(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Kitty,

I was also thinking if head down, not engaged, then 40 weeks how?

keke I didnt get to think abt that the last time..

Will doc only induce when bb's head is engaged? or no need to wait till engage?

Now i think got to read abt how to get bb's head engage

i think my reading of getting bb's head turn down did help :p

Sunsweet, my bb's head has been down for 3 wks already but still not engaged
So i'm thinking for the worse, in case my next checkup bb's head still not engaged...then got to see wat gynae advise.

Kitty, lamagier,

Will be having an appt with him this Sat to tell him abt my decision of inducing or not, then he will be arranging my appt with the next gynae bah. Abit disappointed on such things happening when I'm so close to deliver liao..

Sunsweet, thanks for the article. It has somehow made me feel better that it's still possible to hav natural delivery even thou bb's head nt engaged. But going to pray hard that our bb's head engaged soon. Cox i dun hav many checkups left.

i think if not wrong my #1 engage only when i'm about to labour..

I dun remember my previous gynae mentioned that I'm engaged in my check-ups.

RE: Feeding formula

To those mummies who hv delivered:

Don't feel sad tat ur bb feed formula. My bb was found having jaundice after the day I discharged. Need to go for phototherapy. Of course cos my BM may not be enough for bb, and we can't be staying in the hosp all the time during tat period, so got to let them feed formula.

As long as bb will still drink BM aft tat, we r still providing our best for the bb.

cecilia - hmm think ur doc shld hv told u earlier. my doc trf me v early cos he said good for continuity wif new doc. i like both my old and new doc now

mummies, i am still not due yet. been waiting so long. my #1 kp asking mi when gal will be out. tml i gt my gynae appt in e morning. hope he will not induce mi.

Hi mummies! I'm home with baby Max. He was born at 12.05am on 30th June and weighs 3.38kg. His birth was so quick and thanks to my hb and doula, I managed to go through it all natural.

Here is a brief summary of his birth story.
5-6pm: Contractions every 20 mins apart.
7pm: Decided to head out for dinner with hb and my daughter. Contractions were coming every 10 mins apart, took some concentration to get through them but still able to talk.
8.30pm: Dropped my daughter off with my parents
9pm-10.30pm: Laboured at home, contractions were coming every 3 mins, more intense but still can tahan by holding onto Hb's hands. Doula arrives at our house.
11pm: Big contraction and water bag bursts. Once the water bag bursts, started to feel immense pressure in pelvic area.
11.30pm- Reached Mt A, can barely walk to the delivery suite cos I could feel the baby's head just there. Had a funny moment with the guy who insisted on taking our temperatures even though I was already bearing down.
11.45pm: in delivery suite, trying very hard to cope with the pressure of the baby's head. Finally just relaxed my body and let the contractions do the work. Baby's head is emerging but doc has yet to arrive.
12.05am: Baby Max is born! Such a relief for me and was so happy to find out that I didn't tear at all.

It was really such a different experience from my first birth and I still can't believe I manage to tahan without the epidural.

HBB: Congrats! Your baby girl is a good size. Rest well!

anybody wanna take over my medela mini electric plus. bought end may/early june at abt $300. Used for 1 week. Looking to sell at $200 (neg)

Also hv an avent manual pump for sale. used for about 2 weeks. bought abt 3 mths ago. Hope to sell for $60 (neg).

for both items, You'll get everything that comes in the original pack.

interested, pls email me at [email protected]

Congrats Jillian,
your birth story is really impressive! Your dh and doula must have been such good help by your side. Did the doctor manage to come in within the 15 minutes window of the crowning?

Wow the thread is really moving fast..

HBB,
You popped!! Congrats!

Jillian,

Congrats on your short and quick labour!

BBethan,
You bb is sooo chubby. I hope mine is as cute as yours too!

Taringal,

Sam/ Mashy: Yup he came just in time! The staff at Mt A are very encouraging and reassuring. We were so happy with our experience there even though we stayed less than 24 hours

I jst need to vent out ok.. Getting so depress coz my bb jaundice seems to be back again jst after 1 day back home!!! And everyone around me is blaming me that its coz i insisted on total breastfeeding.. PD have also advise me to stop breastfeeding totally as it is claim that breastmilk have a substance that causes jaundice..

