be in depression if that had happened to me.

pinkmama
i think the urine is for diabetes to check sugar level. coz nurse will tell mi all clear no diabetes.

i think the test for infection or anything else is taking sample from vagina n send for lab test/

i hope all mummies here can finish the race together and hv our little bundle of joy in our arms 7-8mths later. jia you!!

pinkmama,

Alamak .. u never ask ah ... Yah lah, it's for sugar level de. If no diabetes, there'll be no colour rite? If kena gestational diabetes like me last time, it will turn brown.

Oh ya, another thing to share, those with diabetes also more prone to infection, which sadly, is like my case.

elicia mum
coz adults wanna save the chao tar bits for themselves!! haha
but cannot eat too much of the chao tar parts coz they are carcinogenic coz too much carbon content.. so must eat in moderation...

Hi pegsfur,
u gt diabetes or ur parents?
my dad have when he is around.. so when i am preg with no 1 i will need to do one more test..
so er xin... drink 3 bottles of uper sweet drinks every 1 or 2 hours.
can die manz

I have 2 Brand New tubes of Elancyl Stretch Mark Preventive & Reducing Cream to let go cheaply. Over-stock as i will be due in Mar09. Interested, pls PM me for price & collection.

elicia mum

I took that test too! Coz my boy was growing too big, so kenna test. Hated that super sweet gassy drink. Kept making me burp like mad and wanted to puke. Hope i don't have to go thru that again.

Hi taslyn,
normally if i eat that.. i will make sure i finish all the chao tar lor.. so nice.. and seldom eat de ma..

Hi mashy,
u also kana ar?? super er xin right..
some more nt allow yto drink water..
hope this time round can skip cos same gynae else no choice lor.. drink again lor..

elicia mum

yup. totally hated it. And worse thing is i don't like gassy drink, so even though it tasted like orange, it's still so disgusting.

hi mashy,
ya lor.. cant stand it myself also...
ok la.. going to bath then go see my daughter le.. all the best for ur check up tml..
will chat again later tonight if i am not tired lor.. keke

elicia mum,

I had gestational diabetes, which happens only when preggy. I'm ok when not preggy.

Oh ya, i took that orange fizzy drink oso ... i even worst, drank it early in the morning as my appt was in the morning .. made my tummy so uncomfortable.

re: weight
haf any of the mummies gained weight? i haf been eating alot more than usual...shld be in my 8th or 9th week...but weight stills remain the same?!

re: bra
my bra is also getting too small...think need buy a bigger cup and non-wire bras

passed by Spring maternity yday...they sell those nursing bras for $19.90 and those paddded camisole

I've came across these articles on Flaxseed oil intake during pregnancy. Though flaxseed oil is a good source for omega3, caution is needed on the amount as some studies had shown that it will cause premature babies.

from http://www.dietaryfiberfood.com/flaxseed-pregnancy.php

Flax seed is a rich source of omega 3 fatty acids (alpha-linolenic acid, ALA) and lignans. Some of the health benefits of omega 3 fatty acids are decrease in low density lipoprotein, LDL, cholesterol, and total cholesterol, lower risks of incidence of cardiovascular diseases and inflammation.
Omega-3 fatty acids may also reduce risks of menstrual syndrome and postmenopausal hot flushes.

Flaxseed consumption during pregnancy could be beneficial for fetus brain development.

Flaxseed provides lignans, phytoestrogen, which are estrogen-like phytochemicals. Therefore, flax seed may alter hormonal balance during pregancy. And since women during pregnancy and fetus are in their hormone-sensitive period, caution is advised on the dosage of flax seed intake.

Most information on flax seed (and flax seed oil) and its effect on pregnant women is inferred from studies on animals. In animal studies, intakes of high dosages of flax seed have caused reproductive complications.

On the other hand, foods high in omega-3 fatty acids, to which flax seed is a major source, are recommended during pregnancy and during breastfeeding, forexample to enhance the baby's brain development.

Other food sources of omega 3 fatty acids are fish (examples: salmon and shrimp), Neptune krill oil, cod liver oil, chicken, egg, meat and vegetables such as walnuts, chia, purslane and hemp.

Research on the role of flax seed on prevention or treatment of breast cancer in postmenopausal women is not conclusive. However, there are indications that flax seed lignans may prevent breast cancer in postmenopausal women. Flax seed oil also has been shown to reduce mammary tumor growth.

