(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

bear,
Huh .. u oso went for check up today ah? Din manage to see u .. wat time was yr appt? I was there at abt 11.45 after my FA scan. Wah ... i already put on 7kg since preggy but this 2 weeks is the least i've put on, only 400g. Hope i dun put on too much.

pinkmama,
Before food shld be between 3.5 to 5.5. After food shld be between 5.5 to 7. Higher than 5.5 before food and 7 after food is considered high liao. Really sianz .... now every day every meal have to think of wat to eat.

pegsfur, congrats that bb is growing well. Just do some adjustment to diet should be fine, reduce sugar and carbo intake that might help. Take more vegetables, fish and meat. For me, I feel soft drinks are high in sugar content and I avoid that too.

yen, dun buy too many pieces, if you must buy bigger size, they outgrow pretty fast one.

jasmine:tks tks okioki let me know har
or after the tour let me know too

DH is dear husband

yen
did you bought kodomo baby powder to use on baby? i've read that talcum powder is not safe for baby

http://parenting.ivillage.com/baby/bsafety/0,,3q5k,00.html

pegsfur
do you feel anything strange when u have gestation diabetes? i am consider high risk of getting it because my BMI before preggie is already 31 so I am a bit worried.

Is there a chance for urine not to have high sugar content but the person actually have gestation diabetes?

Just did my detailed scan this week and found out that baby is a precious princess. Hubby and I are so happy and looking forward to Sophie's arrival. Yes we've already decided on her name too

Thank God that everything is well with baby and she's growing well.

Now that we know baby's gender can start preparing for the baby's nursery. So exciting.

pris,
I thot so too. Cos that week when i took the blood test for sugar level, i actually ate alot of wholemeal bread and cut off all my 100 plus. Then the results was cleared.

After that, thot that i'm cleared liao, shld be ok to indulge in a little sweet stuff so these 2 weeks i've had tau suan, 3 cans of 100 plus, occasional macdonald's breakfast. And ta-da! Urine strips turned brown. I think i can still eat normally, just completely cut out the sweet stuff.

pinkmama,
Very hard to only stick to these 2 dishes leh. I think of soup i already sian 1/2 liao.

reira,
No leh .. i dun feel anything different. I think if u drink alot of water b4 the urine test, u cld actually clear it. This is why gynae wanted to do blood test to be more accurate. This one cannot fool one.

pegsfur,
your measurement unit different from mine leh. dr told me my suger level is 120 after food, consider high. Any idea what does 120 means huh?

yen:i hv the sheet to put underneath the bedsheets just to play safe incase......think i bought it at taka.

Reira:me girl cant use kodomo shampoo i know....straight away get cradle cap......cos its travelling size so we brought for her to use......btu tal powder so far oki.

talcum powder:i just put it at her groin area and buttocks....hope to keep her dry and comfy.

pegsfur:no choice think hv to cut down on sugary stuffs liao loooooooo

Pris: ya lor...today just did a quick count. There are 10 new pieces of bb clothing liao. Going to stop buying anymore, unless very very cheap :p

carefreelife: yes, there are some discount on bb cot. I din really look thru carefully at the prices becoz we had a passed-down bb cot from SIL.
Sorrie abt that.

Reira: i din know bb can accidentally inhale the bb powder. Thanks for the article.Ok, then i use it on myself then.heehee

MTb ; it a boy . I go for FA scan yesterday , so cute I can ever see the baby sucking this thumb , so sweet , Feel so warm when see my boy boy

Start getting some cute bobysuit for my baby , find online " ilove mummy " and I love daddy " bobysuit so cute

Can any experience mother guide me what can i start to hunt or buy for as i 1st time mother dunno whr to start only know how to buy clothes .

kikilala,

That is the the blood test u took after fasting overnite rite? Your result is abt the same as mine, considered ok, though slightly on the high side. It is considered ok if its below 140. My result was 130 leh. My gynae told me normal reading is abt 90/100.

