(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

kimberly
yuppies. was told by many colleagues tat if u drink coconut in the last tris baby will come out 'clean' not so bloody. but onli drink once or twice is enuff. dun drink so much also bcos is liang. dey told me to drink around 7th or 8th month.

my belly button is also like wad u describe. but jus tat my botton is flat. top is out. not sure why thou and feel veri veri funni -.-

lamagier - i'm getting swelling on fingers and feet. my hands are numb every morning when i wake up. cant bend my fingers much. but usually its ok in about an hour. my feet also quite fleshy. i already moved up 1 shoe size.

RE: coconut, thanks for info! I was very blessed when I tried to order a soybean milk with chin chow during my 2nd tris and the seller told me I cannot cos it's very liang, she also told me to take coconut drink before delivery, but I forgot when of last tris.

RE: Belly button... kekeke so fun to watch the belly button popping out and sinking in.. I think I'd better go take naked or half-naked photos before it fully pop out..

Re: Swelling, I realized my ankle also looked swollen but when I touch, it doesn't seem so.. Did my bone grow bigger?

But one thing not nice I found: the top of the feet is wrinkly (sob, sob).. and my feet is close to 1 size bigger.

hihi mommies, my belly button also popping out. i have lotsa stretchmark from my #1, so i cant tell if i got more this time round, hahahaha. dun have linea nigra, but kinda hairy around belly button, hehehe.

although i pass the diabetes test, but report show it's on the high side. and with my low blood count, been feeling faint suddenly, like total white out. doc say have to do the OGTT (gestational diabetest test) again in 2 months time.....

coolkero

no worries lah.... if got one good result then not too bad already... :p

twinkle you want to join the Bebe et Maman March Promotion bp? heheh i thinking to... got free postage if got more then $40.. :p hahah think if we combine either one of us can order and drop the other party's items into our mail boxes... :p
err i pm you the info?

re: belly button poping out..
mine has popped already.... but thankfully don see much stretch marks... :p

re: coconut drink... i heard that the drink is to be drunk in the final month lah... then its can drink every 2to 3 days leh... yaps is so that the baby born is not so bloody... but not true for my boy leh..... he was very bloody when he came out leh...

hahahah... but then could it be coz the dr had to do 3 to 5 cuts on me?

HI Coolkero,
You ok? GOt take iron supplement? take care ah.... Total white out sounds quite serious

hi bestberries,
haha, maybe cos you are carry twins, even swelling also double..

hi Kitty,
Yah, my boss understanding, but I feel very bad that i am under performing... Yah, round face is depressing... I don't even are to take photos any more. Pimples and round face... sigh.....

lamagier,

My water retention started few weeks ago, now palms and legs are swollen and numb just like bestberries. Have gotten used to it as my numbness will start at 5plus every morning.. also an alarm clock that my ger is awake (can feel her moving about)

Sherryl, my glucose test is on 9th apr so dun think can meet up with you gers..

Coolkero, hope all is well soon, my BP is ok, but I also have faint spell sometimes, even when I am sitting down. And I realized when I sneeze or blow my nose, the "flying stars" stayed a longer time (than before I was preg) before disappearing..

So all mommies started with massage package?

Another qn: what is the latest trend in full-month celebration like? What is the typical "ceremony" like? Can I not do a full month celebration but do a 4th month celebration instead? Cos by then bb & I should look better..

LS (Perline), I do feel stretch on the belly button if I stand a long time too, so I cant really shop.. The best solution I found is to lay down, sometimes sitting can relieve but sitting too long also can cause me to feel the pain, like now (been sitting since this morning)..

It;s time to go home and zzz...

kimberly
u sooo cute! i never heard of 4th month celebration thou. hahas! currently got 2 waes lor. for SG, if u wan to save the trouble, can jus go and get those cake voucher and send to ur frens and relative. but no ang bao lor. or u can do a full month celebration of buffet invite relatives and frens to ur place got angbao
or u can buy those full month's cake and do delivery to each and everi 1 of them, but abit time wasting. me more tempted wif the angbao! LOL. but hor, buffet or delivery, also ma fan.

kimberly

actually 4th mth is worse! It's the time when you and your bb will be dropping hair. Don't think u wanna look bald in front of your guests. hahaha.

