(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

baby ja
i asked my sis, my niece one is called "Urticaria".. and think it slowly spread, at first could be just one area, then when she scratch slowly become one patch one patch, so maybe your baby's one is not that as it doesn't look that serious to me, but my niece really went to a few GP and PDs then confirmed that it is urticaria, so if the doc is not sure, maybe you want to bring baby to other doc and check..

jul
oh! haha i never look at the year.

Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube
Anyone got this toy for your baby? I just came across some youtube videos of it and feel like buying for my boy haha

does shop in SG have this?

i remove the mittens off my bb while sleeping and the next morning i saw a deep scratch on his face, dont know should continue removing his mittens. Any other ways besides wearing mittens to prevent bb from scratching

babiesme

how often do u cut his nails? when i first removed sam's mittens at ard 7 weeks, he used to scratch himself all the time. after that, he learned not to. cutting his nails 2x a wk helps too

babiesmeme,
my bb till now still scratch himself lo but n i remove his mitten ard 6wks. dun worry so much it will recove v fast... but removin the mitten really helps his motorin skill etc lo..

Pear Puree

Just now I tried to steam pear n make puree but not successful!

Not sure issit pear not ripe enough or I din steam long enough? The pear was very hard & can't even be mashed.

But I cut into 1-1.5cm size cubes n steamed in a bowl in a pot for 15min+. Can't be not cooked right?

piggy

Sam likes to scratch ME! He'll knead my flesh very hard when I'm carrying him. Must be shiok shiok to keep digging his nails into my flesh hor?

mashy
i go check back my record, din introduce new food to him 5 days b4 his rash.. his new clothes i will always wash b4 let him wear.. the detergent been using for months liao leh.. using kodomo..

felicia
tink is not itchy for him coz he din scratch leh.. PD got ask and check.. no scratch mark at all..

weishy
Javier's one dun look so serious..

thanks ladies.. today the rashes subside abit.. **keeping my finger cross first** coz usually it got very red during nite time..

jul~ya not cooked yet la.

babyja~okie good good
tat wll hv fever so monitor la.probs he's allergic to something.

jul
for pear i don't steam i just blend.. and i buy those brown color skin super big one, very juicy and easy to blend, but if mash it i dun think it is easy also...

Jul,
myboi not only scratch me he will pull my hair n use his head n knock me also... becos of him i kena few ulcer liao..
for pear i tink u din cook longer.. nex time if cannot jus blend lor dun waste..

Eunice,
take care ah.. meant while keep a distance from ur bb dun tink too much ya..

Babyja,
maybe seek another PD get 2nd opinion?

Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube
I want to get this toy for Zachary. saw from spree thread that we should get 6 of it to maximize shipping cost and after shipping should be around S$40.

Anyone else interested?

http://www.amazon.com/Munchkin-3106-Mozart-Magic-Cube/dp/B00004TFLB

Felicia
Oh SG dont sell that ah. then time to see response here le. a bit ex but the music is nice

jul
I made pear puree last wed. I wanted to try to see how it is if i didnt steam it and blend. end up quite nice and Zachary loves it. I used green skin pear.

Makes me wonder why must we steam pear and apple?

piggytoh
Zachary always pull my hair, scratch me, pinch me and knock me with his head! ouch!!

weishy
so far no fever..

piggytoh
ya, will bring him another PD if dun better this few days..

Eunice
aiyo.. take care k.. dun near ur boy for the time being loh..

eunice!!!!!pls pls pls go to ur mom's plc n stay etc......yes u will spread to him!!!!!!!esp he havent take the chix pox jap!!!!!

probs after incubation then u go baCK le,take care ya

RE: Rash
Dunno why little M got 3 rash dots after her fever. Heat rash?

RE: Puree
Jul, must steam for at least 30 min. I steamed apple for 30 min, mash while steaming.

babiesmeme,
U still let your bb wear mittens? should let bb sleep w/o it. After some time, bb will learn not to scratch. If scratch means nails too long and we must cut.

Felicia,
Waaa .... your boy can sit up real well. My ger definitely cannot sit up. I tried putting her in sitting position ytd, then she toppled back and sideways. Haha

Little M no longer has fever. Think it's the growing fever. Or is it teething fever. But she still has cough.

baby ja

i checked sam's rashes. not like urs. his more of the heat.milk rash type.. small dots, not big n red like urs.

maybe u shd try another pd for 2nd opinion.

weishy, phy o, piggy, reira

need to steam for 30min ah??? faint! i put in bowl n steam in pot leh. water nearly dried up liao. so i need bigger pot?

tasted a bit sourish n funny after steaming. dunno issit the steaming or pear not ripe?

so use blender to blend the pear? can't mash?

eunice

oh no! keep urself away. v contagious leh

felicia

i tot supposed to use those gourd-shaped pear? round, brown-skinned pears can also?

eunice,
bb immunity still not strong leh, sure spread! u take care must watch ur diet.

