(2009/08) August 2009 MTBs

zen

pd said enfalac a+ is the 'norm' one. ar is anti-reflux. but she did say it's harder to find, but she said shop n save carries it. i presume she means toa payoh branch coz that's where her clinic is? maybe try to bigger supermarts? i haven't gone to look for the ar yet.

Frozen EBM
I'm still struggling to feed my boy frozen EBM lor!!! Tried 3 bottles today and ended up pouring away 2!! He drank a little initially then started giving me the super disgusted look and kept pushing out the bottle! He vomited so many times today that i got so worried..think i dun want to give him any more frozen EBM!

And i dun even know if the problem lies with the frozen milk or reflux!

I think it's $15 for delivery, not the milk powder. That one will have to call her to check the price of the powder you want

jul in week

baby at around 1 mth they will start to lift up their head.
My boy now 2mths likes to tilt his head and see the surrounding liao le.. but he haven lie on his tummy yet. Trying to do that for him..

====================

ktmum

I use this brand. http://www.okoloco.com/OurProducts.aspx

It is from germany and its quite long lasting.
My boy now is using midi which now I change him 5-6 hrs 1x no leakage.

Till now, I never experience any leakage unless I didn “tape” him properly. Than urine leak from sarong. Haha..

I change my boy before feed.

====================

phy

I have been rubbing his head 1000x – 2000x. haha.. I go and count wor..

But best if when he first came back from hospital. My mother didn realize till he was a mth old. She said have to do it before 4mth. After 4mth difficult liao le. Head hard le.

====================

sandy

when u bath the bb in the morning, u have to wash yr bb tougue and gums. Best is to carry him on yr arms. But I don la.. I lay him down.

I will wet the cloth and put one finger inside to clean. They will bite yr finger sometimes cos they don like it when u dig inside.

But sometimes I play with my boy la.. let him bite.

====================

bean

my bb one day drink more than 100ml / day. Before feed, I will give him drink 10-20ml. morning time I gave him drink 30-60ml rest, bath than feed.

jul in week / ktmum

its good to know abt bb head shape la.. cos when they still young still can help them if anything not nice. haha...

my malay friend mother ask me to keep massaging his head. they said last time they wrap the head also to make it round.

sbb

keke mine been sleeping on tummy since 2 weeks? coz he sleeps better on the tummy, else he'll wake up scared n start screaming

venue~ babymaking (sembawang mins from mrt )

time ~ 12pm

Food~take outs ( pizza hut etc ) or cathering teck neo is more than 30 pax

Drinks ~ babymaking will go buy n we chip in????

suggestions

1) weishy ( Nonya food ~ teck neo $5 min must order $150 so we need 30 pax :p )
2) Reira (ok with weishy's suggestion & chip in for the drinks)
3) Priscilla (Catering & chip in for drink unless caterer provide)
4) *michele* (catering)
5) Janice
6) Nicole
7) Sharon (~mimosa~)
8) Regg
9)Sbb ( eat 1st then come over)

Participants

1) weishy + HAyley + helper ( Lucas )
2) Reira + Hubby (Zachary) - Tentative
3) Priscilla ( Kai & Ray)
4) Janice + Hubby + Baby Ethan - Tentative
5) Nicole + Jania - tentative
6) sharon (ryan) - tentative
7) Regg (Regan)
8) Happi (Rayes) - tentative
9) babymaking + zachary + hubby + maid
10) Sbb + bb (zhao zheng) + mum - tentative
11) Sandy Dee
12) phy_o + hb + megan + myra
13) donkeymami (Jovia) - tentative
14) jul + Samuel - tentative
15)carefreelife +hubby + Kyan (tentative)

i can't make it liao. just received wedding invitation.

argh!

i might kill my baby!

have been feeding him smaller amt of 80ml as advised by the pd b/c of his reflux problem. but b/c it's a small amt, he needs to feed at most every 2h, mostly every 1.5h.

