Gynae: Dr Jocelyn Wong
Hospital: TMC
# of child: 2
Gender.of Current: F (dec 07)
Gender of #2: F

thanks so much..

lawshe,

seem like u have a dilema choosing a 1 bedder or 2 bedder at TMC..

my 2 cents worth..

my #1 and now #2 will be at TMC but i opt for a 4 bedder instead hoping for a free upgrade to 2 bedder.. hehe..

unfortunately.. didn't get my wish coz the 4 bedders were surprisingly not full! so ended up in a 4 bedder for my #1 stay.. however.. there were only 2 mummies in the room and so.. it turned out to be a blessing in disguise as i got bigger room but seems like a 2 bedder instead..

sometimes got to look at things in the positive way.. for 1 bedder.. yes ur visitors get to stay longer.. but frankly speaking.. during my stay.. i would want all the rest i can get and rather not have any visitors.. its really tiring to have to entertain them and at the same time.. got to learn how to breast feed and bond with ur baby..

with visitors.. breastfeeding becomes harder.. coz u dunno how to tell ur guest that u need to breastfeed 'now' and when engorgment comes.. its really quite painful..

do take positive view on ur matter and remember that its only a 2 night stayin the hospital..

no offence if i had written too much or said anything that u're not comfortable with..

lawshe, the amk melben crab is not as nice as before ? so sad ...

as for 2 bedder vs 1 bedder, both have its pros and cons. i guess your hubby should be more understanding and let you choose becos you are the one who's delivering the baby not him ! At the end of the day, there will be 2 bills - one bill for the baby and 1 bill for the mother. Unless he's going to pay for both the bills using his medisave account, then go along with his decision. Normally, the father would settles the baby's bill and the mother settle her own bill.

Sorry, just feel that he's a bit giam ...

hi joja, welcome to 2nd trimester.
time to look for confinement lady now.

hi ml, do rest more and drink more water, hope you'll be fine.

1, 2 or 4 bedder...

all up to individuals and financial constraints.. i was tempted to choose 4 bedders, coz everyone was saying most probably will free upgrade to 2 bedders but i scared later no upgrade then i got to share room with so many ppl.. so chose 2 bedders TMC last time, but thanfully no one shared the room with me during my 2 nites stay.. :D ... this time round, i will directly ask for 1 bedder, coz i want my son to be able to visit me and run wild in the room without the fear of disturbing others ;)

Lawshe,
last yr be4 the reno my friend told me the melben crab v nice so i go all the way ther to try but i dun find nice at all leh... i tink ah yat 1 is so much better.. i heard defu lane got a very famous crab stall as well been wanting to try but dunno the exact location

ML

Then drink more water. Once your body has enough water, u should be having lesser headaches if that's the cause.

My SIL had headaches for abt 2 yrs or so? My bro kept saying she's too stressed, so brought her for hols etc but it won't go away. Later then found out the cause. Apparently it has been growing for 10yrs already coz the position is such that it's supposed to grow very slowly type. It's been 1yr since she found the tumour already. Very scared for her coz it was 4.5cm and her 2 gals are still very young.

I find that it's still gd to go for MRI if the headaches persist. At least can eliminate the cause and feel more at ease. Drs can't tell if there's a tumour unless there's a scan anyway. Esp if your headache is so bad till panadol can't help u.

piggy, defu lane one is not really good, we went there last year.

Does Melben change chefs? It was really good, everytime I am back in Singapore, I must go there. There is also another very good crab place in Joo Chiat, it is called first seafood.

morning all..

lawshe.. huh, go walk in to TMC and get queue number ah.. very packed one leh.. My appt was 9am. When i went there to register, i saw the list, there were many appointments before me already leh.. and those were just the pre arranged appointments..

Morning ladies

weishy, you can try newbaby.com.sg. I tried for 2 weeks after my confinement lady left, food is not bad, service is good.

good morning all... hope all had a good weekend.

-.- my weekend was puking..n puking..puked so much!

ML.. r u oso like straining your eyes too much? tink sometimes if we strain our vision too much oso cause 'stress' to the brain. monitor & ya..i agree with mashy..it's better to check than to guess anyways.

mashy, gosh, i hope your SIL will recover totally soon. quite scary to hear that the tumar already growing 10yrs liao. yep, God's watching her, nw, at least under control.

re: crab
i personnaly like the master crab (or crab master?) at ghim moh (near holland village) de. tink it's blk 20 or something? i normally dun wuite like chilli crab, cos alot of places, they like hv too much ketchup taste, but the chilli crab at this master crab, can really taste the chilli taste. n their salted egg crab is the best!!! oh, there's one coffeeshop at chongpang (duno-wat 99 or watever la).. the crabs there oso not bad.. but too far for me, n since i found the ghim moh de..that is it le. anyways, i'm missing white pepper crab now..still, i like no signboard's white pepper crab. hooo~

Pris,
oh not nice huh.. hmm nvm i tink i go back to ah yat for crab better kekke simply loved their salted egg crab n butter pumpkin crab yum...

