(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

RE: Photos
I intend to sign up for the 6pc photos for S$150, not keen to take the S$350 package, as for Yoda, I think I will let my sister help me after he's born.

RE: Chicken rice
Wat a coincidence, I t.p. Chix rice for lunch from Boon Tong Kee at Balestier just now, no choice cos no parking except 2 lots right in front of the shop and I needed to user their bathroom. Yes, Like Wee Nam Kee, and also find Loy Kee is drier, I also like one from Bedok Reservoir (Kaki Bukit) hawker centre. I prefer roasted chix, but will usually order black & white but today is exceptional.

my gal is 2 YO.. will go kindy later..

she's in MMI at the moment and its adult accompanied.. by 2.5 she will move the the older gp which is not adult accompanied..

I foresee this lil Gal will cry cry cry like last month trial to send her to CC.

she she can adapt to MMI i will let her stay will 4 YO then transfer her to Nursery

Re: Food
Sigh, my craving harder to settle. Went to Commonwealth Drive two chef eating house for the yummy butter pock ribs (*slurp*) but the owners on holiday.... Have to wait another week before can have my butter pork ribs liao..

Hi Kimberly,
Wow, you are the 25% of MTB who doesn't have MS... so envious

hi Sunsweet,
I think as long as no medical complications, weight gain is ok bah. Mrs Wong was saying she gains about 20kg, then after bb born, through breastfeeding, her six-pack was already showing... And was telling us how breastfeeding days were her happiest cos could eat anything she wants and not gain weight.... Cross my fingers and hope I can be like her =p

Anyone has/had "metallic" taste in their mouth during this preg?

I was wondering why is it almost everything I ate since last sat was sweet... even spaghetti sauce I made tasted sweet! It only hit me just now that, the taste of my saliva was different--metallic..

Lamagier, they went on holiday?!?! I almost went last night! Good thing my friends dun drive, so we settle at Pu Tien Rstn at Vivocity..

Hey, Pu Tien also not bad, if you go, must try their Xing-hua Bee Hoon. They dun hv the butter pork, but their honey glazed pork is also good. Pork belly but not fatty cos everything just melt in your mouth (slurp slurp)

Hi Kimberly
Yah, saw notice the owners away from yesterday till 8th April. Sob sob. Had to settle dinner at the coffee house at the other end. Their butter pork ribs cannot compare.... only oily sauce... no milky-cheeasy powder.... Going back again next week to get my butter pork rib fix

Sunsweet, which part of town are you putting up? You'll like this place.. Oh, yes, Lamagier, I like the cockles too but now cannot eat also... (Sigh)

<font color="0000ff">lamagier</font>
Hey I worked in Commonwealth, do you stay near there thus went there for butter pork ribs? It does sounds very yummy, maybe we can meet there for lunch one of these days!

<font color="0000ff">BabyEthan</font>
Yup I shifted about 1.5 weeks ago. I strongly recommend my movers (Breakthrough) and firm I used for my renovations (Esthetix). They are on time, deliver what they promise, rectify even things they didn't work on, not too expensive and responsive to your calls/emails. When is your shift?

<font color="0000ff">Kimberly</font>
You are so funny - metallic? That does not sounds equivalent to sweet? Anyway, my taste buds still seem pretty okay, hehe...

<font color="0000ff">Confessions of a Shopalcoholic</font>
I am catching this movie tomorrow night with hubby at Vivo City. I love Sophie Kinsella's writing, it is so witty and sharp. Anyone caught it already?

Hi FOZ,
haha, I work on island and stays near Balastier. Was there especialy for butter pork ribs. I'm stuck on island for teh whole day, no transport out for lunch, that's why have to settle for crappy canteen food =(

Hi Kimberly,
You tried the satay prawns or salad prawns? I saw it being recommended on one of those foodie websites... Wanna go try =p. yah, saw that the cockles were recommended too. Ah... all the food talk making me hungry....

e butter ribs is is e sauce is creamy one? like contain milk powder? any idea if similar to e one @ serangoon central?
anyone cn giv mi e addy for e common wealth one? wait dh bk bug him go try lol

lamagier,

I stay at Jurong west..

commonwealth is on my radar ..
hehe once the chef is back will ask my hubby to bring me to eat.. haha

I was telling him i got gd appetite haha..

