(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

kittyng,
i also crave, but then i love durians. kekeke. i eat every now and then though. my gyne did tell me for my first pregnancy when i was concern about weight, that if i eat too much, the weight will go to me and not baby, and durian weight is very hard to lose. so i still eat, but not overeat.

Nicolle, mine oso golden retriever...but a mixed breed. White in colour
Hee, i still v close with my dog thou always scolded by my parents. My cat is more ke lian...i kept ignoring her when she comes close to me cox i think we not supposed to touch em and clear their poo.

Coolkero, Koko & peanut,
Thanks, i will check it out.
Not for the little one, is for my niece, her birthday is next month, same as my birthday....

Re: Discharge
me too having a lot of discharge, sometime feel very uncomfortable

Hi HBB,

Thanks for the contact, i was there last sun but it was closed. Did saw some pics and price outside on sarong.

My friend told me that she had durian during her 3rd trim cos she was craving for it and once her urine stick turn brown cos she had it the day before her check up. Durian has high sugar content thus have to take moderately.

I have been eating every 3 hrs interval.. wonder if it's a good sign or not..

kitty

oh really?? mix with labrador?? yeah.. cat is definitely NO NO.. i still clear his shit.. no choice la.. my dog..hahaha

Btw mummies, i had felt bb movement sometime as low as below the pelvis bone area.. is that norm? Had forgotten to check w my gynae.

kitty

It depends on whether your bb is big or small. Not advisable to eat durians if your bb is already big.

LS
There's been talks abt bumpers being a danger in cots. Abt bb using them as a step, accidentally rolled into them and getting suffocated that sort of stuff & SIDS. A safer mode is to just get netting and cover the cot.

BabyEthan, I also duno how much is much. Infact I didn't think that mine is soooo much. haha! The only difference that I observe is that when i pass motion, the chunk of white substance would drip down. Before pregnancy it wouldn't.

Nicolle, mine mixed with collie

Yeah mashy, i shall go buy one back tonight to eat liao
But i'm jus afraid that durians are too heaty cox i get sore throat easily.

nicolle, the abdomen pain certainty not the normal stomach cramps that we experienced during menses. On and off I get short sharp pain but gynae said is ligament being stretch to make space for bb.

Hmm... on and off is ok ba. But if pain unbearable, cold sweat, can't sleep, pain for long hours, think better check with gynae.

nicolle, I had half-boiled eggs (that time I didn't know I was pregnant) but end up vomitted everything. Seems like body auto reject undercook food.

kittyng, it doesn't feel like menses cramp.

For my pain, last night was abt 4-5 hrs constant pain that's why got me so worried. Normally, maybe 3-4 times, each time abt 3-4 seconds, per day or even no pain for a few days.

kitty
ya sometimes i sing to her.. i try to sing standard songs like twinkle twinkle so tat nxt time she can rec this song when i sing to her when she fusses
dun hav to b gd singer la... i dun hav sweet voice also
but a mummy voice is always good to bb hehe

i dun dare to take durian now.. i scare bb too big .. .since no weight prob for bb now i try to avoid and the sugar level is 1 concern.. so i siam it if i can.. but durian season is here i duno can tahan the temptation of my mountain cat durian anot haaaaa

mrs c
tat shop dun open on sunday i tink

kitty
tell ur doc bout the pain when u see him
monitor ur discharge see if it turns smelly or colour chg anot
hope i din scare u lar... sorry
but good to monitor oki...

Hi Yen

Maybe u wan to try drinking those milk powder twice a day for pregnant ladies.. I started immediately wen i knew i was pregnant on Anmum, and had my detail scan yesterday and my baby is at 500g.. Heard from frends its due to the milk powder im drinking so maybe can give it a try.. Im not big built only 160cm and continuously putting on weight every month.. Hope this info helps.. Cheers

peanut

my DH dun allow me to watch movie.. coz his say cinema alot of GEMS.hahahaha.. say he say better to avoid.. hahahaha

btw.. MY parent in law..alway stock up durian in the fridge.. everyday after dinner, they will call my name to eat.. now i getting :p of durian

yeah yeah, milk is definitely good! My fren who just gave birth, baby is tall >50cm >3kgs, she drank lots of milk, normal milk (not powder though). She drank abt 1.5l pack every 2days. I could only finish a 1l pack of HL every 4-5days. I better buck up! keke...

btw, my discharge was usual colour and odour I think. nicolle, don't worry too much after hearing our stories, learn from it. Also, different ppl may have slightly different symptoms, that's why every pregnancy is unique

Cinema got lots of germs meh? ***fainted*** I still patron every fortnight.

