(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Re: Car seat protector

hahah, realised after so many years, what's the pt of a car seat protector when the car seat/booster will be permanently there for at least 8 yrs? By then we would have changed the car. Hahaha.

Jul
totally understand. My ILs are also Christians and still pantang. I think it's gotta do with being Chinese. Chinese has a lot of beliefs that get passed on down the generations. My MIL ever told me to wash my feet with 'tong zi niao' if i get swollen feet from preg!

RE: Inconsiderate neighbours and hanging clothes out
I also have my fair share of inconsiderate neighbours. Somemore i stay on a low floor. Ever went up to my neighbour and told them to keep their dripping wet clothes. Happened that they are taiwanese and was on their way out for a 'very important mtg' & don't have time to bring in their laundry. I didn't care and just stood at the door and insisted that they keep their clothes. Their reasoning was their washing machine was spoilt. But that doesn't give them the excuse to be inconsiderate.

Well, i made a make-shift 'shelter' with 2 poles and a clear plastic sheet to cover my laundry whenever i need to hang anything outside. My plastic sheet is now dirty like siao coz of the things pp throw down, but at least it keeps my laundry clean & dry.

bbmaking
hehe, i'm on of those who bought the ergo carrier. I tried before and it's very good. Not straining on the back unlike the sling.

jul

my dad was unhappy that i shifted the furniture ard during the weekend to make more space. Everything he also tell me to wait till my bb is out. Aiyoh, after bb is out, where got time to do it. And i think it'll disturb bb more if we do all the shifting then.

Hi gals, I went to see gynae last Sat. Baby is shy, still hide from the 3D scan. This was the 2nd attempt liao ( at 31weeks). 1st attempt was 29 weeks, and he used his hand to cover face. So bo pian, gyane said wait for 2 weeks later to see if can do the 3D scan again.
Now bb is 1.8kg at 31 weeks, and mummy's weight is 68 kg *haiz.....* cham...after delivery, need to work hard to shred off.

Then after chk-up, i satisfied my durian craze..happily whacked on 6-8 durian seeds.

mashy: so funny...why u feel like poo-poo? I dun have the urge..but i find that i got a lot of 'pi' during pregnancy. But bowel movement slower nowadays.

jul
Ya lor .. that's the thing with older chinese bah, abit obsessed with the superstition thing. Anyway, if u dun do the reno now, like wat mashy said, it's gonna have more disturbances to bb if u do it after bb is born.

mashy
U only havae the urge to poo huh ... but did anything come out?

carefreelife

yes. u can tell from the colour. It's not authentic.

yen
yah lor, i also dun understand. Didn't feel that when i had #1. This one kept wanting to poo. And each time poo just a little bit. Machiam like wanting to pee all the time too, but each time just a little trickle.

Btw, anyone has a good 'fengshui man' to recommend? We r looking for nice and auspicious names for bb. Already have a name in mind, but duuno which chinese character is good for the bb.
We went to this shop, opposite TMC. This shop near the bus stop has bb-naming service at $88.
They said, to give them the birthday/hrs, and they will advise if your 'preferred name' is suitable or not. And if not suitable, they will give u some names.

mashy,

Ooh... but it's better than constipation rite?
I actually dun mind pooing ... hahaha ..

How to sleep well ??? I last night cant sleep turn right or left BB kick me when i turn to both side end up I also dunno which side to go and uncomfortable of the aching .Dunno why from last night until now he keep kicking , bb dun need to sleep one meh .super active nowsday .

mashy

Yeah hor, come to think of it. By the time we graduate from the car seat, car already scrapped liao haha.

Ew!! Wash feet with tong zi niao???

