(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hi mums, my dad got me a binder from bangkok n it worked for me so just wanted to share with all the mums n if anyone wants to order as well? he will be coming back at the end of this month with the binders.

pm me for details!

re:binder
its $35 for 1 binder, only one colour - nude colour with some design on it.. very thin material.

3 hooks and sizes S, M n L.

S - waist 23-28 inches
M - waist 29 - 35 inches
L - 35 inches onwards

the entire length of the binder:

S - 23 - 25 inches (from 1st hook to last hook)
M - 26 - 28 inches
L - 29 - 31 inches

2584266.jpg

2584267.jpg

Koko,

I've signed up with SCCB to donate the cord blood. Have meet up with Doreen during my 34wk checkup, the meeting took abt half an hr. after that she will pass u the documents which u need to bring on the day of ur delivery to be passed to the labour ward nurse. Once u signed up, you just need to inform ur gynae.

SUNSWEET,

I thot of processing my placenta too but hb said like how can u ensure that the placenta that they processed is urs? so now not very sure want to have my placenta processed or not..

thanks mashy...

Think beverly's twins are probably out by now... Remember her saying she's admitting to hospital late morning and her c-section is in the afternoon

lamagier - of cos u hv to listen to ur docs' advic on jabs.... your relatives n frens are not docs so what do they know ? i also q irriated when my mil says things like such and such thing shld happen or not, i'll just tell her she's wrong and my doc said sthg else... at the end of the day, its u and the doc thats responsible for health of bb, not ur frens or relatives

Taringal,

that's my concern too but we cannot be sure unless we do it ourselves right?

But i dun think i bear to do it myself.. though i found out the method online.. http://sg.******************/articles/recipe_for_placenta

devilene

no. I was very kind of scared, so asked for laughing gas when he was administering. And it depends on how good the anaesthetian u get...

devilene,
depend on your endurance because it was injected into your spine. if you are pain sensitive, i would advise you not to opt epidural.

sunsweet,
cannot imagine processing the placenta ourself. it so gross.

devilene,

Its not.. but maybe bec my contraction was more painful then the LA.. so I didn;t feel any pain.. just a few prickly like pain done on the area that's to insert the epidural needle and tube.

Mashy,

Thanks for the info. I read in another thread sometime ago and one of the mummies who popped in March mentioned that it was painful when the doc was giving her the epi. Scare the hell out of me.

Devilene,

the process i guess less than 5 mins.

As for when my #1 i try not to opt for epi until i really can't stand the pain of the contraction.. i think the cut off for administering Epi is before you are dilated more then 5cm..

sunsweet & mashy,
epi works better than laughing gas for those with low threshold of pain right? i think i better ask for it straightaway to avoid the contraction pain.

devilene

one thing to note is that epi may delay your dilation leh. So u may wanna wait a bit if you're not dilated or just 1-2 cm dilated.

devilene,
There's 2 schools of thought on epi.

Like what mashy and one of my colleague said, epi may relax you so much that delays dilation.

Some mummies here however did mention that they believe they were in so much pain that they believed it actually caused them to dilate slower.

So I guess the epi arguement can swing both ways. I'm hoping to do without epi (against the husband wishes) as I'm squimish about people sticking a needle into my spine and I'm worried about side effects (uncontrollable shivering and vomitting). But I guess it's pretty dependent on how long the labour goes

kim
im here.. i went out to bb sit my nephew then shopping hehe

u snd so fierce .. mayb i shld giv u my mum number n u SCOLD her straight? hahahaaa

Sunsweet: Oh..I love these pianos. They are sooooo cute.

Taringal: Tks! I only emailed them and haven't setup any appt to meet up. Is Doreen the corporate relation officer? Mine was Sherrie. I remembered someone mentioning that if we wanted to retrieve stem cells for use, we need to pay a certain amount of money and this was not mentioned by Sherrie even though I asked her the question. What is the amount of money tt we hv to pay if we need to use the stem cells?

sunsweet
if the placenta is process fr home then mayb i dun wan
cos inc ase is not ours hor or not properly done then mix w other ppl placenta duno they got HIVor watever disease anot leh

Devilene,

actually i tried the laughing gas 1st b4 i went for epi..

but the gas make me puke and dizzy so i told hubby that I have no choice liao.. i didn't want patadine...cos will bb will be drowsy if being delivered within certain hours after the jab..

bestberries
i agree tat ppl try to act like doc n say we shldnt hav listen to that gyna hav the jab
shldnt hav listen n go c sect blar blar blar
if i kenna c sect or induce.. my mum first to say ims tupid to listen to gynae cos she say MUSt have natural by all means.. i ask her wat if me or bb in distress ? still diedie must natural huh?
some ppl jus brainless lor.. .ignore them!

koko i hav sign up w SCBB already

if donor retrieve their own stem cell to use for themselve thr is not charge
if retrieve for siblings thr charge is 2.6k
if use other donor cell.. 26k!

