(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

beverly - *hugz* dont be sad, your bb is a fighter, and he'll get well very soon. take care of yourself. your other twin needs his mummy to be happy and relaxed. know its difficult, but try ok ? take care ok ?

prettybunnie - congrats, enjoy your confinement

lamagier, kim - yah i'm shocked by j&k's divorce, but some episodes show kate scolding jon until quite jia luk. think as women, we are stressed as mothers but must also remember to take care of our big baby i.e. dh

i just came back from 35 wk growth scan, my bbies are 2.2 and 2.3 kg
my doc says still relatively small. but fluid and blood flow all looking good
so i'm still targetting 7 july to pop.

jamie, muffingirl - lets JIA YOU for our bb weight !!

mashy - good weight !

coolkero
my appt tonite.. aft my event hehe.. i will rush down fr my event immediately since its nite clinic tonite.

i will let my gynae decide if he wan induce me or not
last week he say no need cos everythg is fine n normal includign amnio fluid level
tonite i guess he will suggest more thg since is my last visit liao

bestberry
i wait till sian liao haa tat y lor
jus got my cot bumper done to match w the pillow cases n etc.. nw can close shop liao haa

ur babies good weight too! yea hang on thr till july!

ha bestberries, I don't want my baby to be too big and heavy lol. anything between 2.7 under 4kg is fine lol.
I want baby to be able to come out quickly via vaginal birth if possible!

Jamie (lostsangel),

Don't be upset over baby's weight.. Is good to be average. There are studies that suggest the risk of developing cardiovascular disease and diabetes in childhood is associate with high birth weight..

Congrats to Yan! well done!

Beverly,
stay positive and strong. God will give you strength and heal your boy..

All mummies, jia you as our delivery dates are drawing near.. ;)

Beverly, sorry to hear abt wat your boy is going thru. Pls be strong. Will pray hard that he will get well very soon! Do take gd care as both of them need you now.

Prettybunnie, congrats on your newborn

Jamie, glad u are feeling better now. Cheer up and enjoy the last few wks of pregnancy!

Yan & prettybunnie, thanks for sharing yr exciting birth stories!

HBB, if we dun see u here after today...we will know wat happen. Muz come back quickly to update us k

Hi Yan,
Think US showing them talking about divorce.... season 5. Singapore now showing season 4...

Hi beverly
(*big long hug*) Hope all will go well for your baby. Don't cry, like what the other mummies say, have to stay strong so you can look after your babies. Else your husband will have a hard time trying to look after both babies and you. I pray very hard for your babies to be both fine, strong and healthy.

Hi Jamie,
(*hug*) can understand what you feel. If it makes you feel any better, My baby only 2.18 at 35wks... My husband 1.8m and I'm 1.66m, both broad shoulders type one... somehow baby end up so tiny... I guess if really cannot make they 'bai bai pang pang' inside, just will have to wait for them to come out and we fatten them after delivery....
Now just hoping baby come out soon... hoping next week... Although only 36 wks, but it's really very stressful monitoring baby movemnt... just want her out so can visually make sure she is ok...

Bestberries,
Congrats. Wow, your twins caught up with my singleton weight liao =) You must be feeling relieve that they are putting on weight. Can't imagine how you carry aroung 5kg in tummy.... Strong mummy.

Yah, I was reading In Touch magazine (Kate on the cover.... spanking Leah...) But I just their personality probably drove them apart in the end. Kate's controlling, domineering and ambitious Jon's more laidback.

HBB,
have fun at your function....

taringal,
Were you at Dr Chan's clinic around 10am today? I went down for an unscheduled consult cos still worried about baby.... saw a heavily pregnant glam mama there with husband and mother... Wondering if that's you =p
Dr chan showed me baby front profile today!!!! Can see her half open eyes, nose and lips... Haha, looks like me... flat nose

Sunsweet!
I will be booking the bed on this sat when i am going for my check up. Yes my baby is in breech too and also big in size so dr.tan told me most prob c section. when i was 34wks baby already 2.9kg. My son was 4kg at birth. I am going for c on 8th july.

kitty
HAHHAAA
i tink iwill still b ard (gut feel)
iwill update u girls if i pop... hee

lamagier
haa is not a realy fun thg haa.. jus for ceremonial sake =p

Hi lamagier, so cute that u able to see your bb's facial features. I always can't see my bb's face v clearly. Only hav seen him blinked once before. Did yr doc say anything today? Hope everything's ok
Enjoy your off!