The reading for 3.5 to 5.5 which i posted earlier is for the blood test using the machine i have at home.

just woke up from a long 4 hours nap and the reason i woke up was because i was thinking of durian, kueh and cakes in my nap!!!

pegsfur
about the gestation diabetes, for me i am quite worried if i might have one (cos of being obese already pre-preggie). although i didnt really drink a lots of water before the urine test or anything but so far, my urine test all clear and my gynae didn't do any blood test for me. =( I wonder if i should kiasi and go and ask her to do blood test for me to check on this. a bit worried since it might harm my baby also!

weishy, yen
i also didnt know about the harmful effects of talcum powder until i read that. also, it is quite well-known by doctor over the world that there are research that somehow proves that talcum powder can cause ovarian cancer in woman. although it seems that not all doctor believes in it (i read from latest mind your body that a doc mentioned this but he dont really believe it is true).

haiz... it is hell for me to quit using powder since i've been using powder for roughly about 18 years of my life. =( those feminie powder (non-talcum) which cost $10 for a small bottle is so expensive and also feels different from baby powder (talcum). i prefer baby powder more...

bean
congrats on knowing ur baby's gender!! XD haha yeah those i love mommy/daddy bodysuit is so cute!!
for a guide on what to buy, you can check out this link:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/2052338/2161771.html?1238593849

pegsfur, just make sure you cut down on the sweet stuff and take lots of plain water, cakes, durians, bubble teas are all high in sugar content too. I think it is hard to control but for your sake and baby sake, just bear with it for the time being.

Bean, try not to buy too many newborns clothing, if you have passed me down, you can use them at home and buy a couple of clothing for bringing bb out. Then buy slightly bigger 1, through my experience with Kai, he was wearing 3 to 6 months at full month.

Yen, you can also check whether they have the mattress waterproof protector to put the whole mattress in to prevent it from getting wet and just put a cot sheet over the mattress,

Joia, congrats on knowing the gender of your bb and that she is growing well.

Reira, I dun use talcum powder till Kai was much bigger but I used the cream for groin and butt to prevent rashy during every change of diaper and I washed the area well and air or clean dry before apply the cream.

Priscilla : Yes currently I buy online only 3-6mth clothes . newborn thinking of getting those cheap and soft material one

Bean, not too many pieces too, if not you either end up wear only once or never wear like a friend of mine.

Reira, Kai does not use talcum anymore, we have all switch to body lotion.

Pris! is there anything wrong with your msn? i havent seen u there yesterday and today too. actually i dont plan to use powder on my baby. i am the one that uses powder T_T how can i keep my "private" area dry and fresh without using powder?

yeah about the clothes, i am thinking of buying some cheap/ soft material ones for my boy cos aug will be SO HOT!! especially for the first month, he have to be swaddled often too. see already i heartache! so hot...

Reira, I am using my dh's macbook so I have not switch on my own laptop haahaa.

Nothing wrong with my msn haahaa, will go back to that once dh on for his conference this week again haahaa, home alone with my boy again.

oh haha no wonder!!

btw, u mentioned before that since Kai was born, you dont let him sleep in air-con room right? just checking with you what is the side effect of putting a baby in air-con room?

i am a bit worried since aug will be very hot... how to make the temp cooler? even with fan on, it is already very hot now!!! i cant imagine how hot it will be by aug!

Reira, dress bb light, no need air-con. Once you start air-con, they will be addicted. Also some bb could not take it might end up with cold etc.

pink"i ate too kakakakak also 2 days in a row :p

yen those mat is quite thin ones....u think those clear books wrapping plastic can do the job too?????

Pris
I know but bo pian, baby like want to eat all the time leh. If I eat durian then for other meals I eat simply. Btw I also home alone, dh out of town.

Weishy
U eat the "cat mountain king" variety?

yen

I just bought my mattress protector from Ikea. $9.90 per pc. Very cheap compared to some i've seen.

Pris
Hey, I've the same thoughts too! I told my hb if this #2 is a boy, i'll adopt a gal next round. Heheh. For me, i don't mind adopting coz i also feel it's at least helping & loving an otherwise unwanted child out there.

bean:congrats:yup super warm right kekekkekekekek

clothing hummmmmmm if u hv pass down from friends or relatives.....no need to buy now la

unless one or 2 for special occassion
like baby shower party etc

cos the few one or 2 months u may not bring bb out so ,so many clothing....also can see but dun use le.......happened to me kakakakka

Thanks Pris! oh yeah, what brand of cream did you use for groin and butt to prevent nappy rash?

just bought durian home... T_T but dont like it cos it is those bitter type!! guess i will stick to four season durian puff!

