(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

Reira, most says BM is good. Can use on your hair and to bathe. They say will make hair and skin nice woh. But hor....so oily and smelly lor.

Re: Bfree Plus Bottles

Oh yah, Spring maternity having trade in for Bfree Plus bottles. U just get any other bottle (no need teats) and u can buy the bfree bottle at $8.90 each. Pretty good deal. Saw it at the vivo spring maternity.

joia

don;t know leh. But it's only for staff. My FIL is a staff, so that's why we can get the discount. TOo bad i'm not using avent bottles else can save a fair bit.

reira
oic. Then u going to carry bb if he drives????

yen
haha, that's probably me then.

mashy,

U r early

I woke up at 8 cos the stupid neighbour upstairs always wash her clothes so early in the morning and when she hangs her laundry to dry, she'll definitely make alot of noise de. I purposely stood at the window to see if she sees me, den i'm gonna tell her to do it gently. Or else next time bb will definitely get a scare from the bamboo poles knocking on the hanger. It's damn loud leh.

pegsfur

There alway this kind of inconsiderate neighbour. My neighbour upstair also like yr neighbour. The kid can even jump at nite time 11pm+ and bang the door. They alway do that till my hubby was so pissed off and went up to tell them off....

Seems like we are all suffering from crazy neightbours!
My upstair ah soh very inconsiderate, every morning when she hang out her clothes it will be dripping wet. A few times her clothes colour run and our clothes kanna stained! Worse still is that her underwear also dripping wet lor. Imagine that water dripping on BB's clothes next time! eeks!

Yesterday I go jurong point kiddy place , cant find destin cream leh , I nvr know JP kiddy is soo big , I have spent 140 there. Which brand of New born diaper is good har ? Nepia dun hv stock for NB already

mashy
yeah i will be carrying babywhen he drives lor. at the back.

kikilala
the ah soh right above us is like ur neighbour too!!! all her damn clothes are like dripping wet when she hang out... dont even make the effort to twist dry her clothes just a little!! luckily that time she used the left 3 bamboo holes, so i used the right 3 lor. i only hanged my baby clothes out after her clothes finished dripping insanely. thats the only time i hang my clothes out.

Reira, it is compulsory to put baby in carseat if your husband is driving unless you are taking cab. I know in Oz, we have to bring along carseats for infant and children if taking cab.

reira

Altho i doubt the spore traffic police actually summon u even though it's written in the law, i feel that it's still safer to put your bb in the car seat. Perhaps talk to your hb again?

perhaps u wanna go back to kidzloft to get the discounted one? It's clearance stock, so no need the 50%. Maybe can call them and ask when's the expiry date of the carseat. When i left that place, i think i saw 2-3 on clearance.

Hoho.. see there's a discussion on car seats again..

piggy

U bot the Maxi Cosi Dori car seat from Spring maternity at $238 right? I think I saw it tdy at the AMK Hub branch. But there's an option to pay $299 to include the car seat protector. Did u get that?

mashy

I still dun understand why there's a Safe & Sound brand marketed under the Britax brand. Can't get a straight answer from the saleperson.

Jul

i've no idea either... Perhaps Pris might know since Britax is a Aust brand? I know Cosco and Safety First also belong to the same company.

mashy

Keke hubby has sort of gievn in on the car seat issue liao. Now I just gotta wait for him to dig out SIL's old car seat & check the condition, suitability for newborn etc etc.. think shd be go ahead & get. JUst wehther I want the cheaper Maxi Cosi or the expensive Britax.

jul

haha, i always thot britax is cheaper. Hhehee. everytime see maxi cosi always find so ex. Maybe Britax has better offers when it's on sale?

I think it's the model maybe? Coz the Maxi Cosi one is UP$399, not that chep also. Just that there's a sale lor. Now duno if I shd wait for Britax offer or to get but with only 15% disc, or to get the Maxi Cosi haha.

Oh do u know where the Maxi Cosi is made?

Jul,
the spring maternity staff actually told me it is cheaper to get separately cos now the protector got sales also.. but i din get tt la..

piggy

Thanks, piggy!

I intend to get a seat protector, else I think the leather seat sure kan scratched beyong recognition heehee.

