(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

hahah thanks for all the compliments...:p hahah felt like i was actually fishing for compliments.... actually i taught hubbby how to do the cake a few weeks ago so in truth hubby did the cake and i did part of the decorating... cuz who is more artistic decided on the placements...

sunnyduck

it was a fondant cake.

coolkero

must take care. are you better now? anymore pains now?
by right if no bleeding or pain, should be ok. but if you are not comfortable or there is pain pls don wait. do go to kkh A&E to get a scan done.

poshicon

the smooth outer layer was fondant.... hahah never attended any cake making class unless you consider home ed in secondary school... sorry ah don have any other deco leh... i bought this online from an ebay seller. hahaa when we are planning our baby's 1st month will share.

Hi babyethan, poshicon and hopper,
So happy for you girls to hear that everything has been going well.

Hi Coolkero,
If really not feeling well or pain persist, must go hospital check. Don't wait till next appointment ah. If uncomfortable going to A&E, TMC also got a 24hr clinic.

Hi Kitty,
Yah, the weird colleague has finally driven me up the wall. Just sent out a email to warn him off. Was drafting it out together with the husband yesterday. But only BCC to my boss instead of CC to him. Still think it's best to leave some "face" for the guy.

Re: Baby movement
Hee, I think I felt my first baby movement last week. Haha, yesterday baby very funny. Althuogh I think baby can hear but cannot understant what we are saying, I was admonishing baby for something that I can't remember and she 'rebelled' and kicked me....

coolkero
do take care of urself. if realli feeling unwell and uncomfortable do go and consult the doctor, dun wait and drag just bcos u wan to see ur doctor as it may not do u gd. however the pain in the stomach may also b due to stretchin of ur tummy. i also experience pain in my tummy. but not sharp. and also when i move abt. after tat it wear off. mayb u wan to observe. meanwhile take a gd rest of urself.

lamagier
finally haf send email to him! yeah, i guess better to BCC, else no face. unless he still continue to do so, then u can CC to ur boss. i guess when u are drafting the email wif ur hubby, ur hubby want to curse and swear but cant. hahas!

Good morning all mommies, had a wonderful weekend?

Baby movement
This one is very active, he's kicking like most of the time, when I am lying down, or seating, or driving or whatever. Def more than when I had alexis.

Coolkero
How scary and what an experience. I hope you are feeling much better now. I can't imagine how worried you must be. Take care of yourself...

elijah's mummy
I love your cake - both the cupcakes and the main cake! I am sure it taste as good as it look!

lamagier
Good for you. Are you gonna tell us what you wrote to him? :p

Hi Jerene,
To satisfy curiosity, below is an extract from the mail. And the guy didn't reply the email but sms me to apologise. Suspect he didn't want to leave a documented proof of the whole thing in the company email. Just that feel bad that have to drag my boss into this whole thing and waste his time.

"I just want to make it clear that I have always treated you as a friend and colleague and re-emphasize that I am married and it is not possible for anything else to develop between us.

I’m not sure how it is done in your culture, but friends or colleagues do not call each other up to ask “why you did not smile at me during lunch” or “I was out in the hot sun the whole day and first thing I wanted to do when I got back to the office was to call you”. I also do not think it is all that appropriate to call up to try to arrange to go back home on the same company transport every other day.

My husband has taken an offense to this, especially since you are well aware that I am married, and has contacted my section manager about this.

I really do not wish for this matter to have to further be blown out of proportion or to further inconvenience other people in the company."

Hi Coolkero,

Think you better check with another gynae for assurance rather than wait for your gynae. Do take care and try not to move around too much and carry heavy stuff until you get green light from the gynae.

Elijah, the cake is cute! Sigh i wish i can bake , still waiting for my new house before i can buy and oven and try. Was thinking to do it together with my ger next time too.. some bonding time with her..

