(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

mashy
can last longer.. u mean if use cot,bb wun climb out? hmm..

sarong i dun like.. i scare later bb neck become shorter..lol

nicolle

If cot, once they can climb out, can get those can convert to bed type. Then u'll have a toddler bed. And the cot has higher railings, so it takes a longer time for the kid to be able to climb out than playpen.

I haven't gone out to check out cots and playpen yet, so my heart gets itchy whenever I see cots. But hubby say his office mummies say their babies grow out of or really hadn't made much use of the cots, so he discourages me to get one.

Then again, I've heard from my office daddy that his son has grown up sleeping in their bed, and getting him to sleep on his own is not an easy transition. Similarly on a blog where parents are so attached to having baby in their bed that getting the baby used to being in a cot is also a task to behold. Not to mention a slow down getting back to coupledom. Personally, my issue is that haha I scared either of us will crush baby whether it is an accidental stray arm or not.

nicolle
i tink some also have adjustable height for the cot. meaning if is young, u can put it higher, easier for u to reach. once getting bigger and bigger, can adjust lower and lower so tat the child will not climb out. but i tink tat 1 is more exp. as im gettin the cot from my fren, ive no preference as to wad it is. at most sleep wif me on the floor lor =p

my fren's baby also cry whenever put back into the cot. sometimes cant make it a habit to carry and rock ur baby till ur baby fall asleep as my fren did tat and nw the child is 5 months old, once put back into stroller, cot will cry and wan to b carry to sleep again. the fren who is gifing me the cot is usually home alone as her husband travel frequently, hence she will sleep wif the child on the bed. but when the husband is home and put the child on the cot, it jus wun sleep and will even wake up and cry.

Re: Baby Cot
I guess baby cot is just those nice to have things bah. It's just a bed with railings so parents won't need to worry about baby rolling off the bed. And suitable high so parents can change diapers easily.

I'm getting a hand-me-down cot. Else I might just consider put mattress on floor for baby =p So even if baby roll off the floor also won't have too far to fall =p. Cos I would expect baby cot max last till baby about 1.5-2 years, then would have to buy baby a bed. I would just save the cot money and get the bed.

lamagier/pprincess

Hehe, i don't find it nice to have things leh, reg the cots. I think it's really useful. My boy slept in it till he was 2.5yrs old and we decided to get him a fanciful thomas the train bed.

If u want some couplehood, u really need to let your bb sleep separately and pref in another room. My boy slept in our room for 1 yr and i really regretted it. Coz after that very diff to shift him out. Needed to let him cry it out a few nights before he's willing to stay in his own room. This time round, I think I'll just let my #2 sleep in my room for 6mths.

mashy
hahas, yea i guess so. but ive onli my room and no other space. so mine is no choice. when the daddy comes back when the baby is 1yr old. is realli doom day.

nicolle
tummy will start to itch will tummy start to stretch ^^

Hi mashy,
How does the cot helps? Sorry, my only experience with babies are babies by mother used to babysit. They all sleep either on mattress or in yao-lan cos of cos their parents won't go out to buy a baby cot and put in baby sitter's place. So I always had the impression that cot is a nice to have, but not absolutely neccessary to have item

lamagier

It's a great place to put the bb when i wanna go toilet.

Tell u, when u have a bb, they just simply don't understand that u need to go toilet & u need to take a bath too. Cots are great to dump them inside. They outgrow playpens too quickly compared to cots.

elijah mummy
so end u pu din get the steriliser rite?
looks like i gotto buy the nrmal steamr then unless i take over my sis avent steriliser

coolkero
glad ur baby is fine =)

agree that sarong is not v good unless u can bring sarong everywhere u go cos baby tend to wan to b rock all the way to sleep after getting use to sarong

n let bb sleep themselves in cot or play pen will b good esp when we worry bb will roll of bed in middle of nite as they grow
end up we dun get good nite sleep cos we gotto b light sleeper to make sure we dun suffocate bb or they roll off

nt every toddler knows hw to climb out of play pen thou
my gf twins can climb out of play pen at 10 mth... but my other gf kids at 2 yr of age also wun climb out of th eplay pen... depends on individual babies
so play pen or cot are both good

Thanks mashy.
haha, last time my mum used to just yell for us to watch the baby if she's cooking, bathing or needs to go to the loo =p baby fun to play with (for a little while) + it's official reason to postpone doing homework =p

lamagier

yah, but there'll be times when u'll be alone with the kid. Like me, I'm a SAHM and I'm alone with my kid. Your mum has u & your siblings to help. Will u have any help?

Sigh, i wish i have more space in my room to put a cot or playpen but it's oredi super cramp haven include the other bb stuff so im left w sarong choice or sleep w me till my new flat is available in next 2.5yrs! Our room is not master and it'oredi have a v narrow walkway. My hb got to sacrifice for the first month to sleep on the floor while bb will sleep w me on mattress b4 transfering to sarong..

