(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

I also worry wrong bb , so I tell my HB u must remember our bb look as I too pain or tired to remember .

as for monitor kicking I normally will knock knock my tummy and call bb to kick and let me feel it so that I have peace of mind

Carters, Pooh Bear, Color-land etc Diaper BAgs BP

Saw from the BP organiser's post that the Carters bags are factory excess, that's why so cheap. IS that same as imitation?

jul, yup I bought the 8 oz milk bags. I used them before and I would just fill it to about 6oz then tie a knot to secure it. No problems at all.

mich

Oh then that's good. Coz it's really much cheaper than the other brands hor? A bit heart pain to spend $0.40 on each bag.

Do u know if the Playtex ones can be frozen? I only know they are BPA free.

jul,
dat one how to count huh? one kick click one time...sometimes multiple movements also dunno count as one or?

piggytoh,
yes, during checkup gynae saw so immediately c-section

sharon

I guess shd be lor? As long as it's consistent. Coz like pink says, every BB diff right? So if all the time u count multiple movts as one, then continue to do so. As long as no significant decrese, shd be ok hor?

Sharon,
wow so scary.. ur friend v heng also at least manage to detect cos a lot of time by the time we realise no movement alr too late...

scare hope 32week + , gyne will call me go back everyweek to check on my bb . Jia you every mummy 2 more month to go

coconut drink
aiya! forgot to ask gynae about it today. But I still heck care and drink like 3 times a week leh lol don't think there is any side effect bah? the only thing i found online is all the benefit which is scientific proven if drink coconut drinks often... never talk about side effect.

From what i research, young coconut = coconut with juice and some meat. old/ripe coconut = no juice and meat only.

TMC
the hospital tour guide told us that TMC got wifi but she said for 2 bedded & 4 bedded got a $10 charge per day. maybe she is talking about TMC wireless connection bah?

i dont understand why companion needs $75 more a day. if the hubby is not gonna eat the meals they provide leh? i told my hubby i dont want him to accompany me, so expensive!!!!

I also hate the parking system. so expensive haha. we were there for like 2 hours and paid $9. o_o;; $2 as the tips to the valet (or something), then $7 for the parking using cash card. aiyo, so much cheaper for them to park the car somewhere else and then bring you there to collect your car. lol

weight
i finally gained some weight from preggie liao. 1.5kg weight gain so far. but i think it is because of all the durian/apple strudel, marks & spenser biscuits, soft drinks (2 big bottle), fast food i ate these few days!

also, my boy have been head down since week 20 or 24. i guess he like this upside down position!

pinkmama & kikilala
how come you have to monitor baby's movement? what counter is it? looks fun leh!! do u hear baby's heart beat using it or? my gynae only say must feel baby's movement everyday can liao cos my placenta blocking his movement. so only time i can feel is when he kick very very hard.

celine
i heard blue egg milk bag is good and only about $8.50 for 25 pieces. i got a pack to try when i gave birth. =)

Coconut :

How abt those in cans ? is it ok to drink tat ?

do NTUC sell those small coconut and easy to open it cover one har ? I try once and I have difficulies open it with a big chopper

donkeymani

don't need to count bah, just be sure your bb moves. If move lesser, immediately see gynae. A few of my friends delivered stillborn coz of the umblical cord. So sad...

sharon,

The cord thingy is quite scary. Just simply have this deja vu feeling. Last sat had the gynae visit, he was doing the scan and sharing with me about the cord strangulation. Here i am reading it and exposing its possibility even further.

Guess we can only set my mind at rest only when we deliver the little one.

Can i check if we are able to detect movement, not necessarily a kick is it registered as a movement? or must it be a kick?

jul, I have been freezing them and so far so good. Yes others seem alot more expensive and I was using so many of them cos I was expressing full time.

Sharon

I like durains but not eating them now cos pregnant.
Durain is "PU" but also "poisonous".
My sister in law son got skin problem after she ate durains during the pregnancy time.

After eating durains, make sure eat or drink some cooling stuff la

==================

Piggytoh

Heard the pigmentation will goes off after giving birth wor...
But put sunblock when going out or take umbrella under the sun.

==================

How many of the ladies here book for TMC hospital?
Next week see my doc than my doc will book for me

I still want to go MT A and choosing 2 bedded one.

I don want single bed cos I scared hauntu.

