(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi Kimberly & Jamie,
I didn't really had much mood swings in the first half of pregnancy.. too sick and bothered by MS. haha, guess the husband had it easy. had to take care of sick wife rather than an irate wife.

I'm crossing my fingers and hope it's not pre-natal blues or anything.

I tried reading Enid blyton's book to bb last nite. Got the husband to read too. Haha, feeling rather silly to be reading aloud. Never done any reading aloud since secondary school =p Hopefully bb will appreciate...

Hi kitty,
I was just thinking, if your bb get so used to Majula Singapura, does that means next time have to use the national anthem as your bb's lullaby?

The only time i got mood swing is to my boss.. :p So far he's taking it fine as i have warn him earlier in my pregnancy that i will have mood swings.

Lamagier, sorry evn if you r not Christian I must say this to you: Prenatal blue? NOT IN JESUS MIGHTY NAME!!!

Call me superstitious, I do this to everything negativity.. I used to have so much thoughts about losing Yoda until I was so scared even when sitting on my throne (my gf's aunt lost her bb at 5mth preg cos bb came out when she was pooping).. My friends from church will always rebuke the thoughts when I relate to them about my worries..

So when my MIL told me I will have swollen feet, I rebuke that too!

If you are Christian, you can buy this book call "Supernatural Childbirth" by Jackie Mize, Yoda & I read the prayer almost every night. It's small but mighty book that cover from Pre-pregnancy to after delivery.

Hi MrsC,
Haha, I must tell this to my boss too. He thinks there only exist postnatal blues. In my first trimester kept telling me to not got frustrated else will have blues after childbirth =p Must go educate him.

Hi Kimberly,
I'm not Christian. Kinda free thinker leaning towards buddhism. I'll try to find the book you recommend. You have any idea if it's available in the national lib?

Lamagier, I was free thinker before, and I challenge all religion until I found my answer in this Church and it changed my life.

You can try looking under religion in the lib, but may not be avail.. My church got mine from our church bookstore. Every time I know someone who experiences complication with pregnancy, I will send it as a gift, then when I sent out my last copy, it will be out of stock. I am still waiting for my new order for my SIL and another for standby..

Re: Mood Swings

Hi Mummies, I also have my mood swings too and get affected and sad easily. Argued with hubby yesterday coz of my #1. Have cooled down a bit since, but havent talk to him today yet.

kimberly, your hubby so cute with his comments. actually with a gap of 6 years, i was happy with my #1 and very close to her because i am a SAHM, she is my companion and i'm always there for her. i got back my 8 hours of beauty sleep since she was 3 years old when she sleep thru the nite and she quit bottles when she was 4 years old (her class teacher ask the kids to throw away their bottles cos they are old enough to drink from glass, but it's tough to drink from glass so i gave her fresh milk and she love it). we also got the chance to go for a month vacation to united states last year. yes with a bigger gap, she understand more and probably can help out later, and plus she is going primary one next year, so i'll have more time with the baby. but all these are not planned, it just happen that way, hehehe. i'm not looking forward to sleepless nites, and taking turn with my hubby to carry while eating in restaurant (we have no helper), to me the first year is most challenging cos i dun like to go out (more like jail to me). the disadvantage of such a big gap is that they cant play with each other, my #1 will be the supervisor.

Hi Sheryl,
Hope you and hubby will be ok when get home tonite. Hummm, I don't think I have quarreled that fierce with my husband after I have gotten pregnant, but did have a few strong arguments so far, most of the time wouild be something he did just rubbed me off the wrong way....

HI Kimeberly and Lamagier,
My cousin loan me that book too, Supernatural Birth though I have not read it yet, I heard its a excellent book for all mothers to be to read!
So Lamagier, u can consider reading it. No harm!

Hi Mrs C,
Your boss is so nice, still can accept that you may have moodswings.. haha, nice guy ya!

Sheryl,
Cool down ok, before you know it, you wont remember what did the both of you argued about. Take things easy for now ok and dun get mad cos its bad for the baby..