MrsC

I remember when I was a bb, I was placed in a cot just right next to my parents' bed. We were sharing the 3room flat with my father's siblings & grandma so the 3 of us are squeezed in a room. Somehow they managed to squeeze the cot between the wall & the bed. But of course, after that no more walkway lor. hahah.

Nicolle,

I've got both play pen and baby cot. Now my son is 14 months, and the playpen has become a "storeroom" for his toys. He refused to be in it before he turns one. he used to sleep in the playpen when he is a baby too. But it's too "shaky"

As for baby cot, he is still sleeping in it now. I prefer cot as it's more stable. but my MIL tot the cot is too small for him to change sleeping position at night. I tot it's good to train him to sleep in limited space, so that he won't fall off the bed next time. 8P

nicolle,

with regards to itch, I think you better keep an eye on it. I also got it at about 4/5th month of my previous pregnancy.

During my first pregnancy, my tummy itch and have red spots appearing. Initially, i tot it'll go away. who knows, it got worst (doc prescribed steriod cream, i refused to apply). I was eventually referred to dermatologist, and got some stronger steroid cream. i regretted for not applying it while at early stage... only after it spread to arms and tighs that i know it's seriousness. At the end, still have to use the cream. Then it's road to recovery.

Oh, my case is due to hormonal changes in body.
One advantage about having rashes is that you'll not get stretch marks. 8) That's what i've gathered then.

as for PUPP, usually will get it in the last stage of pregnancy.

cheryl

actually i had rashes and stretch marks for my first preg. But my stretchmarks faded, so not sure if counted or not. It started as early as 1st trimester for me then.

mrsC
if realy space constraints then no choice la
dn worry Bout it....
nxt bb u cn hv more space in ur new hse
if I din hack away a wall make 2 room into 1 I aso no space for cot cos realy too big
sometimes too squeezy in e room is hazardous too (maybe its my occupation hazard brain hee)
e electric sarong I haven gt idea which brand is gd bt I tink it might need some space on e base
nt sure u gt space for tat
scare sarong knock on edge of bed
measure first before u buy k else e normal spring kind aso ok... noneed base
jus hang fr ceiling

oh yes e spring is rather mild as compared to manual ones
see which type u preferred ;)

coolkero, congrats and glad to know everything goes well. So envy, know the gender already. I'm still patiently waiting for my detail scan 2 weeks later... yawn!!!

WAH..scary leh.. i bought the palmer DRY ITCHY OIL.. hopefully it help after sometime..

oh ya, i develop some rashes at the side of my stomach... and at time it can be really itchy that i have to TAHAN big time.. now my armpit area also have some rashes.. how???

what is PUPP?? is it something that can make u feel really itchy.. as i read in books.. if itchyness get worst, got to tell gynae, dunnoe what infection

nicolle, baby cots are those wooden kind like small beds, while play pens are those plastics ones, with colorful nets surrounding it.

Previously 1 of the mummies here explained that baby cot can adjust height 3-4 levels, while play pens only up to 2 levels. I'm going to invest in the baby cot cos more durable and maybe can use until 3 yrs old.

mrsC
me also got space constraints. hence nw trying to squeeze the cot in. haven check wif my fren how big is the cot. actualli wif me living in this room, i onli haf a walkaway. hence nw haf to shift and squeeze the furniture and get rid of a few cupboards before i can place the cot jus right beside my bed and the windows. cant imagine i nw singe bed. if my baby's dad join in in july next yr, how to squeeze sia =x

The playpen I've got is not comfortable for baby to sleep in; the mattress is very thin even with a quilted protector. DD didn't sleep much in it at home, she didn't even like to play in it (maybe she felt a little trapped in there). I would take the playpen with us when we visit our friends/relatives for the whole day (so she can nap) or on a trip when I can't get a crib at the hotel. So it'll be useful when the baby visits the grandparents on weekends or if baby goes to a home daycare. I plan to use it in my room for this 2nd baby during the 1st mth before moving her to the crib in a separate room. If you plan to co-sleep then I think can wait before investing, unless you need 1 for changing the diaper. A friend who co-sleep didn't buy a crib, the child went from the family bed to a toddler bed.

nicolle: u can ask your Gynae about the rashes. It may or may not be PUPP, sometimes it can be just your skin reacting to the hormonal changes. My gf had lots of rashes/ itchy skin (but not PUPP) during her pregnancy and I passed her california baby's canedula cream to use. She say it helps so that's one option you may wan to try.