Prettybunnies, congrats! I'm so envious of those who have given birth... Nowadays I really cannot tahan anymore. Last nite I couldn't sleep at all, end up slap the bb backside like lamagier. Because she keeps making tsunami movement and it's very painfull now. Especially at the groin area, it's like falling apart. This morning I puked so badly like in the 1st trisemseter, may be because not enough sleep last night. May be I will beg my gynae to deliver my bb ealier, sometime early July, as long as the weight is ok...so far I gained 9-10kg, I predicted next wk my bb should be close to 3kg, since the last visit she was 2.7kg already. I almost wish my waterbag leaking like bbethan, so that I can deliver earlier...heee
Anybody using the belly binder/support for pregnancy? does it help to relieve the pain in the groin area and the lower tummy? I saw it sometime ago, it's quite costly, so I didn't buy it. Tmr taka has member sale, thinking to go there to buy but now get myself to walk also very difficult. Sigh...

Hi kitty,
doc said baby ok, umbilical cord didn't get tangled around neck, amniotic fluid didn't get any lower. Baby just doing usual baby stuff & prob change 'pattern'.. said as long as got regular movement, regardless large, small, continuous or not, baby should be ok... Doc and clinic nurse were trying to make me feel better about raising false alarm though =p said better to err on the safe side... but told me next time just head to labour ward no need wait till clinic open and call up clinic...

Etirto, do you know how long does the sale for taka member last?

Lamagier, great to know that everything is ok for bb
Hmmm, sounds like u are gg to deliver anytime. When u gg on ML?

Seems like many of us are starting our ML next mon! Can't wait for the days to come...

HBB, wah tonight u must be a pretty mom, take more pic ahhh and enjoy.

lamagier, yesterday when i went gynae, he was mentioning about baby movement, he said that try to monitor 10 movements within 6 hours in the morning or anytime. try not to lie flat, but lie side so baby has more space to move. btw, i'm same like u in my 35th week, my doc scanner cannot tell how heavy baby is, hehehehehe, the old old type of scanner. but measuring the head seems bigger than 35th week, so ask me to get ready after june to pop.

Ok, going to pick up my maid soon. And training going to start later...let's hope she can pick up fast.

HBB, hav a great time at your function tonight & update us after yr last review

Grats Prettybunnie!

good luck, kitty with your new maid. Mine only coming in 3 weeks time.

Lamangier, I am glad that your baby and you are doing fine
*hug*

I'm back from visiting baby. I realised i missed my gal very much when i saw her. She was wailing all the way in the nursery as she was hungry. when i saw her n latched her on, i can't help but tears just flow down. feel so sad to leave her there.

Winnie_mummy
My total bill was abt $6800 for 2 bedded, emergency c-sect. Total medisave deductable was $3950. So total cash pymt was abt $2800. if u r going for planned c-sect, shd be a bit cheaper. r u staying in 1-bedded or 2-bedded.

BbEthan, thanks!

I'm staying in 1 bedded... dun like sharing rm with strangers... *selfish* LOLz!!

I estimated my bill to be abt $3K as well...

Thanks muffingal

Kitty, good luck with your maid.

coolkero, oh. Next time I try lie on my side. Oh dear, I always lie on my back and wonder why baby doesn't move.....

Bbethan, hope your baby can go home soon. From teh way you describe, really heartpain to leave baby alone in hospital. Can't imagine what beverly must be feeling like at the moment. Hope her baby boy will be alrite

kitty, the taka sale is from tmr till sunday. It's the usual additional 10% disc for the card member on top of the sale items.
Good luck with your maid. Try not to stress out yourself with the training, it really takes sometime, usually only after 3-6mths then you can click into each other. Especially with the pregnancy hormone, just close 1 eye will do. If you taking philipino maid, generally they're much better than Indo ones.

winnie_mummy
do state yr preference wif the nurse in the labour ward to stay on the 6th floor. the wards there are newly renovated and the decor & everything looks much newer.

