(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

my boi cannot take mammy poko, will get rashes especially the pull up pants type. Can only take pampers, huggies. Other brand like drypers cannot withold the urine 2 hour later must change, very full and obvious like a ball! whereas in pampers and huggies, better.

Hallo everyone

Just got my maid yesterday pm. Hectic leh. Trying to train her to do housework for these couple of days before we go over to my in laws'.

Just wondering...

1) do you give your maid calling card? What's the card with the best rate for Indonesia? Do you have limit like $10 for x months etc?

2) then what about letters back home? She'll buy her own stamps n paper etc?

3) as for food, is there a 'ours' vs 'hers' for snacks n drinks? If go out to eat, do we let her choose or we just buy?

4) we will let her keep her own pocket money?

Would appreciate any advice. Rather blur here

Jul,
hmm ur agency nv guide u on these??
my agency got tell them for call card, letter n stamps it shd be their own $$ if not they take it for granted every now n then they will request for it but becos my maid is quite gd so we buy her a card once a mth those $10 1.

food is usu provided by us. my maid likw maggie n she dun 1 to wait till 1-2pm when my MIL reach home den take her lunch so she ask us let her cook her own mee.. and she will ask if she can take wat food to eat. sometime i will buy biscuit etc n tell her ok to eat if there r food tt i dun 1 her to touch i will tell her this 1 cannot n she understd.

for pocket $$ no i dun gave unless she ask for it but it shd be her own $$ even the hong bao $$ she get i keep for her. n if she wan her $$ for buyin thing make sure she sign how much she take to avoid conflict.

my maid quite chin chye so when we go out we order what she eat wat.

hihi jul...

juz to asn yur qtns.. (wat i prac):
1) do you give your maid calling card? What's the card with the best rate for Indonesia? Do you have limit like $10 for x months etc?
--> Yes, we bought the calling cards, occassionally will ask my helpers if they wana call hm. hwever, for my helper #1, she can nvr reach hm.. so aft once or twice, i dun encourage hb to let helper #2 to call too! to be fair la. we used to asked them if they wana call hm once a mth to two mths.

--> so far, my helpers din say they wana write letter hm.. so not applicable. hahaha. but hor, i will tink she shld buy her own stamp if she wana send letter hm.

3) as for food, is there a 'ours' vs 'hers' for snacks n drinks? If go out to eat, do we let her choose or we just buy?
--> for us, we dun prac a 'yours'/'ours' de. unless we hv anything which has pork in it. but, so far, we hv been avoiding. n when we're out, unless we're ordering those set meals, else, normally will ask them what they wana eat/drink.

--> sorry, wat u mean 'her own pocket money'? means her own rite? so why not? smtimes when we go supermarket or wat.. they will smtimes wana tong pang to buy some stuffs, then they will pay us back... it's their earned money.

Donkeymami, hope that Jovia is ok, and its not chicken pox... could it be mozzie bites?

Jul, to answer your questions.

1) do you give your maid calling card? What's the card with the best rate for Indonesia? Do you have limit like $10 for x months etc? My maid has her own handphone, and she pays for her own top up.

She mails it on her own.

For dinner, she eats whatever we eat. Lunch, she cooks noodles or leftovers, and for snacks, she has a box where I put her biscuits etc. Reason for this is cos once she ate my stuff thinking its ok. And I was quite annoyed cos there was only a few pieces and it was a gift from a friend. So now she only eats the biscuits I buy for her and put in the box. Or if there are things like cake/kueh, she takes only if I tell her she can have it.

my maid will ask me for money when she needs it say for off day or to buy handphone top up card, oherwise I keep her money.

My maid has no phone, we will buy the calling card and let her call home every other month.

She has never request for it before

She eat wat we eat, unless anything special then will tell her so.
We will give her $ for her to buy whatever she fancy when we eat out

All her $ are with me for keepsake. As she has no off days, so anything she need are paid by me otherwise I will just deduct from her pay. Even red packets etc are also kept by me. She ought not to have any cash on her in case there are any dispute etc...

Babymaking

u wan those story type or phrases type?

我会读 is a good intro to Chinese but a box set is so ex. U can go popular to browse. They have quite a collection there. The hanyu pinyin is at the back though.

Or u can be like hbb lor, read him 三字经.

Morning

babmaking,
I haven't come across Chinese books with hanyupinyin
I bought some from dangdang...u can find them in overseas spree...some of them come in English n Chinese but not hypy
try pelangi...overseas spree too...carry quite alot of Chinese books too

morning everyone! thanks for your concen. think jz a false alarm cos the red spots nv turn into blister so far & no new red spots found too..guess shd be some mozzie or insect bites..phew!

mashy/sharon

i've tried popular/dang dang/pelangi - but got no headway. the worst is dang dang website - the books are so cheap but i can't figure out at all what is the contents.

