(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Lamagier,
Your doc is really nice, at least you are assured and kinda know more things about your babe. Well, my doc kept measuring her stomach, head circumference and alot of other things and told me its around that weight.. My Doc does not seems worried la but tells me its not a big bb lor.. but I am worried... I hope you are right! its only estimated weight and I have decided to make more effort from today onwards to eat even more healthily now.. and rest more, so that bb will absorb more.

HBB,
I think you are doing excellently, so energetic and bb is so cute and chubby! Do rest well now and focus on breastfeeding.. my doc was telling me that the milk will comes in only 3-4days time usually, so during this period, its the most stressful for 1st time mother cos we dun know if bb have sufficient.. so do take it easy now. Take care ok..

Btw, do u gals think I shd take leave and rest at home 2 weeks before my due date cos I heard, with more rest, bb can also grow faster right?

HBB,
Congrats! waiting for a baby who's so on time to her EDD is so exciting, and she's such a good size little girl too! So happy for you! Have a good rest and a great confinement

HBB, wow, 3.4kg, but cant tell from your tummy. Ya the float.

BBEthan, my girlfriend told me so long as you are breastfeeding you'll lose weight easily, so no worry!

I am going out to have my waxing and hair done.. Catch up tomorrow!

sunnyduck
u cn do it!!

jamie
if u cn take leave
why not? gd to rest ur body n etc before stress of child minding kick in...

last nite I was quit depress actually cos bb keep crying in labour ward aft an hr n I try latchin her she dn wn suck n I puke w her in my arms! grr...
by time they send her to Nursery I was depress liao keep hearing her Cries n my dh keep saying she go slp already!!

I was so sure she crying den Nurse came say she crying seems hungry ask mi if I wn giv a formula cup feed anot.i was v determine to fully bf before birth bt I guess I heard her Cries plus she dn suck so I giv in for ONE formula feed!
phew... luckily!! aft tat I latch her @ sec feed she cn suck liao!
so far I latched her thrice @ 40mins in all... gt e colostrum in already!! so happy!!! bet e stimulation fr her tongue help!

so mummies
do let bb latch whn possible! dn giv up!!

bbethan,
Your gal looks sooo cute..want to kiss her chubby cheek!
I'm using mdm sadiah also, so how long after c-sect i can do the postnatal massage?
c-sect: for the second child, the doc told me, it will be abit longer because he need to "tidy up" the stich from the first c-section. So usually #1 is about 15min, then #2 is about 20min lol....Did you have a keloid scars on the cut? did the gynae inject anything to prevent it to come out?

HBB, congrats! You sounds like so much in control. Good job! heee...so how's the BF? Your vomitting is because you drink too early la...

Pain buster,
Mummies, I've just heard this pain buster thingy from my gf who deliver last mth. Apparently it's a new thing that not all doc/hosp use it. It's like a baloon and the pain killer is time-released. My gf who have a c-sec by GA said, after she woke up, the ballon is already "hooked" into her (not sure how and where) then she don't feel any pain at all and can even walk liao! the baloon is with her for 3 days. I was very scared of the pain when I walk on the second day after the c-sect. Anybody know about this baloon? not sure whether can be used for the normal delivery tough...if can then it's very good for the episiotomy soreness.

Jamie,
the weight of the bb is really just estimation. My #1 was predicted to be 3.5kg then end up only 3.1kg. so it's plus minus 400kg. My gynae told me as long as it pass 2.5kg and healthy. I think by the time you're 38-39wk, your baby should be around 3kg already.

Hi jamie,
I think you should prob take 2 weeks early. I just applied for my ML too. But 2 weeks early is company policy. Since your baby already engaged, prob very tiring and painful for you to move ard, so I guess it's good to rest and prepare for baby...

Actually I've been eating junk these days. Been kinda giving up on myself since I eat healthy but blood pressure and urine glucose still went high.
Sigh. Yesterday flunk my urine glucose test again. Went home and had 2 cup of bubble tea and junk biscuits for tea and dinner.

hi HBB,
Hope I can be as clear-headed as you when my baby arrives...