Don worry be happy... sometimes my mood swings too.. also very easily get sad.. or emotional.. like to cry.. sometimes cry at night, and make my eyes become two big eggs in the next morning.. sometimes will get angry of little tiny things my hubby do.. but he is very patient with me.. always will comfort me when i am not happy... i even think of myself getting depression.. hahahaha.... later he will be going to another county for working.. will be lonely for a week i guess... maybe this week will be the hardest week to go... later i will be going to see doc.. havent reach there.. already feel nervous.. cant imagine wat my pressure will be when reaching hospital...

i have bad mood swings lately..mostly is sad mood.. can cry n cry .. duno is bcos my dh not ard or wat.. sigh... so scare affect bb manz

Hi Lamagier and Jamie,

I was so mad yesterday that I hid myself in the toilet. Had a super long bath n teared a bit while I was bathing. I know its not gd for bb. I am also trying to be happy for bb sake.

I am also stressed up coz of my #1. He is throwing so much more tantrums than before I was preggie. He is doing all these coz of bb. He was like this when I was first pregnant, thn things got better... But things gt out of hand these 2 days. I just argued with my mum coz of #1 again.

Coolkero, just curious whether your #1 is also seeking some kind of attention from you since you are now preggie? My boy has always been e centre of attraction since birth till now... He is pampered by all in both families. Though he loves mei mei a lot, he seems to be getting naughtier and doing things which I dont forsee or imagine just to get our attention. Sigh!

HBB, are you ok? is your DH out of town for business trip? Why dont you spend more time with your family and friends? Dont stay at home alone ya....

sheryl, about mood swing, i also experience leh, but mine is towards my daughter cos i face her more than my hubby. i also feel my patience running low, feeling gulity sometime wondering why i'm making such a big fuss over small matter. sigh, just wanted to feel appreciated for wat we do sometimes.

and yes there was a time when she was very sticky after the chinese new year, everyone say it's because of the pregnancy. she just refuse to go to every class, she is better now though. other than that, sometime she seems eager looking forward to see baby in july, but other time she seems to be jealous why i'm cleaning up her old toys and said she still want to play with them, hehehehehe.

lamagier
From about 3wks ago, I started to feel sad, worried & depressed for nothing! It comes & goes in very short time like maybe 10-15mins thru'out whole day. Initially only striked at night time. Now seems like can affect me anytime. Just kinda weird as I really dun have "serious" prob to worry about but just feel very "down" for nothing. I tot I was the only one or maybe something bad gonna happens (*choy choy*) until I read your post today
At least, I'm not alone!!!

I have the following items for sale. Please visit and for bulk purchases i can give you discounts and freebies! I will deliver to your house if it's near to Bedok and Jurong.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/gracecmx/

Also, i have a almost brand new Medela Swing to let go at $460. It comes with the cooler bag and 4 storage bottles, carry bag, additional storage bottles, valves and membranes. I'm hand expressing due to low supply and this is why i am letting it go. I've only used it 3 or 4 times. Bought it Mid-March.

Grace

sheryl
ya my dh is out of town for 2 weeks
i am actualy used to it since he is nt ard often
but i guess now is my hormones at work

i am refusing to go bk to my parents house cos of the gender issue
all refuse to accept that bb is girl!! can argue w mi that i gt pointy tummy so MUST B a boy lar cannot b girl!!! i dun like it when they show so obviously the prefer boys when its not even their business!!! thou verbally they say girl also ok.. but why insist pointy tummy is boy? haiz
and my dh also ask mi not to go back cos he knows i been upsetted by them badly

i am gg out w friends more.. jus tat when nite time comes.. the hormones at work again!!
and past few nites i been having frustrated sleep
i been scolding n throwing tantrum in my sleep.. onli sleep 30 mins wake up for a few hours!! i am gg crazy bout my sleep disorder manz

Re: Mood swing
Agree with Enli, I realize I get emotional easily esp whn watching pregnancy/ childbirth program. My tears just flow when I was watching the show on Quintuplets (even as I type now)cos the couple lost 2 bbs before they conceived their quins.. I thot hubby didn't knw cos he was on the horizontal side of the L shape couch and only see my back, but he stretched his hand to wipe off my tears. (now I want cry..)

I realized support (from our partner) is very important and I truly admire Princess.

