(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

eliijah mummy
the bumbo seat the moment they know hw to stand.. they will be able to escape fr it liao..
if u dun mind them escaping fr the bumbo then i tink its quite good.. then again.. they cant sit w u during dinner time at the dining table thou cos too low

Elijah's mummy: I agree the phil and teds chair is a great buy. We are still using hours and my daughters loves being able to sit at the table with us. Easy to fold, clean and very portable.

As for the bumbo seat, you might want to rent one instead, some babies don't like to sit in it for long and others quickly outgrow theirs. So either source for a 2nd hand one or just rent one for a couple of months.

heheh

for the bebe pod seat i found at 2nd hand that is as good as new and i got it for 50. so to me thats a steal as to rent one for a month is almost 30 already. :p

but then maybe i should save and just get another phil & ted for no.2 yah?

I have Medela PIS Milk Pump to sell... bought only for 2 months but seldom use due to low supply in milk. I am willing to let go at $650 which i purchased it at $799 and bought it at Thomson Medical Centre. I still have receipt with me. Please PM me or email me at [email protected] if you are interested.

Baby Carrier

Anyone planning to use baby sling or carrier? Saw someone got BP on lascal baby carrier. Not sure reliable or not? Cos I saw the news on someone cheated on BP for coach and kate spade bag. Really scary!

I used to have baby bjorn active carrier but my #1 don't really like it so I sold away. Maybe the material for active very hot. So I now consider to get another more ventilated material carrier for my #2. Pity I didn't keep the carrier for #2. Now still feel use carrier more convenient to bring out for casual walk. Plus with #1 gg out tog, easily.

Also someone post a BP for baby bjorn air carrier at 50+usd. Anyone ordering? Or anyone getting 2nd hand?
Anyone recommendation?

:p me just put in an order for a gal friend for the bb bjorn synergy carrier.... but the price is approx 250... want to bum in coz still got time before it reach my us home addy.... am using comgateway.

hmmm

another comment is that the heat between baby and you is expected the synergy only helps in the cooling of your back and baby's back if carrying inward facing leh.

Hi elijah'smummy,

Bjorn synergy carrier the most expensive of Bjorn range leh. Sorry, wat u mean using comgateway?

I also considering getting baby pouch. Cloth material seems cooler, but not sure suitable for newborn. I not getting baby sling cos don't know how to tie.

this thread is moving reali fast. guess all mummies are excited abt their bb, so most of us r starting to get more info n buy those major stuff. i am aso shopping ard.. went united square today n saw so many nice bb gal clothes. they r all so pretty n nice. hee!

cant wait for e taka fair n do more buying. bt didnt have e time to compare e prices.

btw, i read somewhere in e thread that trade in of old avent bottles, we cn hve 30% discount at istean. just wondering if its onli meant for members and when is it?

Hi Sheryl,

The avent trade in will start on 13-22 Mar at isetan scotts & Katong. Trade in 2 old milk bottles and buy 2 Philips Avent bottles (260ml or 125ml) at less 30%.
It should be open to public not only members. Cos the members private sale is on 12 mar.

Other brands also have less 20% off. U can check up the isetan website for the newsletter.

I'm thinking of using my old avent bottle which my #1 used to trade in too. But cos later I found Avent bottle often leak after using for sometime so thot of switch to other brands liao.

Now pregnant, don't think will want to go isetan private sale. Cos long queue everywhere and crowded. Will wait for taka baby fair. Hope taka will also have trade in special like the past years.

today i was at cktang, avent product having 20%, they have the BPA free bottles, but only small size. thinking when is the good time to buy? maybe the next cktangs 12% plus 20% avent product sale.

re: Sale,
If taka baby fair on 12th is coincide with the member sale, then it will be 20% discount + additional 10% for card member. Otherwise, better wait for 13th, which is confirmed is the member sale also. For taka, above $100 they over free delivery, so it's very convinient for us preggie mums.
Ck Tang is rebate, not direct discount....

where can i get Phil and Teds chair and how much is it?

don mind if i join in. First time mummy, need all the help i can get!

Mashy,
Here are my details
#1, Dr Joan Thong Pao Wen, Raffles, TBA, Mid JULY

Good Sunday afternoon mummies....
Went for my gynae checkup yesterday... so happy to see baby again. She's now 624g at wk23d4. Weight has almost doubled over the last 3 wks. But i also had gained almost 7kg now. Thought could keep it low, but seems like i'm going to gain as much as my #1.

Re:Sale

I not sure if I shd wait till GSS in June for better deal. Cos scare the taka baby fair/isetan sale better deal than GSS. And also by June, our tummy too heavy to go shop liao.Who knows, I may deliver earlier than earlyl July!!

So maybe shd start shopping now liao!

Thanks HBB!