HBB,
Ya, sometimes its like that, my doc told me that we have to be very unambiguious to the nurse when instructing them abt how indepth we are to breastfeed. So if you going to breastfeed her later in the night too, must also let them know. And if full breastfeeding, if nurse are instructed to feed bb, has to use spoon/whatever to feed bb, just not bottle cos of the teats.. Are u leaving home soon? Rem to ask the nurse for help if you need more advise/infomration on breastfeeding and even engorgement which may happen days later. :D

hbb,
ask the nurse to see whether your sore down there is really caused by the episiotomy or may be you have the piles came out from the pushing? if it's really pain then most likely it's the piles.

Jamie,
did you talk to your gynae about the pubic pain? I really have excrutiating pain yesterday. May be I was more active than usual, keep walking and no bedrest as instructed earlier...
Actually my gynae gave me "discount" to deliver 1 week earlier, which is my 38wk if I really cannot tahan anymore. But the thing is my IL has chosen the "good" date for me which is 1 wk later and they said how come even 1 wk more also cannot wait for the sake of the baby? Now I feel so in dilema, feel so selfish...but I guess they don't feel the pain so they don't understand how horrible it is. What you all think?

HBB - good to hear your BF is working out. Do the nurses come to your room to guide you through latching on? I was advised by one of my gfs to learn all the latching positions etc from a lactation consultant (LC) before discharge. Dunno whether it's necessary to 'book' an LC or whether the nurse guidance will be enough.

Jamie,
agree with the girls, don't have to be so hard on yourself with the bb weight. Most important is the physical report from the gynae is good, at this stage, the weight is really an estimation, and probably nothing to worry if the gynae views as a steady gain.

Carebeary,
I'm also getting a bit more acutely aware of the baby's movements now that she's getting to the engaged position. Like no longer feeling the full-body stretches from before, only the small punches, and short limb stretches, don't know if it is due to smaller space as she grows. the gynae measured for her heart first with the doppler, took a bit of time to locate it, and then scan for her heart before measuring her torso, made me a bit worried if there's something I should know. But since her style is only if got something to worry about then say, and she says the bb is healthy, I just took it as I'm over-reacting. But that kind of subconscious worry is so hard to shake off, I keep tapping my tummy every hour or so now, even if it irritates my bb, I want to feel her move.

etirto
ya I drank too early n too fast!
whn I had my first puff of laughing gas... I almost went out of control cos despite w instruction jus 3 puff n I seeing stars liao! imagine less than 15mins w tt dumb mask (bout 7 usages ) I told myself I wan epidural else if I lose my brain for e laughing gas... its the end!!!
by time doc administerin e epidural I was shivering all over cos v high liaoz lol

kim
e float u will need bt nt in e beginning
dn inflat it fully
let it b like half filled den wun giv wound pressure n result in splitting of wound

ETirto (bdgees)
I did talk to my doc about the pain below.. he scanned and confirmed that its becos my bb head is really very low..also cannot see her face anymore!! Maybe she weighs more hor but cos she is so far below, cant really measure properly.. haha, just consoling myself la.. Am also like you, I do walk alot more lately due to my job but its good to walk but if bb engaged too early and too low, may have pain and alot of discomfort..

You are going for c-section ya.. ok, i think if the pain goes away (cos sometimes mine goes away and comes back a few days later), and u can still take it, can wait. If not I am worried your relationship with your in-laws will be strain due to this?

But if really cannot take it, just go 1 week earlier, cos seriously what happens if there are more complications if you keep trying to hold till the "good date". Check with ur gynea 1st..

oh dear...i'm the last to get the news. HBB, CONGRATS on the arrival of your healthy bb girl!!! Your delivery was indeed quick and smooth, so envious
U hav been doing great...all the best in your bf. No matter how hard, muz endure k!

Jillian & fluffysheep, hav a safe and smooth delivery!

BBethan, your girl is really sweet and adorable! I love chubby kids, with rosy cheeks
so cute

Jamie, try to rest more before your edd. At least, mentally and physically, u are ready for the big day. Thou i started my ML earlier, din regret cox most of my time is clearing & cleaning hse with my helper to get ready for arrival of bb. In the end, oso din rest much haha. But i'm hoping not to feel too gan cheong when the day comes. Hav u started handing over?

