(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hmmm, HBB but now my back so pain (like a sharp pain) later epidural same spot, scared scared. maybe i should start wearing the support band. cos at home i thought resting already, so never wear it, plus so hot wearing it later got rashes. but being at home, cannot help it to bend and pick up my #1 mess leh...

Thanks for the comment on the photoshoot, the photographer for today very good, that's why can do magic

err... kittyng, think those red stretchmarks cannot go away de... it was mentioned in one of the posting here. SIANZZZZZZZ..... Good nite!

coolkero
aiyo
u must b in bad pain... try to sit lean forward k.. relief some pressure off the spine... kitty dun blue k.. holiday holiday soooon hehe

hi all, sorry for the late reply. Normally during weekend seldom online.
Daun Katuk is a bahasa, yes. But it's available in almost all wet market. The picture:
http://images.google.com/imgres?imgurl=http://dobelden.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/katuk.jpg&imgrefurl=http://dobelden.wordpress.com/2008/09/18/berbahagialah-penyuka-lalapan/&usg=__9qcggiSwGrQ9G5eXTcgZZSgGPJ8=&h=485&w=364&sz=62&hl=en&start=4&tbnid=yPPL_xYBfllqVM:&tbnh=129&tbnw=97&prev=/images%3Fq%3Ddaun%2Bkatuk%26gbv%3D2%26hl%3Den%26sa%3DX
I remember I just give $1 coin to my maid, and she boil in low fire about half an hour then just drink the water (just about 1-2 glass). One time will do! just see what happen first. Don't take too much, otherwise you have to store your BM in 2L coke bottle!!!

etirto
haa... if gt to store in 2 l coke bottle I dn mind!! looks like must go tekka market find e leaves since my side wet market realy CMI!

thanx!

elijah'smummy,
Hope you will have a smooth dlivery later!

Hi taringal,
I hope dr chan will be accurate in predicting my baby's edd. I'm getting stressed out cos she said amniotic fluid low, need to pay attention to baby movements... in case suddenly decrease. Been waking up many times at night to feel if baby is moving or not... And constantly have hand on tummy to make sure I don't miss any of baby's movement....

Stressed... Especially cos a lady in my office had her baby suddenly heartbeat stop at 8 months... She detected baby movement lessened but gynae told her baby ok and her baby's heart stopped 2 days later....

MrsC,
I think both me and kim mention the rice wine thing. Kim is thinking of bathing wth diluted rose scented rice wine instead of cooked herbs water. My sister used it to do final rinse before towelling off (cos she's cleanliness freak and doesn't want to see stained towels).
Not sure what's the rational behind it. Maybr some medicinal property in rice wine? Else maybe alcohol wll make the water evaporate of your body faster =p

hbb, just print out the article of the website that I posted, see item #6 for Katuk and pass it to the auntie at tekka market will do, think they should know which leave is that. According to Mashy website, sometime they sell it giant too. I was really having problem storing my BM last time, till got to throw away most of the expired one in the end. Was thinking to donate my BM then, but was told that there is immunity and emotional bonding "risk" so decided not to.

elijahmum, good luck for smooth delivery. So envious of those who are going to pop soon. I'm only 35-36wks now and already cannot walk so much. My uterus pressing so much on the pubic bone/pelvis, till I got feeling that the bb going to come out from below. My tummy is very low and I bet it's the biggest here. Everybody asking or give me a worried look whenever I got out, because I really look like that I'm gonna pop out anytime. This morning is really horrible. The hip, the sitting bone is really killing me! I guess age is catching up...when I was pregnant with my #1 3 yrs ago, I was still busy shopping around at 38wks, and doing yoga and swim almost everyday liao. Now barely can take a single step ba. I really cannot tahan to pop! Argh,....!

ETirto,
Haha, I understand what you mean. Some people are 'pregger-phobic', very afraid pregnant woman's water will suddenly break or will suddenly go into labour =p

This is my #1 and I'm 35weeks and already feel like 'nuan' at home, don't want to go out... A day in the ffice is suffcient to sap most of my energy already...

elijahmummy,
Good lunck in your delivery! So exciting!!

