(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

morning all

i open the big tin of Nan ha 1 last nite..ryan refuse to drink!
its such a big tin..can i mix 2 different types of FM together?
mum n hb tried..they say Nan ha sucks..so tot of mixing it?

any mummies giving ur baby enfalac ha 1 to ur baby? Can i buy some fr u?
scared buy 1 whole tin n he reject again

fussy baby..waste so much money on teats n he only drink fr Nuk latex ones..tink FM also need trial n error
Nan and enfalac are the only two brands with ha?

sharon
diff FM better dun mix..

for enfalac i have enfalac A+, i opened it and Renzo drank for 2 days i think.. so still left a lot but not sure if that's the one you want or not.. where you stay huh, if you dun mind getting from me around pasir ris/tampines then i can give to you since Renzo is not drinking liao, but this one is stage 1 not 2 hor..

hi sharon,i ask friso and they told me HA milk is abit more bitter than normal milk. but i have been using NAN HA since birth for my baby, so far ok, though sometimes he dun like also. u not giving BM? if so, can switch bottles half way. or u dilute the concentration first see if baby can take it.

ya i drank the NAN HA, tastes v metallic. but i thot most milk is like that right? no?

Felicia, oh urs like payaya/ i tried yesterday for 1st time, but i steam it first to kill germs la...he didn't seem to enjoy it leh..he still prefers his simple blend porridge..aiya..tot payaya easy to make leh, land up he dun like =( apple tried once only, also like so so only leh..duno why. maybe dun like sweet stuff.

sharon
yah... my boy also reject FM when I let him try. So I mix with BM - 90ml BM : 60ml FM
he will frown abit when he taste it but will still drink some. I let him take the BM/FM mix once a day.

After 1 month, yesterday was the 1st time he took 100% FM for 1 feed.
Seeing him accepting the FM, I'm happy but also sad.
He dont need to depend on me for him milk milk anymore.

My PD says HA FM is bitter, so fussy babies won like.

Jeni
wah you so careful leh, i never thought about the gem part and just peel off the skin and wash and chop then give to my boy, i think steam liao maybe the taste is a bit diff ba.. fruits i like to give fresh one so i never steam, just serve or blend liao then serve puree..

your blend porridge how you make huh? that time i tried pumpkin porridge, cook liao then blend become very starchy, so now thinking about making fish porridge or pork rib soup porridge.. haha, think no need to blend liao, my boy sure can swallow already after few days training on papaya and banana..

similac step 2

any1's baby took similac step 2 n constipating? my bb's poop is like rocks... crying and crying while trying to push it out n she'd rather drink water den milk.. sighs.. her poor butt is all red frm all the pushing

Daph
mine is stage 2.. u check with ur hb see he convienient anot loh..

kikilala
they dun wan eat how to force.. will vomit out leh..

any mummies planning to give ur ur bb H1N1 vaccination? my friend told me another kid died from it.. thought not so serious now..

From iTODAY:Five-year-old latest death

Zulkifli Bin Othman | 26-Feb-2010 6:00 AM

SINGAPORE - A five-year-old has become the latest - and one of the youngest - person to die from the Influenza A (H1N1) virus here.

So far, the youngest reported H1N1 victim here was a two-year-old child who died in November, while another six-year-old boy died in September.

The latest victim, who was admitted to KK Women's and Children's Hospital (KKH), was said to have caught the virus from his uncle.

The boy was in critical condition over the Chinese New Year holidays.

It is not clear when he died, as KKH was unable to provide details at press time. It is also not known if his uncle has made a recovery.

The death is possibly the first since the Ministry of Health (MOH) downgraded its H1N1 flu alert status from yellow to green on Feb 12.

MOH stopped reporting H1N1 fatalities after the virus was treated as part of the seasonal flu strains circulating in the community.

As of two weeks ago, there had been more than 1,600 hospital admissions from complications related to H1N1 since last July, including about 100 intensive care admissions and 20 deaths.

According to the latest figures from MOH, the prevalence of H1N1 among patients with influenza-like illness was 28 per cent.

Overall, there are no signs of a significant rise in influenza activity in Singapore, reported the ministry.

Last week, a daily average of 2,799 patients sought treatment at polyclinics for acute respiratory infections (ARI), compared to 2,421 the week before.

The weekly number of polyclinic attendances for ARI has also largely been below the epidemic level since early August last year.

Nonetheless, the official advice, for those who have yet to get immunised, is to get their shots.

As of early January, more than half a million vaccines remain uncommitted.

