(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Peanut
Yup, agree with u that getting good maid is really depending on luck! I'm grateful to have a mom who could help to monitor the maid @home. Besides, will also put a cam @baby's room & monitor online from office. It's a one-time cost at about $200plus. Hubby bought the cam from US & just install. Can just go to the website & view online. I think it's quite worth! We're going to buy another one & install @living room as well. Last but not least, we're going to tell the maid when she came to our house, that we have cameras installed even before she joined. At least she knows & hopefully could behave.

Jeslyn
Mt A's rooms r definitely bigger than TMC! Even the 4-bedded looks very cosy! I'm taking the single room as really wanna enjoy this pregnancy, in case I'm not going to have 2nd baby ;p

MrsC, I also experienced the abdomen pain... mine is under the bump, on the left side near the groin (like when you slide your hand under your bump towards your pubic area). It only comes when I have been walking for too long. Mentioned it to the doc at my checkup yesterday and he said it's the uterus ligaments stretching (I think called round ligament pain?), quite common at this stage of pregnancy. As long as it goes away after some rest, it should be okay.

Checkup shows baby is 800g at 24wks and he was scratching his nose yesterday! Got quite a good shot of his profile, he definitely has my hubby's forehead, v clear...

Jeslyn - I'm planning to opt for the single bedder at KKH. Haven't gone for any tour yet but I've seen the single bedder there when my friend delivered so it looks fine to me. I prefer quiet and private surroundings, esp if I am feeling uncomfortable and in pain! The privacy is quite impt for me and hubby, and it is also the final lap in this pregnancy journey for us, so we're willing to pay more for it.

sunnyduck
Envy u! I couldn't get a good shot of my bb gal yesterday. She covered her face with one of her hands
In fact, the doctor gave me the most abstract shot I've ever had during this pregnancy! Bb is weighing about 900g @26wks & doctor said it's normal as in their 28wks, it'll be around 1kg.

Lamagier, i missed the last trip with the sch cox the vacancies were filled and i was not sec4 form, so not given the priority
My colleague managed to go but i heard noone was allowed to alight fr the bus while on the island. Dun think they explore much too...

Mashy, glad everything is well for you, your bb & your boy now. Rest well and take gd care k

HBB, so is your EDD pushed earlier again based on the growth of yr bb?

like to check whether all of u will be using breastpump?

if anyone of u had experienced using medela swing n/or mini-electric, may i know which is better?

my friends bought mini-electric...tot of buyg swing cos the salesperson claims that it takes a shorter time to pump the milk n the motor is stronger...

any advice pls?

hi mrsc

yes, i experienced what u had also...mine goes away after i sat down...think shld be fine...

hi sunnyduck

the single bed in kkh is v comfortable i feel...i stayed there during my ops early of this year...the ward that i stayed in is v new ... there is a flat screen tv also...feels like stayg in a hotel haha

which gynae is yrs at kk? during the scan, we will knw the wgt of bb? my gynae prof t nvr mentioned abt the wgt b4...

hi hbb

wow, so u will c yr bb sooner than expected! congrats!

Hi Mummies who are taking the Mt A childbirth class, I am taking the April weekend sat classes. The 1st class is on weekday, last wed on 1st April, which talks abt Nutruition. I am so glad that my husband came with me cos he is the only one who listens to the lecture, I kept drifting off, and kept talking to him till he really cant take it and ask me "shut my mouth"... There are some curry puffs and milo snacks but i personally finds the curry puff abit too spicy.. so mummies its good to get some snacks in case u got hungry if u dun like curry puffs.

Hi Sunnyduck,
Am so happy for you, your baby is growing really well, 800g at 24weeks sounds good, my baby only 500g at 23weeks, doc says i still falls within the normal range of 65percentile so quite average! But I am so worried!! How to make my baby bigger? I have tried eating more, so now put on abt 6.5kg at 24 weeks!! But why bb still not growing faster?? I am still so concern over baby growth..

MrsC,
i see.. i'm taking the earlier one from 1.30 to 3.30 slot.. huh..wad a waste, if not i'll be in the same class as u..=(

LS,
yah, even the 4 bedded seems nice.. i oso wan a single bedded room leh!!.. but hubie says its abt 600 bucks more.. =S

Sunnyduck,
so good.. i'm still stretching my neck as long as it can be to wait till the 30th April to try seeing bb's face..cos he refused to let us see the other time.. =( i see, i haven been to KKH, but shud be okay ba i guess? i guess a few wld really prefer single bedder den double bedder..