Coolkero, how old are you this year? My MIL started early (she was only 24 when she had my hubby) so she can afford to have the 6yrs gap, plus also she had difficulties conceiving after my hubby.. and perhaps because my hubby grew up playing all by himself, he tends to bottle everything and not very good at sharing (he is oldest and never had any hand-me-downs, and my MIL kept almost all of his everything, toys, high-chair, 1st pair of shoes, a traditional German baby overall etc.. I have no doubt if I dig further into the attic, I can find more of his bb clothes too!!)

She just gave me the alphabet scroll she sew for my hubby for Yoda.. so you can imagine when my SIL was born, she may have gotten everything new for her too..

HBB,
cn really imagine how u r being treated at your parents...sigh! does it really matter even though is a girl.ok, tink u better dont go back there.i will also feel worse if i am you.

when is yr hubby coming back?

relax ya., try to do something that will make u feel happier. cheer up! if u nd somewhere to vent your fustration or unhappiness, you can always do it in this forum. i am sure e mummies here will be willing to listen to u.

HBB, wow, don't stress yourself la.. must think for bb.. They just dunno who some ppl like girls but can't get (like me and another cousins who had post natal after 2nd bb boy)

Perhaps you make a glass of warm milk before bed time, have always heard ppl sleep better after that but can't try cos Lactos Intolerant.. Or a cup of Camomile tea.. Worse to worse, (I think occasionally we can right?) spray your pillow with Lavender mist. (If you know of anyone foing USA, get the Lavender Camomile, smells better)

MTBs whose hubby are out of town, perhaps we could go for tea some of these days? of course those whose hubbies are in town are welcome to join too! ;P

sheryl
i tell u my mum is most extreme one

fr the beginning i already told them is a irl(thou we tot is a boy) but i say girl cos i dun wan to disappoint them lor.
then when finaly confirm girl liao... she still dun believe.. refuse to call her girl.. onli say baby!!
then dad was saying boy/girl also nvm... but who knows 2 nites ago he call mi to chat then briefly mention bout my girl then he said' ur tummy so pointed..shld b boy.. everyone also tink shld b boy... cant b girl'

1st he act so neutral and now tell mi shld b boy! gosh... anyway my sis gt a boy liao mah.. so now gt a girl balance out for them shld b happy rite... boy also not follow their surname.. need to b so extreme meh? tsk...

my hubby onli bk in another 8 days
meanwhile my gf is asking me to go to BKK w her for 2 days 1 nite cos she is thr to work and she say i can go shopping.. i am still considering thou dh say he is fine w mi going... bt cos i b shopping alone.. i duno is it safe thr now.. if no preggy i sure agree to go liao.. LOL

HBB
Re: Gender
Wahhh.. must be hard on u.. just be patient ok? I think once bb is out, they'll equally love her when they see her..

Re: Breast pump
I'm still torn between Medela PIS & Medela Mini Electric Plus, can u share why u choose Medela PIS? I'm thinking to ask Mrs Wong's opinion but my class will only start on 28 Apr & hubby wanna buy few things from amazon so dun really wanna wait til end of this mth.

HBB, take it easy, no point arguing about wat they believe, maybe if u show them the ultrascan they might stop and accept the fact. i also have pointy tummy with my #1 who is a girl, and now kinda rounded with #2 who is a boy.

kimberly, i'll be 35 this year, i got married at 25 and gave birth #1 when i was 29. hehehehe, so must close factory after this, old already!!!

kimberly
my mum realy zhong nan qing nu one
if u gt a boy n bring to her hse.. ur boy is free to do anythg and everythg thr!! and she will say the boy is very guai!!!! very extreme!!!
but if its girl...cry abit nia she will say cry baby!!!!!

now i cant drink milk cos seems like suddenly my system cant digest milk..mke i feel v sick.. and lavendar giv mi headache.. so i try to listen to music... but hor when cant sleep means cant sleep one... i haven got decent nite of sleep since day 1 of pregnancy!
and funny thg is bb guai guai sleeping or not moving at nite... is mi moving ard waking her up haha
mayb cos every nite i tell her is nite time.. must go to sleep so she dun disturb me...

ya we shld come out for tea haa

u r east sider??

coolkero
ya i dun even wan to argue w them manz
cos they onli believe in old wive tale
the onli way is to dun go n see them off my hp all the way dun accept pone calls!!!!

oh ya the last rnd mum came to my pl..she was digging thru my drawers of bb clothes.. cos i gt alot of hand me downs fr friends who happen to hav boy baby.. and she say i bluff her!! say i gt so many boy stuff n yet say i got girl
pengz!!!!!