the washing of bottles n time to feed is drving me crazy! how to feed, burp, hold him upright for 15-30min, burp, lay him down n still do other stuff in 1.5h time frame! no need to eat, not to mention pump ebm for his next feed!

plus he seems to be a night owl. last nite kept us up with 11pm, 1am, 3am, 5am, 7am feeds! then he pukes up my precious already-not-enough-to-feed-him ebm! morning he'll sleep like it's nite! arrgghh.. gog crazy.. gog crazy..

sharon

How to teach my baby to sleep in the nite huh? Now I'm not even asking him to sleep thru the nite. Just dun wake up eevry 1.5h hrs asking for milk, or worse, wake up n not sleep n cry if we dun play with him or carry him

ytd night was bad too.
Myra only slept at 12.30am instead of the usual. I'm so tired. Then woke up at 5am to pump. She woke up at 5.50am, didn't want bottle so sleep latch. Then 7.20am, woke up eh eh eh ... so got to wake up, bathe her and feed her. Now I;m so tired but she's taking her usual morning nap. Asked my MIL to come over and play with her more in the day. Maybe ytd night we went out, so she kept sleeping in the sling, then at night woke up!

Jul,
Your baby reflux is very bad is it? Throw up a lot? Cos what I do with Myra is I give her 4oz. But sometimes she cannot finish, so I will let her drink in 2 shifts, but she must finish within the 3h. So I gauge by the next 3h, I will give her the next 4oz, usually she will be asking for milk then too. So in this case, even if she doesn't finish the full feed (cos mebbe stomach small), at least she is trying. Sometimes she can finish all 4 oz. Sometimes, 15 min later, 30 min later, 1h later or 1.5h later, cos she's sleepy and naps. When she wakes up from her naps, she will complete her 4oz.

I think your baby is like that too. Maybe you can try this method. BM can stand 4h within spoiling, so dun worry. Like that u wash less lottles and milk is ready when baby wakes up from naps. By now I think our babies should be able to take the 3h schedule. Hope that helps.

Re: Sleep at night

By the way, Jul, how many h does your baby sleeps in the day, Maybe that's affecting his wakefulness in the night? Mine takes morning nap from 9.30am to 1pm, then afternoon nap at 3pm to 6pm, then short night nap at 8pm to 9pm.

phy o

Dunno issit considered very bad. But without fail, he will definitely have some milk dribbling from his mouth when he's lying down. On top of that, he normally will feel very uncomfortable after he finishes his feed. He will make clearing throat noises, stretch until face red, then somwtimes will choke then the milk comes out. maybe abt 1 or 2 mouthfuls?

And probably merlion once in a while. But hor.. this morning I was thinking.. Once in a few days I latch him on my brest fren pillow. After that, he will almost surely merlion. Wondering if it's the position?

sleeping hrs

Sam normally sleeps after his 6/7am feed. After the next feed, he will nap again till about 12pm+ to feed again. rest a while (not sleeping) then bath at abt 2pm. After that, feed again, on & off nap & wake up till feed at 5/6pm. Then awake & nap maybe 9-10pm? After that, awake again till 2/3am, then sleep. Is there something wrong with my schedule?

phy o

Btw u mentioned breaking up feed for Myra. So does it mean.. she starts 4oz at 9am, but can only drink 3 oz. So she will sleep, then wake up again to drink the other 1oz, say, at 1030am. The next feed would be at 12pm or 130pm?

sleeping hrs

How many hrs shd a baby nap at 8weeks anyway?

morning!

Jul, my bb put on 1.9kg by week 4, and another kg in 2 weeks time, now i suppose he is 9 weeks and 6kg? or more? he already out grown pet pet S, starting with M this week and fitti S cutting bigger, he wear tight tight already!

bb grow teeth
should be 4th mth ba.

diaper
i am using pet pet for day and fitti for night, so far, pet pet can last 5-6 hours and fitti i change by 9pm and change again by 4am when feeding bb, last nite i dint change.. now is 10am, no leak, i lazy, wait for 10+ shower then change! haha.. but i feel it is better to change by 5-6 hourly, is better for bb skin.