Jerene, U stay near commonwealth?.. Vivo ah, my new hang out.

Lamagier, which island? Sentosa???

HBB, the butter rib does have milk taste, milk powder may have been used but not creamy. Although it's "Butter" it not oily at all. and yes, the XO beehoon is great.. But the thing about this side of the island is that I have yet to find the nice prawn noodle soup like the one in east coast. and no laksa too.

<font color="0000ff">Kimberly</font>
No lah, I worked in commonwealth but I stay in the east so everyday, travel from east to west. Long drive. Plus jam along ECP/AYE is very unforgiving. Vivo - usually go there only for movies, I love their gold class theatres...

I think <font color="0000ff">Lamagier</font> meant Jurong Island!

Wa.. I can imagine.. It's also funny, when I stayed in East coast area, my hubby always get caught in the morning jam on ECP, then we moved to T. Blangah, he thought to move his office to Upp P.Lebar... But I am starting to like this area, so I proposed to get 1 commonwealth, just next to Commonwealth MRT (under construction now)..

HI Jerene,
I think Confessions of a Shopalcoholic is a good catch! I have not watch it yet, but my Brother told me its really funny! I am going to catch the show during weekend, most prob sat! Do update us ya!

Hmn.. Lamagier, please tell us where you are working?

FOZ
I haven't even start reno
Now looking for reno companies to get quotations. Hopefully can move by early Jun which seems too tight as EDD is 1 Jul and will prob deliver end of Jun since going for csect

Coolkero,
Thanks!! yup, luckily bb okay.. yah, felt scary wen ur bb din move aft a fall..=S

Twinkle,
nope, no one helped.. cos there was oni one small lil girl in sch with me as i'm on the morning shift..luckily there's a strong cupboard beside for me to grab onto..

Sam,
luckily yr bb's fine too..n yah, my doc said that same thing too.. bb normally is safe from bumps, unless we are hit or fell directly onto the tummy..

Loshita,
yah..Thanks!..better now.. i still went back to work as per normal..=X

princess,
haha.. doc keep asking me whether i need mcs.. n i keep saying no.. haha.. but i feel fine =)

Elijah's mummy,
thanks for asking.. yah, better now.. but din rest..cont working..haha

Jamie,
yah.. Doc Ong gave a scan and all was well.. i only gave a huge sigh of relief when i heard the bb's heartbeat loudly on the machine... *phew

Thank You mummies, for all yr concern!.. great to have u girls around! =D

anw, i think bb really trying to b nottie with me.. i couldnt slp the whole nite ytd.. cos aft i reached hm from doc's and wanted to rest in bed, tat playful lil one in me was kicking me thru the whole night!!n refused to let me slp... =S
to think tat he did not move when i jus fell..
i think he's really trying to scare me.. but my hubie thinks i must have scared him ytd tats why he didnt move.. haha..

Thank u again mummies.. and rem mummies, pls be very very careful.. no matter walking or sitting.. =D n as Doc Ong said ytd, somtimes, its good tat we have big fleshy buttocks, at least able to cushion any falls.. =D

Jeslyn,

Do be careful and take care...Was shock to see ur posting when i log in after 2 days.

U seeing doc Ong at night on Wed due to the emergency..I seen him in the morning due to the tailbone problem.
Think,Wed was simply not our day...

Re : Weight Gain

May i knw so far how much did you all gained? i am into my 24th wk, but i only gained less than 3kg so far...i rem i gained quite a lot at this stage for my 1st pregnancy. wonder is it normal??

Hi mummies, been so busy in the daytime that i can only login at such weird hrs. Can't really finished reading all the previous threads

HBB, can understand how annoying the comments and mindset that the older generation has. I'm oso not v close with my inlaws. Thou i think gender is not an issue bcox they seem to be quite oblivious about my pregnancy. Hope u are feeling better nw
You still hav us here in the forum and your gf to talk when u are bored k!