Think now mainly have a small buffet for family and close friends. The rest give cake vouchers.

That's what I'm going to do. I didn't get a say for my #1's full mth celebration, so this time round, i'm going to decide what i want.

kimberly

hahah the only time i have heard of any thing other then a 1st mth celebration is the 100 day celebration leh... but that is only in korean customs.... :p

hahah actually i think i look better at the 1st mth celebration then at the 4th mth of my boy leh! hahah coz then at the end of the 1st mths still got enough rest as there was the confinement lady to help through out the month but by the 4th month i was really dieing! no one to help with the baby... the dark eye rings and the dropping hair was horror!

twinkle

thanks for the reply. :p

Sherryl,
...yah, oni both me n you still at Mt E...=( nvm, den we shall accompany each other..haha. maybe we cld tell e nurse n say arrange us both on the same day..hahaha!

CoolKero,
hmmm.. i also have that linea nigra n becoming DARKER! wen my hubbie first noticed it n told me, i didnt even realise i had it..n im the same as Twinkle now.. the marks all e way up below the chest... praying hard it'll disappear aft birth..

Lolita,
my goodness, how did u fall off the bed?!Thank god u n bb are fine!! i always almost fell off but nvr realli fell off b4 yet, cos i have a bad habit to sleep rite at the corner of the bed and if hubbie sees me too edgy, he'll pull me back or wake me up..

Belly Button:.. mine still as per normal.. inwards leh..

Stretch Marks: think so far not yet.. i heard applying lotion on yr tummy twice a day helps alot..

Coconut Drink: yup, i heard frm my parents in the ChildCare, drink 1 wk b4 yr EDD..n the child will nt be so bloody..

4th Month Celebration: ... hmmm.. nvr heard of it b4, think more of 1st month bah.. but Mashy, isit true u will start dropping hair during the 4th month?...thats scary!!i have my hair all the way to my waist nw actually.. i feel sad n unwilling to cut my hair!!!!! =( imagine i start growing back the length of my hair aft confinement but the thickness becomes thinner!! *SHOCKED* think i'll faint... haha

Baby Clothes: actually i haven got many bb clothes yet.. as in i oni got 4 pcs frm the Taka fair.. n was planning to ask u girls.. how much bb clothes do i need actually?.. =S

thanks elijah'smummy, lamagier, kimberly, although these few days have dizzy spell, but for a while. but only 2day lunch wif my friend at canteen scotts, suddenly white out for a good 5 minutes, have to interupt my friend's conversation and ask for a glass of water, my fren pass me a candy, and after one minute i'm back to myself....so ladies, have some candy in ur bag just in case, it helps.

jeslyn, my mil say normally have boy have that lenea nigra, hahahahaha....but i dun have that, only my belly button start to pop out. i heard someone said if belly button fully pop out means our baby is fully cooked, hahahaha...as if our tummy is like an oven, LOL.

coolkero

whar so nice... :p the cake really looks so good... heheh actually thinking if this time for no.2 i want to give the full mth thing a miss leh... too tiring to organise.... :p think will just do a 1st birthday instead? heheh maybe i will be said by my children that am unfair in the future?

hehehehe, elijah'smummy did u do anything for ur #1? yah, me lazy to do anything also for the 1st month, maybe just same same lah, send cake out, and celebrate first birthday like you. hehehehe

Jeslyn,
Yes u are right,maybe we shld do just that!haha...

Re:Full month celebration
Actually for full mth,any venue for the celebration?
As for the full mth cakes,saw a few places doing nice and yet yummy ones.

