(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Jamie & BB Ethan,

I am also having the same problem for working clothes. This morning I was wearing one top & my mum & hubby commented so short, can see my tummy le. They told mi not to wear that anymore. I say no choice la, limited clothes. If dont wear, nothing to wear anymore. It doesnt make much sense to buy now since I am in my 36 gg 37 weeks. 3 more weeks to EDD & who knows I may pop earlier. Somemore I am gg to close shop at no 2.

jamie
ya my concern initialy was i not sleepin well will it affect bb then i ask gynae on every visit.. he say not a prob cos my girl is growing.. so i gave up asking him aft tat.. sometiems i tired but cant get to sleep i realise if i lie down will help a little...
mayb i gt the advantage cos i dun need work full time like some mummies here...

sam
ya by right i tink they sleep as n when they like in tummy rite? so i also duno hw true tat our rest will affect them

but i heard when they r out.. they need to sleep more to grow... is it true for those already with #1?
else they wun grow tall n big?

bbethan
some point my girl also dun gain weight fast i also duno y.. for mi is i tink i din eat healthy enuff and she dun absorb the good stuff hehe.. mayb u try drinking some chicken essence if the growth is realy of concern?

bbethan

oh yah, one of the mummy even blamed it on the dog, said the dog chewed up her pacifier. hahaha. Her gal was upset with the dog for quite a while.

elijah'smummy,

mashy is right. Do not let your boy sleep with a bottle of milk, the lactose in the milk will cause early childhood caries. When I was working with children at the earlier part of my career, there were many children at the clinic with this problem - you can google the term and see how bad the teeth looks. Not to mention that dental treatment for these young child is very difficult for them to accept.

Don't expect to clear the milk from the mouth by asking the kid to drink/rinse with water....fall asleep already how to wake him up to brush or rinse with water?

When your son latches on at night, it is more for suckling and not drinking most likely. My colleague who is also a dentist has her 14 month old daughter still latching on to her at night, but no more milk in the boobs already.
If not try using a pacifier if he can't go totally cold turkey, but you will need to wean him off the pacifier later if not it will give him very protruding teeth :p

sheryl (lailai)/BB Ethan.
ya, i know what you gals mean.. Shirts/blouses getting short.. Me too.. Its quite funny and unsightly.. My husband and my mom says i look like "incredible hulk"..especially when I wear those that has buttons and looks ready to pop.. very mean!! haha

Well, I also try to "tahah" lor.. what to do? Sometimes very reluctant to pay for tops u know u not going to use it again..

Sheryl,
Why wanna stop at 2? maybe after a few years, u decided to try again? heehee.

Spring Maternity
Seriously, i got one nice black sequin top good for work and causual at half price only S$28 (after discount) 3 weeks back and is those type that still can be worn after delivery one.. So u gals, go and take a look at their 50% off.. quite worth it lei..

Gillian/taringal,
You mummies are so fortunate.. FOr Mt Alvernia, all the single room deluxe, single room and 2 betters are all fully book.. Only those 4 bedders are not booked. Funny ya.. the deluxe single room are carpettd and so much more expensive than the single room not carpetted. Anyways, i already booked the Single room. I dun think I will have the luck to have the free upgrade to single room deluxe. hee

muffingirl
ya i worry bout the protruding teeth manz... so ... i have decided.... no pacifier =p
get rid of 1 problem 1st hahaaaaa
even refuse to standby any at home now.. cos w back up means will give in n use =p

u were mentioning they lilely to b sucking but not drinking when asleep
but when they suck the milk will come out leh so will still go into the mouth rite?

Mashy
Oh... i see. So actually now is a good time. Probably will try it out.

Muffingirl
If he's not asleep after his milk feed, drinking water to rinse his mouth is still effective? Cos my boy normally will toss around on the bed even after milk before he falls asleep. Only on very rare occasions, he will fall asleep on the bottle. But when we put in the water bottle, he'll still suck the water.

muffingal/HBB

My boy used the pacifier till 18mths. His milk teeth are perfect. Sui sui type. I think the pacifier only poses a prob if u don't wean till he's very old. I've seen kids who are 5yrs old still sucking their pacifier day in, day out, whether asleep or awake.