Jul,
i was struggle with bb sleeping hours too, Regan was sleeping too much in e day n keep waking up in e nite.. when Regan turn 6 weeks, actually he already start can 'tong' 5 hours (9-2am) but in between will keep waking up, i just need to pacifier him(now i think back, i shall thanks to my mil who insist to let bb pacify since e day he back from hos!)..Jul, try to set a routine for him? or entertain him more during e day like wat Pris mentioned? i think it really works BUT u must hang in there... cos Regan now then slowly adjust himself to sleep from 945pm to 3am, i pacify him he cont to zzz till 415am tis morning then i feed, then cont to zzz till 730am, then i make him 'tong' till 8am then feed.

abt ur short time feeding, how abt try intro water to ur bb? like u try to feed him 2.5 hourly, b4 tatif he cry, feed little bit water.. slowly can adjust de, mine i also do like tat, pacifier + water till e next feed, and now he can slowly tong more then 3 hours le.
Jul, gd luck and jia you.

Hi jul,

Yap, something like that. Cos she's a sleepy baby. So let's say her feed is at 9am. She will nap after 3oz, wake up at 10.30am (sometimes earlier) for the 1 oz. Play a while then 12pm next 4oz. I count 3hr from the start of the feed (9am) Like that I can gauge one day how many feeds.But if I latch, it's a 2h interval cos I dun have that much milk. But after 40 min or so of latching, she won't drink from bottle cos tired. Then it's 2h interval. Been tracking her and it's like that for 2 weeks.

piggym

hi! ltnc

yeah i have 2 pumps, so gog to sell off my ameda lactaline. if u know anyone interested, let me know yeah?

ho're u on ur end? excited?

Agree with Regg, my timing abt same as hers. But urs look ok. Maybe baby hungry, that's why keeps waking up?

Merlion means vomit a lot? Myra does not only if she drinks halfway then want to burp so vomit.

regg

wow, that's fast growth. sam is 5.5kg at week8. sama sama, but his birth weight was 2.6kg so din grow as much as regan. mamy poko s is getting tight for sam now. grr.. his tummy n butt not so big but his thighs are fat!

ok, i try the pacifier trick. wah i envy u.. can have 5h feed interval liao! i am hanging by my fingertips man, esp since sam digests my BM super fast

phy o

ok, i get it. if i do it ur way, then i only need 3 bottles vs 4 bottles for 6 hrs. hmm. save 1 bottle is good!

phy o

yeah, he's definitely hungry also. sometimes he can't even go full 2h with 80ml ebm! but b/c of reflux, i cannot tank him up with, say, ml so i can sleep! grr..

yeah merlion is really like the merlion lor. milk flying out thru the mouth hee

Hmm.. the more I think abt it, the more I think that it's hunger that's making Sam not sleep / keep waking up at nite. Sian.. how long will this stupid reflux last? *boo hoo*

Jul,
hang in there ya.. like wats e mummies here always advise me!Regan can last 7 hours last nite(9pm-4.15am) but in between he will woke up lor.. just need to pacify him... just now shower him at 10am he keep crying, i think must b e super wet diaper(9pm - 10.15am) i feel so bad! ok, no more lazy to change diaper for him... oh ya, i notice and wanna share a tip with u all, i norm tryto change diaper first then feed bb if i want him to sleep and feed him then burp, then change diaper if i want him to stay awake, it does work for my boy!

jul,
try to put bb in semi upright position/tilted on mattress - that will prevent the reflux from worsening.

had a bad night as well. zac refuse to kncok off till almost 1 am and was up since 3am and though MIL was looking after him, she refuse to carry him from his cot and he was crying since 4am, so no choice, got to go pacify him till 7plus before i shower & rush out to work!

jul,
hang in there. my baby was also feeding every 1.5hourly both day & nite for quite a while. so i totally understand how u feel. within tat 1.5hour, half an hour is taken to feed & burp baby. the remaining time is either bathe yourself, take meals or pump. u can only do one thing at one time. my baby is now better. now he drinks 2 hourly instead. and at times, he drinks 3 hourly. so i guess he'll progress to 3hourly feed soon. i'm trying to keep positive.