HBB,
I hope you can go for your function too! U sounded really enthuastic! Must talk to u bb, ask her to be " good and co-operate".. heee

Congrats to all moms,
We have "survived" another week.. Pat on the back to everyone!! haha.. I find its so hard.. am praying everyday that I will reached my week 36 and I did, but of cos with many times of contractions. Am going to see my gynea tomorrow, to access my condition! Cant wait!

lamagier
dun worry too much.. jus keep monitoring the movement k
i knw its easy for mi to say dun worry... but jus hope u feel less stress.. else hormonal imbalance n get depress v easily
hugz hugz to u.. all will b fine.. all of us will pray for ur amnio level to b normal yea =)

Etirto
ya some ppl donate their milk to other bb.. in fact my gf did that... and the recipient of the milk react very well to her milk..got chubbier in a week time haha... but she onli giv to ppl whom trust her milk =)

i already save the pic n webby u provided! thank you!!!! hope i can be a super productive moo moo cow lol

jamie
haa ya lor hoep she guai guai let mi go gai gai onw eds 1st... then go see doc aft tat.. then anythg let it b natural liao hehe

got a email fr spring maternity
maternity clothes, nursing wear n bra sales at the tanjong pagar exchg atrium.. those mummies who work nearby can go see see any good buy for the nursign wear =) since we r expiring on maternity wear liao haha

etirto
any idea if fenugreek n katuk r the same plants? since u mention bout the pic on the bottle of fenugreek pill...

elijah mummy, all e best! update us after yr delivery ok?

mummies, i aso cnt wait. i am in my 38 wks now. kp having contractions or rather cramps on & off. feeling so heavy & easi;y tired. bt i cnt pop till wed. gal seems to be pressing down. she is aso more active at nite. like now, no movements... guess she must be having her beauty slp. i am aso counting down to the start of my ML this wed. hope my 4 mths doesnt go pass so fast.

Hi lamagier,

try drinking plenty of water cause i remember some mummies mentioned drinking lot of water can increase ur amniotic fluid and most impt don stress yourself too much, cause it will not be good to ur bb... also try to ur bb frequently. hope this will help.

elijah's mum

All the best and have a smooth and fast delivery..

hbb, I was suspecting that venugreek and Katuk is the same thing but I think from the scientific name since they are diff, then they're not the same actually. But have the similar look.

sheryl
yea some ppl say it help some ppl say it dun
i got 2 brand new bottles at home
hope it helps mi hehe
else ask my dh go buy katuk he prob will buy duno wat back LOL

HBB, i aso thinking to buy the kartuk. bt i guess i wont know where to go & buy. ;p Mbe will just stick to fenugreek. Mi in office bt i am super bored & restless. Supposed to clear my stuff & do a proper handover this Thur.

sheryl (lailai)
Feeling the same way as you, but unfortunately, I am only in my 36 weeks. Last weekend, i was like having this on-off cramps, I am just so afraid, pop a pill again to make it go away... BB also super active at night, haha, not tat I am complaining, I find it quite fun most of the time if she dun kick me too hard or too vigourously or i will feel like puking again.. hee hee.. I just realised that its getting difficult these few days, really hope that bb can be good and I deliver after 38weeks. :p

hi sheryl,
haha, same here. Suffering from serious case of pregnancy brain. Very distracted by baby movement and contractions

Hope elijah'smummy has a smooth delivery today

I just came back from a weekend at Sentosa and a lovely dinner at the Cliff
...even though it was still in Singapore, but as it was a break from our routine weekend stuff and we were there almost the entire Sat and Sun...it felt a bit like a vacation haha....but too relaxing, today feel so tired.

5 more weeks of work, unless baby decides otherwise lol.

Like Jamie, I'm also still having off and on menstrual cramps type of aching at the bottom of my belly. I told my gynae about it at the last checkup last week - she said expect more of that, but when I ask her if I may give birth any earlier , she said not any difference from normal/other mummies.
My period-like aches last for quite a long time leh....not like 1 min like contractions, but like 15mins like that! I'm just worried that baby wants to come out earlier!
Stay inside! Mummy not ready yet :p

Hello new mummies, Just to share. NTUC having baby fair 20% until July 1. Good time to buy last minute stuff for your newborn. Also, www.bigbellymama.com is giving out 2 free nursing kits for the annual GSS lucky draw. CLosing date is end of July.

lamagier & jamie, guess its reali a drag for us. bt no choice le. a bit wasted to take early ML & rot at hme & do nothing. we r here at work bt our mind wonders somewhere else. lets tahan together & count down to our ML.

