(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

I was at the Parentcraft center last Sat and the nurse was telling us that we can buy the Medela PIS a few days after birth when we are sure of a sufficient supply of breastmilk because of issues like blocked ducts, low milk supply... So till then also not late. Though she says to get the full set, instead of mini electric because the larger unit is more comfortable to use. Well I suppose most of us will want to BF our babies anyways, so sooner or later might not really bother us so much, and expressing milk for feeds has its benefits for those with no problems doing it.

Hi Sam,
Does it means like it will be good if I wait till after I give birth then buy it? Like get the breastpump during confinement month?

I am planning to order freestyle from usa

Re: Breast Pumps
Can you rent breast pumps fm the hospital? I didn't hv breast pumps before I gave birth to DD. I rented hospital-grade breast pumps while waiting for my order of breast pumps to arrive.

Lamaiger, Cecilia, Kitty,

me too, finally can feel baby moving and sometimes even light punches or kicks...did my detailed scan yest and baby was fine weighing 358g ;) but later at gynae's place he was sleeping with buttocks up, so could not get a 2nd glimpse of him...

Re; Strollers

Yest also when to Baby hypermart at Kaki bukit and Kiddy Place in Toa Payoh...quite a good selection of them..DH and myself finally settled for a Capella stroller at $219...nice design and easy to manage...will be buying a car seat seperately thou..

Kitty,

did you go forthe talk last sat? I could not make it this round..anyithing interesting?

Sherly,

Did Dr Ang give you any fish oil? he still giveing me multivits at 20 wks leh...when are we supposed to take the fish oil?

Chatting with my mum on the weekend about diapers, and she told me that cloth diapers will save some money though hubby and me are like hmmmm... on the topic of diapers.
So anyone intending to put their babies on cloth diapers?
Seems like Bumwear turns up when I'm looking at the topic.

re: breast pumps

was also being advise to buy after gifing birth as breast pump is quite expensive and some people may not haf enuff milk supply or there's some problem hence unable to express out and feed breastmilk. hence can gif a wait and see attitude in case. i decide to buy onli after i gif birth also as in between my confinement haf to go ICA to do baby's BC, then at the same time can go and buy if i wan to

Hi Blessed!!!
(*wave & big grin*) Welcome to the wait-long-long-finally-feel-baby-move club! Your detailed scan exactly on 20th week? Cos I did it 3 days shy of 20 weeks and bb only 264g. ur bb growing well =)

blessed,

So cute.. :p Baby exploring his gender is it? Ha Ha!! Next time sit and reach sure pass. :p

You gals r making me so anxious in counting the days to see the little one..

princess, lamagier,

I also dunnoe how to track the movement lei. I just took a rough paper and jot down everytime I felt. Maybe, should start a baby's diary liao. Can be fun..

cecelia
i guess is super fun. wad if the baby gif u a series of kicks and punches? 0.o dunno haf to jot down how mani times liaos! hahas. im noted down everi single new development. like 1st movement, 1st time seein the bump when baby kick on my tummy etc. will be damn fun and memorable for all of us!
im also counting down to the next time i see my baby. onli 2 more days! and will b my detailed scanning. anxious.

hi blessed

I have been taking fish oil since 1st trimester.. and multivit too.. but recently based on my triple blood test, it shows that i have low haemogoblin, so I am given iron pills too..
Where about is baby hypermart at Kaki Bukit? I would like to go there and have a look too..

Re: BB's weight
Most of you have shared about the weight of bb, did the sonographer share with you about the weight of bb during the scan? Coz apparently mine at Gleneagle did not tell me abt the weight. I have not seen the actual report coz I did not have to see my gynae that day..

Re: Hiccups
Anyone encounter bb's hiccup yet? Sometimes I'm confused if that's bb's kick or hiccup.. anyone can share the experience?

Re: bb's movement
Do we have to take down the bb's movement now? I thought it is during the 3rd trimester.. maybe i should do the same already..

