(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Lamagier,
I din check on when is bb active period.. I guess, for me, my bb move every 2-3 hrs..

I am feeling so tired lately.. really got no mood to work.. just want to stay home and hibernate.. sigh

kitty,
I didn't do anything much different from my typical routine yesterday. In fact was lying very still on the couch most of last night with hand on tummy, waiting for my naughty girl to move... Sigh... Guess have to just keep monitoring...

Lamagier, i think my bb's movement is not fixed. But when i'm eating, he moves v actively. Then after eating, he's completely silent...maybe squashed by the food cox no space when i eat a lot hee... After about 2-3hrs, he will start to move again. I guess wat we are doing affects bb a lot like listening to music, reading or watching tv.

talking about baby movement.. m also the worried kind..heard that placenta low must take note of baby movement cos higher risk of cord incidence..
so m waking up every night to feel baby movement..indeed very stressful!!

HI carebeary,
Haha, we on the same boat. I wake up a few times a night to make sure baby move a bit every since my gynae told me I have low amniotic fluid. Before this could sleep through the night one. Stress...

Hi kim
Didn't manage to get through, only got voice msg. And remembered Tue and Thu afternoons are gynae's c-sect days... baby moving non-stop now.... so I guess I'll monitor and time lapse between the active movements for now

lamagier

next time, u try standing near the stove if your bb decides to stay quiet again. I find that when i'm near fire, she'll move so vigorously. So when i'm cooking, always have to put up with her movements.

lamagier,

sometimes, my bb also like tat.. no movement for a few hrs. kinda of difficult to track his movements. so dont worry too much.
gd to hear that ur bb move.. i think sometimes have to talk or push her to abit.. probably been active last wk and now she wants to take a rest.. but still best to call dr chan for advice.

ETirto,

i sleep right, left and back (most of the time due to my gastric) so i guess shouldn't be a prob as long as u r comfortable and bb is ok wif it.

do any mummies experience bb movement at groin area? last nite, i was having cramp and backache the whole nite and my bb moving vigorously
and i can feel his movement even at groin area. didnt sleep much now i look like panda.. really looking forward to my ML which is next monday... 3 more days to go.

Jamie,

better don eat so much prata esp with the curry sauce. my colleague told me she ate a lot of curry during her pregnancy and end up her bb have a lot wind inside the tummy.

Jamie! I have also been craving roti prata!
But I only want to eat the casuarina roti prata at upper thomson which is quite a long drive away!
So far only ate it twice in the last 3 weeks lol.

taringal (covewild),
are u kidding me, I already ate alot of curry liao!! alamak~! seriously u sure abt that? I never heard abt that before. 1st time.. anything else we can eat now to get rid of wind?

MuffinGirl,
I ve to say tat I am very fortunate cos my in-laws just stay 5 mins away drive from Casuarina roti prata at upper thomson.. so I get to eat them every week.. Yum Yum.. I think its not so healthy to eat so often like me..

jamie,

that what my colleague told me. i don't think she mentioned anything abt getting rid of the wind. just have to stop eating the curry. I was also like you, eat a lot of curry but now i stop liao.

taringal (covewild),
Ok, thanks for the infor, just to be safe than sorry, will stop taking too much curry. Actually sometimes I also eat it with sugar.. hee

Sigh, cant concentrate at work.. cant wait to see my gynea for review tonight..

Hi jamie, muffingl & taringal,
Haha, I was craving naan and dahl. Made the husband go Al-Almee at Bukit Timah for my naan fix last sat. Now wondering if dahl and chicken tikka masala will cause 'wind' or not....

Hi taringal,
Dr chan did say to go down check if fetal movement lessen. Better safe than sorry, no need to paisay... but now baby moving ok, so didn't want to bother her...

But I did call up the clinic to shift my appt from next wed to next mon... Some work got cancelled so go see her at the earliest time =) Hopefully can predict more accurately when expect me to deliver so I can go apply my ML.....