With this pregnancy, I've had 2 standard ultrasounds, probably won't get another one till the 8th mth. When I had DD, I only had 1 ultrasound examination at 20th wk. So nice that you get to see your baby grow every visit
My ob will use the doppler to listen for heartbeat and measure my belly growth, not as eventful...

Welcome enchante!

This forum is very active! I'm also first time mummy, hoping to learn and share as many good deals, beliefs, experiences, and etc. in here

Hope you enjoy!

poshicon, I'm glad that someone share the same sentiment
I'm also worried that the GSS in June may not be as good as taka baby fair and by June, our tummy may be too big to shop around.

Decided to get the big items etc. baby cot, car seat, pump, and sterilser during taka or Isetan Sales in March.

Yeah, i jus found out that my bro is going to pass down the bb cot and playpen to me
Still wanted to go around comparing prices first... hee that's something i can save now. So now will be the stroller and car seat....and maybe all the little little things.

But hb jus said that our child deserved every thing new. I feel where got the $$ leh....hmmm

keke kittyng, my sisters also giving me milk warmer and pram
so happy. Can save abit liao.

Same like you, my dh wanted everything new for our first child. But I think as long as it looks reasonably new and clean, it should be ok. But things like pump and milk bottles, my dh refuse second hand for hygiene purpose.

noelle
r u based overseas?
if u r i think its quite normal as the ang moh dun realy like to do scans
actualy fr ard 22 weeks.. i notice the scan nt so exciting anymore haa cos cant see full view of bb.. onli head n body or body n leg.. i guess they scan for us jus to make sure heart beat is there
mayb u can request the gynae to do scan (chargeable?) if u realy wan to see bb

Gd gd peanut. We can try to save a bit here and there
Agreed *nod* My hb oso said certain things cannot be passed down. But the rest if in gd condition, shdn't be a prob...

Hee...think we will all meet at the coming fair

Hi HBB,
I had DD in the US and now based in Shanghai. Thought I would get a few more u/s this time since we're back in asia, but my doc is leaning twds the US practice, ie minimal u/s unless medically req. DH had to watch DD and couldn't go wif me for the detailed scan. I'll ask the doc for a u/s if he wants to see the baby

Hi kittyng,
I think it's great that you're getting some secondhands. Oh, trust me, you'll hv lots of other places to spend the extra $$ ;)

Was at kidzloft at tagore lane over the weekend and saw them tagging some car seats for sale at the Taka Baby Fair. Going for $219.

poshicon

yaps its the most expensive of the range and in sg there is normally no discount for this! but i must say that it saved my back lots! for me when i bought it was in sg so i paid 299 for it and it was a year ago... till now the price is still 299!

tried the mim sling before but only ended using it for max of 3 mths after that my boy was too big to be able to fit comfortably in it and the strain on my neck, shoulders and back was a killer!

comgateway is a shipping company that i use. those that have hsbc or ocbc cc can apply for this company to give you a us addy so that you can buy things from the us and ship back to sg.
but its better to combine your items and ship it in coz that way you split the base charge.

re: avent trade in
this is open for the public. for me i wont be going to the isetan pte sale coz not much to get that would be diff from the isetan baby fair.

mbb2

the phil and teds can get at mothercare think its 76.90... the one with a full range of products is the one at harbourfront so if you want to get this can go there.
also mothercare having members sale ... members can get additional 10 or 20% off on selected items. if want can also pm me for my card details coz i got the card. :p

kittyng

hahah, actually i was the one to feel that way when i was preggy with my boy a year ago.... then when i went shopping for all the items needed and saw the prices and did a tally on how much we would be to be spending then i started to see the sense in getting old or 2nd hand stuff... especially if the stuff has only been used by 1 baby before and looks as good as new. :p
but there are still things that you should not get 2nd hand like breast pumps, bottles, carseat... the rest ok to get 2nd hand... things like cot, playpen, toys are all ok to get 2nd hand.

poshicon

yaps its the most expensive of the range and in sg there is normally no discount for this! but i must say that it saved my back lots! for me when i bought it was in sg so i paid 299 for it and it was a year ago... till now the price is still 299!

tried the mim sling before but only ended using it for max of 3 mths after that my boy was too big to be able to fit comfortably in it and the strain on my neck, shoulders and back was a killer!

comgateway is a shipping company that i use. those that have hsbc or ocbc cc can apply for this company to give you a us addy so that you can buy things from the us and ship back to sg.
but its better to combine your items and ship it in coz that way you split the base charge.

re: avent trade in
this is open for the public. for me i wont be going to the isetan pte sale coz not much to get that would be diff from the isetan baby fair.

mbb2

the phil and teds can get at mothercare think its 76.90... the one with a full range of products is the one at harbourfront so if you want to get this can go there.
also mothercare having members sale ... members can get additional 10 or 20% off on selected items. if want can also pm me for my card details coz i got the card. :p

kittyng

hahah, actually i was the one to feel that way when i was preggy with my boy a year ago.... then when i went shopping for all the items needed and saw the prices and did a tally on how much we would be to be spending then i started to see the sense in getting old or 2nd hand stuff... especially if the stuff has only been used by 1 baby before and looks as good as new. :p
but there are still things that you should not get 2nd hand like breast pumps, bottles, carseat... the rest ok to get 2nd hand... things like cot, playpen, toys are all ok to get 2nd hand.