Re: tense neck and shoulder + headache
Anyone suffering the above mentioned? I have no mood to work each time i have headache.. what's worse.. I got woken up by headache and it just drive me nuts coz I will be so tired and cant always take mc to rest. I am tempted to go for prenatal massage.. now that i'm 22nd week.. is it advisable to go for massage? Some say after 1st trimester.. so say after 6 mths.. maybe mummies here can advise..

Ralphine,

Re: Hiccups
I did feel bb hiccup these few days the feeling is like "pop..pop...pop.." continous like tat. I think is hiccup ba !

pprincess,
Enjoy your detail scan =) Can see bb for much longer than normal checkup =)

ralphine,
Yah, been feeling tense and achy muscles lately. Luckily only slight headache... I just try to stretch more. Later go gym walk threadmill see if it helps get blood circulation moving better and reduce the tension. let you know tmr =p

You're not coming down with flu are you?

lamagier
im onli worried tat it will take a long time if baby is not cooperating as my appt is the last appt of the day. hopefully baby will cooperate very well and also let me see the gender :D

muffingirl
im tinkin of going to the antenatal class in KKH but hor like abit too much information that we dun need animore at this point of time. wad do u tink? dey also didnt provide classes for bathing for baby and such. more interested in that.

pprincess, I signed up for the March classes starting in 2 weeks time. I know that the front part of the lectures will probably be boring, but the later part teaches about labour, massage (daddy to massage mummy hehheh), breathing techniques, care of the newborn. So hopefully will be quite useful.
My colleagues who went for the classes, said they also guide you on where to go and what to do on the day of your admission.

Sam: I put my daughter in cloth diapers, not bumwear but the old fashion kind that you actually have to pin together. Its a lot more work cos of the washing but she has never had diaper rash. Later on I changed her to bumwear training pants, they are absorbent and easy to wash. Only problem is the fleece layer takes a long time to dry and during rainy seasons that was a bit of a problem. My personal opinion is if you have a helper at home, you might want to consider using cloth diapers. Its cheaper in the long run and better for the environment. Just be mentally prepared for the extra work. When we go out, I put her in regular diapers.

Pprincess: when I had my daughter at KKH, they had a class to teach you how to bathe your baby. Think it was the day after I delivered, the nurse came to tell me about it, it was held on the same floor as my ward.

muffingirl
oh, bcos im single mum. so i tink even more not suitable for me as the daddy massage is not for me leh =p thou i can replace daddy and do it. but still weird when all the daddy are there but me this mummy is there. hahas. mayb i will go check out other classes

jillian
i heard abt tat also. but mummies commented that it was a chop chop ting. so not much of practise. dun wan to risk ani danger as after gifing birth i will be all alone

pprincess, can ask your mum to go along with you. My first baby, so any information is good. If boring, maybe I will just fall asleep haha.
Anyway the classes are not that expensive.

muffingirl
hahas! if i go i tink the 1st few lessons surely will sleep =p my mum also jus pass away so nobody to accompany me. if i ask my dad is damn funni! people will thought that he is my husband =x im thinkin of going to the motherandchild's prenatal preparation class

Mashy

Please update me on your excel sheet if u dont mind... edd is 07 july 09 gynae dr. alex ooi and hospital TMC.

Im wondering if any of the mummies here feel their babies kicking lesser lately... Not sure if im being paranoid or i really do feel its moving lesser now.. Please advise

Jillian

Tats too short lived a life span to invest in for that chair.. hahahaah.. but if its a gift like urs, then its fine i guess...

yan
sometimes i also feel tat my baby doesn seems to move and kick so much then the day before or so. but then i guess we are just being paranoid. as long as the child got kick is okie?

pprincess: you have my full admiration for going through this alone. I hope you'll have some help after the baby is born. I remember being so nervous about having to give my daughter a bath, my greatest fear was that I would drop her in the tub!

pprincessbaobei

Im being abit paranoid coz i had a fall sometime last friday thats y not sure if i hurt my baby in any way.. coz i did land on the floor on my tummy.. But well its still kicking off n on now but not often which got me alittle worried.. But im not bleeding and no spotting so i guess n hope shld be fine..