MuffinGirl,
Really, ur gynea said not any difference from normal/other mummies? thats good to know tat! actually i think the docs also find it very hard to know if whether bb will come out earlier or not cos i think such cramps are very normal and most of the them dun come out earlier.. well.. my contractions are very long.. can go on for more than 30mins but its just cramps, once i take ventolin, it subside.. but its not like those very painful one, just like period like aches.

Good to know that you had a good meal at Sentosa.. I am in such a lousy mood, I stayed home on sat and suns.. haha.. think I have to snap out of it, going for big FEAST before popping! hahah

Erynn (erynntai)
Thanks for the info.. is the bb fair available at all NTUC?

Sharing of good news, my rashes went away suddenly, no more itchiness and the wounds are healing very well now, hopefully no scars! Its so weird.. but I am still so glad! THANK GOD for that! hahah, now I am praying tat BB do not "inherit" those rashes genes from me. :p

Congrats to BBEthan for discharging from hosp, rest more when possible,
update your confinement when you have energy.

Thanks Sunsweet for confinement recipes and links.

HBB, I have to use mirror to look at the piles lor.

Yan, thanks for the tip, I will try.

Lamagier, Isn't it neat to see the bb's movement? Felt so sorry for the bb that doesn't know how to swallow,
can hospital give bb drip until he knows how to swollow?

RE: PRC nurse
For all the experience I have with PRCs, I dunno if it's inferior complex or what, they love to "flash" their English,
even though they know we understand Mandarin.. So sometimes I purposely speak very very fast to them and let them "catch no ball",
then they have no choice but to use Mandarin cos very 吃力 for them (hahaha).
I sometimes tell them to switch to Mandarin if I have no patient to "play" with them.

Bestberries,
I also think it's natural for us to keep buying things for our little ones, esp first born. If I have twins,
I will be buying more like you too! Don't be angry with your MIL, she also love you bbies mah.. think Sam's suggestions of flashing the catalogue is great, give it a try and see how?

Twinkle, if you can find good masseur (pre&postnatal), she could do that too, else, have to try methods discussed here before,
shine the light, down on four.. All will be ok!

Jes, U cut your hair? I felt sayang for you, cos I like your long hair.. but hair can grow again,
so long as you are comfy during this hot weather.

ElijahMum, fast, painless delivery! Update us!

MrsC, I have loads of Yoda's hiccups 2 weeks ago, sometimes becomes a bit irritating for me..
but I just keep reminding myself he needs to practise his breathing. Last week was less, but from mid last week,
I have more Braxton Hicks.

Chong, kicks?! No lah, bb's kick wont give us tearing pain right? Or by now, I think I may have died..
I had it only once so far, pray I wont have it again, cos I can't bear the pain..

Fion, I had ver bad;y swollen feet about a mth ago, I took the advice from this forum to drink lots of water, and it helps. Try and see if this will help you.

Hi Mums,
I bought a rubber changing mat from Pigeon (the one with one side pink, the other side blue) last week and the rubber smell is so strong! Have been airing it for one week already but the smell is quite persistent. Any tips for getting rid of it? I'm airing it as much as I can!

Thanks Jamie. My gynae didn't give me any medication also. Some of my colleagues who had babies say that 9 months no period cramps, when the contractions start, they just think that it was poopoo stomachache!
Aiyoh, when this period-cramp-type of ache come....I totally remember period cramps lor! Even natural instinct, I avoid all cold drinks and wish I can take painkillers!

Sheryl, lamangier and Jamie....we are all in the same boat! On paper my last day of work before maternity leave is the day before my EDD...hahahah! Unless Dr decides to make me stay home or I cannot take it then I will take MC =/
We must encourage one another to stay strong!
Maximise time spent with baby during maternity leave! Later it will be worth it!

My EDD 25Jul, when are yours?

