(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

loshita, i saw some knitting stuff from spotlight, u can try there, maybe not full range, but at least there are some classes conduct there.

hello ladies...
Had my details scan yesterday. My bb's abdominal is a bit small and weight only 332g at 21wks. Very worry

Lamagier, do cheer up and be a happy mum
BB will be sad if we are sad. Dun worry too much abt wat others say k. We muz be strong enough to protect our own bbs....so jus ignore wat others say. Be happy and look forward to thurs to see your bb

Elijah: I would love to see the link as I've been unsuccessful trying the cuppies. Would appreciate if you could post the link. Tks!!!!

Noelle: thanks for the informative link :)

Nicolle: Playpens vs cot

It really depends on what you...playpens are more for day use when baby is older. As for cots, I think its good during the first few months. If the cot can be pushed around the house, you can put in the living room during the day and night time can push to the bedroom.

But some babies do not like to sleep in cots..for some reason.. while others are fine. Some cots are small so when baby grows bigger, they have to be transferred to somewhere else to sleep.

I intend to put the baby in the cot for the first 3 months, thereafter will be mattress for him to exercise and play. So, playpens is not necessary for me.

If someone can give you a second hand cot, I think that will be useful cause you really don't know how your baby will react to the cot, sometimes after buying and the baby doesn't want to sleep in it, it will be a showcase piece in the storeroom.

Loshita: you can get knitting supplies from Golden Dragon at people's park or spotlight.

Yen: my baby is small too only 276g (for detailed scan) but when I went to my gynae on the same day, the weight was 326g and i'm in y 19wks, but not to worry, I think the baby will grow big eventually at a later stage. Sometimes, its the way the doctor outline the stomach of the baby, so the scan is just a rough guide of the baby's weight.

Hi yen,

not too worry, they will grow as long we eat normally.I asked my gynae how he measure the weight, he mentioned it's according to the body parts so it's just a rough estimate.

Lamagier, cheer up! Maybe your stomach muscle is strong that's y it's not showing much yet.

Thanks for the words of encouragement.

Hi Yen,
I'm not exactly the best person to comfort you at the moment since I have just morphed into a worry wart, but I guess one possibility is maybe your baby gestation date is slightly smaller than expected? Cos our EDD all based on estimation. Next check up maybe request doc check on your baby's abdominal again. Prob baby would have caught up with the growth =) (*hug*)

Knitting supplies available in Spotlight at Plaza Singapura. Think their items are quite cheap too. Knitting for your little one already?

My tummy also quite small. Infact, I think others can't see that I'm pregnant except for myself and hubby. Tummy prutuding more than my breasts now. haha! It's abt 32inches. I'm very petite so I guess it's normal lah.

lamagier

yeah.. everyone say my tummy also small.. and i dun look preggy.. but gynae say everything is fine.. so i felt very relieved.. dun worry : )

guess probably for us.. our tummy will GROW tremendously during 7 or 8 mth

Anyway, I'm on mc today. Went to see my gynae this morning bcos of abdomen pain last night. Couldn't sleep, constant pain at abdomen from 10pm till duno what time I finally doze off... maybe 2 or 3am...

Doc said infection, too much discharge (I read from books that more discharge is normal leh???!!! ***confused now*** ), but have not infect baby so baby's fine. Inserted a tube or something like that into v. and started the cleaning. Quite sore actually
Expect to recover after the cleaning and medication
Haiz! Pregnant woman suffers! LOL!

nicole u mean during pregnancy?
ater melon i eat 1 slice once a long long while aft pregnancy stablise

cold drinks if i do dine out

process food.. no..cos i puke aft i smell them.. even the yellow noodles at noodles stall hehe

peanut
while is normal to hav more discharge thr is high chance get infection too
cos too much liao the bacteria breed thr n causes infection
if any pain on abdomen or ich must see doc immediately
my gf's colleague lost her bb at 5 mth due to infection
her sign was onli abdomen pain for 1 day...
v sad..
if doc gt giv u any med.. rem to take ok..

nicolle, nope leh. But I prefer spicy food and fruits now. Totally hates fish which was my fav before pregnancy.

mrsc u lookin for eletric sarong rite?
i saw it at this shop at chinatown call cheong choon
u might wan to call and ask bout the brand they have
u can ask for the lady call winnie

Han Bao Bao, you are right.