HBB,

great job for breastfeeding

Hope BM will be pouring in

Yah regarding the pain below.. get your gyne to check its the wound or the piles.. i suffered for 3 days for the piles then later went back to gyne then realise its piles.. applied cream for 2 days and the pain is gone!

HBB
Dun feel sad that baby had FM for her 1st feed. Mine also had FM too. As long as subsequently, they can bf, it's considered very good already. hopefully yr milk flow comes in v soon.

ETirto
Mdm Sadiah told me c-sect can start 3 wks later. Baby is 2 wks old yesterday.

yes... i had very thick keloids fr my 1st c-secct. this time my gynae said he cut away all the keloids and restitch back. he also injected something to prevent it from forming. that's why after checking last wk, he decide to leave the stitches on for 1 more wk. going to remove them this Fri.

HBB, Congratulations on the arrival of your baby Edna! Overall, it's consider a very smooth delivery huh! Well done
I hope mine can be as smooth too.

wow, i just logged on and so many things hapening

bbethan - your bb look so chubby, so cute !

hbb - congrats ! sounds so smooth. and heaviest bb here so fast. surely very cute and chubby. quick post her photo

jamie - maybe continue eating beef n ice cream and hope for the best ? jia you

lamagier - dont zi bao zi qi, much try to continue with healthy diet

wow, congrats to all mummies who have popped, congrats to HBB for the latest addition ; )

my 37 weeks check up is tomm and i already cant wait for baby to arrive..also worried if baby is too big and if gynae would suggest to induce...my sleepless nites have started now already...too anxious and waitin to go on ML...

bbethan, muffingirl - wah c sect really so fast ah... aiyo, cant imagine. eat a burger bb come out already... amazing

peanut - hope ur rash goes away !

Sam,
true.. the subconscious worry is so hard to get rid off.. esp with my previous miscarrage history..
I pray everyday and trust in God that I will carry the baby to full term and witness the birth of a healthy baby!

All mummies jia you!

Wah HBB. congrats for the arrival of bb Edna! yours seems like a smooth delivery leh..did you hear anyone screaming in other labour wards??

BBEthan, your bb is sooo cute!! love that chubby cheeks!

Yan: thanks for the carpark rates! my hb was worried that it's gonna cost him a bomb if he's parking there for the whole day.

Jamie: dun worry too much. Doc Ong actually prefer average bb. The other time when im asking him abt the weight of mine which has not reach 3kg yet, he say "you want so big for wat purpose? Average is fine, otherwise hard to deliver" Maybe he's trying to make his job easier during delivery..hah.. Anyway, dun lose sleep over it, as long u rest and eat well, bb will grow. Sometime growth spur only comes in the last two weeks?

Been feeling hungry constantly every few hours yesterday nite..kept waking up to eat, imagine cooking noodle at 430am! experiencing slight cramp feeling too but it went away after half an hour. Tmr is my 38th week check..crossing finger on what doc will say..

Bestberries,
Sigh. Just feeling frustrated these days. Prob due to lack of sleep and the fact that doc had built up my anticipation that baby wll pop abt week 36 and I'm now already there but no sign of baby wanting to pop yet....

MrsC,
Last night, Dr Ong, told me abt the 5 obstacles of breastfeeding. haha, similar to what you had shared with me the last time. Well, I think my bb is now consider smaller than avg.. But he also said its a smaller than avg bb, but still says its ok.. hmn.. hopefully its just an estimate and my bb really is bigger that what he estimated. Confirm la, he likes avg bbs cos easier for the mother and doctor to deliver ma.. haha, he kept telling me that now bb only this weight, my groin already very painful, imagine is a heavier bb, think I cannot make it already. Still, i hope my bb do experience a growth spurt in the next 3 weeks.. I believe God can do miracles! :D

Anyways, I hope your 38th week check goes well, think you are doing great! Are you on leave already?