Regg,
tt is v nice...

fatbobo,
me too puke on sat till now still dun feel v well

Regg

That's so pretty! How do u do that? I'm thinking of making something too since I'm quite 'free' while my boy is napping in the afternoon.

re: aquafitness
the $111.30 is oni for 4 sessions? errh.. hw many lesson u all reckon we shld/wld wana go? say for 4 mths (apr, may, jun, jul?) duhx.. $445??
wah pengz.. oh haha.. i tink too much too far le.. juz play by ear, go for 1 set.. den see hw. hahaha.

Morning ladies

Dolcevita,
I was at the kite carnival on Sunday ... didn't read yr msg earlier or i wld have gone ahead to buy the goodie bag. Cos when we went there, it was stated 'For redemption', so we assume that those pple prob bought the tickets earlier and just go there & redeem. We went home and bring a mat, water and our dog along to enjoy the carnival. Mmm .. got home with a sun-tanned red nose

regg,
Your booties are so pretty!

regg
how on earth u managed to do such nice booties? whahaha ur junior will have loads of beautifully hand made booties by the time he/she is born.

Just to share on my hosp tours at MtA & TMC :

MtA

I went for this tour first. Dunno if it's the guide or what, but it feels like MtA is more chinchai... Less commercialised.. I saw the delivery ward (has 9 suites), the er.. what is it, first stage room (???), & the 3 maternity wards (Lady's, Elizabeths',, Rafael's). Most of the delivery rooms have shared toilets. All the maternity wards & deliveries are all on Level 3, which makes it convenient & less confusing for some pple. And there is a nursery for each ward.

But.. my hubby says that the nurseries are not 'protected' enough. Not enough security. Dunno why he seems very concerned that we will kena swop baby due to the confusion of having 3 wards & 3 nurseries hahaha.

Oh the parking situation wasn't ideal. Hubby got impatient & went for valet parking at $4/entry.

The goodie bag they gave us had all the necessary info on pre-natal classes, maternity packages, charges etc etc. No need to get more brochures.

The envioronment was also more peaceful. I went for the 12pm tour & the smells from the lunches were driving me crazy! Think the food there shd be good haha.

I saw the single, double, 4-bedded & deluxe rooms. Seriously, the 4-bedded rooms were super noisy. Maybe it's bcoz it's lunchtime on Sat, & there were a lot of visitors? But the place was a 'mess'. Not conducive to me, coz I really value quiet haha. AND the strange thing.. the guide told me the diff b/w deluxe & single rooms is there is carpeting in deluxe room. Huh???? But there was really no visible diff that I cud notice, except the carpet. Maybe the room was bigger, but I din really notice.

jul
swopping of babies... i tot all newborns will be tagged with the mummy's name at the delivery ward itself, in the presence of the dad..then accidentally swopping would not occurs ;) (eerr at least that's what it's like in TMC)

TMC

On the whole, TMC feels more commercialised, the tour guide was a lot more articulate & she gave out a lot more info.

The goodie bag had the maternity packages also, but only up to single room. If u need the rates for the dunno what suites & deluxe & super deluxe rooms, the guide will pass u after the tour.

Delivery ward is on 2nd floor, with abt.. i forgot.. issit 10 rooms? Each with indiv toilet. But the delivery rooms are smaller than the MtA ones, with lower ceilings. More cramped, not so pleasant, but they have their own toilets.

TMC is reno-ing their maternity wards. All come with nice woon panelling, paintings, TVs, dim lighting etc. Corridors are all carpeted. The 5th floor is still under reno but will be completed in Mar 2009.

I din get to see any of the single, 2 or 4 bedded rooms coz they were all occupied. I did see the various suites, which isn't very useful lah, coz it's too expensive for me haha.

The low ceilings din matter so much in the wards, bcoz the lighting will soothe u & disguise the low ceilings. The delivery suite is on 2nd flr, wards are on 3rd to 6th flr (with 6th flr being the luxurious suites). Each flr has only one nursery, so hubby felt more secure abt losing babies haha.