Pacifier does have its benefits, it's what my hb call a 'mute' button.

Ya, I read magazines using pacifieres are actually fine and does not affect the milk teeth.. I think what Mashy said is right.. Its all about how you wean off. Several of my friends and colleagues who have kids told me the same thing too.. Its the weaning off that is crucial cos pacifiers or even those "yao lan" do have certain benefits.

bbethan

my hb very noti. That time put in pacifier for my boy right, he'll take out, let my boy cry, then put in, instant peace, then pull out, cry again, put in, instant peace again. hahahaa.

ok mummies
im off to go shopping (prob my last chance to shop before i pop) cos i keep dreaming of contraction last nite LOL

bye

Mashy, just wondering your boy doesnt use milk bottle now? My boy is still using his milk bottle daily for his morning & night milk feeds.

Re: Drinking milk while bb is asleep
My boy has e habit of drinking milk only when he is sound asleep. I didnt know that this will cause dental problems till I read this thread. Also didnt know have to rinse with water.

Jamie, ya I feel a bit offended when mum & hubby was commenting today. Keep telling mi how awful I look with e small tummy area shown. Haha! But arent we suppose to flaunt our tummy. ;p Going to stop at 2 la. 1 boy & 1 girl just nice liao. Its not cheap to raise kids in Singapore & also not easy too.

sheryl,
Ya i know, i also feel offended and very defensive.. especially from my mom.. haha. we know they are just stating the fact but still kinda get upset.. sigh.. Ya, in taiwanese saying, you already attain 100marks for having 1 boy and 1 girl in the family.. :D

Mashy,
your husband seems to be like doing experiment on your boy. haha

sheryl,
Ya i know, i also feel offended and very defensive.. especially from my mom.. haha. we know they are just stating the fact but still kinda get upset.. sigh.. Ya, in taiwanese saying, you already attain 100marks for having 1 boy and 1 girl in the family.. :D

Mashy,
your husband seems to be like doing experiment on your boy. haha

elijah/ mashy/ hbb: my gal also used pacificer ... think it's easier to wean it off .. she looked for it for 1 week, cried for it for 1 week then stopped :p her teeth is OK, and she has erm .. all 20 teeth now (including second molars). we stopped her from the pacificer when she has 16 teeth (before the second molars came out).

i do let my gal drink milk from bottle at night, but not with the milk pooling in hewr mouth. in a way, it's good cuz she will spit out the teat when she is donw with the milk and I try to give her a little water to "rinse" her mouth when she is done... when we had the previous maid, she used to clean her mouth with a wet towel after milk, but I can't do it. my gf's gal largi better, will autom open mouth for the mum to brush her teeth with the eyes closed!

sheryl: u can either brush with water or just use a wet towel to wipe the teeth... whatever works :p just don't let it pool in the mouth. one of my ex colleagues 2 year old baby had to go for dental surgery becuz of her rotten teeth due to milk pooling.

sleeping with the milk bottle in the mouth is the worst....cos the milk pools around the teeth and produces an acidic environment (as the oral bacteria ingests the sugars) that cause caries.

brushing before bed is the best....rinsing with water may not be as effective but is better than sleeping with the bottle.

As for my colleague, she stopped breastfeeding already, so she knew she wasn't producing any milk anyway.

Wah very sleepy at work...can't wait for the weekend!!!

mashy, i like your hb description on "mute button". i also feel pacifier actually not a bad thing cos better than the kids put hands on mouth. my #1 wean off pacifier around 2 years old, using the ego method that she is no longer a baby. then when she attended kindergarten, the school teacher suddenly one day told them to wean bottles and throw away their bottles, it was a struggle for me cos i was not prepared, i tried to use straw but she took an hour to drink, hb said it will taste different, so in the end i gave up, give her fresh milk and she love it. as long as she drink milk, i'm ok lah, actually glad in a certain way cos when i go travelling, i dun need to bring so many bottles and formulas and hot flask, just go 7 eleven buy fresh milk, hehehehe.