Get iTODAY on your iPhone for free by visiting http://www.todayonline.com/iTODAY/iphone

sharon, think gotta try a few more times and mb Ryan will get used to it and accept it. Yes only 2 HA types from Enfa and Nan.

jeni, most FM is sweet. HA type not sweet but bitter aftertaste. If your bb drinks from birth, will be ok with it.

Sophia
yes my niece used to have this problem, her poo is also like rocks, till now she's 3 years old liao still got constipation problem, my sis changed her formula back to mamex gold that time, because she had constipation and hyper active problem while on similac..

h1n1 jab
we can get from polyclinic right, can we get for baby? if yes i think play safe will bring my boy and maid for it together with me and hubby..

Sophie, my gal is taking similac stage 2 about 2wks but she's jz taking 2 feed a day cos previously she was TBF so far she dun hv constipation problem.

All babies are different not the FM i thk cos some babies take well some not..so nit to trial & error if not suit hv to switch.

I thk those ex FM are vy rich..so some babies doesn't take well will either LS or constispate..so u may wan to try cheaper FM like Friso & mamilgold. I fully understand parents want to give the best to our kids.

sophie, the lady from Abbott keeps telling me Similac has some oil which makes the baby's stool soft, so I guess its not always true! Think u may have to switch FM. U can also consider giving probiotics also and lots of fiber since bb can take solids now. I understand prune juice is ok for babies now also.

Mich, i thk tat's why similac now added probiotics in their FM mayb too many complaints abt constipate heehee...

my gal taking similac i has been monitoring her poo poo so far ok but like wat i said she's taking 2feed/day so i nit to cont's monitor.

Michelle
Eva clutch is big enough for passport? If yes then i really want to get it leh so more convenient when go travelling, hoho..

baby ja
i see, then maybe i dun rush for that, heard there's side effect, in hk 4 preggy women got miscarriage after the jab.. scary sia..

donkeymami, ya could be Similac too "rich" so they need to add probiotics ha ha. Like u said, different babies take to different FM. How much milk does your girl take a day?

Mich, i feed her twice at home mrng(120ml) & night (150ml) then pass MIL 4x150ml EBM usually she will also finished all MIL also feed her porridge somemore...so she take abt 800-900ml/day
alot or not ah?

my boy taking similac.. his used to dun poo everyday but after i gave him water.. his poo is quite alright now..

felicia
thats wat my HB said also.. wa, miscarriage after that.. really like not very worth hor..

morning...
donkeymami, i read, saying ard our bb age, abt 600-700ml will be ok, urs abit more but also ur gal taller..if she can take it n she dont look over chubby should be ok ya

my boy currently taking 180ml x 2 times and 200ml x 1 for nite feed..yesterday feed him more with 4 frisco scope of cereal+ half a popatoe for lunch n he seems dont make noise after meal like wat he usually do n last nite he slept from 9pm till 4am! argh..i really feel like strike TOTO and hope he will cont like that

regg, yalor..i find she drank alot..i dunno how my MIL feed her cos i dun asked her one cos she's vy sensitive she i dare not ask abt my girl's feeding schedule so wkday follow her schedule wkend follow my schedule..poor baby hor.

wkend i dun feed her so much like 4x milk + 2 cereals

but now she starts to crawl so mayb she take more bah.

oh wow, i haven't tried normal FM, didn't know they were sweet...haha..so blur hor...maybe next month when i get the free friso will let him try out. though he doesn't quite seem to like sweets stuff leh.

Felicia, i grind rice in blender/miller first then boil and put in mini slow cooker to cook few hours before giving. so that no grains. cos if u cook normal rice like that, cook v long still got the grains lor.

i duno read from where 9m below, better steam or boil first la...maybe payaya the smell v strong lor. so far he only likes pumpkin leh....going to try sweet potato n spinach soon.

Jeni
i see, i am training my boy to chew and swallow now so i am okay with rice grains because the papaya and banana i gave him are definitely a lot bigger in size, haha..

i also never tried green vege on him, slow down a bit now cuz i noticed that if i keep switching the food he becomes more fussy, only eat for the first time after that dun eat liao, so i will introduce more stuff till he turns 7 months then a few more when he is 8 months like that..

gosh Michelle, i feel like rushing down all the way to orchard now sia.. how how.. so bad me, no income in a month time liao still want to spend on myself.. =(

Donkeymami,
wow ur gal can drink so much ah.. everysince i start solid he dun drink so much milk liao:p for step 2 FM usu alot cheaper n i notice those medicine hall only cheaper for step1 the rest when NTUC got sales it cheaper lor..