Flax seed lignans also affect estrogen metablosm.

from http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/articles/127046.php

A study has found that the risks of a premature birth quadruple if flaxseed oil is consumed in the last two trimesters of pregnancy. The research was conducted by Professor Anick Bérard of the Université de Montréal's Faculty of Pharmacy and the Sainte-Justine Hospital Research Center and Master's student Krystel Moussally.

In Canada, 50 percent of pregnant women take prescription medication. Yet many of them prefer to use natural health products during the pregnancy. "We believe these products to be safe because they are natural. But in reality, they are chemical products and we don't know many of the risks and benefits of these products contrarily to medication," says Bérard.

Bérard and Moussally set out to conduct one of the largest studies ever undertaken on by analyzing data from 3354 Quebec women. The first part of the research established that close to 10 percent of women between 1998 and 2003 used natural health products during their pregnancy. Before and after pregnancy they were respectively 15 and 14 percent to use these products. The increase means that about a third of women consuming natural health products stopped during the pregnancy.

The most consumed natural health products by pregnant women are chamomile (19 percent), green tea (17 percent), peppered mint (12 percent), and flaxseed oil (12 percent). Bérard and Moussally correlated these products to premature births and only one product had a very strong correlation: flaxseed oil.

"In the general population, the average rate of premature births is 2 to 3 percent. But for women consuming flaxseed oil in their last two trimesters that number jumps up to 12 percent," says Bérard. "It's an enormous risk."

The correlation existed only with flaxseed oil, yet women consuming the actual seed were unaffected. Even if more studies must be undertaken to verify these results, Bérard recommends caution when it comes to consuming flaxseed oil.

sharon,
I've also been eating alot lately and I'm 11 wk now, so far also no weight gain. In fact had lost 0.5 kg instead. I think I look thinner and my sis's domestic help also ask if I lose weight

Hi pegsfur,

Not sure if you still remember me. Happened to see your name here and just come in to "jia you" for you. I'm happy to know about your good news. Same as you, I never give up and am now in the Jul09 MTBs thread. hehehe.....let's jia you together!

To other Aug09 MTBs, please stay positive and jia you!!!

Hi, I've been reading this thread for some time too but never posted anything.

I will be an Aug 2009 2nd time mummy too. EDD should be 3rd Aug.

Pegsfur, I also get brown colour for the urine test all the time too during my 1st pregnancy. So each time before I go see gynae, I will drink lots of plain water and skip the sweet stuffs just to get a better result.

Don't think too much, you will make it this time!

hi, I am currently in my 11wk, going 12wk and have yet to hear the heartbeat, cos on my 1st visit the nurse ensure me that everything is going ok, don't have to see the sac. Have been quite worried since then after hearing so many stories on no heartbeat.

Going for my next gynea appt tmr. Really quite worried that I can't hear any heartbeat. Btw, can I ask if I do not have any brown discharge or discomfort of any kind means bb should be ok? I do not have morning sickness(maybe inherited from my Mum, cos she didn't have any) or any implatation spotting before this and this is my 1st pregnancy. Advise pls...getting quite freaked out here...

MOrning Gals...

Cherrios,
if u dun feel comfortable without seein ur baby u shd go to another gynae... usu our gynae will ensure there is heartbeat in our baby ard wk6... no spottin does not mean ur baby is ok but since u r goin to see ur gynae tml u can jus wait n see how it goes...

morning gals

Can I join in the thread?

I am also going to be 2nd time mum in Aug 2009. However, just checked yesterday that i have some bleeding and just took hormone jab and medication. Lucky heartbeat still ok. But need constant monitoring

So worried as well.

Any advise?

Chiart, only thing u can do now is rest more and dont be too stressed up.. Dont walk too much and carry heavy stuff.. Continue your mediciation + Jab and u'll be fine..

Anyway, welcome to the thread! =)

Thanks Jermaine for the re-assurance.

I guess this time round i am too tensed up as well cos I was also diagnose with Thyroid at the same time.

When is your EDD?

jermaine, can't help worrying still. doubt I can slp well tonight... =(

chiart, i used to have Thyroid too, but all clear now. Still have to test blood on a regular basis to make sure it does not relapse.

Chiart, dont mention.. I have spotting as well so u dont worry..