Imitation meaning the Carters' one right? I was thinking more of the Color-land or Pooh Bear ones.

mashy, pegsfur

That's why hubby said to do now rather than later. Coz when BB is born, all the dust will affect him. And how is he gog to rest with all the knocking ard? I figure since mine is mostly carpentry works, shd be relatively easy, fuss free & not so dirty.

bean

Me too! Whenever I turn on my left or right, he stretches & pushes my tummy. But when I sleep on my back, he doesn't. Think he doesn't like me to sleep on my side. Sigh

jul

yah, i was referring to the carter's one. Maybe u can check with kiki when she's having another spree? I think this is prob from taobao...

pegsfur
u constipated? I've piles and still pooing. Maybe that's why cannot fully clear each time.

pegsfur: haiyo.... wait till ur MIL gets a higher floor neighbour who does that to her clothing, she sure scold one... then she'll get a taste of her own med....

babymaking: wah lau... curry some more... terrible leh... sometimes i wish HDB can make shelters for each individual shelters for each house, to dry their clothings in peace..

mashy,
No leh ... for this preg i seldom get constipation ... *touch wood*
For my last preg, although i oso dun have constipation, but i dun have the urge to go. It's like i only poo once or twice a week lor. So fuuny de.

baby s,
Nowadays my MIL dun hang her clothes outside if she can help it, cos she scared i'd tempered with her clothes or worse, that i'd throw away her clothes ... hahaha ... She now hangs her laundry in her room.

bean and jul, me too have the same encounter with my baby. I sleep on my back, my back ache next morn and think will injure our spine if we sleep on the back.

Jul, i have the same problem. the baby will kick me when i sleep on either side... but when i sleep on my back, i wake up with a back-ache...

jul: my gynae used the same machine (the usual ultrasound machine) to take 3D scan. She charge $50 for 1 piece of 3D scan picture. On both times, she only gave me the usual black n white ultrasound pictures ( which is part of her package). At the prev time, at wk 29, she said the bb turned to his side, so not clear. So, she din charge me $

Same for this time, also not successful, so she din charge me the 3D scan.

carefree, sunshine

Seems like we all same prob. Chiam, like that how ah? To have backache or to be kicked the whole nite???

mashy

I think I will get the Pooh Bear one lah. $17 niah. If dun work out as diaper bag, I can use it as my own handbag hahaha.

Calling Reira

U got the real Carter's bag ah?

bean

Sometimes I will wake up & 'discover' I am on my back. Anyway at the antenatal class, WBB said nvm. This is bobian. We will do what comes naturally to us. Just try our best to sleep on the left side can liao.

bean, before you sleep, you can pat your tummy and tell baby that it's night time, time to sleep. This one my colleague taught me and she says her bb can sleep through the night on the 2nd week liao.
When i remember, i'll do that before i sleep :p

jul, i can't sleep on my back unless elevated at 45 degress, otherwise bb will kick. usually i sleep on my left or right side. i read that it's better to sleep on the side to allow better blood flow. http://www.americanpregnancy.org/pregnancyhealth/sleepingpositions.html

mashy, better to have poo than constipation leh. i also always have the urge to pee but each time only a trickle ...

last friday, i just bought US$154 worth of GAP clothes cos of the sale alone !!! Does anybody knows how to get their GAP code so that i can have free domestic shipping next time ?

joeey

Wah! U bot so much! I am trying to control myself from buying any clothes. So I still have to get nusrsing bras & tops for wearing after delivery. Only thing I got is Karmy PJs hehe.

joeey : I do that also , everyday tell bb same thing say I want to sleep tommorow work so can buy toy and milk for him so let me sleep HEHEHE . Everyday tell him give me fast labour not much pain so mummy wont torture pain for too long .

Piggy & Jul

The car seat protector i brought was the one that only put on the siting area. So is much cheaper...If u buy those that also protect the back of the seat will be a bit more exp... Think $30-$40+. There is still sales around. Can go and take a look lor... Don't have to buy so exp 1....

pegsfur: hahahahah.....

i find my baby doesnt like me to sleep on my side too.. she will kick, feels like she is standing up and stamping her feet on my side (hope she didnt pick up the bad habit of stumping from my rabbit ahah)

but i dont care, i will still sleep on my side...

