(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

LS

no prob! i was like you... want to cloth diaper my boy from birth but then after having him at home and smelling his poo which happened 6 to 8 times a day ( breastfed babis poo more often!)... hahah me and hubby was thankful we did not invest in the bumwear diapers till now!

also think you may want to consider bumgenuis instead as..... ok here is the story of today.... i totally forgot my boy was on bumwear training pants and brought him out to ikea! after dinner about 7+ he was soaking wet already, and we had only changed him about 3hrs ago. where else for the bumgenius can actually last up to 7hrs even if you forget!

sherryl

can consider the avent, the pump is the best in my opinion! most gentle on the breast! also don have any issues with their bottles leaking.... only with the price as its so exp to get their bpa-free bottles... their old bottles don leak from my experience but then heard that the bpa-free ones are full of complaints so do check that out k.

elijah's mummy,
Thks for the advise,but would u suggest a manual/electric avent breast milk pump?

Seriously like u said,needed to check it out,since there are so many brands in the market,plus some complains with avent..

Good morning girls..

Peanut, my hubby turned off the whole circuit box.we had candle light dinner then go for a walk cos there was a community gathering downstairs.

For the breast pump, perhaps 一分钱一分货 bah? If you have a hand me down, I think you should still decided on one that you'd get, in case the HMD didn't work the way you want, you can send your page boy (hubby) to get while you rest.

Re: Philip Avent
A friend had the whole series of philip Avent, didn't hear any bad comment from her, but another friend told me not to buy the bottle cos the bottle "trap" some of the milk resulting in wastage. But I think someone in this thread said it didnt happen to her..

GTG, meeting my abba father..

Re; Avent milk bottles

Well, i checked with the mothers who were in the same thread as my #1 and abt 80% of those who used Avent bottles leaked. So up to u to take the risk. But so far, it seems that those using the smaller bottles are still ok. But once change to big bottles, it's a diff story altogether.

Jes
I believe it's a conspiracy. hahha. They give away a lot of small Avent bottles, then coz you've so many lying ard at home, u'll feel that it's such a waste not to use them. So, end up u use Avent. I rather not risk using Avent this time coz it was really so frustrating. Even new bottles with new teats leak! So i'm using the free Avent bottles to store BM instead. Some bb don't like to change their bottles after they're used to it, like my boy. So my only choice then was bear with the leaking (with milk flowing all over my boy's face and body) or wean him off the bottles. Think u should be able to guess what i did eventually.

Re: Breastpumps
Many pp recommend the Medela PIS if you're serious abt breastfeeding.

Sunnyduck,
If u r thinking of single pump, Swing is very good. Good suction and very portable. Used it for my #1. Can operate on batteries too when outside. I think if u are SAHM, then i don't think u don't need to invest in double pump unless (touch wood) baby doesn't latch. For the Medela single pump, I won't get it personally cos the motor is REALLY noisy.

I'm thinking of getting PIS this time round. Determined to bf baby for 1 yr n tbf for 6mths.

Sheryl
Avent manual pump is very good too. Only drawback is tiring on hands. But i think once u get over it, it works as well. I do hear of Avent electric pumps' motor breaking down easily. Not too sure abt it. If worried abt leaking bottles, then u can always use the bottles to contain milk and transfer to the feeding bottles when necessary.

Wah... these days, the weather is getting so warm!!! I'm sweating day and night. No air con. So unbearable.

Btw, any mummies here who are renovating the house or are moving house during this pregnancy? Heard all the pantang stuff. If i don't go down to the site personally, just all the coordination, is it ok?

sherryl

you can think about getting the manual pump first coz its actually as good as the electric one.... though tiring on your hands... can consider getting the 'ISIS out and about set'... come with 2 avent 9oz bottles, 2 4oz avent bottles, 1 travel cover, the manual pump, a cooler bag, and come tiny ice packs.. good enough to test it out for the 1st week... if really want to get the electric ones then you can consider just getting second hand motor bah? hmmmmm not sure if it worth it though.... coz for me... am a sahm and i did not really use my pump... most of the time its easier to just latch my baby on... even when we are out...:p coz simpler ... no need to warm up the milk... etc....

also with this set you can actually survive the first week with out buying additional bottles... (that way you can save some money and if you find that the bottles are no good you can change the bottles to one that you are happy with) after that then can get the bottles if its needed...
cheapest that i have seen is at the first few years and its going at $109.

babyethan

i moved house when i was 3 mths.... actually its ok to go down to the site to see and check things out if its ok... as long as they are not moving stuff of banging stuff when you are there, its fine..... yaps its ok to just do the coordination.