My gfs who are very on about breastfeeding, I hope I can be like them, actually stay in the hospital to breastfeed, for the entire duration, the baby when the baby is at phototherapy.
No matter what, it will be difficult, whether breastfeeding or not.
I heard that some private hospitals like TMC can rent out the mobile phototherapy unit for you to do the treatment at your own home with your baby. Some hospitals can allow you to room in with the baby in the hospital when the baby is there for phototherapy, so that mummy can breastfeed and also rest in between on the bed.

Beverly, hope your bb is ok. Any update?

Thanks mummies for all the warm support! *muack*
Faced & accepted the reality. i just called up the clinic & booked my c-sec date. 1 Jul.
will i be the first to pop in the month of Jul? :p

Yan, congrats!

saw elijah mum. she just discharged. Wow, she looks radiant! Happy mummy... hehe.

Congrats Yan!!!

Just came back from my 37+ week check up. Baby weight 2.8kg and I am 1-2cm dilated but gynae said not so fast, early July wor. I'll start my ML next Monday, can't wait to lay on my bed, very lazy to go work.

muffingirl
where do yr friend hang around when in hospital? I wanted to initially but the nurse told me i can only stay around n visit baby from 9am to 9pm which is the visitor's hours. so at night, she will either be on ebm or fm. i didn't ask for the options too cos i dun wish to tire myself out too. we dun drive n it's a bit troublesome to go up n down the hosp. wanted to keep some energy when she's back home. that's why yest i kwai kwai stay at home and pump out my milk. this morning, went to feed her n deliver all my milk. the nurse was surprised n commented I'm a good cow.

winnie_mummy
yes. u tell them on the day u admit. we told the staff at the admission counter, they tell us to tell the nurses at the labour ward. then my hubby keeps asking abt the availability and our preference if available.

lamagier - thks
yes i'm quite relieved tt bbies catch up. guess the scare tactic by scanning doctor a few weeks ago really worked, scared me into resting, eating more. lets hope our bbies jia you in weight, there's still time !

hbb - u know where to buy cloth in the east ? marine parade housing estate dont have. aiya, my beansprout pillow still naked. got no pillow case. was thinking of cutting up some of my old clothes to make pillow case, but sayang leh.

BbEthan, 2 of my gfs paid for singlebedder room to stay in and be a cow with baby (but depending on availability and if hospital policy allow). If hospital full occupancy and need to use the room for other patients, then of course cannot.

Thanks BbEthan! =D
Hopefully they'll be able to give me the 6th flr wards....

3+ more weeks for me to go!

By the way, during ur stay @ the hosp, was there any classes for u to attend, like... teaching u how to bathe the bb etc?

Sunsweet, I haven really decided on who to use, but I wont mind MommyCOzyHeaven if you are game. So what shall I do with my placenta after delivery?

Kim,

i was told to get the hospital to keep it chilled or even frozen the placenta for you till you get it collected for the processing.

Jennifer told me that KKh does not provide the fridge for this purpose. thus would want me to keep my placenta in a ice-box till they come to collect. if cannot be collect on the same day i.e. sunday or after office hours, they recommend me to freeze it at home then they pick up from my place.

I asked my hubby if i should try.. he 1st go.. Yucks.. then later say its you who's consuming.. so you decide.. sigh.. MAN!!

winnie_mummy
yes. there were classes every day at 1.30pm. they teach u how to breastfeed and bathing techniques. I went on my 3rd day and i was the only person there. so it becomes a 1-to-1 session.

oh... there's also a channel on their tv that shows abt bf n bathing. It's shown twice a day on channel 2. think it's from 11-1pm and 7-8pm daily. u prob need to check wif the nurses on the timing. can't remember the exact timing.

Thanks for info, Sunsweet. I think my hubby (and his family) will squirm if I tell him I am consuming the placenta... so I am not going to tell keke

My heartburn seem to be getting from bad to worse, seems only time no heartburn is after a meal. Anyone experienced this before and how to ease this? It's kinda strange cos Yoda's already pretty low, and should no longer be pressing on stomach or lungs right?