Finally bought the dresser for bb .. can finally start to wash Ovann's clothes le

Just now look thru my list and found that i haven't got the waterproof changing mats and receiving blankets so went to kiddy palace to buy. So now, the bath tub is still outstanding.

I have the following for sale:
1) 4 BN BPA FREE (240ML)Pigeon wide necked bottles for $13 per bottle

2) Brand's Essence of Chicken for $14.Quantity and weight: 7 x 70g
Expiry date: 24 Feb 2012

3) 3 bottles of Benedictine Dom to sell at $100.include free delivery

4) Baby bjorn active .Red and black colour. Very outstanding. Bought at $199 ,letting go at $130.Just bought 1 month ago.
Condition is 9/10 ,used only 3 times. Baby Bjorn active has additional back support ,very comfortable and easy to carry bigger babies.
http://www.babybjorn.com/American/products/Mobility/BABYBJORN-Baby-Carrier-Active/

Kindly PM me if interested

need help from experienced mummies!

my girl has been having very bad heat rashes ard her neck.. prob due to hot weather these few days and application of baby vicks on her neck for cough too (my fault

any remedies to share?? not keen to apply medicated powder, but open to any other suggestions which may be useful!

driving me and her mad.. had to scratch her to sleep just now

kikilala & Reira

Those neighbour are so inconsiderate. Think u shd consider to go up and tell her. If not sure no ending 1....

Jul & Piggy

U can actually get the car seat protector at Robinson and those shopping mall. After discount is around $20+.

Jules

My gal have same problem like yr gal. I'm using the chemical free product to apply on her... The rashes is gone after a few days... The gel is quite effective on rashes, nappy rash and even mosquito bites....

Jules, you can use aloe vera gel. I used that for Kai and it has a cooling effect, you can get it at the pharmacy, it is chemical free too and can also used for stretchmark too.

SL,
oh so much cheaper ah the car seat protector... too bad the robinson sales over.. maybe will drop by other shoppin mall over the wkend

Pegsfur,
tt great seem like most of the stuff u gotten liao

morning gals

personally i find that a baby carrier is not very useful 1) weather too hot to have bb stick to you when carrying, 2) weight of bb is not good for adult, 3) bb falling off (esp sarong type sling) 4) used for short period of time (up to 6-9 mths only)

However hubby was saying that we should get a baby carrier - anyone has any recommendations?
So what are the advantages of having a baby carier and what brands/size would you all recommend for a 1.9m tall adult? Any suggestions appreciated.

Jules, my boy had heat rashes too, i am applying medicine (a cream) given by PD. That cream can be bought over the counter at most of the pharmacy.

I will let u know the name.

Started tat time, we apply powder on him, but PD said, if we are using powder specially on those about to dry off rashes, will made the baby very itch.

Morning ladies

piggy,
Ya, i think i've gotten almost all necessary items le .. except for the bath tub of cos
Although my drawers for bb won't arrive until this friday, i'm so excited i've started the 1st round of washing for bb's clothes le

babymaking,
I think bb carrier is very useful at crowded places leh.

Morning! It's a <font color="0000ff">blue</font> MOn already. Started already kena %$$## by boss. *Sad*

SL

Oh Robinsons got seat protector ah? I din take note. But too bad sale over liao hor? Nvm I keep a lookout - maybe got end of GSS sale? haha

pegsfur

I envy u leh. HUbby has decided to tear down the MBR walk-in cabinet &amp; put in normal cupboards &amp; shift our bed there so that we will occupy the MBR, leaving the present BR for Babylet.

Very stressed leh, now need to get contractor, shift things, do reno.. Think no point setting up bed or washing anything until the reno is done. Think shd be end-Jul then can complete. Sian..

pegsfur
any brands/models to recommend? the ones i saw like too small for hubby to use. I still prefer bb in pram/stroller. don't want to have the habit of carrying bb all the time whether inside or outside. but since hubby insist...so no choice will look for a bb carier for him to carry.

jul,
U sure your parents/in-laws ok with the mini reno? Cos older pple quite pantang abt reno during preggy leh.

babymaking
I've never tried any carrier b4 as i'm a 1st time mummy oso
But it seems tat Ergo was quite ok .. cos alot of us ordered it cheaply from kiki's taobao spree. Another brand which i hear frequently is Baby Bjorn and Beco I think.