For those who sleep on back unknowingly.. how about putting a pillow or rolled up towel behind ur back b4 u sleep? then even if u turn back, u either will wake up cos its uncomfy, or u will be lying on it, so not totally flat..

online shopping is hard to resist especially when there's sale !!!

bean, u r so cute

mashy, list of stuff for hospital bag :
For baby
• Receiving Blanket
• Baby clothes
• 1 baby cap
• Booties and Mittens
For mother
• Nursing Bra
• Disposable Breast pad
• Disposable Pads
• Bring maternity dress for wear to discharge

Oh, bring marriage cert if you intend to register baby’s name in the hospital. Also bring gynae package bill to claim $450 from medisave.

jul,
Talk abt nursing top, i just saw this bright striped nursing top at mothercare for $59.. so tempted to buy it cos it comes with a matching bodysuit for bb! Den i can wear with Ovann ... same design de

mashy,
Same here, i've also stopped buying clothes for bb le, cos initially thot i've got no hand-me-downs from frens, who knows a few just passed me a bag full of bb clothes

babys

I a bit scared.. My mum told me that I also din like her to sleep on the side, will keep kicking her. So I kicked so hard until I burst the waterbag & she had to rush to hospital to deliver me.

pegsfur

So cute! I also a bit sucker for those matching type haha.

mashy,
Hahaha .. u saw that too? So cute lor ... r u going to get it? I think i will get it if i'm going to marina sq for lunch this wk.

jul,
U oso like those matching de? Eh, u go and buy lah, den the 6 of us have the same design clothes

Heehee I very happy..

Hubby bot ma a laptop yest from the PC fair. For use at home when I am staying home with Babylet.

jul/pegsfur

hahahah. I'll have to wait till after delivery, then can go and buy somemore. Now too many things to wash already. Maybe by then i would have changed my mind abt it. And i think maybe we may get mothercare discount voucher with the bb bag that they usually give out at hospital, so i'll wait and see.

jul

I'm going TMC. i still dunno what will be in the bb bag, but usually a lot of vouchers, free samples etc. They may include that. I actually got a mothercare 20% off voucher for bb clothes sets and maternity fashion, but dunno where i dumped it. Hmmph...

mashy,
But the matching bb bodysuit seems small leh as it's for newborn .. i'm afraid by the time we have energy to shop after giving birth, bb has outgrown the size le. And i thot mothercare has sale now oso?

jul,
Wah ... yr hubby so good .. cld u bring it to hospital when u r giving birth so that u can give us a live update on your labour .. hahaa .. it'll be very exciting leh

mashy

Oh u also TMC huh? I think TMC has this list of things to put in hospital bag too :
What to Bring For Your Stay
For maternity patients, please bring along your:
• personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
• maternity brassieres
• cardigan or dressing gown
• bedroom slippers
• sanitary belt (optional)
• sanitary towels (optional)
• polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.

We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
• baby vests
• disposable diapers
• toiletries
• a baby bag
• wrapping blanket
• a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables.

Hello Regg .. how's your booties knitting coming along? Finishing soon?

Btw, ladies, those coconut that we are suppose to take, is it those small brown coconut or those big green type?

regg

Harlow! Everytime I see u, I think of my green & yellow booties haha.

pegsfur

Live update? U mean like webcam film evetything down.. like Blair Witch project ah? hahaha

Actually he was the one who wanted to get me a laptop. He talked abt it for a couple of yrs liao, but I aws say dun waste $$.

But now that I will be home for 4 mths at least, he says better to get now than to rush ard last min again. U know lah, his motto is to get it down NOW.

hello pegsfur,
done another 4 pair during last week, waiting to be dryed then can send out

coconut drink:
i was asking hb's ahma yesterday too, cos i really cannot take it le, so hot, she say i can start taking already! so happy, she said those from market or green de also can, as long max 2 per month.

anyone seen tas?
wonder she still want the booties not.