Its so disheartening... Breastfeed wrong.. dont breastfeed also wrong.. This is really getting so frustrating

Im so upset n depress.. I dont wan my baby to admit hospital again!!!! PD advise to go see him tomoro.. But im getting really worried as i can see he is getting yellow in skin tone and his eyes are getting abit yellow too...

Yan,

common for breastfeed jaundice. Dun worry.

If baby is not drinking enough to pee and poo.. its okie to subsitute with FM.

Take it easy..

Taking care of new born is not easy.. just take things 1 at a time..

Yan, it's ok to give FM, since the bb is having jaundice...doesn't mean that you fail the breastfeeding at all! You can continue when the jaundice dissapear. Good luck and don't lose hope!

Wow.. the thread is really moving fast!!

BBEthan,
yr BB is so cute!!!... a lovely child..=)

HBB!! finally, u popped!!!.. sorrie for me being the last one so far...but still, CONGRATS!!!.. im sure Edna is a beautiful lil princess~

Jillian,
wow, yr labour is a fast one ya!..n so good.. u didnt need any epidural~...=D CONGRATS~!

Yan, tat means u paid a total of 800 bucks for everything? n the rest 3000 is from medisave?..

Kitty,
cos for me i have to do all Lesson plans n pass to the teacher who is taking over my lessons.. its said for all tchrs..

today im alrdy officially on ML!!!! heh heh heh!
anw,
i went for my 37th wk n 1 day checkup today.. bb is currently weighing abt 2.7kg n doc says my bbs head is really down n deeply engaged.. n he told me high chance i will give birth b4 EDD!! =D

Jamie,
i jus got my admission letter today, my PD is Simon Ng.. but i cant rem my anaethetist name.. =X don worry abt bb's weight too much kays? at least bb is over 2kg mark.. always rem, most imptly, its u n bb are both healthy ya..

Sherryl,
sorry din tok to u much today..cos i cldnt confirm its u only till Nora called yr name to go in..haha.. anw, doc ong din tell me abt BF yet..i think maybe next checkup bah..wen's yr next checkup? mine is on next tues..=D

anw, my hubbie go tell my gynae saying my rings cant be removed.. den doc gave a shocked look n looked at my fingers.. den he said i have to try to tk it out.cos he said if i end up in csect, i will need to remove all metal.. he say if not by den the nurses will take it out by force!!.. =S
so i shall try to remove the rings..=\

HBB - so happy that you popped! You are one brave Mummy! And Edna is cute and chubby

Jes - don't worry about the rings that you cannot remove. You can try to use soap at home to help you remove, if cannot then don't fret.
The doctors and nurses prefer that you remove all jewellery, but if rings cannot remove, they will probably try with soap again in the hospital....if really cannot remove, then they will jsut leave it on lor.
It won't make much of a difference honestly.
Your fingers are not the site for surgery, so the rings won't affect.
Even when my mum was at SGH for major surgery...she could not take off her wedding band cos her knuckles are larger from arthritis, the doctors just said ok lah, nevermind.
They won't cut your rings off lah.

sunsweet /fluffysheep
kkh gt wifi hotspot so all rm aso cn connect to wireless if u hv e free acct
bt labor room no reception of wifi thou....

sunsweet
my gf bb overdue bt nt engaged doc induced n managed to vac her out... e reason for hers nt engaged was cord ard e tummy

btw, kkh no longer hv e car park pass since jun 08 ;(

thanx to e other mummies for e well wishes
diff for mi type one by one cos I on mobile hee...

jilian
wah u gt a fast one!!! envy!!!

yan
partly I scare of jaundice tt y I giv a bit supplementing via formula
dn b frustrated yea!
we cn do it!!

Yan
Dun be upset. Jaundice very common. My gal had jaundice on Day 2. Level came down on Day 3 and went home with me. 1 week later during PD check, realised level went up again. Hosp for 2 days. Came down n can see bb is fair again. But think these few days level shd have gone up again. 1 wk after discharged, i still see that her face is a bit jaundiced. Eye white still a bit yellowish too. Think I may also go to see polyclinic to ensure her level is within range.

I remembered for my #1, he was jaundiced for almost 1 mth. BM is one of the cause of it. But all the more we shd bf to let them flush out thru urine n poo. as long as their weight is increasing, peeing n pooing regularly, shdb't be a prob.