==================

jul,
yup i guess so...somemore bb need sleep too rite?
so sometimes longer period no movement lei

reira,
i buy for $7.50 only

Re: monitoring bb movement
My gynae method.
1) monitor between 9 am to 2 pm. Those gentle tapping motions that u feel is counted as 1 group whereas any turns or hard kicks is counted as another group. So say if u count 50 times today & it drop by more than 50% tomorrow, have to go do CTG to check.

mashy, think the gynaes think its more "scientific" to count? My gynae will give me a chart at week 32 and tell me everyday must fill in number of movements, and have to show him every visit. If on a specific day, number of movements are off, report to delivery ward.

I mia awhile ago to cut Kai's hair, he feels cooler with his hair shorter.

chintz, It is either Farrer Rd or Farrer Park Fruit stall in ABC market, I love the durian milkshake, it is yummy.

Kiki, we will see our item soon, should not have pop then. We can still meet up before you go to Shanghai and I go back to Sydney year end.

Pink, why need to use counter?

Heard TMC is very strict now like during SARs period, strictly two visitors. Coz during SARs it is very strict too.

sorry to clarify. But if the baby is having hiccups, will that be considered another group of movement?? Cos when he has hiccups, i can feel it (tapping-like movements).

Regarding about sleeping 45o, I have a pillow to support my back, a pillow to support part of my tummy, so bb only kick when bladder is full and I need to go toilet and also I think for myself and Kai, we sleep in air-con about 22oC to 23oC and also with fan now coz too hot for us, I dun feel so uncomfortable so better sleep.

joycec,
i also scared cos my doc also got mention...

sbb,
i didnt eat any cooling stuff cos my mum say pregnant cannot eat cooling stuff not even liang teh lei

pinkMama,
does ur baby kick up to 50 times a day?

Pinkmama

Huh? Got such rules must count one ah?
Sometimes too busy where got count one wor or realize right?

I realize sometimes my bb kick a lot today, next day tired liao than kicks lesser. Haha..

=================================

You all have bought bags for bb liao huh?

I saw that reira has bought it. I think Cartel something this brand?
Seems not bad...

Any cheap lobang where to buy? Cos I thinking going to royal sporting hse to buy. Haha..

=================================

re : coconut

WBB said ok to drink. Coz we are feeling so heaty & the weather is so bad. She said it'c to help cool us down. But nothing to do whether the BB will come out cleaner. That's what she said at the class lah.

Joycec, that should be a group of movement.

Any1 keen to get HOOKED ON PHONICS PRODUCT, there is a spree going on, at http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2234054.html?1245020814
I am trying to get hold of HOOKED ON PHONICS - LEARN TO READ -2nd Grade as Kai has completed all the 1st Grade and he can read all the chapter books on his own and he loves them as they are interesting and funny. The organiser is trying to get enough order to place order.

Sharon, actually my gynae said to have at least 20 kicks. Doesn't matter which time of the day. Cos sometimes they tend to move at lot more at different time of the day. But i tend to lost track of it also, cos he moves a fair bit and not necessarily a kick, so i thought that it is ok.

Seems like he is having hiccups now again. Poor boy, nothing much i can help him to do. Gynae also said that there are no scientific explanation why the little one is able to have hiccups in the womb.

Jul, they come with cards, CDs, books. I used them with Kai when I was teaching him phonics in Vancouver in addition to all the parenting phonics books I have together with DVDs from Leapfrogs and Kai loves it coz the books are interesting. I invested alot in readers as well as progress phonics readers coz they are very interesting. They have workbook that help the child listen to the sound as well as the blending in words.

joycec,
sometimes i get busy, i dun really monitor or cant really feel my baby's movements

tink i will make an effort to do some counting liao

pris,
from wat age can we start this hooked on phonics?

Sharon, discover reading from day 1, can use on bb liao. Hooked on Phonics, I started Kai when he was like he was trying to pick up on letter sounds, so instead of teaching him ABC, I taught him phonics sounds and ABC he picked up on his own, he started that even before he turned 2.

He also loves leapfrog DVDs so it was fun learning all the sounds together.

pris

my boy learnt his alphabets and phonics from leapfrog dvds too! He's got the phonics pack from leapfrog too. He loves his leapfrog dvds but still wanna play ard with his leappad so can't really get down to using it properly. hiaz...

Guess all of us worried about the umbilical cord thing.

Anyway, to recap, all bb movements are different. Some are more active than the others, and some mummies may feel more whilst other feel less. So according to my gynae, need to record so you know your bb pattern. The hiccups, rhythematic tapping movements are considered as 1 group. And any turns or kicks are considered as another group. If you are keen to follow my gynae method,

1) Record number of movements between 9am to 2pm and 4pm to 9pm. So if the movements decreases by more than 50% (comparing with the day before) have to go to gynae or hospital labour ward immediately. Sometimes may be false alarm, due to error in recording or bb is more tired that day, but its better to be safe than sorry.