Headaches in pregnancy apparently are quite common in some people.. Mine was quite bad sometimes tat it induces me to vomit.. Spoke to my gynae b4 n he said its rather normal symtoms and shouldnt be a cause for worry unless its persistent for days or weeks..

I'm a 1st time mummy here!
I shld be expecting my bb in july too! (Supposed to be early aug, but coz gng for c section, so nid 2 weeks earlier...)

Just to check with you, how much weight have all of u gained so far?

=D

jillian
im also worried leh. bcos when they are NB, they jus look so tiny and fragile. i normally only dare to carry baby which is abt 6 months old and above. even then im also very scared! so im tinkin how im going to cope. mayb ask a friend to drop by on and off to look at me! hahas

yan
if u are worried mayb u can go and see the doctor to do a scan to rest ur mind
no worries yea. i guess as long as the baby is still kicking, no bleedin, no pain should b no problem. but do b more careful and dun fall down animore esp wif the weather nowadaes.

LS

No need to buy bottle drying rack. Coz after u sterilise, you're supposed to assemble everything and keep it closed to keep it sterile. If u dry it after u sterilise, then it defeats the purpose. That's what Mrs Wong from TMC said.

Yan
It's better to check if u feel the bb kicks are getting lesser. Not to scare u, but coz i had the experience of a forum mommy who was supposed to due same time as my #1, her bb got strangled by the cord & passed away. She said she felt lesser kicks and we still assured her it was ok. Who knows...

lamagier,

yup, i did my detailed scan on 20wks 3 days...at least that is wat the report said;)

Ralphine,

oh baby hypermart is at 69 shun li building, kaki bukit ave 1..but the only disappoinment is the salesrep are not so active..you gotta appproach them each time you have an enquiry, there is also a Kids kingdom in the same row...smaller but you can also go there and checkout the prices...

hmm, actually gynae said im anemic ..but never prescribe additonal iron, said there is enuff in the multivits he gave me...

and yes, you can see bb's weight in the detailed scan report....the sonographer gave me 2 copies of the report, one for my keeping and one for the gynae...

blessed
actualy thats wat i like about baby hypermart
they dun come n disturb us.. onli when we need help they tend to us... not so pushy but yet helpful

mashy
i didnt know tat is so bad. there's 1 dae where i dun realli feel much from my baby and my colleague tell me that if cant feel jus keep hitting and shaking until there's reaction, cos she sae her 1 last time is totally no movement, and she go and see doc then know the cord is around the neck, but luckily dey find out in time.
but this kind of ting realli hard to sae. sigh. bcos we cant look into the tummy and cannt alwaes small small ting jiu parnoid and go and see doc jus to ask doc to scan. realli hard and duno wad to do sometimes.

Hi winnie_mummy,
I put on 3-4kg in the last 5 months.

Hi blessed,
Maybe you're only slightly anemic, that's why doc dn give you iron tablets? And iron tablets will cause constipation, not quite that good for pregger ladies whose digestive system already sluggish. But if you keep feeling giddy, maybe should ask your gynae if need to take iron supplements or not... My multivits also got iron, but not enuff to boost my iron level....

Hi Yan,
Yah, agree. if really worried, maybe best to call gyane to make appt to check on bb just to be sure bb is ok.

Hi pprincess,
I also wish got ultrasound-eyes, can see what bb doing inside my tummy... haha, can't imagine how much MTB overseas have to worry, since it seems like overseas gynae don't do ultrasound as often as gynaes in Spore... My hair would prob be white from worry by the time bb born....

re: Breast Pump
Oh, didn't realize it is possible to rent from hospital. Yah, does make sense to wait till bb born, make sure got milk then invest. Else I'll cry if spend $600-700 on a Medela PIS pump and end up cannot use....