BB movement: Finally saw the bump on my tummy whenever the bb kick! she is so active.. especially when im keeping still or laying on the bed. can see my tummy moving up and down whenever she move or kick! Even my HB was surprise at the strength she kicked at this stage..

lamagier
u are being rather polite huh. aniwae, i tink that the SMS can also b a proof lor. since it is from his no. =p but i guess he get the idea esp ur last paragraph. nw u should b able to enjoy ur stay in the company till ur maternity leave :D

re: baby movement
i can hardly see the bump thou. bcos whenever i stare at my tummy, my baby doesn wan to move animore. but when im using the computer, plaeing games and watchin tv, baby loves to kick and move. disturbing me awaes. but gd ting is that when im sleeping or lying down on my back, there's no movement. guess baby wans to sleep too.

wow lamiger, yr email is powerful.
hope he will back off after this email you have sent him.

HBB, you r gd. counting down to delivery liao... haha! In fact, we r half way through and have abt 4 more mths to go. I cant wait too.

Mrs C, our bb gal weight is abt there. mine weighs at 388 g at 21 wks 4 days. Bt i have gained more weight than you. Oh no, does it mean I have to watch what i eat too? My appetite is getting bigger nowadays. Trying to eat fruits after my proper meals whenever I am hungri.

Re: Bb fair
I been to the Bb fair on sat. Bought a fair bit of stuff coz my mil and boy is so excited abt e bb gal. Though I am not sure if its gd buy a not. I bought drypers (2 packs of newborn and S size), 3 sets of bb socks, 1 pair of mittens and 1 pyjamas for my gal. My boy kp wanting to buy shoes for his mei mei. In the end, bought socks which look like shoes. He was so thrilled!

sheryl
haha ya cos i cant wait to cuddle and start my bf routine on her hahahaaa

i bought the drypers also leh then i came bk.. yesterday at ntuc.. i realise its not that cheap at the fair
ntuc now having sales 3 pack of S n etc for 37.89... price about thr.. jus a dollar cheaper at ntuc

Hi Mommies
Hope u all have a wonderful weekend!

Visited BabyCare Festival @Expo but only bought a newborn latex pillow. Went back to Baby Kingdom to buy a babycot, changing table & Combi stroller @10% discount. Hope I didn't make a wrong choice by choosing Combi cos' some mommies gave bad reviews on it :p

My sis' handdown 10 Avent milk bottles to me (used by my niece about 4yrs ago). Is that ok to use (after sterilising of course)? Or should I get new bottles for my baby? As for teats, will NUK silicone teats fits Avent bottles?

LS
i asked the NUK lady before bout the teats
she say is 'henng sway' one whether their teat can fit the avent one anot
cos she say the moulding for each piece is slightly different (duno how true)
but i tink it shld fit and not leak if u r using silicon ones cos i read in another thread that only the latex one leak
mayb u buy 2 teat n try 1st?

Kitty,

yup I went for the talk last sat but was soooo boring some of us left by the breaktime..not sure wat happend during the 2nd half of the session la...so dun worry much, there is nothing that you missed. previous week on 5s was much more useful...

Re : Baby Fair
mummies, I went to the fair and bought some baby stuff...now too excited to see my little wearign it...sigh gotta wait for another 4 mth...some good deals...

Re; Sling and Strollers
just read all the comments on the sling...but i bought one sling on sat! keke...not sure if I will know how to use it thou...comes with a cd with instructions so hopefully...

But me have a hard time to decide on car seats and a stollers, I want a simple and economic one..seems so ex in the fair..like upto $700 plus for one car seat...any recommendations?

Re: Baby Movement
MrsC, both you and hubby must be really excited =) I'm still waiting for baby to kick hard hard so I can see bumb on belly. I already eat a lot and healthy food... Hopefully baby will be strong and healthy and let me feel movement soon....

pprincess, my sister passed me some baby books and one of the books said bb usually more active in the evening. And at about 20 weeks, bb literally bouncing off the uterus walls. hee. I thought that was very amusing. Like bouncy castle for bb.