Morning mummies! Thanks for sharing so much about manual and electric breast pump
Hav nt really thought of this yet but hav learnt a lot indeed nw.

HBB, hee...my memory is failing me too. In the end, still went for yest's class cox the race is today not yest....haha

Anyone of u working all the way till u pop?

Hey mums, thanks for all your opinions on the breastpumps! I really like that we have this forum to share our thoughts/experiences!

Kimberly - thanks for the links you gave! V useful! Was thinking about the mini electric plus too, but was told by a friend that the motor is not as strong/quiet as the Swing or the PIS. Kind of like in-between a manual and a hardcore electric pump.

Also heard from another mummy that she ended up using her PIS pump one breast at a time because she found it difficult to hold two bottles up and adjust the suction on the motor! Plus she also got used to surfing the net one-handed while pumping... multi-tasking, hee...

Right now I'm kind of leaning towards the Swing. Am going to be v optimistic and plan to mostly latch on baby if possible. I like the Swing's portability, if I go to stay with my mum occasionally, it's easier to pack along with all the other barang, right? I do believe in the pay-for-what-you-get philosophy... guess it's hard to predict if the machine will end up as a white elephant if I don't use it! ;)

Coolkero - went to the UK for my babymoon! Lots of exercise and fresh (cold!) air, cos we spent a lot of time going around the countryside in Scotland. :p

kitty
haa ur memory realy bad leh haa...

rgds latching
I b sahm too
bt I prob will do alt latching n bottle feeding cos I worry full latch bb will onli wan my boobs in future which might b a nt so gd habit as I intend to wean her off bottle drinking by a yr old drink her milk fr cup n straw.

so I guess we gotta consider if we r ok if bb always auto lift up out shirt whn they wan a drink

HBB - agree with you regarding latching and bottle-feeding! Otherwise, if we're not at home with them, how are they going to drink milk? I'm going to be a SAHM too, for at least half a year probably.

..seeing all the comments.. i regret buying Avent.. =( but its okay, i shall use till it spoil and den dump it if its spoilt.. make full use of it first..hahaha

Pretty Bunnie,
okay.. i will keep the warranty for sure.. thanks for yr feedback!!

Mashy,
i believe it is a conspiracy too.. =( no choice.. think i will use them first but will get some other bottles for backups..haha

Sunnyduck,
wow.. UK.. so good.. im only going to Bintan for bbmooning in May..

Jeslyn,
sometimes its difficult for Bb to change Teat once they got use to one type/ brand..

also it might be difficult for them to begin with.

E.g. my #1 prefer latex teat to silicon ones.. so i ended up with pigeon narrow neck .. saves me some money

hi mtb

anyone been to batam n hv a gread batam hotel/resort to recommend?

thibnkg of gg there to chill out one of the wkends...

heard from my friends that batam shoppg ctr has bb pdts...thinkg of gg there to take a look...anyone has any experience?

anyone has any expereince w ameda breast pumps? medela is the mkt leader...most exp i think...thinkg which i shld consoder...dilemma...loads of info to learn all abt bbs...haiz

sunnyduck wahhhhh so nice, i travel when i had my #1 to europe when i was 3 months pregnant, then my #1 look a bit mix when born, my fren all say maybe cos i go ang moh place hahahaha. let me know if ur baby look mix too next time, that's mean my frens are right, hahahahahaha.

jeslyn, can we leave singapore when we 6 to 7 months pregnant???

hi coolkero

is better for u to checkm w yr gynae cos every mtb's body condition is different

i think up to 32 wks is still fine...