My chinese sucks, and after spending hours browsing, still don't know what to get. so hoping for recommendations of exact books.

i am looking at this 'spot' series -anyone can help feedback, it doesn't have HYPY but is bilingual and the graphics are clear.
http://www.sgshinekids.com/0-3yrs.html

any other recommendations appreciated.

Mashy
i myself can't get it (三字经) much less teach it to someone else :p

btw if got those chinese books with sound will be great. the chinese equilvalent of this: http://us.macmillan.com/simplefirstwordsletstalk

bobo: wah those satchets r so ex..

what i did when i went to KL in july is, i used the left over playtex mikl storage bags to put her milk powder and tie with rubber band. Use liao throw..

so can just go buy any other disposable milk storage bag thats cheaper and use it for milk powder.

Cos i opened one box then use less than 5 and i stop BFing liao. so someone suggest i can use it for milk powder. good idea.. since its sterile/ clean too..

Hi gd morning mummies,

I am planning a trip for HK in Nov.
Any baby-frenzly hotel to recommend? My colleag recommend 'Cityview'.
Any other recommendtns?

I hope to find one hotel , near to shopping areas, so that in the afternoon time, we can still return to room to put shopping bags, and take a 1-2hr nap for baby.

Any advice will be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

mummies thinkingo f enrolling their child in playgroup: Those that u have shortlisted, do they require the child to be toilet trained and be able to walk b4 they can be enrolled?

babymaking,
i have this 华语宝库 i buy it for my No#1, came with CD and HYPY. still keep it, worth it, now can use for my no#2

Yen2008,
i seconded donkeymami recommendation too..Langham Place near MTR, Mongkok.

BabyS,
is not required since they will be on diaper leh.

babys,
no need to be toilet trained but need to walk or least learning to walk cos pg teacher also need to teach like story time etc...
so they cant be carrying those who cant walk all the time...

Babymaking

most of these books come with a cd. So u dun even need to know them.
I take some pics of my kids Chinese books and post on your facebook la. U decide if u wanna get. I get them at kinokuniya, popular etc.

Yen
u can try citadines. It is an apartment type so u can cook in there. Also good location.

Babys
playgroup dun need if in childcare setting. But once in nursery, they will expect them to be toilet trained.

Babymaking

just remembered. There is a bookshop in bras basah that sells children's Chinese books. Very good collection. U can go and see. It's upstairs in a corner.

Yen,
i stayed at Prudential it link to the mtr so no worry if rain v convenience. if u wan a spacious room can consider Royal Plaza HOtel 5-10min to mongkok mtr.

Babys

actually I think by 18 mths they should be able to walk already. That's the starting age for playgroup. If by 18 mths still can't walk, then gotta see dr, not go playgroup. Shayna should be walking by then, dun worry. The only kid I knew who started walking only at 2 coz he had some brain damage. They found out when he didn't walk and meet other milestones on time.

thanks mashy, will look out for your FB post.

will check it out. there's another series of books called basic chinese learning 500 - with 4 levels, 1st level suitable for toddlers - anyone use that before?

April
is yours similiar to the above book where it teaches 500 basic chinese words. basically it introduce 1 new word on each page, and uses the new word in the next page etc.

re: walking
zac is now 14 months 1 week and he finally learn how to walk - he started to take steps independently 2 days ago and then learn how to turn around, shake his butt, waves his arms in the sky..all in 2 days. and i was fretting that he can't walk at 14mths.:p

Morning Ladies...

MIA for few days. Was down with v bad sore throat and cough till cant breath... Glad that now is fine... Now a lot of virus going on... Do take care...

Wow talking about holiday again... So envy...

I'm planning for a trip to Perth in Mar... Any recommendation for hotel or apartment....

This time round will be bringing bevlyn along... But really worry about her in the flight.

Donkeymami & April & mashy & piggytoh: Thanks, will chk up the hotels which u all mentioned. My budget is less than $180 per nite, of coz the cheaper the better...haha
I am going to spend my deepavali there, in HK...yoohooo~~

How did u all wash milk bottles in hotel room? Use the tap water to rinse? or use boiled water to wash?

My boy is turning 14 mths tmw, and he still cannot walk independently.