I have asked Dr Ong why he gave us all different aneathetics and PDs, he said in MT Alvernia, quite a no. of PDs are good, so i asked if I can have Dr Simon, he says can, no prob, just bring the admission letter to him, he will change for me, as for anesthetists, he told me, its hard to say.. guess, its like it depends on how urgent we need the epidural cos can last min change doc one.

Lamagier,
Dun feel fustrated.. its like that one..bb got their perfect timing to come out one.. as long as they are healthy inside, let them take their time ok.. heehee... HBB bb also come out just 2 days before she is to induce.. So cute!

Guess what, now that I have less contractions, i have got a feeling that my bb may be an overstayer? Who knows..

Lamagier, try to relax and think of happy things. Maybe your girl oso too comfy inside?? hee... Thou i m excited to see bb soon, still hav mixed feelings cox my nursery room not fully ready yet.

Lamagier,

Dun be too stress abt it..
My situation worse than u.. Was told by my gynae last Thurs check-up that he's flying off on 9/4/09-20/4/09, which is my EDD. He suggest to manually help dilate me intesively to fasten my EDD.

Was ganna poke poke, dig dig on Thurs, Sat.
The feeling is so painful and sore. Finally he suggested whether I wanna be induced this Sat if i reali wanna be delivered by him.. After considering this few days, have decided to let baby decide on her own timing. With all those digging, she's still veri comfy inside currently.
But the feeling of being delivered by a gynae that i dun have rapport with kind of make me abit panicky now..

Wow Taringal, still replying to us while in labour room.. all the best!

Jamie, well, technically not on leave yet but working from home..how i wisih i dun have to face the work..make no difference working at home and in office..still clock in 8 hrs ..

Been having this urge to poo, wonder if i eat too much..

lamagier

don't feel frustrated. So take a break and enjoy your time without the bb now.

Taringal
All the best! Jia you!

Cecelia
U mean your gynae going hols from 9 Jul till 20 Jul is it? Not nice of your gynae to make u deliver to suit his timetable. Hope u have not paid a deposit for him to deliver... I'm sure other gynaes will do a good job delivering your bb. Let your bb decide the timing.
U mean

Mashy,

Yar, actuali all my colleagues commented how can he manually dilate me to bring forward my EDD so that baby can come out before he fly off.. But thinking of being delivered by a gynae that i dun have rapport and wat if I dun like his face :p make me stupid stupid agree to the digging part.

But by inducing I think is too extreme to be accepted lar. I still want my baby to choose her own shen chen ba zhi..

Been missing this thread for sometime,busy wif my newborn.
Now counting down to my last few days of confinememt!

Just want to share wif u mummies to try nepia diapers.

I ordered online and find it very good for small babies. Cos Mamy Poko still seems to be abit too big and wide to use. Nepia Newborn diapers fit better.

Read fr another mummy tat nepia seals can exchange for NTUC vouchers! So it's a good deal!

Had my 37th week check.. my gal had turned down *thank god* but not engaged..

Gynae says i can wait for natural delivery..

BB's weight is 2.8kg.. which i thinks its good for me..

Dun think i like bb to be too large cos diffcult to deliver.. keke

taringal
all the best... can see yr baby very soon.

sunsweet
congrats... now u can put ur heart at ease.

those who r delivering tmrw, all the bestand hope u all have a fast n smooth delivery.

Thanks for all the words of comfort. Sigh. Guess have to start getting used to taking orders from my baby...

Taringal,
Wah, how do you still manage to post from teh delivery ward? jia you jia you! 5 more cm to go!

Cecelia,
Your gynae sounds not very nice. Eh, feels kinda violated like that to be kena poke & dig.... I thought can take some med or injection to induce??
But also agree manual induction may not be best for baby. Though I want baby out, but I guess it's still is best to let baby decide.

i c, cecilia...if yr bb is still comfy in you, then let her decide the timing ba. So did yr doc say who is going to be covering him when he's away? Maybe u can find out first since u are oso left with 1/2 checkups

Sunsweet, really happy for you
My bb's head oso not engaged but down. I'm wondering if his head still not engaged nearer to full term then how? Will i hav to go for c-sect?