HBB, now u weekly check up, does doc scan and check cervix whether dilate every visit?

elijah'smummy, the survivor series also crack me up cos it shows how tough a mother's job is, hahahaha. btw u mention u hoping to pop sat, how are you feeling now? do u think it will be soon? and maybe when your baby arrive and #1 see you bf the baby, he will feel he's the big koko and wean off???

wow, haven't come in for a few days and already got good news from mummies that pop!

Congrats poshicon and hkbb for a safe and smooth delivery. Hope your bbies are doing well now.

Talking abt going into labour and reading the earlier post by Gillian, I just wonder how much time do we really hv before we need to go to the hospital? eg when the water bag breaks or having 'the show'?

Also, when our cervix are dilated at 1 or 2 cm, we do not need to rush to hospital, is it??

Pls enlighten this first time mummy, these questions may sound silly :p

RE: 34th week checkup
Just went for my checkup yesterday and the baby's head is down but not engaged yet. Thank God that the placenta has also moved up so its possible to hv natural birth now. BB's weight is now 2.48kg. The three of us (mum, hb and me) made wrong guesses on bb's weight yesterday. hb thought he would be 2.1kg, mum's guess was 2.2kg and I said 2.3kg. Geez, bb's weight increases really fast this last trimester.

Mashy: I didn't know that we can't boil barley for so long...that was helpful. I always set the timer at 30mins and when its done, I just turn off the stove. So, now I must monitor the boiling time.

Sheryl: if you still have yesterday's "Mind your body" there's an article on "Tooth decay of young children". A PD actually recommend to wean bb off milk bottle at 12 to 14 months.

RE: Pre-natal massage @ rustic nirvana
Anyone interested, just recevied an email from them that they are having a promotion, cost $48. Can PM me with your email and I'll forward u the email.

hi Koko,
just sharing w u my #1 experience

hb n I wanted a 14th baby so we did natural induction (nipple stimulation) on 13th night.. then past midnight, stomach started to cramp. Went to toilet n saw the show. so I started to time the contraction. went for my shower & left home at ard 4am. Reached TMC n they checked for dilation n was about 5cm only ( I dun remember any pain when nurse did the check). B4 i went to labour ward they need me to clear my bowel so the nurse insert a pill into the anal..at 5plus am was in the labour ward. the nurses gave me a dip, the dip was for induction. at about 8am the pain was very intense. My waterbag didn't brust at all.. ard 8:15am my gynea was here n they nurse got me ready for labour. Not long the gynea brusted my waterbag (hated the feeling very "er xin" cos' of the gushing of warm liquid fm the waterbag..) 8:30am my girl was born. Quite a short labour for me.

You can prepare to go to hospital when the timing of contraction is nearer said 15 to 20mins as You will not know how many cm of dilation you are into.

sheryl

I got him off milk bottle when he's abt 2.5yrs old. It's more for practical reasons coz the Avent bottles kept leaking and i kept washing them like mad. So fed up, decided to wean him off the bottles. We got him in the habit of brushing his teeth too. He screamed and cried abt brushing teeth but got used to it after a while. Now he'll brush his teeth before he sleeps. BTW, we use the electric toothbrush and we got him the Buzz lightyear brush head. He has a manual pooh bear toothbrush too so when he's tired of electric toothbrush, we'll use that.

coolkero/ pretty bunnie
Agree! Easier to wean off pacifier than fingers. Pacifier can cut, can throw, but u can't do that with fingers.

My friend's kid now 3.5yrs old too gotta wait for his adult teeth to grow after his milk teeth broke from a fall! He was so devastated. So have to take care of milk teeth too, else if decayed, and need to be pulled out, will have probs with self esteem and chewing food.

koko

Your gynae will know when you're 1-2cm dilated coz he's the one checking u!
So will be able to advise u then if u need to go hospital or not.

Hi mommies, I am back, with my new toy from PC Show yesterday, her name is Margaux Too (my dead notebook was Margaux because they are both pearlwhite). I just managed to get into my home wireless network cos my bro made it invisible and made so many security "walls" that I myself had to cracked down. Still in midst of setting up Margaux Too cos I am not used to Vista, and I like my own internet browser, email browser, desktop settings..

Bestberries, did you manage to go to Mothercare? They delivered Yoda's furnitures yesterday! So glad they managed to rush for me..