Yen

hk water is ok. No need to boil. Boys are relatively slower. My boy started walking independently at 15 mths. I think what is important is that they are cruising by now. So least u know their legs are strong enough. The rest is confidence already.

yen, i still boiled the water and use it to rinse the milk btl.. but that time i went ethan was onli 8mths old.. but jus a gentle reminder... HK super pram unfriendly... i climb the stairs till i wan to go bonkers liaoz carryin ethan

Piggy / mashy / pergsfur / babys
Haha yesterday i buy huggies and drypers. Huggies he wear 4 hrs leak liao n heavy haha.. Than i change to drypers don hav till tis mrn 7+. But when he wear drypers his little brother like been press down cos d front like tight don kw is it okie or not. Haha...

Mashy
Ya at first tot is milk than change back than better. After that tot is lotion than better now don kw what stuff liao le haha... But i think is mre to lotion. My rough guide

Walking

Any child still not walking yet? My son still not walking but can stand very firm w/o assistant and on his own. Almost 14mtha liao le

diaprs talk
my girl cannot take fitti premium. i got 2 loose packets of size L. anyone wanna? but must collect at my place sengkang blk 157 or 116.

yen: I'm going in dec, took park hotel. (about $170 per nite).

I stayed at prudential 2yrs ago, indeed very convenient cos from MTR u can walk to ur hotel, all sheltered.. but expensive..

SBB: shayna cant walk yet too. She can cruise around holding things. on 3 occasions noticed her standing unassisted (but was standing and holding onto to something b4 that).

babymaking,
yes the books teaches on words, come with story books, from easy to advance. when home i take a photo of books to show u. will post here.

Yen,
i use hotwater to wash, i bring a used bottle brush along. i bought the pigeon sterlising tablets in dec09 for a short holiday, last penang trip i juz bring along and soak over the night.

yen: I just brought a bottle brush, and a BPA free container when i went to KL. Wash the bottle with the tap water then rinse thru or soak the bottles in the container with boiled distilled water (cos the boiled tap water had a yellowish tinge to it.)

intending to do the same for my HK trip.

bABYs,
For prudential i book $160+ nia wor..

Donkeymami,
i like jordon area wor.. shoppin is ok also tt day i walk ard tt area got 1 stretch sell many bb clothin also i tink quite ok n walkin distance to temple street many seafood shop ther..

sbb

My gal also is not walking yet. She refuse to walk. While my #1 walk at 11 mths. Every kids is different. Is ok 1...

Mashy: HK tap water, safe ar? heehee...All along, i nv drink direct from the tap, except when brushing teeth, gargling with water..haha.
My boy can 'walk' very fast and chase us in his walker.

donkeymami: Prudential is at Nathan area ar? is Nathan some high-class shopping area? some places are just gd for window-shopping, and too expensive to buy. Then i dun wan to go Nathan , wait see liao, cannot buy...keep thinking abt it..haha

Janice: where are the stairs? in shopping ctrs, i can use lifts/push the prams up escalators. Will there be lifts in their MRT Stations?

BabyS: u also gg HK ar? Dec will be cold wor..which is why I chose Nov. then dun need to wear thick clothings or pack thick clothings, save luggage space. heehee...

april: I have some Mothercare-brand sterlizers, and i dun quite like it. Hate that strong antiseptic smell. That time, I bot to try...thought can save time and save effort to boil milk bottles.

piggytoh: the 2 hotels u recommend(Prudential & Royal Plaza HOtel ) is near the Jordan area ar? Ya, i like to see street shops, and nite mkts that type. But will be crowded, and difficult to push pram. Think my husb will prefer shopping ctrs type, got lifts, got aircon, benches to rest, and clean toilets.

Yen,
Prudential is near Nathan no la not high class area n it near this restaurant the dim sum is fabulous... walkin distance to temple street ... the ROyal Plaza is near Mongkok where the ladies street r... but the nite street v worth checkin out leh.. the children clothin cheap n nice i bott the F1 jacket there.. nex to prudential is a shoppin mall liao.. u can consider.. but shoppin mall clothin is usu not as cheap la..

Yen

I also don't drink from the tap. What I meant is more in terms of washing the bottles as per your question. U dun need to wash them with boiled water. I will still boil it before drinking.

Zen

I'll prob wait till she is 2 yrs old before taking mmr. She is allergic to eggs and also of the autism concern. Better delay a little. No hurry to get her vacc anyway.

Yen, i find nathan area alots of eateries & restaurant..high class one shd b in TST area.

Piggy, are u referring the "dao xiang" restaurant for dimsum? i oli managed to tried once during my stay
the dimsum there is gd& cheap.

april,
were you the one who went Hard Rock Hotel Sentosa recently? Can feedback on the hotel room?

mashy,
your children cannot take eggs right? Now Emicakes got eggless cakes you can try next time

Donkeymami,
yes the 1 i recommend u be4 u go rite??? the dim sum ther v v nice my HB love dim sum n i bott my HB there once n he ask me to go everyday hahah..