Sunsweet,
thanks for yr advice.. hmmm, mayb i'll consider starting with new bottle den.. hmm, dat means avent will go to waste?..=(

Moo,
i only went batam for once but didnt stay there... the things there like not much leh...

Coolkero,
i checked with Dr Ong, den he said its safe.. so i booked le.. if cannot.. i'll ask him refund..hahaha..
cos im going during the 1st wk of May.. shudnt be a prob..

Juz a query.... manual pump is more recommended to buy for SAHM. so will milk leak from another breast when we are pumping at only one side first? If so, how you all manage?

i heard that using breast pads?... but i dono if its true?...

anw, wads SAHM?

yea, i cant wait for my detailed scan tmr noon!!!
will update u girls tmr!

twinkle

i use the avent breast shields. put it in to bra on the side that you are not pumping and then can pour the collected bm into your bm storage bottles.

Re: Breast Pump
I have a friend who also BF, she does not use any pump be it manual or electric, she just squeeze her breast to express the milk, really envy her, she has plenty of supply though is #1. She said no matter is electric pump or manual pump, when you are expressing one, the ohter breast milk will leak at the same time.

Hi coolkero, your #1 really look like mix? Is it true? Cox i oso traveled to italy & swiss during my first trim. Wonder whether my bb will look diff anot...hee

Envy jeslyn and moo, wish i can oso travel!!!!

loshita

actually even when baby nursing on one side also will leak leh...(it called let down) so no diff from hand or manual pumps... heheh just which is more tiring on your hands....

loshita

hahha... me too i actually needed the manual pump to help me with my no.1.... haiz i tried the hand pump but gave up... :p hahah then when i use the manual pump... end up i threw away 40L of bm in the end as my boy did not like the stored ebm... so end up he was a total latch on baby for a total of 10mths... thankfully i was a sahm! hahah otherwise i think he will be starving most of the days.... now though he is being supplemented with formula... :p

Elijah's mummy - good thing you pointed out that we can collect the leaking milk from the other breast; as a first-timer this would not have occurred to me!

Coolkero - wah go angmo country will looked mixed? Hee everyone has all sorts of theories!
I think that if your doc gives you the green light, then go ahead and travel. My last possible day for traveling is 15 May, so I am going on one more quick trip again in early May! But this time will prob be more relaxed, not so much walking/hiking through the countryside... ;)

Twinkle,
i see.. thanks for answering my question! =D

Sherryl,
yah!!! will tell u girls more.. heh heh..

kitty,
go ask gynae lor.. den go for a short one maybe? i mean its gd relaxation mah.. if it not becos of my job, i will love to travel more too.. =D

Was reading the new paper on Friday or so, with the report on the dead baby found in the Changi airport terminal. There was a line that says "most airport authorities do not allow women who are more than 28 weeks pregnant to fly."
http://newpaper.asia1.com.sg/printfriendly/0,4139,197147,00.html

So probably safer to check with the regulations for flying, otherwise travel plans wasted. Recently I did want to travel within this month, so I told my gynae and she gave me a letter to say that I can travel air/sea/coach within this period of dates.

moo
i b gg to batam for a short getaway too
too late to go aust as my dh suggest
i tink holiday inn or harris resort are good choice

bb stuff at batam are sure cheap n good! the last rnd i went already saw many cheap n nice clothings
diapers are cheap too hehe

rgd milk pump

i tink for those ppl with alot of milk.. a munual pump is realy good enuff cos milkc an b express easily.. in cases like loshita friend... can use hand.. but for those who dun hav high supply the pump actualy matters

i just visited my gf w my milk pump cos she is using pigeon pump and she say her milk isnt much.. like probably 120ml per pump only. but when she used mine.. she yields about 160 to 180ml
so i guess her case is supply not high enuff and so need a better pump to squeeze her boobs to the last drop... same case as my sis..

So long didn't come in to chat. Just shifted to new hse when I'm 24 weeks. So far ok, sleep well at new hse.