Baby cot/ playpen. We got a cheap baby cot $78 (i think) from ikea, just good enough for the first few months or so, then we let her sleep on mattress on the floor. By 12 months old, we got her a "foam" bed, something like a pit, 4 sides with foam (lucky baby) and she's still sleeping in it now. I decided to let her sleep on the floor becuz I heard too many stories about baby falling off the bed, and I'm not comfortable with it. At that time also some scare about some recall of baby cots cuz of poor design (led to baby death) so I super KS, decided not to get it. End of the day it's your choice, my mummy friends decided to invest in a cot bed only later, and they convert into a bed next to their own bed.

thank u all mommies...

re: cot vs playpen

for my #1, i bought both. for short term, the playpen is more useful because it's her jail when she started standing and walking. i used to put her there with toys and she can play all day, and i can have my freedom. but that only last till she's one plus, so i gave it away when she started walking around steadily. the cot has wider gap so i was worried when she put her head or knock her head cos it's wooden, so the cot is in my room for sleeping only. but she has been sleeping there till she's about 4-5 years old cos it's longer. all i did was to take one side out and replace it wif the bed protector on the side so she wont fall at nite.

i still have my cot in my room, and i'm going to buy a playpen later since i'm using a confinement nanny, will put the playpen in another room with her. my #1 will be sleeping with us, she has been wif us since baby, so not a good time to kick her out or get another bed for her at this moment, scared she feel left out.

as for pram, i'm an aprica fan. luckily i still keep my #1 old pram, it's her bmw, hahahaha. i kept it because it's useful when going to zoo, easier to push her when she is tired, rather than carrying her on hot day. i like the pram because it's light and can operate with one hand, and really appreciate lightness when going thru staircase. i used it for about 4 years, so it's an investment for me to get a good one. my only complaint about my pram is that it only face one side, the handle is not reversible, so cannot see the baby eye to eye. just fyi, can check out the aprica distributor (http://www.aprisin.com.sg/store/index.php) normally can bargain the price from price list, and much cheaper than retail.

Re: Tummy size
Sigh, colleagues finally start whispering and guessing I'm preggers by the fact that I'm wearing looser clothes. I was actually ok with my undersized tummy. But now they all got me worried by saying my tummy too small for 5 months. Now got me all worked up and worried... then preggers hormones running wild and now feel like crying for some weird unknow reason. can't wait till my detailed scan on Thurs to make sure baby ok....

lamagier,
Size doesn't matter. It is very much depend on individual especially 1st pregnancy...as long as baby is growing healthy. my mum last time almost 6th mth then only can see obviously....

lamagier

U don't have enough fats stored up mah. How do u think some teenage girls can actually hide their preg? Either they're very big size all the while or they don't have lots of fats stored up.

Some pp just don't show that much.

lamagier
dun get affected by wat they say
u know another mtb who is due 7 weeks earlier than me her tummy smaller than mine!
dun panic k.. its realy ok!

Re: Crib and Bedding
For crib, the rule of thrumb is to make sure the grids/slats are no more than 6 cm apart, or a soda can shouldn't be able to pass thru.

A mommy friend also recommended to get the BreathableBaby bumper. It's made of mesh material to go round the crib to keep the baby's limbs within the crib and still allows air-flow. Has anyone seen one around?

Lamagier,

Dun worry too much k. If u r small built, then probably yr tummy will be rather small too. As u said, u already can feel baby kicking inside, meaning baby is very strong and healthy. So relax and look forward for this Thurs k..

At least u got yr detail scan so early, mine is 19 march. Dunnoe y they arranged my detail scan so late..

Noelle

I just buy netting from Spotlight and wrap it round the cot. Air can go thru better than bumpers and it's safer for them. But after a while, my boy started to tug on it and slip his legs thru the gaps. sigh.

Hi Lamagier,

Dun stress up,take things as it goes. As some says, it will only balloon up after 2nd trim so eat healthy and norm as usual. As long as gynae is fine with the bb weight , it should be fine..

Hi Iamagier,
I agree with the other ladies, don't get too stressed up abt tummy size. As long as you're eating healthy, your baby will grow just fine.

Hi Mashy,

Thanks for the suggestion! I just got a little concern abt the thick bumper I have after hearing a mom lost her 9 wo to SIDS recently. They don't know what caused it but just wanna rule out 1 possibility.

noelle

that's so sad! I've also read abt the dangers of bumpers and thus never had bumpers in the cot. Bumpers are just pretty to look at, but not safe at all for the bbs.

Thanks Mummies.
Just that can't help worrying. I'm not small built. I'm 1.66m and broad shoulder sporty type. Got 2 guys wives recently gave birth, a colleague who just came back from ML and one going to give birth soon. So a lot of people comparing tummy size, baby sized etc.

Should have not reveal pregnancy to them. Now totally no mood to work