Monday greetings to all mommies..

I am at my 22wk's and have been pretty big since I learnt of my pregnancy thru blood test (2wks).. recently, I am started to feel occasional crumps on my tummy (like mensus cramp but last a looooong time).. Should I run to my doctor?

Also what are the better Chinese names for boys these days?

Sorry MIA for so long.

My detailed scan at 19wk4d shows bb at 264g, in the 40~45% percentile. The rest of the stats are at the 50% percentile and bb looks to be healthy. Not sure bb is slightly lighter due to too much caffeine, me eating too much junk food or cos I was sick a lot till the 4th month and didn't eat well. Sigh. But really happy all is well with bb

And I had to go back to the gynae's clinic 4 times from 8.30am to 4.30pm cos bb wasn't cooperating. Many many poses, but none that allowed doc to really have a good look at the heart. So have to take a look at the heart again during the 6 month checkup.

I was actually quite skeptical when my sister told me of all the poses her kids did during her ultrasounds. Though her impagination was going into overdrive. That is until I saw my baby do sit-up, leg raise, push up, kneel down, cover ears and talk =) And now starting to feel bb move more and more often +)

hi Kimberly,
I think a lot of the pains are due to womb being stretch and round ligament pains. I did check with my gynae before. She said the pain should be normal. But if it's excruciating pain that wouldn't go away, then should go get medical attention.

Hi MOMMIES!!!
Me too, MIA last week becos' went back to my hometown, Jakarta, to shop for baby stuffs! I'm so glad to almost finalise every items. I bought all items from either wholesalers or cheap retailers. Very happy becos' I could get all good quality stuffs with only $450!!! We already put aside $1.5k with estimation to spend about $1k but ended up only spent half!!! Never regret going back for shopping! Hehehe.. That amount excluded steriliser, bottle warmer & breastpump becos' for those items, my sis will hand-down to me. It's so cheap that I also bought the clothing for upto 12 mths for stock

Now waiting for Taka fair to just buy milk bottle dryer/container & small bottle for plain water drinking becos' couldn't find the design I want there.

Could anyone advise if Medela PIS Breast Pump at $678.9 is considered reasonable price? Cos I saw the breast pump at TMC parentcraft center. For TMC patients, it's 8% off = $693.80. For FBI members, it's 10% off = $678.9

Hi.

Lamagier, thanks for the info.. I guess you are going to be a working mom as I read that PIS is great for working moms.

I have seen someone using it on the plane before, it's rather quiet even during the middle of a night flight. She was comfortably reading her magazines...

I bought myself the Elect Mini since I wont be working after delivery, so I guess it's good enough (just to express for night feed and occasional bonding with daddy). I got it at the recent Robinson sale.

I wish I could travel like LS (perline).. Hubby has lots of "NOs", so everything has to be bought locally (my MIL says the price of the bb product here is natural contraception)..

Lamagier
First Few Years is selling PIS at $599. Think that's the cheapest I've seen around. I'm also waiting for the taka sale to see if it'll be cheaper there.

In case anyone is thinking of buying Medela Swing, do pm me cos I intend to sell mine away and get a PIS this time. It has been used for 8mths since Jan 08.

nicolle ann
I've used both. For me, i feel manual is the same, just that it's more tiring on the hand but it's really portable.

Lamagier: Think online is much cheaper even with shipping included. Saw sometime back that its around $400+ after conversion and shipping.

Koko,
definitely it's cheaper to get online. Or if have friends going to US, much much cheaper to get direct. But the problem is you must get an adapter which can be a bit heavy & there's no warranty. If it's sent for servicing, it costs much more.

HI Kimberly,
Yup, I'm buying it with the intent of pumping at work =p

Hi Nicolle
PIS = Pump-In-Style. Haha, although I have absolutely no idea how it is supposed to help mums look stylish while trying to express breastmilk =p I read in forum and my sister also said it's better to get electrical ones as the manual pump one is quite tiring.

Hi babyethan,
I do have colleagues coming back from Houston end of the month. But both males and under 30 and no kids or pregnant wives. Don't think they will be as obliging as to go shop around Houston for a breast pump for me