HBB > no carpark pass, so where are we supposed to park...valet? Wah KKH is trying to earn our carpark fees ah?!? The most expensive I have paid so far was for a saturday whole day antenatal class....whole morning to just after lunchtime....$11!

yan

don't be upset. My boy's jaundice lasted 1 whole month.

Just make sure your bb has enough pee and poo each day. That means he's drinking well. U can also supplement with FM. Maybe 1 or 2 feeds? Perhaps get hb to feed FM, then u pump out the BM. No matter what, just continue pumping. WHen all's well again, u can then resume full bf after that.

Gals

Do u feel weak in the legs? LAtely, I've been feeling leg like no strength. Walk a bit feels like walking over a mountain and the knees just feel so weak till wanna give way.

bbethan

saw that you were asking about nuke teats on the jun thread? well for me i use the thin fluids to feed baby on the nuk teats... but now that i am feeding him more hind milk then am using the milk feeds teat. :p heheh coz if got more fore milk then the milk is thinner so then i will use the teat for thin fluids

hope this helps :p

Hi Yan,
Don't be discouraged. you can always share your feelings and thoughts here. The experienced mummies are always on hand to offer sound advice. Hope your baby will get better soon. Don't let the discouraging words get to you.

Hi Gina,
Hope you have a smooth delivery tmr. Your husband got wise up and offer to accompany you through the delivery?

Jillian,
Congrats on your baby. Wow, your birth story is one of the most amazing I've read. really smooth delivery... Wah....

Msahy,
You ok? I've only been getting 'restless knees and elbows', not as bad as what you are experiencing. Been sticking Salonplas medicine plaster all over to help relief the restless feeling

Jillian, Congrats Congrats! 3.38kg and down under didn't tear at all that's extremely lucky. Is it bcos this is your #2? And how come you could discharge within 1 day? Lots of savings ya!

I'm starting to have menses cramp. On and off, irregular. Took advice from here, change position, can go off awhile then come back say 1 or 2hrs later... Is it the braton hicks that you all have been experiencing?

Got this from BabyCenter:
How can I tell the difference between Braxton Hicks and true labor contractions?

In the days or weeks before labor, Braxton Hicks contractions may intermittently become rhythmic, relatively close together, and even painful, possibly fooling you into thinking you're in labor. But unlike true labor, during this so-called false labor the contractions don't grow consistently longer, stronger, and closer together.

What can I do if my Braxton Hicks contractions are making me uncomfortable?

If you're within a few weeks of your due date, try these measures:

• Change your activity or position. Sometimes walking provides relief. At other times, resting eases contractions. (True labor contractions, on the other hand, will persist and progress regardless of what you do.)

• Take a warm bath to help your body relax.

• Try drinking a couple of glasses of water, since these contractions can sometimes be brought on by dehydration.

• Try relaxation exercises or slow, deep breathing. This won't stop the Braxton Hicks contractions, but it may help you cope with the discomfort. (Use this opportunity to practice some of the pain-management strategies you've learned in your childbirth preparation class.)

lamagier

dunno leh, the legs like don't listen to me anymore. Sometimes feel like i'm going to collapse on the spot coz leg nuah...

peanut
i think if it's really contractions, u'll know or at least will highly suspect. it's painful like siao. It feels kind of different from the BH that u experience usually. It's very much more intense and it won't go away.

jillian - congrats. was it partly cos u had a doula ? did u practice anything with the doula beforehand thats why u can tahan the pain ?

mashy - is it cos u stand too long ? like this you better not go outside on your own.

btw, the savings acc for bbies, do we open it now or wait till bbies pop ?

lamagier, im having this restless feeling in my legs too for few days..sometime got to walk around to ease the uncomfortable feeling, if not will use my mini pillow to hit my legs to distact myself..dun like the feeling at all..

Hi Jeslyn,

No worries,at least we did talk abit before I go off..hee..
Same here,cant confirm it was u,until my husband was telling me,hey ur forum friend when we went in to the room..

Then only i know that it was u all along from the lift to the ladies and then to the clinic..hahaha..
Anyway,was quite suprise when I get to go in before u,as ur appt suppose to be before myself.