Re:Avent bottles
My #1 using avent bottles since newborn. Yes, the 260cc bottles sometimes leaking even I change new teats!Initially thot cos my gal bite till the teat got hole but new teat also same. I still continue let her use cos she so used to avent liao,how to change?She alry 2 1/2 yr now.

My #2 I've bought pigeon wide neck bottles. Hope it will be fine.

Re:Breast Pump
I've the ameda dual pump. Last time I always pour to my avent container. Thinking of pouring to another bottles like alot of things to wash like last time! Wonder if ameda can fix the avent converter? Thot of getting avent duo but it's really costly!Now PIS at first few yrs selling $599, tempted to change pump! I'm gg back work aft maternity leave so must use dual pump to reduce pumping time.

Re: Travelling during pregnancy

I'm 26 week tis wk, star cruise can only allow up to 24 wk preggy! Not sure on travelling on plane. Want to go genting,but need to bring my #1 along, hubby stress can't manage her cos she cannot sit still throughout the whole journey 1. Plus I'm preggy, alot of things I can't help him and at own risk taking the coach. Can't travel liao!!

elijah mummy
mine is PIS

so far i notice for those w v low milk supply
PIS works v well for them tat was y i bought this cos i am worry i not enuff milk also

hbb

yaps seems that way... coz my other gf that got super low supply manage to partial bf her boy this way too... seems that it actually help bring up her supply when even the avent manual could not.

hahah but then its not for me coz after using it i got super painful nipples that i could not take.... :p

poshicon

forgot to mention the box do state the pumps that can be connected with it but i cant remember already. if i do see it will post if it can fit the ameda dual pump k.

envy you mommies travelling, hehehehehe. i couldn't go anywhere this time round of my pregnancy cos i'm feeling tired all the time, now tummy heavy also, and must take care of my #1, so even if i travel also cannot relax. 2day i went sentosa, walk a bit tired already, can only sit down while hubby and my #1 play and build sand castle. it's so hot, but seeing they play so happily so just tahan and try to enjoy also.

Re:those wanna go to batam/bintan.
the last time I went there by a ferry, the waves were very strong so I end up with terrible motion sickness and arrived there with the shaky body. Vomitted until nothing to vomit...only can get better the next day....that was before I got pregnant liao. So I don't dare go anywhere except with cars..heee

tink e sea state subject to season one cos monsoon season sea state r realy bad

I nvr had problem w tat until aft 10 trips or more... once I puke like mad on board too!!! my dh gt shock y I puke too..
aso try nt to eat before u board ferry
sure puke if sea state is bad

Gd morning! Its the start of e week again... a long week for those mummies who are working.

Re: BB progress
I am at 26 weeks now. Went to see my gynae last fri. Everything is well n gd. Bb is at abt 900 plus grams near to 1 kg. N I have gained 6.5 kg of weight ever since I was preggie. DH asked gynae if bb size is ok as I am eating a fair bit now. My gynae says its too early to tell if our gal will be too big during birth n the weight now is a rough estimate. He told me to watch my carbo intake.

Re: Avent bottles
My Avent bottles also leaked once. Bt, after I replaced it with new teats n also used the new bottles, it is fine. Pray that e bottles are ok coz I bought the newborn starter set for my #2 too. Heard Avent teats are closer to our breasts n better for mummies who breastfeed, at least our bb wont have bottle confusion. Think NUK teats is also closer to mummies breasts...

Re: Travelling during pregnancy
I am also not travelling before my delivery. Thinking of having a short break during my ML and leave my newborn to my mum to take care. Will bring #1 along... hee!

Re: Pumps & Hand Pump

Actually i think i should clear a misconception that using hand to pump is only for those with lots of milk. I've pathetic milk supply and thus went to LC from KKH for help. She taught me to clear my ducts, massage my breasts and pump using hands. And her mtd really helped improve my milk supply. It's tiring but effective. SO I ended up hand pumping my milk till i started work when my boy was 8mths.

Hi mummies, do u all have any contact of LC who can help with our breastfeeding problems after birth? Wana source and have a contact just in case. For me during my #1, i have low supply. My massage lady taught me how to improve my supply by clearing my blocked ducts and massaging using my hands. But, I have lost her contact since.