HBB, it must be really frustrating when your parents keep contradicting you. You already love this child no matter what the gender is, so that's the most important thing, the old folks will think whatever they want to think, try not to let them get you down.

I have a Singaporean friend who is living/working in BKK now. He says the situation is being blown up by the media, there are no problems at all in the tourist areas/shopping malls. Life is going on for everyone as per normal, unless they are involved in the protests.

sunnyduck
ya i love this child iregardless of gender
afterall we try realy hard for this child... (my family din know) they always tot we dun wan a child n i got scolded by mum many times rgd tis..
she keep telling others (right in front of my face) that i onli wan to have FUN N FREEDOM and refuse a child... when actualy both my dh and i got fertility problem
say till i very bad like tat u know
then it din help tat my sis got preggy the same mth she got married!
we fell out w each other cos of this issue many times
now that i finaly got preggy before i go for IVF... her other nonsense comes again!!

with rgds to BKK.. i am jus worried if i shop or travel alone on mtr will it b dangerous? cos w a tummy i cant fight robbers off hahaa
if no pregg i already pack my bag n go haha

HBB, I travel to BKK quite often by myself (including a trip in the first trimester!) and I have never felt as though I was going to be robbed or even thought about what to do if that occurred, heh. If you have a good idea and familiarity about where you want to shop or explore, I don't think it should be a problem. Think robbers only target those 'lost tourists' who look blur blur and won't fight back... :p

sunnyduck
realy?
okok thanx for the assurance
my gf also told mi is quite safe as the pl she stay is in central also... but i haven been thr for the longest time and i better check it out to b safe..
since nw w a bugger in tummy haha

Hi sheryl & coolkero,
Didn't realize that it would be so problematic trying to get #1 to get used to the idea of having a new addition to the family.....

Hi LS,
I guess our mood swings alike....Really come in waves. Last evening back pain, round ligaments were hurting really badly, just felt sorry for myself and feel like crying.

Hi HBB & Enli,
Hope you both are ok when hubby away. Don't worry, can always vent out frustration here.

Hi HBB,
Wah, your parents very funny. I thot it's usually in-laws who will be more concern if bb if male or female. When bb born then now denying bb gender liao. Your mother funny. Don't trust modern technology.... She herself also female, how come got prejudice against female bb?

Re: Camomile tea & raspberry tea
Mrs Wong did mention got one breast feeding mother consulted her about "rotting" nipple. Turned out the mother was taking 5-6 cups of camomile tea a day, so was causing body to not be able to heal as fast, so sore, crack nipple couldn't heal. SO best not to drink too much camomile tea.

And she said to not take raspberry tea ~ cos there's hype going around the internet that raspberry tea is good for pregnant ladies. Said raspberry tea improve blood circulation, will cause bleeding problem during childbirth.

Hi HBB,
I think you are a strong lady, seems like you have been through alot before this pregnancy. It would be wonderful if your parents are more understanidng.. Sigh... Sometimes also dunno why family members are like that, perhaps they are overly concern for you?

At least you got preggy before you go IVF, heard it is not an easy process!

HBB, staying in the Central area should be safe, plus it's more convenient for you to return to the hotel during the day if you want to rest. Trust your instinct lah - if you feel nervous about the trip, then don't go.

Coolkero, wow u blessed! Dun worry, I am much older than you and just preg #1.. and since it's singleton, I have to try again for my girl girl in 2 yrs time.

HBB, I was Easterner but moved since 2007.. Occasionally still go back for Prawn Noodles, Laksa (now preg, cannot eat anymore).. U conceived naturally before IVF? wow! so wonderful.. I totally understand how you feel about your bb, cos we tried very hard for Yoda too.. but I was never ready to settle down until I looked at my hubby holding his cousin's boy at his 35 yrs old then it hit me that he is very ready to be daddy (Coolkero, told you he bottled things up right?). Then we tried and every month I see red color ink (failed) and the more failure I experienced, the more desperate..