I thought it's terrible enuf to avoid certain food, now still got to avoid certain places??? Oh mine!

peanut
probably becoz cinema is not aired or something.. so probably more prone to gems n bacteria.. i dunnoe la.. my DH too worried.. ahahahaha

btw.. which brand u all considering for pram??

peanut

i also alternate drink those packet milk from Magnolia High Calcium and low fat wen i dun drink the milk powder...

Coz the milk powder can get quite heaty and very filling.. Drinkin from per packet type can make u drink more coz before u even realise it and u finish the whole pack.. Thats how i psycho myself everyday into drinking it..

As part of Singapore push to create a more compassionate society, The Singapore Kindness Council is producing a series of photography adverts to promote kindness in our everyday life. One of the adverts shows that we can help by giving up our seats in the trains and buses to mothers who are expecting.

As such, we are calling all expecting mothers to come forward and be part of our photography shoot next Tues 10th or Wed 11th March. the photography shoot will take 4 hours long and selected mothers will be reimbursed with S$1000 for their contribution. Interested parties pls call our casting director Delvin Lee at 8233 7533 to make an appointment.

HBB, i dun hav a lot of discharge like wat u all described....dunno normal anot.

Can i check mummies, are your nipples turning a lot darker and more painful? It has seemed more painful than the beginning part of pregnancy.

my gynae also recommend to drink milk to bulk up baby's weight, especially mama milk. For my #1, i drank a few tins. baby was a hefty 3.765kg at birth.

Hi LS,
Re: Crib Bumper Safety
Check out this link on crib bumper safety:
http://babyproducts.about.com/od/recallsandsafety/a/bumpersafety.htm

My concern with crib bumper is when baby is btw 2-3 mo, when she can sorta roll over. The problem arises if she can roll over to the bumper and unable to roll back.

Re: Cold Cut Meat
While I continue to enjoy cold cuts or deli meat occasionally, aww honey baked ham, I will only eat after popping it into the microwave till steamy hot. Cos other than the high sodium nitrate present in the preservative, there's also a risk of listeria.

Re: High Sugar = Big Baby :D
I had a crazy craving for ice-cream during the 3rd trimester with my gal. Can easily finish a pint of Haagan Dazs every other day, but gosh did I pay for this craving. Yes, I had a big baby, 9lb 8oz, and man, the recovery was a long and unpleasant one. I was lucky not to have GD... I've been good so far for this pregnancy, hope to hold off till delivery. Luckily I can't get durian here ;)

re: food restrictions

ive check wif doctor and doctor jus sae to avoid partial or raw food. the rest is fine. heaty or too liang food we jus take moderate lor. i crave for durians but lazy to go haunting for it as no place near my side selling. thou we haf to eat healthy. but my colleagues all ask me to gif in to my cravings. examples my cravings are coke and macs which are unhealthy. hence i limit myself to 2 or 3 times per week onli.

re: tummy size
around 17 weeks my tummy start to balloon and bcome more obvious, people even gif up seats to me on MRT. but lately i realise tat my tummy haf shrink. not sure wad is wrong. however my colleagues who observe sae tat my tummy doesn protude out but is growing in fact. like wad dey sae 'shou tu zi' hide tummy. and alot of people even come tell me is gd, my tummy know how to hide meaning that next time i fat also not so observe =x mayb alot of mummies also like me?

pprincess, my gynae said the same thing as yours. Do we have the same gynae??? lol.

No one give up their sits to me yet
my in laws tell me to start maternity wear just to show others that I'm pregnant so that they can watch out for me. lol.

peanut

hahas! ur ILs so cute leh. but sometimes when it is veri crowded like after office hrs, we better watch out ourselves then waitin for other people to watch out for me. my gynae and ur gynae not the same lar. hees. im from kkh. but i tink dey mostly saeing the same ting =p

kitty/nicole
some ppl dun hav alot of discharge one so dun tink too much bout it
and the smell hor.. ehh v hard to describe w words also
like wat peanut say.. hers is normal yet gt infection...
every 1 is different
jus try to keep wat others experience in mind if so sway gt similar symptom dun wait.. go to the gynae immediately

nicolle
thr is no realy hard or fast rule which pram is good
cos diff ppl like diff kind
but the more popular brands are peg perego (heavy enuff), combi ( very light), caprella, graco, mc claren n etc
this are the more popular brand jus like honda, nissan and mercs car u see on the roads

of cos there are many more brands out thr
bu it doesnt mean they r not good

suggest u go n see n test it out liek pushing it ard the shop to see if u like the feel, see if u ok with how it open and close.