HBB
I see. guess what? yest was my first meal n they served me chicken forr lunch. icalled them and complained. they said kitchen could hv mixed up. at least they offer to compensate me with 1 extra meal. i also add in my request for no dang gui just now when she called me. yah lor... can really feel the effect cos my mum cooked with the good ones. luckily i told her.

bestberries,
i'm wiping myself with the herbal water twice a day. very glad that my mother is agreeable to it. in fact, she encouraged me to wash up twice a day. but she doesnt allow me to wash hair for at least 1 wk. told her i need to wash later this evening as since tmrw will be day 7 n i need to go out to bring gal for her pd check.

elijah's mummy
guess u shd be on yr way to meeting yr boy v soon. hope u hv a smooth delivery too.

i really miss yr pregnancy talk... really miss all that feeling of baby in tummy, waiting for the day.

last night my gal boycott me. woke up at 4am n refused to sleep until 6am. keep wanting to nurse. in hospital, she's able to keep to 3-4hrly feeding. back home, her scchedule all haywire. sometimes 2hrs. now she'smore awake. each time she wakes up, she wants milk. play a short while, falls sleepy n want to nurse again. no milk no sleep. i wonder what shd i do.

Hi kim,
I don't know if baby can be kept on drip or not. But my gyane said that baby died. I'm guessing adults can be feed through nose tube but babies are too delicate to do so...

Hi muffin girl,
My EDD also on 25 july. But gynae said likely to be due early cos amniotic fluid decreasing + irritable uterus. I'm actually happy that baby will be early... pop at about 36-37 weeks (close to full term) and I can start ML earlier =p Just that now have to rush to try to sort out my work for handover

Hi bbethan,
Hee, don't worry. I'm sure there'll be lotsa 'popping' soon And we all will be able to share confinement talk =) Hee, have any photos of your bb to share?

HBB
oh ya... dun worry abt the thermal bag being dirty. so far quite clean. in fact, the food are packed intside a big plastic bag before putting into the bag. quite clean. i also asked the lady why they dun use the thermal flask n the food jar anymore. she told me cos a lot of ppl dun wash n return them. n a lot of missing ones. so they decide to discontinue using it.

Lamagier
i jst got my usb port. will try uploading later.

MuffinGirl,
My EDD is on 18 Jul.. Haha, all of us are Do Re Mi..
Thats good, if you are not on medication than I think you are doing pretty well! Keep it up! Actually doc told me I can stop taking the ventolin once I hit week 36 cos he said if bb wants to come out its ok, safe. However I still take the medication cos no. 1 of the irriatting cramps, no 2, i really want to have my bb at week 38 or later if I can..

back from my nursing top shopping got 4 tops @ $40... real cheap as compare to the normal price one.. dh ask mi if so cheap why no buy 6 instead of 4? LOL

sheryl
i tink prob i will try to hunt for the katuk after my confinement since i prob need to bring bb bk to hosp or myself bk to hosp for check up... hee hope can tahan till then =p

Jamie, did you take any medication so that the rashes can go away? I'm still having it now and I remember for my #1, it went away only after I delivered. The scars are still there 3 years later (now). Now, the rashes climb up to the tigh area, on the side of body, buttock also!Grrr...so far I avoid shell fish (prawn, crab, etc) already...I also applied steroid creams and moisturizer daily. The so called magic calendula cream also cannot work. Sigh...

bbethan
oh mix up? hope u din starve manz since no meat for u unless u forcee urself to eat the chicken
at least they pro enuff to compensate hee not bad =)

ok thanx for the tips ont he thermo bag
ya i would tink missin thermo flask n etc is 1 of the reason why they switch to disposable knowing some ppl v gian peng wan to keep those better quality one

sunny duck
the smell is SUPER strong
irreguardles of brand
i air it for a few weeks on my chair...
then rinse it w water.. dry it in the toilet.. then now is no smell liao but i cont to put flip it over the cot jus to prevent the smell from coming bk

ERirto,
My rashes that I have seems to be exactly like yours. Its to the thigh area then to the buttock. I did not take any mediation at all, but I used Dove shower foam cos doc says its is more neutral ph.. I am using this cream called temperosone (has very mild steriods). Am also not sure how the rashes went away but they are not itchy now and the dark patches of redness is also fading but can still see patches.. Yap, also like you, I appllied moisturizer daily without fail.. I think it does help in the long run.. even if it does not work for rashes at least our skin wont get too dry up ya.. haha

I hope your rash goes away soon cos I know how bad it can get and its really very fustrating and uncomfortable to live with.

LS,
My dear, am so sorry, missed your post! I got the rocker at S$109.00. That is before the 7% rebate promotion from Robsinson that time. Its from Fisher&Price. and made in China.

I am in the midst of packing my hospital bag and the only item not in is the maternity pads. Can anyone advise which brand of maternity pads is good? and where can I get it?