Jamie,
thanks for yr feedback on the childbirth class! =)...den did u try asking Doc wad can u do to help increase the bb's weight? don't worry so much yah, god will help u thru these.. =)

kitty/moo
he did not say the edd is when now.. but he gave me a later number of weeks.. so i also confuse haaa bt im prepared tat bb might come mid june
better b prepared than nvr rite haha

sunnyduck
yes i am tinking of taking the 1 bedder in KKH too... since i will wan my dh to stay w me hehe..
haven go for hosp tour yet thou.. mayb nxt visit i will enquire bout it

Thalassemia
Hi rem that day we were discussing on this topic, I thought i did this test and indeed I did. Thus just for information, for Douglas Ong patients, our blood test includes testing for the Thalassemia condition. Hmn, which is good, at least we know if we are affected or not!

Hi Jeslyn, fyi, how much you can deduct from medisave, u can go to MT A website and they will have a chart to show u too. I have many colleages, friends who went to MT A for birth delivery and all of them advised me to take 1 bedder, pay S$70 for ur husband to stay over, they told me that the support ur husband give u tat day will be worth the money u are paying and also the privacy u get when the nurse teaches you how to do the lactation etc, i am still considering, most prob will take 1 bedder.. My frend who just gave birth recently told me tat, u must pay abt S$1050 cash extra if u want epidural, assisted birth and husband to stay over.

Okie, here is the website for the medisave u can claim for reference.
http://www.mtalvernia-hospital.org/hbs_maternity.html

HBB, now our gynae no longer tells us our EDD already isit? Cox i hope my boy dun arrive too early as i promised to attend my gd friend's wedding. I already can't be her jiemei...muz go for wedding din.

Moo, my gynae oso same. Nv tell me my bb's weight. Next visit, i muz rem to ask her

HBB,
I think you made a good choice to take the KKH one bedder, cos it is such a luxury! Its so huge and nice, and the bed for husbands is also very comfy!! I used to work in hospitals so know quite abit about them, plus many of my ex-colleagues delivers there.. so I got to go to KKH to visit them!

But personally, I prefer MT Alvernia cos its a catholic hosp and imptly its nearer to my place. I take much longer to go KKH..

kitty i would tink some gynae still do tell the edd bah?but as usual lar my gynae is man of few words haaa
and i din realy get too bothered by the edd also becos i already prepared to give birth earlier haha (mayb i too eager to see baby haha)

jamie
actualy i will love to stay in Mt A too i quite like the environment hehe.. and i do hear the nurses/sisters thr r v friiendly n nice.. but cos i couldnt find a gynae in pte hosp i trust so end up I went to KKH.
u mean thr is bed for hubby? i tot is like sofa or couch leh hahaa
need to pay extra rite?
kkh is not near to me manz.. but near to my parents hse.. so partly for their convenience i choose kkh as the last time my sis delivered in TMC and my parents got prob gg thr themselves end up alwasy reach thr v late ..

fr my hse i need to go via tpe/cte to go so if jam thats it! HAHAAA

agree w jamie

hbb,
kkh a ward has no bed for hubby...is just a couch but i think the size is ok 4 a guy...

kitty,
dun noe whether it is bcos they cant detect using their equip? hmm..

Dear mothers or mothers-to-be, if you are looking for an experienced nanny, feel free to contact my mom by sending me a personal message.

My mom has a lot of experience taking care of children as well as newborn. willing to take care for day and night.

Jamie,
thanks for yr information!! and yah lor, im really keen to take the single bedder.. will try to psycho my hubbie..*heh heh
and i agree with u as its the only catholic hospital in SG if im not wrong.. i personally like the ward named "Our Lady's Ward".. so nice..

Sherryl,
yah.. u call them up at 63476636/63476647 den tell them u are interested in the maternity tour.. they have weekdays at 2pm and weekends at 10am and 12pm... they start quite on time.. bring u round the delivery ward, and all the different wards in Mt A and also show u the different classes of rooms there..=)

Moo,
I'm seeing Dr Wee HY at KKH. I didn't specifically ask him for the weight of the baby, he measured the diameter of the baby's abdomen during the routine ultrasound and was able to estimate the weight at 800g. Said it's good growth etc. Maybe at your next appointment, ask your doc during the scan to estimate the baby's weight.