i even took medication to increase breastmilk so i've sufficient to latch him & to pump out the extra to store so tat he hv milk to drink while i'm at work. but i'm too tired wif the 1.5 hourly feed + work + constantly in a mad rush. so i gave in to FM and supplement him wif FM once or twice a day & latch him as much as possible.

dun give up. try to relax yourself as much as possible. tats wat i'm trying to do to keep my sanity. i'm also waiting for the day he sleeps thru the nite. but i've a fren whose daughter is almost 2 yrs old & she's still waking up twice at night for her night feeds. so it really depends on individual babies.

oh, i also tried feeding my baby wif water to keep him full, hoping tat will drag his feeding time but it doesn't work. and he doesn't drink much water also.

i also thought if he drinks FM, he'll feel fuller and drag feeding time but also no. he still drinks 2 hourly be it BM or FM. my baby drinks abt 120ml each time.

for all those that went to polyclinic for your baby's jab, did they do the assessment from 4mth to 6mths for you?

I just realised that they did not do it for my baby wor.

RE: sleeping hours

Jul,

I read from a book that the recommended naptime for a 2 to 3mths bb is 3 1/2hrs. and 3hrs for a 3 to 6mth bb.

Maybe you should consider to minimize your boy's sleeping hours in the day. Engage him in activities like singing/talking to him or even role playing using different props.

Hang in there! ;p

jul,
taking care of baby is a lot of trial n error. Do whatever tat works best for Sam. By the way, u said shower him at 2pm? Do u shower in the evening then? At least he's fresh, can sleep better? Just thinking a lot.

carefreelife,

my son had his jab in NUH - they didn't do the assessment for him either. in the health booklet, it did say 'for parents' to self-assess..

Jul,
my baby is having a rather predictable daytime routine: feed, then play for about half an hour to an hour, then nap for an hour plus till next feed. each feed stretches to 3 hours, total BM.

Sandy : must clean the tougue as My also end up PD say is funguns and I need to put medic on his tougue . You try cleaning see can remove if canremove mean is not funguns . NOW I learn the lesson so will clean every 2 time

ytd i ended up checking my boy's head and forgot to post then i shut down my pc accidentally.

sharon
yesterday and today i drop a few drops of plain water in his mouth and let him taste throughout the day. i really dont have the patience to waste my time forcing him to drink water. hopefully he will get used to it and actually start drinking!

jul
dont worry about ur supply going down. kyrie also pump only and her supply is superb! btw, jul u are still in ur week 37 ah! haha i miss my week 37 pregnancy.

sbb
sorry to know that ur boy got brachycephaly. yah, need to pay a lot also bo bian. we wouldnt want our baby to grow up getting mock by ppl. hopefully can claim medisave or use cda.

irene
Re:bottlefeeding
i asked hubby to bottlefeed, sometimes ok, sometimes he struggle and hubby trying to feed him, hubby was so stressed up by his cry! then i take over and feed him. he bo bian have to drink cos he knows i am more stubborn than him.

ktmum
i dont change my boy's diaper in the middle of the night. if i change he sure wake up de. i am using pet pet and it is ok dont leak urine. these few days i notice after drinking milk, he will nap a bit then wake up and cry for diaper change. even tho the diaper is not wet at all (only pee once or twice), he also demand it to be changed! after diaper change he drink a bit again and zzzz till morning. lucky i am using pet pet.

stretch marks!!! i am suay. preggie dont have stretch marks and some appeared 2 days before giving birth. then after giving birth even worst!! now i heck care liao.

jul

just read recommendations from the jul thread about 'more milk special blend'. Supposed to help with milk ss. Am going to get it tom and see if it works for me. Hopefully. My milk ss is also going down.