Haha .. i personally quite like carrier, cos the bb is close to me, easier to talk to bb ... hahaa .. maybe i too talkative lah

morning mummies..

Kikila &amp; reira: I have inconsiderate ah soh neighbours above me too.

never heard of spin dry optionon washing machine or never thought of wringing it dry b4 hanging it out.

Always hang out DRIPPING wet clothing one..

and always throwing rubbish out of the kitchen window, land on my air con latch.. my latch got a lot of rubbish lioa.. tones of clothes pegs, towels, baby bolster, empty cookie packet, chips ahoy packet.. once even the bamboo pole dropped onto my air con latch my hit my air con compressor! heng never spoil..

this was the only item i remove from the latch, if drop from my latch and killl some one i dont wanna be charged for killer litter leh..

pegsfur,
talking is bonding mah, i'm the type who don't deal well with kids - lack of common language.

i go research out the various brands you listed.

baby s,

My mil oso like dat de ... she handwash all her clothes and never wring dry properly b4 hanging out to sun. Last time (when we were still on talking terms) i told her not to do that cos we live on the 16th floor. Guess wat she said? She said,"why cannot? everyone is doing it wat?" U see lah, she is 1 of those inconsiderate people all of us hate.

babyS,
yeah lor he's tall and round as well - so got to hunt around for the right fit for him..i'm thinking US brands got higher chance of getting a carrier his size.

most prob if it fits him, it won't fits me.

yr upstair neighbour really one of a kind - for me, i dun hang clothes outside as i got a dryer, but since MIL move in (&amp; she taught maid to hang clothes outside), MIl often tangles with the upstairs neighbours for hanging dripping wet clothes, got once they even throw out leftover curry etc. yucks.

pegsfur

MIL &amp; SIL will sure nag one. FIL wun say anything, he doesn't interfere with our decisions. What I find strange is that as Christians, my MIL &amp; SIL can be pantang. Hubby says dun tell them until it's done. Possible meh??? And even when it's done, they will nag &amp; nag. But nvm lah, if we gotta do it, we will do it!

pegsfur

That's the mentality of a lot of pple. Other pple do, I also do. So other pple dun wring clothes dry, I also. If not I "lugi" coz I do extra mah.

But hor.. at the risk of sounding non-PC, a lot more women than men are so "calculative"

babymaking

Leftover curry? Wah liew..

Haha .. babymaking, yah, bonding

Hey, last time i'm oso like u de .. didn't know how to engage with kids or how to talk to them. But after i got my dog, it came 'naturally', cos i always baby-talk with my dog. Maybe becos no one at home to talk to me .... hahahaa ... so i talk to my dog.

- If she's barking, i'll ask 'who's dat? who's at the door?'

- If i'm drinking milk, i'll ask her 'U want milk-milk? Can share with mummy u know?'

- If she did something correctly like peeing rite on the newspaper, i'll praise her 'Dat's a good girl .. come, mummy sayang'

Over time, it'll come naturally

jul,

I guess whether wat religion, they are still chinese mah, and chinese always believe 'ning ke xing qi you, bu ke xing qi wu.'

Just to tell u a little story dat happened to me. When i was borned, 1 of my foot was crooked. My parents were very sad and when my grandpa heard of it, he asked them if they've done any shifting of furniture or nailed anything. My father den remembered he had install the wall fan recently, den my grandpa asked him to take it down. My father did.

Within days, my foot was ok!!!! My mum said even the doc was surprised

Well, i dunno to believe it or not lah, cos i'm not a particularly superstitious person ... it cld be coincidence, but nobody can explain why my foot was ok so fast.

pegsfur

Hiaz.. I know the Chinese thing lah. But hor, as Christians, when u "better be safe than sorry", it means u r rejecting God liao. Anyway not to go into theology or anything here, I know they SURE blame anything on the reno one.

But I gotta do what's right for me, so bobian go ahead lor. If we can't get a contractor to do it on time, or we can't afford the budget, that's God's will that I dun do the reno now lor haha.