I don't have heartburn, but I feel the liquids in my stomach coming back up sometimes when I lie back a bit....regurgitation I think.
The other day, after dinner, when I was in the car, and I burped...vomit came up too
yuck

kimberly, my gynae prescribe gaviscon liquid. It can relieve the sympton very fast. Watch out on what you eat (which food cause you have the heartburn, and which one is not). For me, I start having it from the third mth already, suffering till now. I cannot eat food with coconut milk like laksa, rendang gravy, and also durian! These will cause me heartburn. It's actualy and acid reflux that
"burns" your aesophagus.

Winnie_mummy, ya it's that kind of feeling, very irritating is not enough to describe the feeling..

And yes, sunsweet, I become hungry often too, don't think it's indigestion thou.

Muffingirl, if it's just reflux of the digestive juice is not as bad. There is no feeling of the liquid coming up, just slowly burning sensation on the throat like a ball of acid liquid or fire burning.

I tried Eno but still no help..

Etirto, is the gaviscon liquid a kind of gastritis medication? Ya, I realized food that is difficult to digest cause this (glutinous rice, coconut etc) but these few days I have been very discipline woh..

thanks for all the well wishes! and congrats!!!

here is the story ( hahah was unable to access the internet in the hospital! sigh!!!)

the birth story of baby elisha on the 22 jun at 8.51am. birth weight of 2.7kg length of 48cm!

<u>21 june</u>
11pm -mild contractions felt occassionally...

<u>22 june</u>
3am - awoken to sudden sharp pain
3.30am - 2nd sudden sharp pain felt (similar to menstrual cramps)
4am - felt that the cramps were about 10min apart, decided to wake hubby and make our way to the hospital.
4.40am - left the house to catch a cab.
5am - reach tmc and checked in to the obs ward
5.30am - nurse check me and said that i was 3.5cm dilated. can opt for epi.
6am - decided for epi as the contractions have started to overlap each other!
6.15am - epi inserted. became a happy person as it was pain free! :p
7.45am - pushed to delivery suite, found that water bag burst without my knowledge!
8.15am - baby heart rate dropped to 49-52bpm. given 100% O2
8.30am - gynea walked in and decided to gown up
8.50am - after only 3 pushes baby popped at 8.51am. (found that baby heart rate dropped coz the cord was wrapped round his neck 2x)

back to the ward with baby safe and sound!

now am finally home and am at the start of my confinement! oh yah so far bfing has been a breeze coz baby able to latch on well! hahah starting to feel engorgement but then when try to pump only manage to pump out 10 to 20mls!

kim and all with the gastric reflux thing...

well i had it too before baby was born. that is because baby is pushing stomach upwards so stomach is getting smaller so the amt of food you are able to digest gets less and less! just tolerate abit coz you are all at the end of the journey already!

Kim: Yes! Indeed... irritating is just nt enuff to describe it... =(
Been losing sleep over it as well... and missing work too... *dies*

Hi Elijah'smummy!
Congrats on the smooth delivery &amp; everything else so far!!

elijah'smummy
Waahhh.. very smooth delivery indeed! Was it becos' of 2nd baby? Anyway, enjoy your confinement with baby now
Be a happy Mommy!!!

hi, congrats on the safe delivery....

went c my gynae yesterdday, bb now is about 3.2kg... not engage yet... 18 more days to my EDD... gynae say though dis is my #2, i might onli b able to deliver on my EDD...

elijah'smummy, that was speedy gonzalez, congrats!!! that was the morning you are suppose to go in for induced rite? how's elijah reacting to baby bro? ok fill us in when u r free...

yaps! that is a really smooth delivery!

LS

hahah, well think its coz of the birth weight on top of it being a 2nd delivery! heheh dr was also saying its coz my #1 was so big so everything also enlarged by him already! heheh

coolkero

yaps that was the morning that i was supposed to go in for induced... hahah so end up no need to induce baby!

not too bad so far in terms of his reaction to the new baby. in fact he is so excited! haha keep on wanting to see baby! also he like to stroke baby's face. hahah the funniest was when he tried to stick his finger into the baby's mouth!

oh learnt this from the nurses at TMC.... try to let #1 push the baby out of the nursery and take the baby as 'their own baby'! helps to decrease the siblings rivalry... that is on top of baby giving #1 a present.