The one below was recommended by my colleague,but for the price wise,a bit costly..

http://www.gobi.com.sg/

coolkero

for my no.1 my parents had the celebration at their place... :p PIL did not want to have to do anything lah.... haiz.... :p my parent did it quite big leh... we had it over 2 days and there were more then 90guests per day... all my parents relatives and friends lah... :p got loads in ang bao and gifts... hehehe my parents paid for everything and i just collected the stuff... :p that really helped alot as i never expected the cost of a baby to be so high in the 1st 5months!!! all the ang bao went to paying for the baby's bills!

wah elijah'smummy that's a big party leh, u r very lucky got ur parents to organize, hehehe.

sherryl, the gobi cakes look good...actually i prefer the small small different cakes compared to one big cake. if any mommies got more recommendation, post it and share the good ones with us ahhhh...

twinkle...

hahah yah!!!

coolkero

yah i also agree... but now my parents say that its too tiring to organise again for no.2 ... :p so this lazy mummy am thinking to skip it... :p

kitty
my class is on thursday nite leh... not friday
not sure bout the friday location
u can call up parent craft n ask them bout it thou

Re: Belly Button
Mine flatten also. Heng, all along I maintain quite clean, at least not too dirty. Quite difficult to rub off the dirt that are stuck inside now, LOL!

gina & penut, the pic is for my #1 full month 6 years ago from marriott hotel. my hubby was the one who ordered, he cant remember how much hehehe...guys!!! no photo or card last time. cant remember how many boxes we ordered also, but i remembered we pick up and deliver individually.

last month, my cousin's baby full month ordered from patissier, one chocolate cake taste not bad but no eggs or kuay, so she pass me the link, the one she ordered is $50 per cake and $15 delivery to individual place. i find it a bit costly, hehehehe...

BTW, Aussino baby comforter set (6pcs-comforter, fitted bedsheet, 2 cot bumper pads, pillow and bolster with fill) having sale.

Got a winnie the pooh set for $71 after 20% discount. 100% cotton, feels quite soft.

Other designs with animals, bears etc at $79 (original $107).

Hmm, I've seen even more exp. ones and wonder why the price range can vary from FOC (if buy with cot) - 180 huh? Material ah? or number of threads?

$50 per cake????!!!!! Then relatives or friends' angbao better be thick or gifts better be good to cover the cost!

Normal price is abt $10 or 15 range right?

oh sorry sorry, I just visited the Patissier webby, now I know why so ex, some of them are so beautiful and sweet. Hmm, but to spend $50 for each relative families, really need to re-consider...

Sherryl,
yah... this time round i go.. i shud ask the nurse... or if not will wait till we can meet up on 20th den ask tog..hahaha...

coolkero,
serious? boy will have arh?... hmmm, mayb its true cos my fren who jus gave birth doesnt seem to have any at all..

i heard sweetest moments is not bad.. but i think quite expensive leh... not too sure, they are more into cupcakes i think.. so i was quite interested in tat..

haha.. peanut is rite! all our BBs not out yet and we're alrdy thinking abt full month celebrations!..hahaha..

Yan,
anw, i jus ordered KCK tingkat today.. i will start next wk.. so i'll keep up updated abt their food?..haha.. =D

hahahaha, yah lor we mommies think everything for our kids ahhhh. but the ang mohs have different culture, they celebrate baby shower before baby is born, interesting ahhh, but more practical also cos the gifts are useful straight away when baby is born.

jeslyn, i think it's just a myth...cos i m having boy now but dun have the line, but my mil has 2 boys she had that line last time, that's why she said that. hehehehehehe.

will check out the links to cakes, thanks penut and jeslyn. btw penut, i agree wif u $50 for a cake is rather costly....hmmm, wonder how much my hubby paid for my #1 full month cake?!?

elijah's mum

you're oppo from me. hahaa. For my #1 1st mth, my PILs took charge and decided on everything without consulting me. Told me of their plans when i was still half comatose from the morphin and confirmed their reservations when i was still in the hospital. They merely informed me of their decision. Even though it was held at a restaurant, i was very offended. I felt that I wasn't respected as the mother. So this time round, we will decide for ourselves what we want.

pprincess, the cupcakes look absolutely adorable!
Haven't given 1st month celebration a lot of thought yet, but these are so cute.

The belly button has popped out for me since around the 20th week, when she shifted from text-book standard side profile to a head down, and legs up position. I don't have a wide frame, so she probably got tired of stretching me sideways for room.

Although, this week, the line has gotter more obvious, reaching over the top of my belly, past the button. Since it's a temporary thing, I'll just close 1 eye on it. Don't got stretchmarks yet, but the possibility of it makes me nervous sometimes.