Lamagier,

I suffered the after effect of Epi.. Shivering hard for almost 30 mins i think.. but the nurses at KKH had this hot air blower blowing warm air under my blanket.. so it wasn't so bad.. compared the the contraction pain.. kekeke

Pain treatment:
Probably better is to discuss it with your gynae and/or check with the hospital admin what the related charges are for the pain treatment. I have read thru a couple of the hospital bill threads, and the charges for epi can come to quite a sum depending on the hospital administer the charges regarding the anaesthetian and the drug dosages.

Hi sunsweet,
thanks. You had numbness after delivery? Cos my sister was saying she couldn't get off the bed after delivery cos her whole lower body was numb from epi and she kept saying she felt cold....

I was testing out my Company's contactless thermometer.. Its so cooL! i really feel like getting it for BB.. it cost abt S$137.00.. haha.. abit expensive but u just have to aim at the forehead, it can read the temperature of the person. Anyone got their thermometers already?

Mashy

did you get backaches after Epi?

I've got a back injury a long time ago, and my family doc advise against epi coz it may make the injury worst. but i'm also afraid i can't take the pain of the contractions...

Jamie (lostsangel)

I'm still thining which thermometer to get.. was thinking of the braun ear thermometer.

Any mummies have used both before and can recommend which is better?

Thks for all yr well wishes. Today's my 2nd day in hosp. going to be discharged on sat. had chosen 20th for my c-sect but who knows... my gal doesn't like n choose 17th instead.

Baby's details:
Name: Amanda
Weight: 3.16kg
Height: 48cm
Delivered by GA c-sect

My story:
16th 4.30pm
appt with gynae n saw him only at 7pm... long wait. dsicussed wif gynae on c-sect date. deciding btw 20th n 23rd. told him will confirm next day. on way home, discussed wif hb n decided on 20th.

then that very night...

16th night (10pm+):
started feeling water leaking out. at first thought it was just normal discharrge. then realised that whenever i stand up, nothing unusual. but once i sit down, the trickling feeling come back. decide to monitor and quickly finish up my housework.

11pm+:
feel more and more certain that waterbag has burst cos i wet 2 sanitary pads. quickly told my hb. bathed n packed up my hosp bag. called hosp n was told to checked in.

17th Jun (12am):
Left home n reached hosp. strapped onto CTG and showed some contractions though quite far apart. don't feel any pain though. checked dilation but not opened yet.

initially still think of trying natural. but hearing that not dilated yet. i decided to go c-sect directly cos dun want to go thru what has happened for #1 again.

2am:
wheeled into OT. Wanted epidural c-sect. gynae advised GA instead. Said normally such emerg c-sect, he will use GA cos more easy on me n i won't feel so scared with all the tugging n talking around. told him i'm ok with it cos already had went thru it during #1. however, he keep suggesting GA, n said it'll be over very soon. was quite upset abt it cos wanted hb to be with me n wanted to see bb first hand. but decided to heed his advice n agreed on GA. Hb told me not to worry.

4am+:
Wheeled back to ward. half awake. conscious but cannot open eyes. was in great pain until i cried. n dun know why leg cramp too. all th pain was excruiating. then they increase the painkiller dosage. only then i relax more. told my hb gynae cheated me. so uncomfortable n so painful. dun remember i was in such great pain during my #1 epi c-sect. i couldn't breastfeed my gal for the 1st time due to the pain n asked nurse to give FM for her 1st feed. only saw my gal 1st time at 9am+ to bf.

gynae came in the morning to check on me. told him how i feel. he scolded the nurses for giving me the painkiller drip so late. anyway, i realised that though the initial pain from gaining consciousness was bad. but the overall operation recovery was much faster. By afternoon, i was off the painkiller drip, urine catheter taken off n i made my first step to the toilet to urine. was surprised i was able to do all these within the same day.

anyway, happy that gal is bf well. now having a bit of jaundice n under phototherapy. hope her jaundice will come down soon n be discharged together on sat.

sorry.... for my long story.

Jiayou to all those going to pop soon.

fluffysheep

i had a bit of the back ache within the 1st mth after delivery. Felt a cold rush up my spine. But it went after after that.

U can try the laughing gas first lor, then if really cannot tahan then opt for epidural.