My mum used to be biased against girls too, but now she has all the daughters that dot on her, but son just simply follow gf, so she already "learn" her lesson..

Thank God my mom never rush us to be pregnant, one colleague told me her MIL got depression cos she kept wanting a grandchild. (so pressured, how o conceive right?)

lamagier
i am mre or less ok
at least tis trip my dh is contactable via pone or sms... other time when he is away... anythg i cant call or sms him at all until he come bk.. if emergency i gotto call his colleagues(my friends)
jus hope those depressive thg dun come near mi... and luckily i got gfs who can acc mi on diff days else i jus stay at home n yak w u all here... hehe

btw my n laws do not know im preggy HAHAHAAA
my mum juslove boys lor mayb cos my grandma gave her pressure on boys too.. and my mum hav 3 girls finaly got 1 boy.. which is my late bro but he is a celebral palsy child who later on pass away due to pnuenomia when he was 6. so mayb she wan a boy too much that it is at our expense!!

the raspberry tea.. dun drink it whn near due shld b ok. just like chicken essence..try not to drink it before u go hosp for labour.

jamie
i dun tink its a matter of concern manz cos he way she do thg realy hurt me and give mi no pride
!!!
lucky im the kind who can survive w/o my family

the initial part of marriage i tink i got 3 suspected m/c.. then aft tat no news liao.. then later on went to gynae for check up n etc... kenna suck alot of money fr him also... then dh also gt his fertility issue.. and the final straw was i got both my tubes block!!!! hw to conceive like tat? so my baby is realy consider a miracle baby cos she was conceived immediately aft i went to do HSG test which we suspect it help to unblock the tube abit and the egg managed to wriggle its way out of the tube n meet the spermies... LOL...

sunnyduck
actualy im a very garang person haaa
in europe i travel alone also
jus tat BKK is not my turf so i better ask more ..but i tink more or less im going tats it!! haha i will ask u more bout BKK via pm ok? haha

kimberly
laksa cant eat? why not? cos scare of jaundice?
i ate alot durign 1st tri cos that is the few food i can eat bk then haha

yes i concevied naturaly before IVF... thanx heaven!!!

HBB
Re: Gender
Wahhh.. must be hard on u.. just be patient ok? I think once bb is out, they'll equally love her when they see her..

Re: Breast pump
I'm still torn between Medela PIS & Medela Mini Electric Plus, can u share why u choose Medela PIS? I'm thinking to ask Mrs Wong's opinion but my class will only start on 28 Apr & hubby wanna buy few things from amazon so dun really wanna wait til end of this mth.

Lamagier, thanks for info, I have to cut down on my camomile every Sunday liao.

Jamie,
Depends on which hospital for IVF treatment and body condition, it's definitely rocky road and need lots of support, worse is ppl here are not open minded to IVF or assisted pregnancy.

Yoda is IVF bb, and sadly, some ppl asked if the prob is with me or hubby when they learn about it. So I have to educate them la cos doc can't conclude our problem, only suspect it's possible that the shell of my eggs gets tougher as I aged.

HBB, I really think you are very blessed and think your mom should treasure this grandkid, cos if she had to (like my mom) see her girl go thru jab after jab just to be preg, she'll give thanks.

LS
fat hope on equal love
then again hor.. i dun tink my girl will lack of their love if they dun lor... in fact i will prefer they dun love her so much else they will do funny thg to her lilke wat my mum did to my nephew haha
i tink so long as daddy mummy love... the child is happy.. its realy enuff liao
afterall there are so many other ppl who will love her too

i choose PIS bcos i heard the electric plus will lose the suction power after some times and also is a bit noisy.
plus PIS is more powerful as i mention earlier
so for those who realy gt prob w milk supply PIS actualy helps alot.

i tink if buy fr amazon... the PIS is more worth it cos the saving for mini eletrci plus is not much i tink

kimberly
wow urs is ivf baby? amazing! ivf is nvr easy... so many ppl ard me had failed cycle!!!!
most of the time when ppl heard of ivf they tink is the woman who have prob!!!
haiz

yes i agreed im v bless w this child and so i realy talk to her alot alot alot telling her hw much a miracle she is to our life and hw we will treasure her n make sure she is being taken care of and have a gd future... i always tell her
watever mummy can do.. she will be 10 times or 100 times better than me cos she is such a miracle.

oh the cockles hahaaa ya lor i aso tink no cockles no kick HAHAAAA
but sadly aft birth also cant eat cockles since breast feeding

HBB
Thanks! I think Medela PIS is around $400plus if bought from amazon i think. Quite worth!