Lamagier, i wouldn't wan to play majulah singapura to my boy next time hahaha....cox it reminds me of work. Hee...would rather play nice nursery rhythms

Jeslyn and Sam, glad both of your bbs are fine and active
It's worrying to read abt wat happened. But glad everything is fine nw!

Talking abt food, sunsweet...i eat chicken rice like u. Also muz cover all the rice with dark sauce....hahaha. I love it
Hav nt really tried it from other parts of sin. So far, i like the one at the old queenstown estate.

Date: 15 April
Time: 6.45pm
Venue: City Hall

Attendee list:
1) Sunsweet
2) hanbaobao
3) kimberly (I have not meat restriction)
4) lamagier (tentative)
5) FOZ
6) Bestberries
7) Babyethan (tentative)
8) Kittyng

Would love to join u all at the gathering. Is also the day when i hav my 7th mth gynae visit
But cannot leave too late cox hav sch the next day.

Talking abt taking pics, we can take a gp photos on the day we gather, then our bbs can see that they hav taken with so many jul frenz even before they are born

hopper
wah! less than 3kg? u r amazing
I guess so long as bb grow well it doesn't matter hw little u put on.

kitty
thanx for encouragement ... past few days im totally uncontactable hee... they can't find mi... so happy!!

yea we must take pic during gathering

hi hopper,
agree with HBB. mummy's weight gain not critical as long as bb growing well

Hi Kimberly &amp; Jamie,
FOZ is right. I'm on Jurong Island ~ no way out during lunch. No place to go eat except company canteen...

Re: butter pork ribs
http://ieatishootipost.sg/2008/11/two-chefs-eating-place-butter-pork-ribs.html
Two Chefs Eating Place
Blk 116 Commonwealth Crescent, #01-129
Singapore 140116
"The Pork Ribs, more accurately Pork Chops were wonderfully tender with a melt in your mouth quality about it. But it was the butter powder which really got me excited that day. You know, it was just one of those head shaking, "I am so excited to have found something so yummy" kind of moments. The taste was similar to that of Cereal prawns, savoury and sweet and really great to eat with rice. We literally picked the plate clean, curry leaves and all. 4.5/5

Ah Hua, the elder brother of the two Chefs explained to me that the butter powder takes around four hours of slow cooking to prepare. Butter is melted over a low fire and slowly combined with a bit of flour, milk and other secret ingredients until it becomes a powder. Actually it was a little bit like someone crumbled savoury butter cookies over the Pork Chops."

Lamagier, i shd hav gone to find you when we went jurong island for learning journey...hee. But i know security there v strict.

Hopper, dun worry. My weight gain oso very slow. If yr gynae nv comment on your weight or bb's weight, think everything shd be fine

hopper
dun need to worriew abt weight. weight is never an issue. i wish, i gain jus like u =p hoping tat i wun put up alot of weight from my last appt when i go for my next visit next wed. cross fingers. or mayb also bcos u lose weight while baby gain? if u are worried jus ask the doctor. but i tink if doctor see tat the baby is growing well, then shouldnt b a problem.
my supervisor lose weight while her baby gain during pregnancy. hence her weight also abit up and down. not that much. dun worriew ok!

Peanut,

My gynae was saying that my pelvi is expanding slowly.Is kind of early,but is normal...
It will get worst or better before the edd.

Right now,what i can do was to just apply the cream given.Can take panadol if the pain get worst.

Hi kitty,
Which part of the island did you go? I guess the island is a pretty big eye opener for people who don't work here. I have yet to explore the whole island.
Haha, you won't be able to come find me =p Won't be able to get past my company's security post.... Even the husband only get the island pass to drive me to company gate... cannot enter the company...

Hi Hopper,
Just to add on... be careful what you wish for... My weight didn't budge till 20weeks. Then suddenly put on 3 kg over the past month... Now I'm scare put on weight too fast.. Imagine 4 more months to go... If every month put on 3 kg... Wah piang, that's an addition of 12kg on top of the 7kg I have gained so far.... I'll trade you my 7kg for your 3kg =p

Ohhh after reading the description of the butter pork ribs, now I wish I could eat them too! Hahahaha...