I'm currently using terumo ear thermometer.

bbethan
ouch ur wound snd pain leh...
pls take care yea...
ur ordeal is over! now concentrate on being a happy moo moo ok! hehe

see ya here when u r free =)

lamagier,

I felt my legs after I got back to my ward.. maybe i didn't hooked on epi for long.. i only used for 2 hrs or so..

but i felt sore below due to the delivery.. so didn't actually get off from bed till next morning.. then i realise i got a pile due to over exerting force to push the baby.. but it went off after 3-4 days after applying the cream prescribe by the gynae.

Re: price of epi for Normal Delievery (B1)at KKH
Anaesthetist fee is 1 charge (S$315 -S$440)
the drug is charged seperately..

Hi BBethan,
Hearty Congrats and a BIG HUG to both Mommy and Amanda! :D
Have a speedy recovery and I hope your girl will be jaundice free sooN! Will keep both of you in prayers and concentrate on getting well!

BBethan, thanks for sharing your baby story, we were online when u mention that your water leaking, hehehe and now baby is out already. take care and update us more when settle down at home. picture please (maybe post in facebook safer). hehehehe...

lamiager : u are the mummy and u do wat's best for ur baby... if anything happen, they won't be singing the same tune already ... just bear in mind, after u give birth, the same pple will say the same thing ... imagine, i had to endure my CL and my mother keep saying FM is best for baby, baby will grow faster ... then after 2 weeks, guess who change tune? My baby is not the super michellin, but she was "bui" enuff for 2 huge loaves for cheeks :p then my CL started singing a different tune ... she proudly tell other mummies when we are the PD clinic that this baby all on BM and see how big ... anyway best of luck for your coming delivery =) endure so much liao, last lap to run!

update on durian diet ... didn't work for the last 2 weeks hahaha ... i put on 2 plus kg but baby only 300g... maybe he got sick of the durians! but he like so big in my tummy now that I can't wait for him to come out on sat ... today i scolded him for sitting on my nerves that cause my right thigh to keep cramping ... then u no wat he did ... he shifted and sat on the nerves that causes cramp on my left thigh!!! i was like !!!!!! so i had to sayang him and he gave me less trouble :p think this one will eat soft and not hard type :p

BabyEthan: glad u recover so fast!

epi (LA) i had no problems with it ... most of the mummies did say they woke up cold and shivering and some vomitted. but i woke up HOT (i turned down the aircon so cold that hubby was shivering) and i was so hungry ... the nurses were so scared to give me anything but 1 small cold of water ... so i went to bed hungry ... and i was so miserable cuz breakfast was porridge ... i was stark raving STARVING ... so ... this time i told my obgyn i wan the exact same guy who gave me the epi ... :p

bestberries: babies will actually have a grow spurt from 32 weeks onwards ... so typically they gain more weight during this time ... just rest more - durians may or may not help liao ... just rem to bu also cuz ur body needs it ...

BBethan,
congrats on the safe delivery of bb Amanda.. though like wad HBB says.. it sounds painful..but im glad u managed to pull thru!.. Good job.. n tk care ya?..

Twinkle,
yah..hubbie is in civil servant line.. but he doesnt need to travel overseas.. hes in the 'controlling' of the flying in the air ppl..haha..which base is yr hubbie in?

HBB,
yah.. i agree somehw with my mum too.. but im glad all things are worked out now..cos hubbie n me had a talk jus nw n he agreed to keep the CL.. n like wad u suggested too.. unless shes not good, we'll ask her to leave lor.. or..if she says she cannot make it den we'll leave it as it is lor.. =)so im glad we made up our minds to keep the CL unless otherwise stated by the CL?.. =D thank u so much for being here girls~

my fingers n feet swollen like dono wad... hmmm, somemore im working for the following 2 sats.. =\ thank goodness i have jus one last week to go.. i shall preservere n hold on!!!!! =D

anw, does anyone knows where to get a bb rocker for less than $100??

jes
im glad urprob is solve... =)

rocker??u mean bouncer? can be as cheap as 20+ bucks leh.. those netted one and much more cooler =)

thanks HBB...i know got thoes olden days we use one den got holes holes one rite?.. but the aunty they all told me..its not advisable till he reaches 4mths old n above leh?

Hi Pretty Bunnie,
Your baby sounds mischievous...

Hi jes,
My sister used the netted rocker all the way... think close to $30. I got a Maclaren rocker for $188 (which i thought was super duper expensive) from Spring maternity last week (cos my SIL gave me $100 voucher =)). Don't bother trying to look for rocker under $100 at Spring maternity... They only have 2 types and both above $150.

Thanks mummies for sharing your experience with epi. Could you guys share how much does each dose of epi cost? Just trying to prepare myself for an approximate of how muich the hospital bill might total..