(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Sam: You are right about Tai Sing's staff, they are much friendlier lot :) Although they also carry mostly Combi stuffs.

I think I'll go down OG one of these days. I hv no hurry to buy the pram yet.

Actually, I don't hv to buy lots of stuff cause alot of stuff were given to me, i just need to buy some toiletries, thermometer, basic grooming needs for baby, but you are right Kimberly about making a list of things.

RE: Constipation
Heard it's normal during preg, but i realized even if I dun go for 2 days, mine choc eclair is not hard.. THink eating lots and lots of veg helps.. (My sister's doc says her bowel is Lazy, so I think I am sama sama..)

My other tips:
Lots of water during the day, warm ones preferred, a must immediately after getting up.
Yoghurt 30mins before meal, apple 30mins after meal,
Milo with lots of milk,
Oatmeal with lots of dried food, mixed with milk & brown sugar,
Muesli with yoghurt, soak until like Birche Muesli.
Bread must be multi-grain or banana/ walnut.
More brown rice than white rice.

No tea, exp occasional camomile.
Very rarely, toasted bread

I do not take calcium/ iron tablets, but I substitute with cheese slices as snacks for the calcium on top of my multi vit.

I am blessed that I am lactos intolerant, so I know what will make me go (but I do this only when I am worried)..

RE: Constipation

I agree with Kimberly that lots of veg/fiber & water helps. I experimented tt when I don't take too much fiber, i get constipation but once I take veg, its quite easy.

I still take white rice, and considering the switch to brown rice cause its healtier.

Kimberly: do you know if we cook brown rice the way like white rice? Do we hv to soak it first?

Koko, ya, better to soak for about 30mins before cooking esp if cooking with white rice.. so to achieve the similar soft texture..

you can also add red dates (remove the seed), wolfberries, 党参 etc to make it more nutritious. There is a limited number of red dates we can eat per day, so that it wont become too heaty for us.

kimberly
the thg is not every (great)grandparents are happy to see grandchildren one lar.. esp if its a girl haha..
also i am onli considering becos my dh is their fav grandchild but apart fr that... nothg else.. if wedding can dun appear... hw much happiness can they have when they see the new born leh?

lamagier
i nvr consider myself hav PIL haaaa
cs even my dh himself consider himself as orphan

loshita
as far as i understand.. if ur stool is soft.. even if 5 days no bake cake is not consider constipation...
if u bake cake everyday but stool is v v hard then it is constipation

and its fine to bake twice a day hehe...

HBB, aiyo, don't be discouraged, you won't know.. My dad used to love sons, but when my 2 younger sisters (after my brother) were born, he doted them so much.

My dad also v old minded, I think ppl like him likes to have son to carry on the family name, but after all he dotes on the girls more. I see he pretty much ignore my brother most time le. And of course my bro cannot "manja" him like my sisters so he also has very little to talk to my dad.

That's why I prefer girls cos we are more 贴心..

Koko, ya, put them together when making the rice, it's like the Korean八宝饭 except we do not have the ginko nuts and barley etc...

According to Chinese herbal book, these are nore mutritious for our body, esp now we need extra energy and nutrients for bb..

I buy my brown from 松鹤 and the recipe is printed on the packet, I think it also explained the goodness.

Kimberly: ok..i will go and get the rice soon. was too heavy for me to carry this week. my next grocery trip i'll buy that. tks!

I always buy the small packet cos I mix with the white rice.. Sometimes after shopping, I have to make few trips to the car to unload the grocery if hubby is not there to help.

Happy shopping..

Kimberly, i also wanna to try that too!

mummies, any one experiencing heartburn?? past few days i just could not tahan the sensation...drank a cool ribena at lunch today just to cool myself!

Re: Pram
have you guys checked out kiddy palace in toa payoh? seems like one of the biggest outlets and there are quite a no. of gd selection...

Twinkle & Koko, and can make onto porridge in future when bb grow up too.. jus dun feed them the dates n herbs, the goodness in the porridge is good for them..

Blessed09 & all mommies, if you go Toa Payoh (again), can also pick up your Toyogo plastic containers/ buckets etc from their main office.

My gf gave me a list of plasticware I will need, butI am leaving the office now, will give details tomorrow if you need.. night!

kimberly, i think my dizzy spell because of low blood. pretty scary, now dun dare to drive cos it can come suddenly. my friends recommend me drink red dates water, or eat red bean soup or eat liver. hmmm, but i remember my gynae say dun eat liver, do u ladies start eating liver?

mommies, do u feel your tummy sometime harden up and sometime not so hard??? i feel sometime my tummy hard as a rock, anyone got explanation on why or how we can prevent harden tummy?

coolkero

mine too! harden suddenly then some times can even feel the muscle stretching and can cause some pain too.

liver

remember the dr telling me that too... seems a better option is to eat more beef or red meats! on top of that can drink the red dates water... also can drink this mix.