Lamagier,
Just to check, usually during checkup, can ur doc advise u when to apply for ML? If so, usually what do they look out for? May sound like a dumb qns cos 1st time preggy and I dunno when is the right time to take ML leave..

Hi jamie,
Haha, I'm also dumb about it, that's why checked with Doc...
I just asked her if she is able to approx if I'm due soon. She predicted
- at wk 32 that I wouldn't give birth before wk 35 based on cervic length
- last sat predicted I would give birth +/- 2 weeks cos amniotic fluid low. Said would induce if the fluid level drop to dangeous level

So monday will check with her again if she can more accurately pinpoint based on CTG & amniotic fluid level if I'm due soon so i can start ML

lamagier,

ya, u r rite.. better to be safe than sorry. at least let dr chan check ur bb and ensure that ur bb is ok. i will be seeing her tomorrow morning for my 38wks scanning.. praying hard that my bb will come out by this week cause really cannot tahan the sleepless nite..

taringal,
Hah, she wanted to see me in 1 week++ time instead of the usual 1 week cos my baby gow to slow... She said give baby a few more days to grow before next measurement.

yah, can understand the sleepless nites... Hope she'll clear you for delivery this week =)

lamagier - hope ur bb jia you.

i'm gg for my growth scan again tomoro. hope my bbies put on weight. been eating loads of stuff lately.

do you guys catch JON & KATE PLUS 8 ? i'm so sad to find out they are divorcing. their kids are soooo cuuuuute

taringal (covewild),
think if u are 38 weeks and bb of good weight, shd be able to go for delivery. Hope you are clear for delivery too! :D

Lamagier,
Thanks for the info, I think you are so brave! Dun worry too much, just check with your doc if you dun feel good or unwell ya..
I have not asked my doc when i can go and take my ML yet, i scared of my doc, he quite fierce.. afraid tat he told me before and I cant rem.. haha.. sigh.. my husband thinks its very funny cos I usually quite brave but dunno why this time, I am scared of my gynea.. haha..

RE: getting rid of wind
This is a formula my friend's mom told me, but it's for after delivery:
Pork (hind leg meat) about 500g
half bowl white pepper (ground into powder)
half bowl water
Boil for 2hrs.
use the muslin cloth to strain the liquid and drink.
Note: it's very very very spicy.
Drink 2 times will do.

Just to add: using pepper to ground into power for pure pepper powder as some of the pepper we bought from the store are not pure (according to friends in this trade, most of the time, flour are added)

Muffingal,
hehe I've got a soft spot now for the Casuarina roti prata too, been sneaking there for breakfast before going to my parents' place to swim. Though after trying the thosai, I prefer the thosai now. hmm, now that I know curry causes wind, better don't eat so much curry anymore, guess not good for us to accumulate too much wind in us either, being closer to EDD now.

Mashy,
OMG! That's quite uncanny about being close to the stove, but I think it's quite true, mine does move more vigorously when I stand near the stove to cook. Similarly the opposite happens (she's absolutely calm) when I shower. That's how I have been taking breaks from her vigorous movements when I can't take them anymore.

Bestberries,
Haven't been catching the episodes on TV, but occasionally channel-surfing on e-news did talk about the official episode where they announce the split-up and also showed shots of Kate smacking one of the girls on the butt in front of the twins which create some backlash against her. Well, it was good while the show lasted but as the relatives say the children do need a more normal life no longer in front of the camera as they get older.

I don't really keep track of bb's movement, but usually at least 4 or more times bb will give me a super kick which the tummy will be lopsided and can feel the stretch, other than that are some gentle waves and poking, at interval of 2-4 hrs.

Went to check out my rashes this morning. Gynae said quite serious and given me 2 days mc with rashes cream, cleanser and itchy pills to make me sleep
my tummy like disfigured. If it don't get better 2 days later, doc will refer me to dermatologist. Does it recover so easily? I remembered 1 of you also suffered from tummy rashes right?

Bestberries, I felt dsorry for the kids more, althou I must say after chasing after J&K+8, I am sometimes not agreeable to Kate's comment on Jon or the eay she treats him, I felt sorry that many comments in the web were quite against her.