Jamie,
Don't stress too much about baby's weight, I read one of the baby books that said at this time, they are putting on weight rapidly from week to week. One baby may gain quickly at first, then not really put on much during the last month, whereas another baby may quickly catch up during the last couple of months. As long as doctor says it's healthy, try not to worry too much. From my pre-pregnancy weight till now, I think I have also gained about 6kg.

any1 bought the diaper fr gmarket?
any1 bought the drypers? was trying to buy but realise they got this additonal price cal option price end up per pack of diaper is so ex.. wonder if im rite anot
any1 can enlighten me pls? thanx

HBB, i oso wanna see how my bb looks. But i'm hoping that he arrives in early jul and not jun. Hee....but sometimes hard to say lah.

Btw, how is mrs wong's lesson this wk? I totally missed this wk's lesson due to my busy schedule. I wonder whether they will allow me to revisit this lesson next mth. Hmmm...will call and check tmr.

kitty this week lesson is quite good (my lesson #3)
teaches the hubby more actualy on how to hold us during labour n etc...
too bad dh wasnt thr!!!!!!

nope i went alone.... cos my gf still in her 1st tri.. she a bit pantang bout 1st tri so i din dare ask her go w mi hehe

wah.... just 2 days away sleeping off my mood swings and tiredness and i see so many posts!!!!

HBB

think that the low tummy is like part of our make up leh.... not about the low placenta....

re: diapers

went to check the webby site and think its more exp leh....

i got my diapers from mothercare.... :p think the nb and s packs (huggies ultra) going for 7.2/pack plus i got the mothercare card do got additional 10%.... :p price is similar to the taka baby fair...

:p also i wont use drypers leh... especially at night... coz its not Velcro tape like leh but like scotch tape leh... so when you want to change diapers very noisy and tend to give baby a shock leh

heheh... another brand to try out is pampers or mamy poko... these are more exp but they use velcro tape like materials

hi hbb

my friend uses petpet diapers ... u may want to research on it...

the room gets v cold as the nite passes...so is gd tht u get yr hubby an extra sweater to keep in e ward just in case...the aircon duct is just below the couch...or maybe softbed is a better word...

btw, r u gettg breastpumps? i m thinkg of gettg medela brand...considering swing or mini-electric...any recommendation?

hi sunnyduck

i will check w my gynae during my nxt visit. hope he will estimate...btw, will u be usg breastpump?cos i am thinkg of which model to buy ...headache..

elijah mummy
ya i dont think low looking tummy is due to low placenta..

moo
yes i intend to use either dryper or pet pet day use
nite time might use pampers or mamy poko

Hi all, passed by Mothercare at Plaza Sin today and saw that they are having sales. Selected items 50% off. Not store wide though.

Jamie
Try drink maternal milk powder and also fresh milk.. It helps in my case as when im in my 26 weeks baby is over 1kg... Friends have also experienced that with maternal milk powder it does boost up the weight of baby.. but i feel with your baby weight still ok at 23 weeks.. no worries so long gynae say its fine..

jeslyn
how was your tingkat services?? food good???

Hi Jamie,
Dun worry. My bb is 584 grams at 24 weeks, considered slightly below the 50 percentile. Doc says bb ok and very active.

I was initially very worried during the 20weeks detailed scan cos bb only about 250g when almost all bb here are above 300g. Took durian 3 times in the past month and mummy's milk quite a number of times. BB weight went up 2.3 times in a month, so I'm already satisfied.

Hi MrsC,
Same here. Experiencing a lot of stomach discomfort on and off, but not really caused by walking too fast or too much. Realized I get more pains if bb is curled up at lower abs area, especially during sleeping time. Sometimes even sharp pains in the lower back. Think either bad sleeping posture or bb position in awkward position. Only can rub rub tummy and hope bb will shift to another position

Hi Yan and Lamgaier,
Thanks for sharing your experience and advise, it really makes me feel a little better.. guess, we can all understand how worrying mothers can get over baby's weight. I have been drinking lotsa fresh milk infact, thats why I feel my weight gain is so dramatic. haha, as for milk powder, I have not tried that yet, will definitely so do starting today!

Mrs C and Lamagier,
Talking about stomach discomfort, I am just starting to feel it over the last weekend, its definitely at my lower left and right adominal so most prob its just some stretching.. Hopefully the discomfort will go away soon for good all of us! "keeping fingers cross"

Jamie,

some food that many mums believe will put on weight for baby..