Reira,
Munchkin Mozart Magic Cube seem not pratical to buy, i buy the mozart DVD or CD music for them to listen. since Edric birth i play the mozart CD for him, fm music cd play daily n continuously the skills learn will be memory (anticipation of sound n music) n the motor skill respond to music n songs. now I play the mozart DVD music on TV which Edric can watch, so learning skills for bb will b objects identification, patterning, categorisation, they develop multiple ways of remembering.

steaming in high heat kill germs, as their stomach still not strong so as to prevent bb tummy upset. once bb get older, can give direct.

jul
last nite his rashes subside abit le.. if this few days not getting better will bring go another PD..

dunno isit the 'rashes season'.. hahahaha.. that day went to clinic, think got 2 babies went for rashes too..

jul
actually i also dunno de, just that i like those big brown skin pears so i buy for my boy the same one...

phy o
he suddenly learnt to sit up, i think that time my maid put him in stroller and push him around in the house, then he sit up and hold the stroller to balance himself, then slowly he can sit up on his own liao, we didn't really train him, but guess the bottom part of his body is really heavy and strong (big butt and thighs), maybe that helps, haha..

Reira
there are a lot of great reviews about the magic cube, SMH got people orgranizing spree also actually. but hor we also found a few bad reviews such as it contains tin, and the sound is too loud etc.. so hubby told me it could be a great toy but got to wait till my boy stop drooling, and stop putting everything into his mouse then buy it make more sense..

weishy, the food at the organic place is nice. I had the brown rice set, and my hb the wholemeal sandwich... tastes super healthy, will go back there again next time

reira, I saw something organise the spree for the munckin cube from amazon.com I think.

eunice, do take care and get well soon.

jul, for pear, i steam only 5 mins then I blend or else its still super hard de...

Scratching: I dont dare to cut his fingernails, my hub who do it hehe yes we do cut his finger nails two times a week. In fact his nail is not so long. He only scratch his face during sleep time. during daytime he is without the mittens. looks like I have to 'train him' not to wear his mittens.Thanks

Weishy

Thks for recommending Yu Guo. Had brought both gals there today... #1 love the massage not #2. Since #1 don't like the medicine she has given her a medicine to put on her belly button. Did the doc give yr kid this as well? Cos i put on #2 the belly button protector keep moving around... Think will check with them tmr. Cos they ask me to go bk on Mon and tue...

Mich

Is ok to mix chinese and western medicine. Just hv to give 2 hr apart. Just tell the doc that he is taking western medicine and they will advise accordingly.

Zen

Is ok to go facial. But hv to tell them u are still BF. They hv to use pure massage oil to massage u.

SL~ya that belly belt also oki ar since she dun eat but try to mix in her juice??? ribena???

ya best is go 3x....lucas' case nt so bad so dun need.

belt~humm maybe strap tighter? but still will move la....

SL, thanks for the info, my in laws will be bringing Isaac these couple of days.

reira, ha ha, I also have been busy spreeing and spending money again! If Zach is ok with chunkier food, then can give porridge. Cos the porridge not as fine as puree. Unless u blend the porridge?

Weishy

Ya lor. Hope the belly belt work well for her too... She don't really like ribena and she dont take juice 1....

The medicine smell really vv strong leh. Even Bevlyn also dont like...

E belt will still move 1 leh... Bevlyn is so active so quite difficult to belt it there..

Btw the doc gave Bevlyn both the belt medicine and medicine to take... Cos she has a lot of phelgm. She has been taking abt 5 days of hou zhao shan still doesn't help.

Will bring them there again tmr and Tue... Don't mind to bring them as long as they will get well soon.

Mich

U are most welcome...

my boy is having blocked nose n cant sleep the whole of yday nite
he keeps flipping to face down to sleep
so worried he will suffocate...cos he really whole face face down
i keep waking to turn him back
not like on tummy n face sideways

any suggestions to help him sleep better?

he poo 4 times since ard 6pm...considered diarrhoae?

sharon,

Ovann had slight flu few months earlier and the doc prescribed the nose drop for him to breathe easier. I use it when i start hearing stuffy noise from him.

Other suggestion is to rub vicks on ryan's feet? And i think Pris mentioned something abt putting the vicks in hot water in the room? Something like dat. For me, i also rubbed a little on his chest.

sharon, my bil went to pharmacy to buy something like those capsules containing liquid to put ard ethan's bed and clothes supposingly to make him feel better as per recommended at the pharmacist.. i rub vicks on his chest like pegsfur..

pegsfur/janice,
thanks...i tried using vicks but i put on handkerchief...din help
end up i let him lie on me to sleep last nite...so tiring!

Eunice, just saw the news, pls take care. Drink more fluid to keep yrself hydrated especially now when the weather is so hot.

Sharon, pls take care too, I know it's tiring but at least u know that ryan is ok.

Sharon, you can go pharmacy and get 'karvol'. Its in capsule form so cut it and squeeze the liquid on a hanky. Then place the hanky in Ryan's pillow so that he can smell it.

The nose drop from doc should help to dry up the mucous too.

sharon,

U can get the nose drop which the doc prescribed for ovann from pharmacy. The name is 'iliadin', nasal decongestant for infants. Works pretty well. Just to take note dun use it consecutively for more than 5days.

irene/pegsfur,
thanks...so go get it tml
weather is really bad...he keep perspiring
dun gif fan also cannot...gif worried its too cold...

eunice,
take care too
i tink disinfect to be safe?
although i tink once its over...its wont be contagious anymore?

Sharon,
dun worry ur BB will get well soon
for the illadin nose drop my dr told to apply 1 side den apply another side after 30min for best result cos apply same the liquid might blk the nose but she say dun use continous for 3 days wor ..For vick u apply at feet n wear sock for them

Janice,
cannot buy shoe meh? Nv heard be4 wor I still shop as usu wor..