PPrincess,
Thanks for the update!

Yan
Congrats! Knew you can do it!! Good job!

Chong,
My friend has her daughter at 2.9kg at Week 40 just 2 days back.. She told me she has a easy, smooth and good labour. So i think your bb weight sounds good!

Congrats to Yan!!... thanks princess for updating.. =D

Jamie,
i think u can ask doc ong wen is more suitable for u to take ML.. i think he will tell u..=) anw, keep us updated on yr review!..=D

Lamagier,
glad tat yr bb is moving now.. i guess sometimes bb don move tat much due to their own moods?.. cos mine sometimes hardly move at all.. but sometimes move so much..till i find it 'too much'..haha

BB movements..

like Kim, my bb moves alot on church too.. dono why..esp wen it comes to singing.. haha.. recently, bb's been moving lots.. n owaes poking his legs n hands everywhere.. sometimes i jus see a spot protruding out.. i pokepoke it n the spot goes back n comes up at another place in another minute.. so interesting..=)

nw, i think we are all waiting for HBB to pop..heh heh..

yan, congrats too!

hi all, i just back from my gynae review. my gynae failed to turn my bb successfully. he so-called stuck in his current position. totally lost cos been hopefully for natural delivery all along. tearing after learning the news.

Mashy, BbEthan & mummies who went for c-sec :
1) Did u bathe during ur hospital stay after c-sec? (the nurse advised me not & afraid i might wet the stitches.)
2) After how long are you able to get down from bed to walk?
3) When is stitches being removed? How long it take to recover?
4) Any difficulties in breastfeeding? (my mum super old thinking. kept telling me dont BF if c-sec)

Any advise/prev experience care share? my mind totally blank now.

Twinkle, c-sect is very common now. Don't let it bother u too much. Your bb and you are healthy and safe is the most impt and blessful thing.

Twinkle,
don worry... all tat is most impt now is tat both u n bb are fine.. like wad peanut says.. Csect is very very common nowadays.. don worry too much kays?.. stay happy..

Twinkle, yes like what peanut and jes have said.
Most important is that baby and mummy are safe.
You should read up on c-sections so that you know more and you are not that scared.
You can also watch c-section videos (they are not gory, don't worry) http://www.babycenter.com/2_c-section-birth_3656510.bc
I watched this one sometime back, and my reaction after watching is that ....wah it is so fast, and the mummy is so happy to see the baby that she looks so comfortable despite going thru the c-section. This video is not loading for me....but I think maybe it is my computer settings at the moment or something....if not I'm sure you can surf for some c-section videos.

congrats yan!!!!!

twinkle

Don't be sad. Sometimes such things can't be helped. It's safer for u to go for c-section than to risk the breech delivery.

Reg your questions,
1. No, didn't bathe. Too ma fan. Just washed my bottoms at the toilet bowl. Started bathing at home.

2. Next day can walk already (i had c-section in the late evening), but have to walk slowly. By the time I'm discharged, i'm quite ok already.

3. No stitches removed coz it's the melt-in type. Just need to cut the knots at the end. Can't remember when i went back to gynae to cut the knots though. Didn't feel a thing...

4. No probs with bf for the 1st week before my boy kenna hospitalised for jaundice. After he got discharged, think he became lazy and didn't really suckle much resulting in the depletion of my milk supply. But seriously, C-section & bf are not related. I'm intending to bf this time too even though i'm going for c-section again.

My baby is finally here after 11 hours... He arrive at 1659hrs and at a weight of 3.160kg... Mine is an assisted vacuum delivery with epi.. The last part was painful even with the epi but seriously without the epi i cannot imagine...

Also the side effect was vomitting and i was vomitting for like few hours so end up didnt get to bf my boy in the labour ward.. Now he is too tired to latch...
He is hungry im sure not getting a drop of milk since he was out...I will try later in abt 2hrs again.. Wish me luck

Congrats Yan on your healthy baby boy! Rest well and good luck with the breastfeeding - am sure you can do it, give yourself and baby time.