i was keen on peg perego at 1st but later dh feel its very 'plastic' duno wat he meant also..
and i bought some other brand which is not so commonly seen but price was comparable to peg perego one
but the feel was good (at least to mi n dh)
heavy n sturdy for me as i like heavy stuff (including my kitchen ware)
the wheels are big which attribute to the steadiness of the pram while we push it esp on uneven surface.

so do giv it a try before u buy yea.. and oh yes.. when u try to open or close those pram that needs to use 1 hand.. always try to do it with ur weaker hand.
ie if u r right hander
then use ur left hand to do it.. cos u have to imagine the stronger hand u r carrying your baby while opening or closing the pram alone.

i also crave for durian, i give in once in a while treating myself to durian strudel, hubby dun really want to share cos he said too heaty for him, so i ended up eating the whole half strudel on my own. now doc mention baby kinda big, i might deliver one week earlier, hmmm, does that mean i should stop eating durian??

loshita

hahah you can come and get from me i have a store room full of wool, yarn, knitting needles... well the works on top of fabric..... blah, blah, blah (hahah this is coz my mum used to have craft store when i was younger, lots of stock still lying around in the toyo containers). hahah we can even start a craft group! i would like the company in knitting.... so boring to be doing it alone!

koko

here is the link...
this is for cupcakes
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aiyUE2NNSRM&feature=related

re: discharged

i do haf alot of discharge. when im pregnant week 4 and 5 i haf bleedin and gynae sae tat is bcos ive infection tat will affect the baby. hence took antibotics and im okie. however onli the infection that will harm the baby is okie. after tat i start to haf alot of white + abit yellowish discharge and gt abit of smell. keep forgetin to tell gynae during visit. finally last visit i told my gynae and she told me that it is jus a normal infection which will not affect baby. but can still gimmie medication to cure it. so nothin much to worriew abt yea?

nicolle,
i agree with han bao bao, you should go try out which pram you like and also suitable for your life style. I had a maclaren, but the basket below is not sufficient for my usage, so I sold it and got a peg perego, I like the big basket below which when I go out with baby alone, can be used to store my shopping stuff. I got a combi as a gift, light and easy to use and carry around, but stroller light, means if go out for long, end up I will be carrying the stuff, since too heavy the stroller may topple. So go see what you like and also price matches what you want. Some strollers can be rather costly and at the end of the day who knows baby may not wanna sit at all, so you may wanna just look at baby carriers

Nicolle, the last time i weigh, i put on 3 kg within a mth.. though i cant see where the weight has gone to beside the tummy and my bum..

Aiyoh, the talk on durian and ice cream make me crave for it.. my DH restrict me frm eating durian cos of the high sugar content.. think i will indulge in ice cream once every two weeks or a mth.. thinking of the swensen ice cream cone with chocolate n peanut coating that are display at the counter now...

nicolle

better to wait for baby to be around before buying coz when bringing baby home from hospital you wont use a pram and then also wont be using during confinement.... so better to let baby try before buying. :p that way can see if baby like to be in pram... otherwise its a waste of money as some babies don't like to be put in the pram.

Nicolle,
DOn't worry. I'm still taking cold drinks too cos nothing much else can help relieve my MS. Told husband if he cuts off my cold 100+, I'll puke on him =p

re: Weight
I finally put one 1 kg. Like otehr mummies, dun think it went to my tummy. Most people in my company still don't know I'm preggers...

re: Discharge
Unlike most mummies here, I actually dun haf much discharge at all. Hopefully that's normal.

Elijah: Thanks for the link. This is a much easier receipe :)) Will try it out soon.

RE: Durians
Durians have high sugar content so its not advisable to eat too much, otherwise the weight will go to you and not the baby.

Think only in 3rd trimester, the food we eat will add weight to the baby.

BTW, if anyone is interested to read books, I've just read a book published by TMC called "Childbirth" by Wong Boi Boi, although she is a nurse and midwife, this book is quite informative and its "Asian" compared to those available in the market. I borrowed this from the library.

Another book that is local in context is by Dr Chang Tou Choong "Pregnancy and Childbirth". He's also from TMC. The NLB has it under reference section unfortunately but you can buy it from TMC.

Been taking small quantity of coffee nowadays as i tend to get tired at times.. been feeling guilty about it though keep telling myself "not too much, dun drink next time.." wonder if it will cause bb to be active..