Pink,
Nope i dont sell...
I have been knitting for more then 20 years ? all my frens tell me the same too, but i prefer to knit as a gift to special ones or fren instead of selling it, too time cosuming and.. lost the feel... U know.. once u turn passion into business, the feeling will be different.

morning everyone!

pegsfur - me heard the carnival on sat morning. saw the kites flying..thot private event!
my son saw the kites and loved them!

fatbobo - me was imagining that it is a 4 sessions thingy and would wrap up as that. then up to us to practise what was taught in class by going to the pool ourselves? no? heehee..see how things go. me looking fwd to the 6th mth whereby i can go for pre natal massage!!! shiok ah!

Jul04:
Dun hv to worry abt losing ur baby. Cos the moment he is born, they tag his ankle with the mummy's name. So they are totally aware even if the nurses move the babies within the different nurseries haha...

Regg: Agree u are really talented. I only ever knitted a vest for my 1st boyfriend for valentine's day present. And made a cross stitch cushion. After that, never made anything more for my next boyfriend, which is my hubby now. haha, too over that stage where I am sweet already haha.

regg

Just gotta tell u that the booties are very cute! U're really talented! if I had such a talent, my BB wud have really cute stuff :p

tinkabel

Thanks. But it's hubby who is paranoid. I also sorta knew that they will tage the BB in the delivery, then again in dunno where.

oya, everyone - i would like to install security camera in my house. i know the costs can range starkly from $400 to maybe even $2000.. but that is all i know. i hope to have something decent. anyone, any ideas / suggestions? thanks.

fjm
hey hey, i am oso thinking of installing camera.. do share with me what u have learnt and found out... i super lazy.... so far i onli know alot of mummies using this brand DLINK

jul,
So u confirmed going to opt for TMC?

fjm,
Ya, there were some enormous kites being flown by the professionals. Did u bring yr son there?

Lawshe

U were asking abt the FBI card?

U pay $148nett for 2 yrs.

Some benefits are..

1) 5% savings on ur gynae fees if they are 'registered' at TMC, capped at $100.

2) $100 off delivery/hospitalisation for single room (less for lower class rooms)

3) 5-10% off tests like OSCAR, FA, etc.

4) 10% off paediatric services...

Personally.. hubby did ask me 2-bed or single bed rooms. I said I wanted single room. Coz double room, u can't control whether ur neighbour will be noisy, whether the whole clan will come & stay for hrs, ur BB cannot stay with u etc etc.

I told him I dun really care that delivery room not posh, coz I'll prob be screaming in pain. But when I am recovering, I want privacy & quiet. Coz I get very irritated by other pple's noise, & I will get headaches from the irritation. So.. for my peace of mind, I will get the single room. The maternity package is like $2000 for single & $1000+ for double. Pay abt $1000 more, I guess?

Oh u were also asking my EDD? it's 4 Sep.

CL
kekeke hb called my previous confinement lady oredi.. it's gonna be a whopping cost to us as he asked her to come down for 2mths.... but both of us felt more at ease with her ard...she had helped me curb some of my boy's bad habits the other time (like needs to carry n walk in the house, n suckling nipples for comfort).. and hopefully she can train my new maid in taking care of newborn and teach her some chinese cookings as well....

my onli concerns is that i wanna pig trotters in vinegar and more cheena confinement food this time round kekekek .. do all confinement ladies cook these?????? last time she came to help me, she came onli when bb is 1mth (coz initally wanted to cut cost during CNY period), coz we cannot cope n our lives totally messed up.. then she said i cannot take too heaty confinement foods as i am oredi coming out of confinement, so she did normal cooking for us.

yo smurfy - DLINK a modem or what..
sure, but currently i have limited knowledge and i m not counting on my hubby to help (except help pay..) as he seems extremely busy. i need it up before my next maid comes in 2 weeks. so quite urgent.

pris - waisei - singapore's website sells babyPlus at $288! tryiing to buy before i forget (these days v forgetful..) i will try to see if i can touch base w some aussie websites. but dunno they will do air delivery or not.

pegsfur

Yeah, I will take TMC. The maternity package is like $1908 for MtA & $2088 for TMC (single rm). But I was thinking of getting the FBI card, and hopefully the savings from padaetric, OSCAR, gynae fees etc will help cover the diff b/w the hosps lor.

I like the rooms at TMC better. I naughty lah, want more comfortable surroundings. And also, gynae at TMC, so I think better in terms of immediate availability in case of emergencies.