phy*o*
nowadays i cant go out at night... yesterday night force Zachary to go out with us to buy diaper. ended up 9:30pm then reach home. normally his schedule is 8+ milk, 9pm zzz till 5am. but last night ended up he zzz around 11pm. then he woke up at 1am for feed and zzz until 8:30am. argh. i think i changed his sleeping schedule accidentally. hope he goes back to 9pm zzz today.

jul
i've been latching Zachary using my brest friend pillow since birth. no problem with vomitting. well initially only 2 vomits a week bah. but since last week, he vomit atleast once a day and i got no ideal why!!! ytd night he vomit like all the milk out (latch laying down)! 1/4 of my queen size bed.

mashy
i think my ss also going down. well, it is either my boy drink a lot now or it is going down. now i only have to pump before zzz and when wake up.

babymaking

i have called kkh today..
they said have to ask our PD to access first than if it really requires than can schedule appt. they said most of the time is 4mth onwards but can be earlier depending on PD remarks.

can they said that if we go to specialist as per recommended, we are considered as outpatient. and outpatient cannot claim medisave.

NUH haven replied to me yet.

reira

do you burp him after feeding. i always make sure i burp my baby after feeding and so far after week 3 and 4 when she used to throw up, she has been able to keep her milk down.

so what is the interval between the time you sleep and wake up? no engorgement with such a long interval? now i am doing 4-5 hour interval max, wondering when i can try to extend to maybe 6 hour cos when i go back to work, i need my sleep!

hi mashy,

i tried it already. also dunno have effect or not. but it's so ex, now i switched to fenugreek. but i still take goat rue. goat rue seems to have effect on me.

reira,
ya, changed timing. but i think they will go back to normal quickly. my ger seems to be back to old timing after half a day.

Jul
Hang in there if u r pumping! Think if u drink more water and pump regularly, supply more or less will remain the same! Am currently pumping only 4 times a day so it's easier to keep the schedule when i go back work! I get lesser a day since i took away 2 pumping sessions, but i still get the same amt per session!

Reira
i checked with breastfeeding support group regarding ebm donations, they linked me up with someone who wants it..since my boy doesn't like tt..may as well give it away

phy o

ya, claire is going to org a spree with lucky vit on this i think. i'm going to vitakids tom to get to try first. I also read that goat's rue is good. If this blend doesn't work, i'll prob go for the goat's rue too.

donkeymani
it's not a recipe lah, it's a commercial product.

sleeping thru the night:

i do recommend gina ford method, used her method for both my kids and was quite successful, my girl was feeding well and after 1 mth old, i started training her. At about 1.5mth, she can sleep thru the night without night feeding.

every 3 hrly feed and last feed is at 11pm and then next feed will be 7am. irregardless of whether she woke up or not, I dun feed her in the night and after a week, you will be able to see result, of cos she will cry for milk initially so i gave her pacifier and as she is feeding every 3 hrly in the day, actually she is not really hungry in the night.

For gina ford's method, I do not follow her sleeping schedule cos too difficult but i follow the feeding schedule strictly and i realised that if you follow the feeding schedule, the bb will adjust their sleeping schedule to wake up for milk (like alarm clock). I insisted to wake up on time for milk since day 1 for my bb even when they are sleeping and insisted 3 hrly feed round the clock, on the 3rd, 4th week ( if the bb is feeding well) then i will only feed the bb at night is she wakes up and then after 4th week, I do not do night feeding anymore, just give pacifier and struggle thru with her for about a week or so ( not lucky enough to have babies that can sleep thru automatically like what some of my friends have, both of my babies need training type and gina ford method works for them)

re motherlove more milk special blend
I'm going to get from www.luckyvitamin.com coz it's cheaper than in SG, and they have the 8oz bottle (for liquid tincture). If you wanna tag along, PM me the item and URL. Wanna close by Fri (hopefully earlier) coz then can faster use
Will ship with vpost. Just note that the liquid ones are all glass bottles, so if they break in transit, I can't be held responsible for it. The capsules are in plastic bottles.
http://www.luckyvitamin.com/brandListing/vendorKey/5942