(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

fjm,
yap pigeon wipes is not on sale everywhere but i get it from NTUC cos can clock points and rebates...so later can change pts to vouchers...

hmm...maybe i will go down to the expo after work to look...

anyone going after work?
btw, anyone live & work in bedok/tampines area?

cloudme,
quite a few MTBs here are staying in bedok/tampines area.
When I go back to delivery, will stay with my parents in Tampines.

babymaking
I think ur baby inside you dont like milk. like my colleague also, pre-pregnancy loves milk, during pregnancy see milk already wanna puke. then when baby born, baby don't like milk (breastmilk is ok but not those cow or others). headache ah!

cloudme
for the NTUC card, now need to pay hor?

babymaking, if you are in 2nd trim, most gynae will give multi-vit, fish oil and calcium. But I do remember I have a friend with KK, 1st trim, she also did not get folic acid where else my gynae did give me folic acid. So I am not sure about the practice in KKH.

gd morning ladies!

re: i'm not fat t-shirt
for those who are asking where i got this t-shirt, i'm sorry i also dunno where to get it. it's passed down to me frm my sil.

re: belly belt
i bought mine frm kiddy palace or kiddy place. it's abt $39.99.

i realised my tummy grew much bigger suddenly. yesterday wore my jeans wif the short belly belt. din know my tummy grew bigger. it was so tight tat i felt a little pain. but i can't go bk hm to change since i'm working. sigh.... now must start using the longer belt or jus switch to leggings or dress. can't stand tight clothings now...

Is The Laughing Cow® cheese safe to eat during pregnancy?

The Laughing Cow® cheese is made from pasteurised milk and then treated at high temperatures. It is suitable for consumption during pregnancy.

YEAH! Can eat!

i oso nvr heard of drinking infant milk.. hee..sounds interesting.

i love blue cheese.. especially with wine. ooh.. that time i had quite abit.. but i din noe i was already preggy.. so hopefully alright bah!

i worked at suntec.. n stay at jurong west. duno whr i shld go for prenatal yoga. sighz. sometimes i try to stretch abit at home.. but scared i stretched the wrong way or wat..hahaha.

re: calcium pills

my gynae also haven't given me calcium pills. or maybe not yet. i certainly hope he won't give me. i'm so lazy to eat so many pills a day.
i'm going to start drinking milk faithfully frm today onwards.

re: expo baby fair
wat are the good buys at the fair usually? i was thinking of baby's stuff only ard june. now hv to spend $$$ on new house first. sigh....

reira - hmm, cheapest baby wipes: v difficult to say cos at normal times, you must see which one on sale. normally, i just grab tollijoy. but at the fair, chances are that angels (if available) could be the cheapest.
haha, how much to buy - it really depends on how much you can carry! v heavy leh!
i hope they have home delivery. then if can last, me will buy alot.

me going to fair on Fri morning.

me parents oso living in Tampines. but prob this time, confinement at my own home at Punggol.

Pris,
hahah i know tt y till now i haven start:p

fatbobo,
we might stay quite near haha.. from wat i know jurong no recognise wor so the nearest i can tink of is goldwellness:p

Re: Infant milk
I also find quite strange when my kolig told me.
Her dr told her that bb will take those nutrients. She bought 1 small tin of FM to drink.
errks... Infant milk taste 100x worst than normal milk

fjm,
me still deciding if i should go in the morning...cos last year i also went to the same fair...but i on ML...
i roughly know what to expect this year but that time the only things i got there is toys and recieving blankets...
i went wif hb and dd...and my hb pull a long face cos nothing much to see and the queue is darm long...

Here's a list of food I was told by dr to avoid over:
1. pre-prepared salads and pre-cut fruits

2. cold delicatessen meats and pate

3. cooked, diced chicken (but can eat those you cooked thoroughly yourself and kept in the fridge)

4. raw seafood, including sushi & sashimi

5. smoked fish

6. soft cheese like brie, camermbert, ricotta or blue vein (I ask about laughing cows, told me best to avoid)

7. sprouted seeds

8. raw mushrooms (cooked ones okay)

9. Soft serve ice-cream like Mac's, BK's and Ikea's

10. Dips and salad dressing which may have been in contact with raw vegetables

11. Refrigerated food past its use date

12. Raw eggs

RE; alternative source of calcium
soya bean milk? think shd be quite gd as well. but of coz safer bet is to take calcium pills...i have yet to start on my calcium pills though...heh.

zen,
Dont think so, cos her dr told her to buy 1 small tin of infant milk to drink can already but must still contnue with the maternity milk.

She's like drinking milk ALL THE TIME and take cheese as snacks. I really peifu her.

Zen,
oh Pioneer Mall tt side ah.. ya pretty near

Pris,
i got take smoked salmon leh but i got ask them to cook fully be4 they serve me la:p

ooooh pink, nice pictures. i noticed that most nursery decor is muted and pastel colours - but some educationalists claim that bright primary colours or black, white & red colours combination are good for baby - so which is better...primary colours, pastel colours or b/w/r combo?