Be visiting the gynae tomorrow for the monthly checkup. Hope I put on some weight, my weight gain has been gradual so far, ard a kilo each checkup, so I wonder if she is putting on much weight because I can be a bit of a workaholic sometimes even though I'm working from home now.

wow, the cakes all looks so yummy and pretty. i think $50 a cake is quite siong, imagine have to give to everyone in your office. whoa, thats like $1000 plus already !

Baby Shower
ladies - are you going to have a baby shower before babies are born ? my SIL suggested that i have it so that i can have a baby registry and ppl can buy gifts. but i think this is quite Ang Mo concept, a bit pai say to ask for gifts leh. and if you have baby shower, do you still have full month celebration ?

pprincess,

The cupcakes and cake frm cupcakedivinity are yummy! I had tat 4 my #1's 1st BD tis feb! Rec'd gd comments frm my guests!

mashy,

u stay wif ur PILs? Very bad leh, if me, i will aso get offended!

Jeslyn,

If u can arrange on the 20th April for the next appointment,it would be great!!hee
My appt for 20th is 9am,if i am not wrong,coz I didnt check properly the other day.

re: Cakes
Wow, all the cakes looks so yummy... and expensive. Haha, I haven't planned that far ahead yet.....

Hi bestberries,
I think bb shower before bb born seems to be 'newer generation'. If I were to have one, I would invite my close friends and buddies, but relatives will still throw a full month. Cos I think my relatives would be more interested to be introduced to my new born bb then to just look at my pregger belly =p.

But then, judging by my sister's 2 full month celebrations, my relatives usually will give some gold trinkets for bb or give ang pow. So bb registry not much use for me at least

mashy
mayb they tink that u are not able to decide since u are still recovering and that as a first time mum, they know the best. but still, they should alwaes ask. even if pretend at least also abit of respect us i guess. but nevermind! nw fight to do ur #2 one!

esther
realli?! im tinkin of hafing it from them also on my baby's 1st month. but then nw tinkin, actualli buffet is a rather gd idea also. let's say each pax cost $15. i invite 50pax. total will be abt $750. let's sae they give abt $20 angbao each (i will tell them dun need gifts =p other then those tat i need else realli waste of money if repeat items) then abt $1k. i can cover back

hahahas! i guess i tink too much on money liaos. bcos my father didnt seems to care abt the full month =x so i guess ive to cover and plan everything myself also.

esther

luckily they don't stay with me, else i would have murdered them during my confinement.

pprincess
i was still under morphine leh! In fact, in my semi comatose state, i told them to wait coz it would have coincided with the CNY celebrations at my aunt's place. It's CNY 2nd day. But they didn't bother listening to me and went ahead with it.

mashy

i was also offended by my PILs... they did not even bother to visit me in hospital.... :p then when we came back only came to check out the confinement lady!!! somemore can scold her about having to cook for their son and to do all the housework if she see him doing it coz man must not do housework woh!

then after that say that we never spend the effort to travel to their place to visit them during my confinement! hahah really cant beat them man!

where else for my parents, i was the one who ask them to go ahead to plan for the full mth as i was having my hands full with my no.1 then.

but then this round i have decided to skip it as its just too tiring both ways... having it really tired me out the last round... and having to face PILs demands for a celebration will burn a super big hole in our pockets! they always feel that their son earns millions and if there is a shortfall then my parents can always top up for us! :p so to save any fights and the hassle i rather go without!

twinkle

the car seat.. its coz if second hand you never know if it was ever in an accident, even if very minor can jolt some of the metal connection pieces put out of place and we can't see these faults with the naked eye.

elijah's mum

wow, your ILs also another kind. My ILs kept visting me and I couldn't even rest properly. Then my FIL called my hb on Sun (I picked it up) and he screamed at me on why my hb wasn't in church. My hb was helping me bathe my boy then coz we were without confinement lady and nobody to help us. Made me so upset.

R: Car Seat
Oh no, I was involved in a car accident mid last yr, but my boy wasn't in the car seat. It didn't seem have been affected coz only the boot was damaged & needed replacement. Do I need to change my car seat then?