I see that we have 2 babies! How exciting! Congrats to Pishicon & HKBB!

Ok, I am back to my pc set up again! Chat more later!

coolkero
Yea.. i'll check with my gynae tomorrow @36wk checkup. Still wish that I could go for normal delivery as heard that c-sect recovery will be slower.

Any mommies know is there any special nail file for baby & where to get it? Or can just use adult nail file?

koko

yah, i think it's weekly visit after week 36. At least that's with most gynaes.

LS
bb nails are so tiny, how to file? Can cut already very happy liao. we just do a straight cut every 2-3 days when my boy was a bb. Yes, they grow so quickly!

Welcome back, kim!!! Hb and I tried to go to the PC show yesterday but it was terrible, the jam, the parking lots were all full. We gave up, today hb venture on his own...wonder what he'll find there :)

Gillian Lew (yuxia_82)
Just curious, heard that nipple induction can be quite painful or sore. Do u have such problems? And how long did u do that for to be effective?

Kimberly,
How was the IT fair? I wanted to get a notebook too.. My notebook is turning black.. its started off with dark patches.. then it gets darker and darker.. arrrgg...

Mashy,
I may look at nursing tops instead of the normal wear. Since the chances of me using them is much higer than maternity tops.

Sunnyduck
I enjoy Karen Cheng's blog.. She is so cool! haha

KoKo,
Congrats, your bb is doing great! Excellent weight gain!! My bb only 2.1kg max at 34 weeks.. sob sob.. I myself have gained like 13kg so far.. Arrgg.. bb, please buck up!!

mashy

hahah.... i like your hubby's description!!!! hahah mute button... but thing is my boy has never tried pacifer... now his milk is not exactly fed through the bottle... he is drinking his milk through a cup and straw... never tried the sippy cups too... he threw them all away and i never reintro them to him.....

coolkero

hahah... i can only hope... more worried that he will push the younger one away and latch himself on instead.... :p he still can tell his dad that my boobs are his!

elijah's mum

that's good leh. My boy refused to drink milk unless it's from his milk bottle. So he gave up his milk at the same time as his milk bottle.

Jamie,
nipple induction not painful.. just ask ur hb to "play ard" w the nipple.. when u are stimulated, i think will casue the contraction.
I don't remember how long..

mashy
Yes, they're tiny but long. I read this article from babyzone:

Bonding Tips for New Dads
Many new fathers don't know quite what to do with their new babies. The truth is it doesn't really matter what you do with Baby, just that you do things with him or her.

Wondering how to get started? Try these tips:

Hold your baby. You don't have to do anything special, just hold her. You may want to try kangaroo care—holding your bare baby to your bare chest. You can sit anywhere comfortable and either take your shirt off or wear a shirt you can unbutton, and lay your newborn directly on your chest. Put a blanket over her so she stays warm. To make it even more special, read or talk to her so she can hear the comforting sound of your voice. She may even fall asleep like that. In fact, you may as well.

Feed your baby. If your partner is breastfeeding (and has a routine pretty well established), ask her to pump a little bit every day so you can give your baby a bottle. It's important that the two of you share some valuable Daddy-Baby time together. And it is good for Baby to know that you, too, can take care of her hunger needs.

Take a walk with your tiny one in a baby carrier (Baby Bjorn, baby sling, etc.). You can also just carry your newborn. When she's a bit older, you can take her out in a stroller, too.

Read, talk, or sing to your baby. She needs to hear the sound of your voice. You can read anything:Sports Illustrated, an Abraham Lincoln biography, really anything … try not to read your work papers, though! (By the way, Baby can hear your voice after the fifteenth week in the womb.)

Hold your partner while she holds your baby. This is another good way to build intimacy and closeness in your family.

Change diapers/dress your baby. Just as with feeding, your baby needs to know you can meet her core needs. Not only does changing diapers and dressing your little one help to build a bond, but it is one-on-one time that you'll find yourself cherishing while easing the burden on your partner.

Trim or file her nails.Babies nails grow fast and can cause quite a bit of damage to their delicate skin (and yours too!) when they get too long. You don't have to use nail clippers if doing so makes you nervous; a nail file works well, too.