I am suppose to start my recording tomorrow. Will let you all know how it goes.

pinkmama: wah.. ur dr got such counter also ah.. but sometimes we too busy, we also may miss baby moving leh..

re GBSL I am also worried about GBS... cos i nurse too many kids who have GBS till i scared and i am allergic to the antibiotics that they give to treat GBS... but I am going to just pray and leave it all to God. I worry also no use.

sbb: mine also.. if today kick a lot, tmrw wouldnt kick so much liao.. haha

Jul
i think it is not very heavy but not very light also. well, it is lighter than the TMC FBI diaper bag. even tho i bought it from USA, but it is also made in china. factory excess means they make too many right? donno leh... it is like S$40 cheaper than from USA (excluding shipping charges).

Since so many mommies bought from her, u can try msg those mommies and see if the quality is ok bah? if the quality is ok then ok to buy bah. sooner or later it will become dirty de lor. haha now i am so scared that my bag will become dirty cos i paid so much for it ah!! (altho it is hubby's $$$) maybe i go and buy one more from her but blue one then wont so xin tong if it got dirty in hospital or what. oh i notice the outside base of my bag have a plastic protection layer.

I took pics of the carter's tags on my bag & changing matt but maybe they didnt put them on factory excess?
http://reira.rabu-rabu.org/carter

coconut: did Mrs Wong said how many times we can drink coconut drink a week?

bean
somehow i think new born all looks the SAME leh!! today saw a few outside of TMC's nursery. All looks the same to me!

sharon
you got what for $7.50 only? the blue egg milk bag?

Mashy, Kai also has his phonics pack from leapfrog. He is a natural lover for books, so he enjoys reading books and loves the library and now he chooses his own books to read.

pinkMaMa,
do keep us updated!

reira,
yup...blue egg one for $7.50

pris,
did u start reading to Kai before he was born?

pris

my boy also loves his books and chooses his own books at home for us to read. haha. There's a selected few that he will read himself but i think he has memorised the books rather than really reading. I can turn the page randomly and he can read that particular page but if it's a new book, chances are he won't know how to read it.

Just came back from gynae visit.
Felt a bit of depressed and helpless.
Gynae advises me to control my diet, and MUST CONTROL.
At week 33, bb weighs 2.7kgs, he is definitely overweight and I still have 7 more weeks to go.
When my daughter was 34 weeks, she was only 2.3kgs.

sharon
I don't think my bb got kick 50 times a day. It was just an example given by my gyane.

Btw, I think the counter can be bought anyway, not necessary from the gynae.

mashy,
i also considering epidural for my C section, but I am not sure if I will be scared during the op ? Like when I hear the nurses or gynae giving commands etc....Also worried about my own movement during the injecting of the epidural...confused.

mashy
wa!! your boy got real good memory leh!!!

mickey
2.7kg!?! Is GD causing it? Normally what do you eat? I just got back today also, baby week 32 and weigh 1.9kg. I've been eating a lots of junk food recently. like fastfood, bubbletea many times a week. very unhealthy but i dont feel like eating healthy food leh!! only got feel like eating fried stuffs or snacks...

delivery
I want to aim for natural delivery but a bit worry leh. If try 10 hours cannot push out cos of my bone or something hor, then it means I pain for 10 hours for nothing. not to mention my hospital bill will be insanely high (natural + c-section bill). *faint*

Sharon, I started reading to Kai b4 he was borned and it was natural to read even when I was in the hospital after birth so I read to him while bfd in the day and read to him before he sleeps.

Mashy, give Kai any books from 3 years old onwards, words that he has come across he can read them and he loves books from young. So now he chooses his own books at library and he has no problem reading them though I am still systematic when it comes to phonics and also blending sounds and teaching him to break up longer words to read. I think with GD flashcards and phonics as well as comprehension skills, he is doing fine for reading and understanding and alot of listening to BBC and also news haahaa.

mickey,
wow ur baby is really big!
mine only 1.5kg at 29weeks doc already ask me control

pinkMaMa,
so its the kind of counter jul mention?

sharon: huh? 1.5kg at week 29 already must control ah?

mine was 1.2kg at 28 weeks leh..

i was just eating a biscuit just now when reading. I now feel so guilty to swallow the biscuit.. scared baby too big..