I think I am a bit like Lamagier - no weight and no baby bump for almost 4 - 5mths, then suddenly the weight and the bump appeared! Also have been experiencing increased appetite. Not as crazy as in the first trimester (when I felt hungry all the time) but in the last couple of weeks, definitely have more appetite.

I've got an appointment tomorrow, hope all goes well and that I didn't put on too much weight! Because I can definitely see the growth on my bump, but dunno how much is fat and how much is baby, hee hee

sheryl

it's a long story. To cut the story short, I sent him to Paya Lebar Convenant Kindy. The teacher has been very negative from the start. Also showed her impatience within the 2 weeks he started there. Said he likes to roam ard and can't sit still. C'mon which kid don't do that at that age, somemore he's the youngest in the class. Then almost everyday complain to me abt him being very active, climb up and down, giving her the 'face' and his toilet training probs. Instead to helping to resolve any of the situations she encountered, she just complain and hope i can do something abt it at home.

When i told her abt this boy in his class who kept stroking his face, she said that my boy doesn't like anyone! That was the last straw. Instead of finding out if that boy has a prob with personal space, she just lashed it out at my boy for not wanting to be paired up with other kids.

So that's it, i'm now searching for a new place for him where the teachers can love him and guide him well.

any mummies with low placenta? my placenta is low i think. People keep comment on me the belly very low. But my gynea did not mention or comment i'm having low placenta. But i can feel some discomfort at my lower part. Any risk for having low placenta.

Hi Sunnyduck
My appointment tmr too =)

Hi Mashy,
Wah, the Paya lebar convenant kindy sounds like old times school where teachers try to make students conform and anyone who doesn't arre labelled trouble-makers. Thot current education system in Singapore already much improved and educators are supposed to recognize that each individual students have own learning patterns &amp; needs. Good that you are looking for a better learning environment for your kid.

curtis
my tummy is also v low,, in fact some friends say look like bb engage kind of low liao...

but its not associated by low placenta. if ur placenta is low ur gynae would have pointed out to u

Curtis,han bao bao,

My tummy also look very low,and when I go to the clinic,even got some mummies siting down there was talking abt my low tummy.
Felt a bit sad...

But gynae never say anything abt the low placenta.Heard that if placenta is still low when about to give birth,then might have to go for c-section,is it true?

sheryl
all my friends say my tummy low also
no need sad lar
so long as bb healthy ok liao
but u might wan to ask gynae why tummy look so low
for some ppl hor may be visual effect like body longer? so look lower? i always forget to ask gynae haha... mayb nxt rnd i will ask him

ya i heard low placenta need to go c sect

did ur gynae say u gt low placenta? i dun tink low placenta tummy will look low thou

My gynae said at the last appointment that my placenta was a bit on the low side, but not low enough to worry about. My bump does not really look low either. He even gave me clearance to travel, saying that the placenta usually moves around anyway. We will worry only if it keeps getting lower especially closer to delivery.

Sherryl, the condition for a very low placenta is placenta previa, when the placenta covers the cervix. If it is positioned there close to delivery, then a c-sect might be likely. More info here http://www.babycenter.com/0_placenta-previa_830.bc

low placenta
there's a chance for the placenta to move up as we progress with the pregnancy. Only when very close to delivery, then may render a c-sect cos higher risk.

Feeling a bit down today. things don't seem to go right since i wake up this morning. Think mood swing also hitting.

hi Curtis,
During the parent craft class, Mrs Wong did show us diagram that at 6 months, bb is still position quite low. Womb will expand by about 1 finger wide taller with every passing week then tummy will look higher.

She did also mention that placenta will move up higher as pregnancy progress. Unless placenta really low, some doctors may not want to alarm MTBs now by commenting on low placenta since placenta wil move up with time

If you are really concerned, maybe can get your gynae to elaborate on it on you go for your next check up

my gynea did not mention to me. But i did my detail scan the report did write low placenta. I think i better ask him during my next visit.

curtis in that case do ask ur gynae ok jus in case
cos low placenta certain exercise cannot do also

babyethan
hugz
dun b moody yea
vent n rant here if u need =)