Lamagier
I believe your email has worked, because he sms to apologise. It was well-written, with specific examples given and the fact that both your section manager and spouse are in the loop. Keep the email well! You never know when someone else may find it useful...

wah you girls have been busy shopping huh? I also need to get a stroller cum car seat, the Orbit one I was eyeing is so exp at $1,600, so I may go for another brand but with a similar concept. I now have a silk sarong sling but as my helper still uses it for my #1, I may have to get another one for #2. As for milk bottles and teats, I decided to get new ones, prob Medela or any other BPA-free brands such as Tommee Tippee. Also need to get an electric double pump and milk bags. And wet wipes. Aiyoh! So many things to buy...

Elijah: What a great cake you made!! I've just added you as a friend in the FB. Can you share your receipe for the cake and cuppies???

Beverly: Thanks for the music link, it was good music to the ears. I love it.

I did not go to the Baby Fair but went to United Square to do some shopping for myself. My pants are getting tight :-( So, have to invest in some new clothes now... The shop is called Moms R Us (near to McDonalds). Think they have an online store too,

I want to let go some of my pregnancy clothing at 1/2 prices.
If you are interested please call me at 9851 3248, then I will show you my clothing photos on FB.
BTW, I stay at Woodlands area near causewaypoint.

lamagier
yuppies. i read from a book tat my colleague pass down to me too. also mention more active in the evening. but mine is earli morning can start kicking alreadi. esp this 1 week plus. previously onli feel it more in the evening. now even in the earli morning also start to kick me. mayb asking me not to feel so tired & get to work! hahas.
but i dun tink they are bouncing off the uterus wall by 20 weeks as they are quite big by then right? im nw in my 18 weeks and dey mention is abt 5 1/2 inch long! i hate it when baby duno do wad to the area near the vagina. is damn irritating =x

re: shopping
im so tempted to go and do the shopping also. but still duno gender! sigh. so excited to buy stuff. but still, my room is not ready for baby's stuff too. hahas!

pprincess,
Wah, your baby so active. Mine's a lazy bum. Wake up early will give tummy pains. Weekends sleep late then i wake up fine. Too much exercise will trigger off MS.
Yah, hate the sore achy feeling near the vagina. Must jot down and ask gyane what exact is the cause of that when I go for my detailed scan

FOZ

hahah... thanks

mrsc

hahah.... when i got my oven i was planning for bonding time with hubby.... hahah now its a family thing.

LS, HBB

confirm the nuk silicon teats can fit the avent bottles coz all the mummies that i know are doing the same thing with no issues.. myself included and have been doing that for the past year. hahah my boy has been using avent bottles with nuk teats from birth... at birth it was ebm but now its formula.

koko

hahah sure can share the recipe. do you want the youtube links? coz i got everything from youtube... :p

hbb

re the philips 3 in 1

went down today already.... the price was "gasp" 202.90. best price the guy gave was 170+.... but then i only noticed that 2 boxes of it... and it looked rather old... says that for now they will still sell it but not sure when they will stop.
also their annual warehouse sales will only be in aug or sept as the guy says ... so am not very sure.

princess

hahah... can understand... but do try to wait for the taka fair coz there you will get loads of good buys... err i hope....

elijah mummy
thabk you for the info ont he teats.. so now i know inc ase if i gt avent bottle i can use nuk teats hehe...
rgd the steriliser..
wah so ex!!!!!!!

elijah's mummy
tink u can start a class on baking! hahas. ur cake realli look so nice and nothin that can b found outside lor.

lamagier
mayb bcos it's been abt 2 weeks since i start feeling the movement and so on, so able to feel more strongly. u wait 2 weeks see got more active not. hahas!