1) Beef
2) Durains
3) materal milk

my gyne so far only measure diameter of BB's head and not tell me abt the weight.

I will have to remember to ask her during my next visit.

darn tired today cos my #1 woke up at 4am.. must have some weird dreams thus refuse to go back to sleep without another feed of milk..

Hi Jamie,
Yah, i was "whacking" fresh milk and mummy's milk powder during my 2nd month... Weight shot up 2-3kg in a month. Got a shock cos not supposed to put on so much weight in first trimester.

Now I only drink milk powder & fresh milk every other day, and durians at most once a week ..... cos seems like more of the fats goes to me than baby... =p Trying to make sure bb has the essential nutrients by eating balanced meals and taking all my supplements.

I read bb then to put on fats & weights in 3rd trimesters. Maybe our bb weight will suddenly shot up exponentially in the next few months =p. Cross my fingers

lamagier,

gheees durain once a week.. soooo nice...

where got good durain now? keke

i want my "101", "ang hea", and "mao shan wang".. hahahah

Good morning, mommies! How was your weekend?
I attended my first aqua fitness class at KKH and had a lot of fun, it was a tad short (45 mins) in my opinion. Very similar to aerobics on land and we use weights and some other foam stuff for balance. Also caught the play <font color="119911">Little Green Frog</font> at esplanade with my daughter and niece, it was pretty good.

Back to work now, ttyl. Hope you guys have a wonderful week ahead!

Good morning girls, I hope I did no miss much since last Friday.. I almost slept my whole weekend away, anyone like me?

Experience mommies, do we have to standby the maternity sanitary napkins for post delivery? About how many should we prepare? Are those night-use napkins good enough?

Kimberly,

hospital should be providing you 1 pkt of napkin,
e.g. KKH will provide the loop type which i find it easier for the nurse to help you with intially

thereafter i bought the extra long adhesive ones for the intially week at home. then the regular ones for the rest of the days till it stops.

not necessary to get those specially for maternity kind.. i find them too bulky.. keke

Sunsweet, ya, I think if I am expecting the 2nd or 3rd, then I wont hv such luxury.. Thanks for the tips, the extra long type are those night use type right?

I should still have some at home, now another task is to check my stock then go shopping..

yah those extra long night type , just in case it gets heavy.

also disposable undies too.

actaully the disposable are also good for use during the post natal massage loh.. cos confirm will be stained by the jamu herbs..

I have been craving ice cream for the last few days, which is really strange because I have not really eaten much sweet things since the beginning of the first trimester. Maybe the body/baby's way of making me consume more fat and calcium? After all this is when the baby starts putting on baby fat and developing bone mass...

Moo,
I bought the Medela Swing to use as my breastpump. As I am going to be a SAHM at least for the first 6mths, I hope to be able to latch baby on most of the time during that period. The pump will be used for me to relieve engorgement or to store expressed milk for times when I might be out or away, and I like that it's more portable for me to carry along if I need to keep up with the pumping/feeding schedule when I'm outside. The PIS dual pump is faster, but bulkier, a bit difficult for me to carry all over the place along with baby, baby's barang and everything else.

Hi sunsweet,
I stay near balastier, So I just head over to the durian stall there for my "mao shan wang" durian fix =p it's situated next to a Newton circle style food court. I buy those conveniently packed in styrofoam box cos too lazy to carry the extra weight of the husk home.... Thick, sweet and dark yellow flesh, small seeds... Yum yum... very heaty though

Not sure where else have good durian though....

hi Sunsweet,
Durian fix time =)

I tried to buy from Seng Siong &amp; Vivocity vivomart. their durians cannot make it....

Sanitary Pads
I recommend Pureen brand. It's very absorbent. Liked it very much when having #1. As the lochia will be much more, i find the thickness n length good enuf to avoid stains. Also during the 1st month, i recommend disposable panties. Dont' hv to worry abt washing.

BabyEthan, do they comes with wings? I normally dun hv prob with leaking from front or back when I hv my mensus, but somehow, it always flow out from the sides. Are disposable panties comfy? abit too much material on front and back right? About how many should I standby?

I am now using this thing call BabyPlus, my hubby bought when we went to the "nuturing your child" talk on Sat at KKH.. I can feel Yoda wiggling inside..