2teaspoons of wolfberries, 2red dates wash with boiling water and throw that water away. then add in more hot water and wait for 10 min before drinking.

not sure what this is called but the lady at the med hall say good for baby and low blood. :p

coolkero,
do you feel the hardness especially at night? I feel the same too even during early of the pregnancy, my mum said is like that till deliver. So i tot is normal since she said so.

elijah'smummy, loshita, i cant remember exactly when i feel the hardness, will monitor if its at nite especially, but for sure not comfy when tummy harden...hmmm, aiyoh until deliver ahh...4 more months leh.

HBB, glad to hear its normal cos i got worried for a while when i started to feel tummy harden.

elijah'smummy, thanks for the tips on red dates and wolfberries drink. will it make a difference if we boil half hour vs. using hot water??

hi ladies, seen tat u've all posted alot!!

anw.. abt MIL.. so far mine so good.. oni sometimes rather naggy..=X my hubbie is the eldest son and the eldest among all his relatives too.. but, so far no pressure .. *phew* but luckily i have a boy..jus in case..=D

Constipation: well, beginning i had that prob.. but i still do pass motion like every 2 or 3 days at most.. but i now drink lots of juices, eat vegetables n lots of fruits.. i think it helps lots...

Hardness of tummy: my tummy also hardens up sometimes n mostly in the middle of the night actually.. sometimes i woke up with a hard tummy n feels pain but aft some time it goes off..

anw, wanna ask u ladies, do u all have any red lines on yr buttocks?...a few mths ago i saw a lil red lines appearing i tot it was bcos i must have scratched it unknowingly in the middle of the nite.. jus nw my hubbie saw it n told me it has become very very bad.. i took a look in e mirror n got a SHOCK of my life.. the lines are very red n alot on both sides..=(

did anyone encounter tat?

coolkero
u must monitor the hardness if it gets too frequent or watever.. or mayb highlight to ur gynae nxt rnd u go so he can know u starting to get such contraction liao...

i notice i get it when i get agitated (been havin mood swings lately due to some problems)

really?... *sob* i tot so too.. my nitemare came true... but..luckily its on my buttocks.. its gonna b covered most of the times.. but its really super ugly.. ='(

if im not wrong
my therapist told mi red stretchmarks still can b 'save' but if they turn silvery then cannot liao
start applying ur cream NOW!! hee

yah!!!... i think i have to be more hardworking.. i've been taking care of face, hands, legs and tummy but been neglecting my buttocks.. now i noe!! tats y they appeared on my buttocks.. =(

i will be more hardworking frm now on and start apply my cream more!!!

thanks HBB!!=D

jeslyn - i also forgot have to take care of buttocks. but how to apply cream ? once you sit down all the cream stuck to clothes.

blessed - does the TPY outlet have twin prams ? i went to a lot of shopping centres and only limited twin prams. some dont even display out

ladies, do you wake up in the middle of the night. past week i have been waking up at 3/4 am, cos go toilet and very thirsty, than can't get back to sleep until abt 5 am. makes me very sleepy when i go to work.

re: stretch marks
i always apply around my whole body for the front. bcos breast and tummy is going to be liek stickin together with tummy grows bigger. hahahas. and all the wae down to the tighs then behind around the waist and buttoks abit. so practially is like bathin where u jus apply to the whole body except the back and ur lower legs area.
but i damn lazy to apply onli apply once every 3-4 days only. bcos i dun like the feelin after applying also. but i tink the moment u apply, ur skin should b able to absorb it. i always apply in big amts bcos i see no point to save tat bit of stretch mark creams.

RE: stretch marks
I'm starting to see a line above and below my belly button...think its pigmentation ..no help for that I think.

RE: Insomnia
I'm getting insomnia these two nights, can't sleep no matter how hard I try till 3am. Last night slept only at 3.30am. Hiazzz..not sure is it because of baby movements or hunger. But anyway, just drank Milo hoping that I can fall asleep soon.

BestBerries: Now I'm the opposite, I don't wake up in the middle of the night anymore, I just can't sleep. If you are working, then its quite bad for you. Cause for me, I will wake up and stay for another 3-4 hrs before I can sleep again. the last time i woke up at 2am and slept at 6.30am.

re: stretch marks
pprincess, i was being told by my gynae/sil tat stretch marks can't be prevented/reduced by all those creams. All depend on individuals. In fact, all those stretch marks cream is not really as effective as it has meant to be.