Hi lamagier, u sound so tactful in your email. Think it will work this time round since he apologised. I'm oso like you, can't feel bb movement yet. But nowadays my hb has been talking to bb, and he told me he can feel it. I'm wondering why mother herself cannot feel it...so sad

Blessed, i see....i oso can't rem wat the sat session is abt. Will check on the 3rd session to see useful anot...

pprincess, thou i know the gender of my bb...i still dun hav time to rearrange my things yet. Worse still, i hav to change my whole hello kitty room...haha, cox i'm getting a boy...not girl. There goes all my collection....haiz

HBB

yah so exp... i saw it and almost fainted! hahah coz i went there with the intention to get another one....

oh re the nuk teats hor... the latex ones can not use with avent bottles hor... will leak! caonfirm already... coz i tried more then 4packs! only the silicon ones can fit.

princess

hahah... thanks but its really quite abit of work and only can consider doing it if there are people to distract your baby.

LS

i agree with mashy... i have spoken to the people at avent and they say that the advise is to change the bottles yearly! so am going to get a whole new set for both my boy and the new baby.... wah spending so much money! sob...

lamagier

yah you are so sweet in your email... hahah if it was me i will just shoot and don care! :p

lamagier - i wonder if your boss did anything after reading your email ? maybe blacklist him ?

ladies - i got some feelings since last week in my tummy dont know whether its baby movements. it feels like 'tap tap tap', like heart beat. i think its supposed to be like butterfly fluterring. but what does THAT feel like ? I'm 18 + weeks

is it safe to use a 2nd hand steriliser i'm getting from a friend ? she's been using a few years but its still in good condition.

tomoro i'm going for checkup. yay, going to see my babies again

Hi bestberries,
My boss already knows this since last year. Haha, cos I ask my boss to "protect" me and go home on the same bus as me. My boss very protective one, stares at the guy ever time sees him in the company.

Hi Kitty, elijah's mummy,
Wanted to give him so face so he can make back off with less humiliation. Just hope he won't start all the nonsense again like the last time.

Hi Kitty,
My husband can't feel baby yet too. He only can feel & see the occasional bump (but not the now-you-see-it-now-you-don't type of baby kick bump> Now like baby swim-to-one-side-and-remain-there-for-a-while-cause-my-tummy-to-be-lopsided bump). Look on the bright side. We still can see baby move during monthly checkup =)

Re: MKilk bottles and teats
Just a silly question. Do milk bottles and teats have life span? Cos some flexible plastic harden or turn "melted-sticky" after long time of unuse. If buy milk bottles & teats now, will they degrade by the time baby neds to use them

thank you all the mommies here, taking ur advices i went to another gynae today because the pain still there. doc did a detail scan for me, everything is normal, whew. initially the doc was afraid i have low placenta and the fall might cause the pain, but luckily the placenta went up, so it's just muscle pain. BTW, from the detailed scan, just confirmed it's a BOY, EDD 23 july (mashy, please update for me thanks). thank you for all your support, take care too.

lamagier

coz we are going to use them within the year ... that normally don happen...
but for teats its better to buy only when you need... coz i know for the nuk latex teats rite will get oily one... don know why though.

Re: Baby movement
She has been moving, fists and feet so much, that I take it as reminders of "mummy, mummy, notice me..."-kind of taps, and then I'll go stroke my tummy and adjust my waist. Hubby getting jealous sometimes cos when he wants to feel the movements she ignore him.

Both of us were kinda excited watching the detailed scan last Friday because she was being her usual moving her fists and feet around alot and the doctor was trying to capture scans of her fingers and feet, shoke her a few times to get her to settle down for scans of her head. I think the both of us just melted, at least I know I did, when the doctor was scanning her lips and little nose. I'm not a baby person in the past, like I don't like to hold other people's babies etc, but seeing my own is really awesome feeling.

kitty
ur baby sharing the same room as you? i dun tink ur baby will mind the hello kitty around since dey are so cute! hahas.

elijah's mummy
nw baby still in tummy so dun need to distract my baby. but u still haf #1 so abit different, realli mus distract. or do it when baby is sleeping. hees. but pei fu u lor! wish i can bake. but i cant even cook a properly meal =x

bestberries
should b ur baby's movement! mayb bcos not strong enuff for u to feel tat it is a kick hence u not sure. for me the 1st time i feel it is more like bubble bursting and is onli in a spilt secs. if is realli baby;s movement u should feel it more strongly in a few daes to a weeks time.

poshicon

you may want to check it out on amazon for the synergy carrier. if the price is at the 110 to 120usd range can buy from there coz will be cheaper even if you ship it in. hmmm better still get a few mummies to do it together. :p

Lamagier,you will feel it soon, dun worry.