Hmm,maybe the next time round doc will tell u abt the breastfeeding part.hee..
Plus,ur baby weighs the same as mine!!hee..
Same here,also engaged too.

Oh yeah,at first nora wanna give me the next check up on Tues,but shirley was saying tues too crowded,so they gave me Mon at the afternoon slot.
A pity i dun have ur mobile no,if not i can sms u the date i am going..hee

MrsC,
Maybe can try Salonplas or other medicine plaster? Else maybe heat patch?
Yah, i hate the feeling too. Hard to sleep with the cold restless feeling...

Pe@nut: not sure if its because its #2 but yah it really was a very quick delivery. The first thing I asked immediately after he was born was if I tore. That was one of my greatest fears!

I had requested for early discharge in my birth plan which is why we only stayed for 12 hours.

gina - thks for the info. oh u shldnt be walking around at midnight at this stage ! please think of yourself n your bb more k ? hv a smooth deliv tomo and update us !

elijah's mummy
u r using silicone or the latex ones? since it's ebm, it's mixed hind n fore milk right? i'll try again later. do u hv any concern abt bb having nipple confusion now?

think my baby going thru a growth spurt. wants to feed every 1-2hrs. my boobs so sore now. feel so soft... dun know if got enuf for her.

re: bb weight
my fren was told that her bb onli weigh 1.4kg at 32weeks. who knows after tat her doc didnt check the weight of the bb animore and more concern abt other stuff of her pregnancy and she didnt ask as her doc told her that it is ok, jus bb may b on the smaller side. she gave birth at 39weeks and bb turn out to be 3.255kg! she was also shocked as she didnt know that bb increase so much weight during that 7 weeks. so dun worriew. baby can still try to gain more weight nw!

im totally the opposite. doc nw saeing tat scare i will b hafin a big baby and keepign me under observation. next appt to see again if it's realli a big baby. if yes, den might haf to induce. but my leg is super swollen nw and startin to feel bb movement lower down. in my 35weeks nw and praying bb wun b out until another 2 weeks later. doc also paranoid over my weight gain. alreadi gain 20kg liaos and super swollen feet make her feel even more afraid that i might haf hidden hypertension or wad.

aniwae, jus a few more weeks to go for all! wish all of u haf a smooth delivery. ohya, jus to share. my fren who gave birth at gleneagles jus daes ago. i like their service! dey are veri enthu in breastfeeding. and they are realli nice and friendly. jus to share her bill, copied from her blog:

hospital bill-
ward package for normal delivery, 1.5k. xtra items, 147.62. total hospital charges = 1647.62, plus gst 7% = $1762.95.
my doc dr tan's fee, 963. precious pd dr yeo's fee, 400. total doctor fees = $1363.00.
total charges = $3125.95
minus off total medisave deduction, $2231.89
stil got $894.06
minus from my 1k cash deposit.
stil got $105.94 to take back. heh.
which means. i only paid 894.06 for the hospital stay..

Twinkle and Gina, hope both of u hav a fast and smooth delivery tmr

Jillian, congrats! U are the 1st mummy i heard that stayed in hosp for less than a day...so impressed by yr quick delivery & w/o epi somemore!!!

Hi mummies, i hav not invested in any breast pumps yet cox would like to try to latch bb on as much as i can after he's born. But some of u mentioned that your bb had gone thru as long as 1mth of jaundice & mummy cannot be with the bb thru out, so is it more advisable to get the pump ready asap now?

wow... congrats to both HBB & jillian...

just went c my gynae... though is my #2... m not gg deliver early... dr did VE for me.. say most likely will deliver next wk which is my due date... bb is currently 3.35kg... another 12 days to go...

gina and twinkle, good luck tomorrow, hope u guys have a speedy delivery.

HBB, glad that ur BF went successful. are u planning to pump milk later or latch on demand?

jillian congrats....

kittyng, i also think for a long time, went to taka today in the end bought the medela pump, a bit heartache missed the sale, but if i dun get now i dun think i'll have the chance to get one later cos doc and hubby dun allow me to go mall.

LS, i found a cotton soft blanket today, so happy but the white one only left one, so just grab first. btw, my fren recommend me to get this pigeon baby tummy binder to protect the umbilical cord, check it out when u pass by, i think it's pretty good.