HBB & kimberly
I also had been trying for almost 2yrs, visited 3 gynaes, did 2 IUIs, 1 miscarriage & finally successful with TCM. But like what sheryl said, it makes us cherish every moment of this pregnancy & appreciate more. God always has purpose for everyone, in His way!

LS
ya quite worth it!! and if u intend to have #2..lagi worth it...
if u r buying hor then rem buy the membrane n parts too cos is terrible ex in sg! but be wary hor.. cos if more than 400SGD will get tax for gst... so dun over shop haha

ya i agree everythg happen for a reason
for mine.. bb came prob at right timing also cos... jus right aft we can clean reno loan.. she will b born n dh getting promoted at the same mth she is born.. double happiness!!! hee
so even if is a girl... so wat? she brought daddy good luck!

HBB, are ur inlaws like ur side of the family? when are u going to tell ur inlaws hehehe? cant hide our tummy now that it's showing a bump.

kimberly, can ask how old are u too? my #1 girl has been praying to god almost everyday that she wanted a baby sister, so she was disappointed when it's going to be a baby brother. these few days, she tell me that she wants to be like DORA who has both baby brother and baby sister. hmmmm, my hubby say no need close factory, but i am already feeling tired this pregnancy...

btw, can we eat the cockles in laksa and also clams in the clam chowder soup???

coolkero
my in laws ahh... ehhh i know the grandparents like boys tat y my dh is their favourite.. cos he is the eldest.. not sure bout his parents
ehhh i haven seen them for like 1 yr plus (last seen them in cny 08) so thou this cny my bump showing.. they duno cos we din go bk

this one also long story
basicaly dh is not close w them... and he is being isolated at home since young thou he got a bro n sister
ehh imagine our wedding none fr his side turn up either (despite his grandparents love him sooooo much)
i went thru alot of shit given by his mum for the wedding too...
i was kidding w dh tat time if tis yr cny they ask us bk for dinner and we not preggy i gg to bring my nepehw back n pretend tats our son hahahaaaa but who knws i got preggy n they din ask us bk for dinner either

ehhh i do take clam chowder soup.. but not cockles.. cos of Hep A... duno if clam chowder will affect anot thou ..but at leas its more thoroughly cook compared to cockles

came back from my 6 mths check-up.

BB is of avg size.. but gyne did not tell me abt her weight..

but placenta is still low.. so she refuse to give me the green light to go for a vaccation.. afraid i might bleed or something..

sigh.. I got be good and stay put in SIN.

GD test was horried!! lucky the nurse added pieces of ice to that sugar drink and i try to take gulps to finsh it quickly.. reuslt will be out on Friday.. No news is good news! keke..

I shivers as i think back of that drink just now.. : Pukey :

HBB,
Some parents are like that well elder one sister good mah..
at least will help out better when u have a 2nd one...

I myself expecting #2 a girl as well.. although i am a little dissappointed cos i wanted to close shop..but hey i myself hope to have a sister myself but i didn't so kinda envy my gal loh..

also when the grils grows up haha i go shopping kakis.. haha okok.. the gals have shopping kakis in their teens :p

hi sunsweet
hope ur placenta move up soon...

i always tell my gf girl good.. can inherit all my bags, watches n diamonds hahaaaa

I grew up with my younger sister (6 yr age gap) and my female cousin so I have totally no idea what it is like to live with a brother. So for this baby it's going to be a steep learning curve for me - I have no experience in what little boys are like!
If possible, I hope to have a daughter sometime in the future...

Aiyah - now that some of you mentioned laksa, now I feel like eating it! Hee hee!

HBB, PM me if you have questions about BKK - I'll try to answer as best I can!