Mine was pratically bouncing around throughout the clock, 8morn, 12noon, 2plus, 7plus, 10-12midnite! Think i got to announce time to the princess so that she know it's time to sleep at nite!

There is a shop at Blk 34 3rd lvl Upper cross st (next to OG chinatown) that sells bb stuff like stroller, sarong, cots. My HB told me they are the distributor for Tolly joy. It'wasnt open on sunday but saw quite a couple of poster on stroller like maclaren, etc. Will pop by on Sat to check out the price.

Did a comparison between Capella & Combi and realise that combi is abit light and slight shakey, not as sturdy as Capella. Think i will go for either Capella or Maclaren.Btw, for the carrier BB Bjorn, there are three types: one that is crisscross at the back, one with full mesh at back and another i believe should be normal straps. Which is recommended? Where to find Ergo? Didnt seems to see it at Kiddy or OG.

elijah's mummy
even fried rice also cannt =x so i alwaes laugh and tell my frens, colleagues, that my baby will starve to death next time bcos mummy duno how to cook! LOL

mrsC
wah, u so fast alreadi lookin around liao ahs. i damn lazy and still slacking at all home all weekend. keep telling myself it's time to check out items at stores and compare the price before the taka fair. but still.. too lazy!

Hey Sam, my bb same as yours, will remain still when my hb try to feel her and then start popping around when his hand move away.. hah told my hb that she is bullying her daddy..

mrsc

the ergo is only sold online. cant seem to post the link here but you can google for it.

strollers

pls compare more at the harbourfront mothercare before you buy any k.... coz its something that will cost a chunk!

baby bjorn

the synergy is the one with the lumbar support that I would say is the best... coz it saves your back as baby grows bigger.

Thanks elijah's mummy!
Then many I get bottles during sales first then get the teats nearer to the delivery date.

Hi Kitty,
haha, change the hello kitty to dear daniels for your little boy. Then can keep hello kitty as girlfriend =)

Hi coolkero,
Glad you baby boy if alrite =) Must be very happy to find out the gender!

Hi Sam,
Wah, you're making me go baby ga-ga. Can't wait till my own detailed scan on Thurs!

for stroller. what is the recommended brand??

MTBs, you would prefer buy baby a cot or playpen?? what is the pros n cons of both type?

re: stroller
haf went to kiddy palace and saw tat they haf quite a few offers for strollers and car seats. not sure whether nw still haf. but ive in mind this latido's stroller which haf reservible handle also. not sure is latido's stroller a gd brand? i mean, not realli veri veri gd, but at least 1 of the brand ppl will consider?

HBB, elijah'smummy & mashy
Thanks for info! Yeah I think I should not reuse my sis' bottles. Now thinking to get new set my baby feeding needs. Anyone got feedback about Tommee Tippee?

Oh thanks elijahmummy, will look ard.

Nicolle,given a choice i will get playpen rather but i m gng to use sarong for now.

btw,anyone intending to buy the containers from Avent to contain express BM? I heard that milk bags are ex but conv. My frend recommend me to get those brand essence or bird nest glass bottle to store the milk during the first week.

nicolle

I prefer the cot, can last longer. Feel playpen is too short-lived, once the bb can climb out of the playpen, that's the end of its lifespan.

Neither am i getting sarong, coz bb will get used to the rocking. Also, as a kid, I used to bbsit my cousins. Hit their heads a few times while rocking the sarong. Oops...

Do u know that I know of a mummy who had to rock her bb while feeding her milk? And her bb was already quite big and heavy. Her gal refused to drink milk unless she's been rocked!

mashy
yeah, i agree wif u. if use sarong, baby will get use to it liaos. next time when baby grow up will haf a hard time to rock the baby like the sarong.