And also this link:
http://www.floweradvisor.com/lifestyle/interests/parenting/5172/how_to_trim_your_newborns_nails/

LS,
I think there will not be any problem if you opt for natural birth as long as you have the anti-biotic drip. My friends who had strep B bateria which apprently is quite common, all had natural birth. BB and mothers have no health issues at all. :D However, no harm checking with your gynea abt it.

Jamie
Yeah I also read the risk very very small.

mashy
I'm thinking to let my hubby file too but definitely not cutting or clipping
Just wondering where to buy the file becos' I tot adult nail file could be quite sharp at the edge & probably will cut baby's skin too.

Re: Colostrum
I had a little of it around 6th month. Now, not even a drop! So saddd... Is this normal? Worry cannot breastfeed my baby
Really wish to breastfeed her for at least 6 mths!

Jamie: Tks! I really wonder how bb puts on so much weight within such a short time..its really amazing.

Sunnyduck: tks for the links to the mummy's blogs. Like Jamie, I enjoyed Karen Cheng's blog, too.

LS: Tks for the bonding tips!

Sunnyduck, Jamie,
Same, I read Karen's blog quite often too, been following it for years already cos her hubby's my uni lecturer/tutor/supervisor, and also met a few times during social gatherings when I was still in Perth. Sort of read it to remind myself of Perth, really enjoy my uni days.

Another blog I read: http://www.ourbabyoflove.com/ - Baby Darius, cos the parents really track his development closely, and try different programmes for him.

RE: IT Fair
When I was there abot 2:30pm, it was ok. But as we are bigger and as the days go, the fair may be getting crowded, I advise preggies like us to amalyse our needs, liking, device brand, specs and price before heading down and just zoom straight to the appropriate booths to do comparison. Be clear with what you want and get the staff to help, if can't decide then, get the staff's name and tel no. (cos they work on commission) so if you do return to get the device, it fair to look for that staff that helped you. I was also very honest with them, I told them I will come back to them and if I dun, that means I bought something else.

Good to compare the freebies too, I was trying to decide on Toshiba and Fujitsu, and decided that the freebies from Toshiba is better but I needed the extra year warranty (3yrs) for Fujitsu is better, furthermore, the color offered to me from Fujitsu is more lady-like (I am still the white-pc person, so Toshiba's silver and black is no-no for me).

I used the Digital Life from ST (Wed), PC Show insert in Today paper (yesterday), call up the pc companies (Dell & Fujitsu), and online info (Acer, Fujitsu, Dell) when I do the comparison. I was thinking of mini notebook (or they call it netbook) but I decided I cant use these as I do not have a back up pc. My bro also sent me a spreadsheet to list down the specs so I do a fairer comparison (which I gave up since I was in a hurry).

Now you may want to note:
DDR3 is newer than DDR2 (RAM)
Ask the staff if the RAM slot is single channel or double cos if it's single, you'll have to change the whole RAM to increase the processing speed, while if there is an add'l channel, means if your pc is currently 4MB, you can add another 4MB in future to make it 8MB.
LED is newer than TFT
WXGA is wide XGA, i.e. screen is more rectangular as the diagonal measurement is not at 45degree).

I don't recommend driving all the way to suntec or even hotels or shopping malls around. I think closest you want to park may be Cityhall or Peninsular/ Funan. Once you have all your purchases, you can go to the Starbucks to wait while your hubby to get the car and come over to the convention hall taxi stand (by Balaclava & Starbucks) to pick you.

Bear in mind, there are still crazy drivers there! I saw a Honda that drove across 4-5 lanes from Marina Mandarin side to Suntec Convention Hall side, and there were cars that does not seem to know which parking to go so they switches from lane to lane and some even tried to "squeeze" themselves between cars in the turning lane, so if you are the incoming car on that lane, you can either change lane or stop to wait until the car managed to get itself into the turning lane...

Mashy, hee2, I usually do some research before I get my pc.. U knw many of these devices sellers "look-down" on female even if you may have computer engineering degree!! Anyway, I usually tell them I am "end-user" so they will tell me more about the product that I may not find when I research..