To prevent diaper rash: use destiny creamy. I think this is widely acknowledged by a lot of mummies. In the overseas spree threads, u will be able to see a lot of mummies spreeing for this from US, cos much cheaper than if u buy from PD in Singapore. Same thing, for toothpaste, use First Teeth, comes wiht a finger toothbrush. But I heard this is going out of pdtion soon, so not sure how true. But can stock up la. I open one tube and use for 9 mths, still hv. I brushed my boy's teeth twice a day...

REira:i use MUSTELA for hayley btu so far no rash also.....if bb is kept clean and dry at all times then shouldnt hv diaper rash la

so sinc ei hv the cream is just use it occassionally loo
dun waste mah

toothpaste:me never stock up le.....btu hope by theni can get some other brands.

tinkabel:my hayley's clothing already booked by 1)my friend
2)my SIL (she also preggie dunno the sex of bb yet though )
3)my SIL's friend also wants

if nto sure i exchange with u le.....

mashy: thanks. I will go chk out ikea. last nite,at expo john little sale,I saw the waterproof changing mat at dunoo 8 dollars or wat. then I din buy, now regret.

halo...

me went to the JL expo sale today...

*** bb loots from the expo sale ***
got the 5pc for $10 ... "L" size long sleeve front button top for my boy...
(jul--this is the one that i am talking about)

wanted to get the same pics for the pant but the SA said pants all plain ...no pics...
that was the same that i bought at NTUC bin sale...kekeke...

and 2 pcs of front button romper with leggings for my boy...only $7.90/pc

yap...saw the "carter's" rompers... and it's $8.90/pc...but didn't buy...cos i got some from BP last yr already...(wanted to give my sis...but his boy is on the big size so i keep for my ger)

and gotten 3pcs of nursing bras...

and 2 x promo pkts of pureen wet wipes...(100pc x 2pkts for $6-non fragrance)

Hi Cloudme,
Did you happen to see any strollers at the JL sale?

Pris,
You mentioned about air con. What about fan? Is that okay for bb?

tinkabel,
Are you referring to the Destin cream? I went to US last year and bought tubes for my colleague. At that time not pregnant yet, so didn't cross my mind to stock up

cloudme

Oh.. u went JL sale? Me came back from fren's hse where she passed me some BB clothes. I will need to sort them out a little later, but looks like I wun have to buy that much newborn/0-3mth clothes liao *yippee*

But mostly tops tho. Few pants, coz Babylet can be swaddled/wrapped in blanket, so I figured no need that many pants hehe.

i m back from gynea appt..next appt gotta take blood test for GD,I think is a standard routine here..so, i gotta start watching my diet! n after next appt de appts will b every 2wks le! Cos in 3rd tri alrey..haha..cun believe time pass so fast! Stil can remb clearly de day i detected pregnancy on de home pregnancy kit...haha..to date i have put on 6kg..de target given to me by gynea is 12kg,n they mentioned i m gaining well..haha..but i gained nearly 2.5kg in de last mth which i personally felt is quite alot..hoping i wont gain more than 15kg! Cos to start with i m on the "bah-bah" side...

cherrios
Does your gynae told you have to take blood test for GD even though your urine test doesnt show signs of high sugar content?

So good! can see baby once every 2 weeks! did u took up package from your gynae? For mine is will only start seeing gynae once every 2 weeks from Week 32 onward.

i'm in my week 22 now.

weishy, i remb ur org weight was 45 or 47kg right? you are on the skinny side lo! so 8kg for you not alot. My pre=preg weight was 55/56kg wor!! Hehehe...even heavier than u r now..

Reira, yup, standard routine to take blood test for GD at 7months. hehe..no no! They don't do scanning at every visit here one, they just measure the tummy. I only saw Bb thrice so far, once is the 13wk scan and the other 2 times is detailed scan which I had to go back again cos bb wasn't cooperative...

hehe..no package eh..here is covered by insurance wan and all the test and times of visit to the gynea is fixed one, we don't get to choose if we want it or not...i m 24wks preggy now..hehe...

for those staying north area

Sun Plaza is having a children/infant fair at the atrium - today last day

saw a lot of long sleeved & footies rompers that open up in front to crotch type at $9.90 for 2pieces.

Quality is similiar to Carters.