Re: Stretch marks
I just did my checks last night, so far nothing, I apply the Clarins oil at night only at the tummy and around breasts cos it gives me itches if I use it on my thigh. Then apply the mothercare cream around all over in the day.. Didn't feel greasy or sticky leh..

But yesterday, I found the green veins on top of the tummy very very obvious.

RE: Liver
Was told not to consume liver (rich in iron) and kidney (god for backache) anymore cos they contain lots of toxins which are bad for health, even for anyone who's not pregnant as these organs process the toxins from the body and remains there even after the animal are slaughtered..

I experienced cramp in my calf middle of the night.. thot I do stretching everyday & night and drink so much water should be ok... so painful.. Occasionally, I do feel the sensation of cramp (usually on the left calf) and can easily get rid of if I move my left leg carefully, but this time, it was just so sudden.. and on the right (booo hooo hooo..)

I have been waking up almost every night at least once or twice. Its very disturbing. Either I am hungri or I need the toilet.... even though I drink lesser water at night, I just cant sleep through.

Re: Stretchmarks
I had stretchmarks during my #1. Didnt realise it was stretchmark till the later part of pregnancy and I was lazy then to apply... But, now with #2, I am more hardworking. Apply daily to my stomach area. Didnt apply to other parts yet, not sure if its necessary.

SAHM
i was told that it cannt be 100% prevented or rid of unless u go for some minor proceedure to do it lor. but, u can still prevent it if u apply bcos dey haf some 'stuff' in the cream that will help u to prevent. nothin is 100% but better to do it then nt believe it.

RE: Stretchmark cream
SAHM is right, accroding to my reading, these wont help with prevention either, but I think psychologically it helps me to think I will be ok (ke ke) and I also think the cream prevent itches. Well, I don't know if there is scientific proof, but was told scratching can cause stretch marks...

Stretchmarks
So far i have used only the Clarins oil every day twice a day on all parts, like the tummy, buttocks, breast area and upper arm area where the flab is... So far hopefully my hard work pays off!!! hahahahahahahahaha...

Insomnia
Nev really did recover from it since 1st trimester i think.. I think everyone of us experiencing at least wakin up once every nite...

Short term memory
I dont know if any of u gets this symtom.. But im like losing my brain somehow.. I forget things and dun even remember things people tell me or what i have said to people!!! And not jst dh tell me i been behaving this way even my friends commented!!! Hope tis goes away after the pregnancy...

jesyln, think positive stretchmark on buttocks much better than tummy, hehehehe...i got lotsa on my tummy for my #1, now become silver lines. i was upset for a while, hubby console me, say now everyone knows u r a mommy, hehehehe.

koko, same same, i'm seeing a small line on top of my belly button. i think mine is stretch mark.

bestberries, koko, sheryl, these few nites i also cannot sleep well, just cannot sleep thru the nite like before. and it does affect the rest of my day, feel tired and restless by late afternoon.

HBB, ok will monitor hardness, but i feel sometime after i eat a meal, it feels hard. and also i feel my tummy suddenly grow so much lately, even if i wear big big clothes, can notice bump. hehhehehe...

I feel like I never had enough sleep though I on off wakes up for a moment, a few times, in the middle of the night.. but fall back to sleep almost immediately.

every morning wake up so tired....

Re: Stretchmark
kimberly, the cream does somehow solve the itchiness. Me feel better after applying

My SIL walked alot when she's pregnant...& she has very short labour...how i envy her...save so much energy & pain..

coolkero, koko, sheryl, sunsweet - so what do you do when you wake up in the middle of the night ? i just lie down and try to get some sleep. my fren who just popped says she wake up and watch tv, eat, etc.

Re: stretch marks
I knew someone who does belly dance at a pub, she had a son about 4 years old when I first say her, nothing on her tummy leh...

My mom says hers went away, even the silver ones.. so hoepfully wither I won't have or it'll disappear.

bestberries & all moms that wakes up middle of the night,

I turned on bedside lamp and read my bible story--put me to sleep after <3 stroies. If it's 3am, I go to the living room, turn on the TV and watch "Jon &amp; Kate plus 8", then sleep after the show ended..

RE: Stretch Marks
Kimberly, last nite my mum show me her tummy...wow...so fair &amp; soft..no marks at all...really unbelieveable tat is still so perfect after 3 kids...really hope i will 'inherit' this plus point..