I was dead worried. Although there was no bleeding, no more pain in the morning, but i was very concern abt the pain last night, it just felt abnormal. Read many stories abt bb heartbeat stop even without bleeding etc, taught me to be caution and protect the little one inside.

Gynae mentioned that if infection gets into baby, water bag level will become low, changes of pre-mature very high.

peanut
glad u went to gynae int ime
i also worry sometimes when i got more discharge
esp whn need to chg panty liner so often

evreyday i make sure i talk to bb till she wakes up n give mi a kick to tell mi she is thr happily waiting for mi haha
luckily she is quite alert.. every morning will response to my 'nags' haaa

Re baby cot
I bought baby cot for my #1 thinking it's more durable in terms of usage life. But when he was born, he refused to sleep in it. Put him down only, he cries. Want to be carried all the time. Even tried sarong and he doesn't like it. Imagine i carry him to sleep almost the whole day for the 1st 2-3mths. Slowly, as his sleep patterns stabilise, the length he sleeps in it gets better. Now, in the day, he sleeps in sarong. At night, he will sleep on bed. Once he's asleep, will transfer him back to his cot. But early in the morning, he will cry a bit n wants to sleep with us. Not sure how to handle his sleeping habits when #2 comes along. Also hoping very hard that #2 will not be as difficult as #1.

Sarong.... i would avoid it if possible. It's true that once baby gets used to it, they sleep very easily, soundly n much longer in it. But it's also very difficult to break out of the habit of sleeping in it cos they r used to rocking to sleep. Like my boy, he will take half an hr to an hr to toss around on our bed to go to sleep. But when we put him in the sarong, it takes him just 5-15mins depending on how sleepy he is. Sometimes after 1-2 mins, he's off to lala land.

MrsC,
U can get the electric sarong from baby hyperstore or baby kingdom too.

Peanut,
can i know how much discharge were u experiencing? I've been getting much more recently. At some times, it just flow down n scare the hell out of me cos i thought water bag leak. Experienced that once during 1st pregnancy n I have phobia. Told my gynae before abt discharge. He said now will get more. He usually won't prescribe antibotics until very serious. Prob I've to ask him this sat how much is too much.

HBB,
U practise really good tai jiao... keeps talking to baby. I feel very funny talking out loud to baby leh. Thinking in my mind counts? I keep telling myself to talk to baby more, but don't know how to do it.

Thanks ladies...
Next check-up is in another one month time...very long. Hope bb doing well...pray hard.

Mashy, I ate durian liao but seem like all the weight gain go to me not bb. I gained 6kg so far ..faint. Now not dare to eat too much durian.

han bao bao

i cannot give up cold drinks even though i been nag so many times that dun drink too much cold stuff.. but u know nowadays seldom ppl drink hot drinks during hot weather..hahaha

but each time i drink i feel guilty lo..

abdomen pain?? i do feel pain @ times, dunoe is it cramp or pain.. coz it happen only when my bladder is really full.. does u gers got the problem ??

i love spicy food.. and fruits

BabyEthan

Maybe it's coz your #1 was used to carrying during the first mth? I find swaddling really helps. When I swaddle my boy, he's perfectly fine and will sleep like a pig. Actually till now he's very easy with sleeping. Altho he's 3yrs old now, he still takes 3 hrs nap.

My hb and I have this policy that we don't carry our bb unnecc. Only when feeding, transporting from point A to point B and maybe a little playing. I think some pp might label us as bad parents, but we think it's ok to cry, since crying is the only way they can communicate anyway. We'll always try to find out what is making him fussy first instead of carrying him and comforting him at first go.

yen

i got the same prob..i ate too much durian.. but it seem the wt goes to me not the baby.. as tummy doesn't seem to grow bigger.. hahaha

being pregnant is really ain't easy.. imagine u have to worried most of the time whether this or that symptom is normal.. blar blar..

all mother is really wei da

mashy
ya lor.. my hubby n mil carried him too much during 1st week cos they don't want baby to cry too much. I wanted them to stop carrying and let him cry a bit, but they opposed. No choice lor.

I did the mistake of unswaddling him too early. That's another reason why he's so difficult in sleeping. He was sweating a lot when swaddled, so we removed. It never occurs to me to use a thinner cloth to swaddle instead. anyway, i've learnt my mistake n will not repeat this again this time... hehe

BabyEthan

Then will your hb & mil repeat the same mistake? If so, u might end up with another bb who wants to be carried all the time.