Cherrios, try to grab some sleep.. Worrying so much also cannot change things.. Everything will be fine.. But why is your gynae visit so late? I guess u are not in singapore?

piggy, no, in US. =(

i think it works differently here. my first visit only see the head nurse, and she did all the tests for me including pap smear. tmr den will c the doc.

Wondering any mother-to-be is experiencing the same problem as me... I have consistent headaches, giddiness with blackout feeling and flu-like symptom which is affect my work....went to see GP, she mentioned it is the norm and prescribe panadol...dun dare to take panadol as i have read bad stories about preggie woman taking panadol online...btw i currently in my 9 wks gng to 10 wks.....

piggy, hope so!!! *prays hard*

cindy, isit not enough iron? from what I know, not enough iron will cause giddiness and blackout feeling cos I used to have it but after I started on iron pills was ok already. I don't know about the flu-like symptoms though..

mashy
i know what u mean abt that.. it seems like m/cs are sooo common nowadays.. and there will be someone who will kena that in a thread... but it's still very sad..n this thread oredi have a lot of dropouts..

pegsfur
*hug*hug*.. owen's never gone... he's watching over u.. and he will bless this pregnancy for u.. r u going back to the same gynae? i wanted to ask why the previous gynae never hospitalized u throughout .. but anyway that's in the past..

thanks everyone

yes cherrios, try to get some sleep. Don't think too much. Everyone also advise me not to think too much and think positively.It will be fine

Let's encourage each other

very motherly ok, luckily not very motherly-in-law, sounds hellish.. haha...

pegsfur,
actually i felt a little guilty for making you retell the story of Owen. i feel bad for you but i see that you've overcome it hence i can only sing praises for you. hey what don't kill you make you stronger right? now i understand your paranoia about discharge. what mashy said is also true, we're all not god but we can pray and hope the best for you and for us all.

sharon,
my weight also remains the same. i'm always 55kg in the morning 57kg at night haha. last two pregnancies i constantly lose 3kg in the first tri due to bad MS. normal lah.

kikilala,
thanks for sharing about flaxseed oil. think the best way to take in nutrients is the actual food that we eat. we should avoid supplements b'cos their nutritional contents are often inflated because it's a fact that synthetic items are not readily absorbed by our body. hence the reason why OBs prescribe prenatal vitamins. however, if you're not affected by MS, eat as balanced as you can and don't feel guilty about skipping the vitamins :p

irene,
welcome to Aug 2009 MTB thread!

cherrios,
you sound just like me lor. my MS is mild and almost non-existent. i'm not spotting too. are you on any progesterone supplements. i'm going for a scan tomorrow too, to know if there's progress and viability.

chiart,
welcome to Aug 2009 MTB thread! if heartbeat is ok, it's ok. some mummies here do spot and still ok. i spotted in my previous pregnancy too and baby was ok. are you on any medication for Thyroid?

Morning ladies

Hello bear,
Good to see u here too ... come & post more often lah. I tried to skip the sweet stuff b4 my appt oso but it still turn brown .. cannot escape.

smurfy,
Yup, i'm back with the same gynae. I was hospitalised for a few days, expecting labour, but nothing happens, no spotting, no pain. So gynae discharged me but ordered complete bed rest at home. Eh, it's gonna be expensive if i stay there for so many weeks leh.

Cindy,
Yeah it could be that you're lacking in iron like Cherrios mentioned or your blood pressure is either too high or too low. Did you mention this to your OB? Panadol or generic Paracetamol is safe yeah. But if you can endure, just endure. anytime u have a dizzy spell, sit down slowly to recompose yourself and when you have to stand up, rise slowly.

cindy, re the panadol part, my G and gyane say can take panadol (pure 500mg paracetamol, no additives like caffine etc..)... can take up to 8 a day.. but i never take, i rather tahan..

Cindy,
I do have occassional headaches and flu like symptoms. But no black out for me, headache can be so bad that I am not able to concentrate on working and flu like symptoms continue till, hey i realise it had stop. Was having flu constantly when i 1st discovered im preg...till maybe last week or sometime this week that it stopped...

mrspuff,

yes i am on medication for thyroid as well. Need to keep it in control while pregnant.
Gosh..so many pills to pop everyday

Cindy,
i'm also having headache quite often, and its those very painful type, like my heart went inside the brain and still beating there. I cannot function at all, not even sleep when it happens. I just take 1 normal type pandadol to reduce the pain