Regg,
kekek i jus gave my boi everyday diff thing to my convenience wor... :p so far he ok wat i gave he will finish all in 5-10min time..

piggy,
my boy also eat very fast n so far he eat everything we give too, just that i now try to give him same food for at least 3 days then i change, haiz i haven intro veg to him, feel so bad, will do it tis weekend since i am off

all mummies lets jia you tog !

Jeni,
Ikea high chair is cheap n gd only $25..

Regg,
hahah abit diff to gave same thing for 3 days cos like papaya & banana no gd to eat so much mah...also not everyday my MIL can get those type suit for bb anywya i mix with cereal so ok la... so far my boi take his vegie well also hope he wun be like me dun eat vegie..

Piggy, sigh i dunno how my MIL feed her in day time lor..she feed her porridge also..mayb she dun give alot bah..but wkend when i take over i dun feed her so much.

donkeymami
my boy used to drink 4 times a day and total intake is 900ml, after start solid become 3 milk+2 solid, total intake is 570..

personally i think you should understand from your MIL about how she feed your gal.. tell her you need to keep track for future reference lor.. like for my boy since birth till now, everyday what time eat how much, sleep from what time to what time, change diaper how many times, poo how many times, what time shower etc, i have all the record on my pc in excel format, i showed my MIL last time and my purpose is to let her know, if she insist to let my FIL look after my boy, they got to make sure they follow the same, if not no way de..

for your case maybe tough to do that since from start you didn't request your MIL to record down, of course i also understand sometimes if we question them they will assume we think they did something wrong, so maybe just share with her that you want to know your gal's daily feeding schedule so on weekends you can follow your MIL's schedule and feed your gal, then she wont feel offended..

Felicia,
I think our bb intake abt the same, my boy now taking 3 milk total 560ml + 2 solid also, daily water intake abt 250ml.I still do e recording since bb was born till now too... but i nt so hard working to type on PC, i just write on a book hehe

Felicia,
i wanna try crochet flower more. i think will be nice to attach on a clip can use it alone as clip or on beannie too

donkeymami,
sigh tt the thing abt lettin mil to take care for me i make sure my MIL go accordin to my schedule i usu told her feed wat time she will feed according n i only gave her milk powder for 2 feed so ok..

Regg
Yup about the same intake hor, and my boy drinks more than 350ml of water i think, LOL..

i saw those crochet flowers, great workmanship.. just my 2 cents here, you know lah singapore so hot, i only let baby wear beanie in super cold aircon place, so the crochet flower looks a bit hot to me lah, maybe you want to try very bright color like lemon green or something? hehe just my personal feeling lah hope you dun mind..

Felicia, ya i understand but my MIL looking after 2 babies (my & SIL's) on her own so it's really hard to ask her to record down feeding time all these..i thk she hv her own schedule for my gal jz tat i didn't ask her..cos i know i cannot correct her even i disagree her way of doing things..so i rather dun find out from her lor..useless mummy hor! sigh!

I wish i can like some of yo, but i knw my MIL's style she keep quiet doesn't mean she accept my comment.

donkeymami: there is this medical hall at bukit gombak mrt opposite that neighbourhood, sells cheap milk powder. Also, the Prime supermkt at Bt batok Ave 6 also cheaper than ntuc prices.

piggy, i wish i can ask my MIL follow my ways to look after my girl but it's impossible..tat time i ask her feed her cereals she also refuse to do it..then she said SIL's bb also nv take cereals..wat can i said right? then i found out she lazy cos she gave porridge to SIL's bb so it's easier for her to give the same food.

I really envy you girls have a more understanding in-laws..for my in-laws not they not good la..but not easy to deal wif lor.

Donkeymami,
maybe i am the stubborn type if my MIL dun follow hor maybe i will let my bb go IFC rather than let her take care... i am bad la:p sumtime she will tell me who n who bb start porriage liao i will say let them start lo not as if start early more clever maybe they bth me also wahahha..

felicia,
appreaciate u feedback, those crochet flower i use bamboo or cotton yarn, very light and dont really hot, in fact i think the beannie is more hot then the flower bah, so for mummies who buy beannie for they bb gal to wear pls take note of the material ya. clips only serve as decoration hehe

felicia> lol. dun rush down la. scarly cannot fit. i think is can. cos my wallet is as big as a passport n can go into my eva clutch. but i have not put de passport into de eva clutch before leh