My boy also sweats like a pig, so we used the nappy cloth to swaddle him. At times, we'll just swaddle from his chest down so that his hands can move ard freely. He seems to be ok with that too.

babyethan
i been talkin to baby as early as 9 weeks haa mayb cos i always home alone..easier to talk to her LOL
even when i cook or watever i do.. i willt ell her.. and she is quite responsive to certain words i notice.
fun lar haa
try talking more to ur baby hehe

HBB

haha, I'm always telling my bb to stop kicking me so hard when I'm trying to sleep. With #2, really less time to talk to bb. Will make use of story telling time for my #1 to tell story for #2 too. Hehhe.

nicole
ya lor who will drink hot drinks in spore weather hahaaa
anyway no studies show cold drinks no good lar
is cannot have cooling thg (liang teh n such)
everythg in moderation will b fine unless pregnancy not stable then realy gotto be mindful of what we eat n drink

mayb im too westernise as i stay overseas.. did confinement fo rmy sporean friends there.. saw how angmoh handle their 1st mth aft birth n etc.. they r eating icecream in winter aft delivery ok! and nothg happen!
so i learn to b more liberal haha

mashy ya sometimes they kick us too hard... i sometimes jump when she kick me haa
get ur #1 to talk or sing to the tummy will b nice too

mashy,
hb just kept quiet when i ask him that question. ya lor... the silly me didn't think of using nappy cloth then. Only mths later, then reswaddle him back. that's when slowly he learns how to sleep.

HBB
good... keep it up. i'll try to talk more... hehe

yeah.. think living in sg, can be too influence by those OLD GRANDMA tales..

until it make me naturally feel guilty..hahahaha

but ham also cannot take?/ half boiled egg? hotdogs?

nicolle
ham n hotdogs are all process food
while is ok tot ake if they are cook, they still contain stuff like nitrate n etc which might not b good for baby
the sodium content too
then again u dun take it everyday.. so eat it once a while is ok so long as u dun mind and bb ok w it
my bb refuse all this stuff!

lamagier,
dont worry
. the stomach will increase in size when u are in your last tri. on the bright side, u will lose the tummy fats faster after birth wo. i was like u, very co9ncern when pple say my stomach small, but towards the end, it will balloon. that time i was so concern, i kept eating and eating, but hardly put on weight in the first 2 trimesters, i even complain to hubby how come normally wanna go on diet when not pregnant, eat abit also fat, but now wanna put on, cant at all.

oh no.. i take almost everyday.. and worst.. i only cook hotdog.. and ham i just take from fridge and start munching..hahahahaha

for the sake of baby... i will do it..

everyday i dilema what to eat... wat u all eat daily? breakfast, lunch and dinner?

nicolle

think there's lots of dog lovers at the aug thread. So many of them own dogs. I don't think it's a prob but u'll have another 'kid' to take care.

Mashy and yen, are durians gd for pregnancy? I'm starting to crave for it as i see it sold almost everywhere. Below my flat already hav 2 stalls selling...hee

Peanut, can i know how often and serious was yr abdomen pain? I oso hav it sometimes....like those cramps when menses come. But does not last very long. Now quite worried after hearing wat HBB said. I'm counting down for my next gynae visit on 20 mar....seemed so long

HBB, do you sing to your girl? I think i really can't sing cox i can't stand my own singing...haha. So now resort to jus playing music for my boy. Sometimes, i oso dunno wat to talk to him....ended up may complain to him instead...

kittyng

i heard from AUNTIE.. durian is good for baby.. as it will grow bigger.. and more hair??

but must avoid when almost reach EDD. coz later too heaty, baby will have pimples

Nicolle, i hav a dog and a cat. But they are no longer staying with me since i got married. But i still interact with em a lot when i visit my parents. Only thing is i can't walk my dog anymore cox no strength....he ended up pulling me along.

You keeping one nw or intending to keep one?

really?? i heard cat is really a NONO for pregnant lady.. for dogs still quite ok?

i'm very attached to my golden retriever. .but ppl keep telling me to stay away from him.. coz of the fur... but how too.. i love my dog too much..hahaha