Ya im getting real worried esp after my fall.. haiz.. i can still feel some kicks but lesser compare to b4.. I still try to stimulate movements by listening to music n play around with my tummy c if any reaction..

I oso hope to see my gynae soon, but lately due to his family issues, he is also not available to see me... till maybe next week earliest.. i must really pray hard its nothing serious but mayb bb pure lazy inside..

lamagier
if onli ultrasound service is available veri cheaply! hahas. i guess then we will alwaes b going to the clinic to scan and make sure that our baby is safe and sound

yan
mayb u wan to go and visit other gynae first? as ur own gynae may also feel terrible even after the break.

pprincessbaobei

I just called and im goin to see gynae on Thurs as he be back at work again.. Nurse told me so long got kick shld be alrite... Fingers cross and pray hard...

yan
mayb for the time being u jus observe the movement of the baby till thurs. no worries! it's all done to rest ur mind at ease. jus b careful within this few daes.

Hi Mashy, please update me:
My bb (we call him Yoda for now) is my no.1, bb boy, EDD Jul13, my OBGYN is Dr. Sheila Loh from Raffles Hospital.

Hi mbb2, did u deliver your 1st in RH as well? Anything I do not need to pack for me or bb when I deliver? R u going for the antenatal class? My tummy feels v heavy now so I think I should start early.

Also does anyone know the actual purpose of the cordyceps soup for pregnant women? I wonder if it cause me to become big only at the tummy area.

kimberly
the cordycep soup i tink supose to give us energy n strength during pregnancy if im not wrong

im like u big onli on tummy area
mayb shoulder grew a bit broader but not meaty kind.
i tink shldnt b a problem
in fact i tink we shld b happy bout it
dun need worry hw to lose the extra pounds nxt time on other area hehe

mashy
Meaning after sterilising, it'll be dry by itself so we just use tongs to take out & must use straight away? Sorry.. 1st time mommy blur blur de..

ralphine

yaps you wont need the pump now and its best that for the 1st week you solely latch baby on instead of trying to pump... even if you do try its very depressing! hahah so actually i only started to use my pump about a month after delivery....

sam

for the cloth diapering.... i must say that i will saluate anyone who would try cloth diapering with a newborn! for me thinking about the 4 poops and multiple pees a day is enough to drive me up the wall! hahah am only thinking to invest and start on my 1yr boy... but definitely for the new baby, he will be on disposables till his poop has regulated to 1 per day!

Hi ladies, just had my detailed scan done and it's a boy! Ha ha so mother's instinct is right since I 'guessed' quite early on that it would be a boy even though I have always wanted a girl to be the firstborn.
Everything seems healthy and normal - such relief! Mashy, could you help me update please? Thanks!

Hi Sam,

I m first time mom and intend to use cloth diapers.

If you do not intending to return to work, cloth diapers is cheaper option and yes friendly to our envt. Suggest you use them for the day and use diapers in the night and when going out (said most of my friends).

I also got 2 Bumwear, the type where you can button up so much that fits the newborn and up to toddler..

I am waiting for my delivery (tomorrow night) to remember the brand of the nappy I ordered. My sisters went to Bangkok and got me 2 boxes of nappy liners. Heard you can wash them if they are not very soiled (with pee).

I was also recommended to use Nappy San (very popular in Australia) to soak the very soiled nappy..

Btw, cloth nappies also has other good use-- as a wash cloth, line over your shoulder if our baby drools over our shoulder. My mom used that to clean our gums when we were babies (my mom has 5 kids).. so I suppose cloth diapers are pretty good.

Hi Sunnyduck,
(*grin*) Yup, he's in hiding. And the husband now drives me all the way to my company guardhouse in the morning, hee, so morning also no need to fight for MRT seat. So now I'm a happy pregger lady in the morning =)

Hi Kimberly,
Another use for cloth diaper: Use it as a swaddle cloth in hot weather. My mum used to do it for babies she babysit cos the typical swaddle cloth too think.