I'm in the process of planning baby's room, so far decided on white furniture, colour scheme will be neutral colours (not pink, not blue type) but haven't decided pastel or bright scheme, and oh yeah wall decals is a must.

show you gals some fantastic wall decals.
http://www.walldecorshops.com/groupkidstickups.html

they even have pop up type which plays music and light
http://www.walldecorshops.com/groupwallables.html

re: calcium pills
thks gals for the recommendation, will check it out at the pharmacy. no choice, would prefer to take via natural i.e. food but if cannot tolerate, ahve to resort to pills.

as it is, got to take mulit vit + fish oil + progesterone, now add calcium pills. yucks.

reira, hope it's not a case of baby dun like to drink milk...but i was wondering if it's a case of baby is lactose intolerant cos hubby is...therefore bb now dun like cow's milk. lol.

pris,
KK gynae did prescibe folic acid even before preggy, cos i was on IVF treatment for 3-4 yrs. fish oil & multi vits was started on week 11, when nausea ease.

also taking progesterone cause of unexplainable bleeding and early contractions.

so far i find that KKH gynaes tend to be more laissez faire, if you dun ask, they won't bother; but if you ask, they are more than willing to share. in a way, it force the patient to take control over their own health.

babymaking, my friend used to ask me what my gynae give me.

Ok, I am off to fetch my boy, two more days and weekend, looking forward to go eat Ikea's breakfast on Saturday haahaa.

pris,

your gyane is very cautious. the list of foods to avoid is pretty intensive.

so far the only things i am avoiding is anything raw or partially cooked, left over foods & non pasteurised cheese, everything else goes in moderation.

pink

early contractions will come with tightening of the abdomen, the pain doesn't go away even if you change positions and sometimes it will come with a nagging back ache.

cloudme - haha, me like your hubby, long queue many people will pull long face.. cos hot and stuffy and alot of jostling from people ard...i dont like. oops.

me friend wants to go in the morning..so i told her want to go then go on the dot, since first 1000 gets goodie bags..wahahaa..but not sure la. maybe will end up slacking on fri.

cloudme
what is union? sorry i very sua gu about cards!! I hate it when my hb pull long face cos he have to wait for anything. he always complain complain. I blame his parents for his impatient and many other things!

fjm
wa, must update what you got from the fair! :D

pris
huh? pre-cut fruits also must avoid!??! why?? If i washed them using tap water before consuming, is ok? *faint* I eat those food like raw sashimi and egg cos my boss treat (once a month)... haiz...

babymaking, this one is from the Oz gynae, I have one from the SGP gynae too. In fact, I got another booklet about food to take and detailed food to avoid. Also more info on bfd as I will be bfd this bb as well.

Better go off liao!

my gynae din tell me wat to avoid. said diet as per normal. i've been eating everything in moderation. but i avoid raw food & no expiry stuff. i've also been eating pre-cut fruits also. those sold at fruit stalls in hawker centre. so far so good. everything normal.

Zen,
i tink as long as the fruits stall u buyin from practise gd hygiene is ok..
my gynae also say no deep sea fish like shark n tuna cos of the high mercury level..

my friend who is seeing dr at KK, she says her dr never give her calcium tabs one..

cloudme, just sharing.. but indian rojak sauce got peanuts right? if u can, skim away as much sauce as possible... cos i read that peanuts should be avoided or taken minimally, cos peanuts increase risk of asthma or allergies in children.. (and alot of children are some how allergic to peanuts..)

babys..
i dun take the sauce cos i dun like...
i like it plain and serve hot and the onions...just eat like that...kekeke...

yap peanuts will trigger allergies...

cloudme... good good... i like the sauce, so i cannot eat indian rojak cos its to tempting.. hahah..

yeah i love the onions too! i love satay for that same reason too.. but havent eaten for a while too cos the satay sauce confirm got peanuts, cannot eat!

pegsfur

Haha maybe this time it will have another position. That time my week9 appt, Babylet also standing on its head. The little siao ding dong haha.

Maybe this time urs will turn somersaults? So cute.

pegsfur,

i envy u... i've to wait for 5 more weeks for detailed scan then can see baby. havent' seen him/her for 1 month & i miss baby...

jul,

no news is good news.

i onli know my blood test result when i see the gynae 1 month later for appt though they said they result will be out in less than a week.

jul,

ya, my appt is abt every 3-4 weeks and usually hv scan. but my last fri's visit no scan.
onli measure my uterus or womb size and listen to the baby's heartbeat-150 beats. think they need to record. after tat gynae explained to us the blood test report.

zen

Issit? No news is gd news meh? Maybe it's the very bad news that's why gynae hasn't called me?

Well, I guess no scan = money saved lor.

Actually my last appt also no scan, but that's bcoz that same day I had my OSCAR scan, so no need to scan again lor.