(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

I have a AVENT ISIS Manual Breast Pump for sale. Sterilized twice but not used, because my husband bought me the Medela PIS Advanced. Selling it as a complete package (all parts listed on the box).

I bought it brand new at $90+, will let it go at $50. Pls PM with your contact number to deal, thanks.

Veron.

I was reading yesterday's Today newspaper in the evening. There were 2 two-page spreads on the Baby Festival in Expo in it. 1st spread summarizes the programs expected at the fair and a Mother & Baby subscription offer at the fair. 2nd spread is the page we want, lists the booths available at the fair and what specials they are having at the booths like cots, lotions, pumps, etc.

mashy & yen,

I tot the reason for the bottles to be inverted upright is to ensure the steam gets in to the bottle to do ther sterlisation?

hi Han Bao Bao,
Hee, I very "jian gu tou", can't take cordycep. I also tried to self-brew yesterday. puke out everything and felt sick the whole afternoon.

Hi Blessed,
Do take care. It's miserable being pregnant and sick at the same time.

Hi Sunsweet,
haha, scardy your #1 every night want you read 5-6 story books.... Read till you tired then how? I kena read the same book to my nephew for half an hour cos he die die want to hear the same story. Piang, very tiring for the story teller.

lamagier
u still having M/S?
if u r hor mayb will cause u to puke more
and is ur cordycep v oily or wat? might also make u puke

for mine.. i make jus 1 small bowl.. like those soup bowl when u go restaurant kind.. and mine is meatless so no oil..

nvm lar dun drink 1st.. wait till u feel better than drink or aft confinement.
my dh complain complain i haven brew that to drink for v long liao.. i also v lazy... haa i told him i scare drink too fast then no more cordycep liao hehe

Lamagier,

Children like repeation.

so expect to read/sing some book more often.

how she got hang to the thomas the tank story book that i borrowd from the library..

i prefer to repeat then trying hard to get her attention to even listen..

but at least now i know she can stay concerntrated for like for like 5-10 mins.. and not just run about non stop.

Hi Han Bao bao,
Yah, I have reoccuring MS. Very annoying. But already stop puking, just neusaes only. Yah, monday and tuesday were bad days for me. Today is relatively good day.

I boil with skinless chicken breast and some other herbs that was recommended by chinese medicine hall person. No oil leh.

Haha, put the cordyceps into the freezer and maybe take out after given birth liao. haiz.

Lamagier,

oh dear hope your MS will subside soon...how many weeks are you now? mine nearyly stopped only ard 16weeks..now its just once or twice a wk when perhaps I did not eat something right...do take care ...

Re; Baby Fair
Most likely i will be going on Sunday...not sure if they will be selling baby car seats there...hoping for a good discount too...

Hi blessed,
I'm in my 19th week now =) But I tend to get MS again when I'm tired. Ususally happens when I do long exercise.... But this week's one is taking longer than expected to go away.....

Re: Baby position
I realized for the past 2 days I've been sleeping on side mainly. Wake up in the morning, flip over to my back and found a lump in the tummy. Feels like it's baby's head or buttocks. Usually will go away after a while, but uncomfortable. Is it possible that it is baby shifted position (horizontal to vertical?)

mamagier
possible bb shift...
but maybe jus slightly ... wun b so dramatic to shift 90 degree.. mine also aft a while can feel 1 part harder... i suspect is the knees or hand sticking out hehe
quite fun actualy but feel tight on tummy thou.. like u mention a bit uncomfortable.

Helo mummies,

Wow, so many of u have went for the detailed scan. My gynae say next month even though im at my 20th week..

Cant make it for the bb fair on fri, most prob got to pop by on sat morn. Any one has any good recommendation for auto sarong? My rm got not space for cot thus decide to have sarong for the time being.

Hey Mashy, can you add me to the list too

Nick: muffingirl
Birth Order: 1
Gynae: Dr Yeap ML
Hospital: KKH
BB Gender: unknown
EDD: 25 July 09

lynn

Actually the EDD won't change. Even if the scans says it's earlier. That's what the nurse said. She said the EDD from earlier scans are more accurate.

anyway, here's the table update:

<table border=1><tr><td>Nick </TD><TD>Birth Order </TD><TD>Gynae</TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>BB Gender</TD><TD> EDD </TD></TR><TR><TD>Annie</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Soon Siew Bee </TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Babyethan</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>hkbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>rainbow</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>1-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Han Bao Bao</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Prof John Tee</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>2-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>candyc</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>dorisq </TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>jasminechen</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>3-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Enidmummy</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sheryl</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>5-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>anabellegirl</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Sim Lee Ngor</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pretty Bunnie</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>7-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jillian</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>8-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>HKAZ</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>DR KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>poshicon</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>9-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hopper</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mbb2</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Watt Wing Fong</TD><TD>RH</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>10-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazelle</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kittyng</TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Madeleine Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>LS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ning</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adelina Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>11-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>FOZ</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jaz23</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Koh C.H</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yen2007</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC/Mt.A </TD><TD></TD><TD>12-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>helpme</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD></TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>13-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Ralphine </TD><TD>#1 </TD><TD>Dr Peter Chew</TD><TD>Gleneagles </TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tay</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>14-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Beverly</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Boys</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>blessed09</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunbun</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pinklilies</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>15-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>janbb</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Tan HY</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>16-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>koko51sg</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chan Kong Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>18-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>cecelia</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr James Lee</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunsweet</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>20-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>SabSab</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Chen Chern Yi</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>21-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Dawnnie</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>kai</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Koh CH</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD></TD><TD>23-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>tulips02</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Ang Huai Yan</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>24-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>bestberries</TD><TD>Twins</TD><TD>Prof wong </TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>lamagier</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne Chan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>muffingirl</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Yeap ML</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>25-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelsky</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>DR LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Peanut</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD></TD><TD>26-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>mypreciouskeagan</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Preciousthots</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>yammummy</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Zolldoll</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr Wong Mun Tat</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>27-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>coolkero</TD><TD> #2</TD><TD>Dr KL Tan</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Devilene</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr.Chan Kong Hon</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lynny</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sunnyduck</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>28-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>loshita</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Judy Wong</TD><TD> TMC </TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mashy </TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Eunice Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>30-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>pprincessbaobei</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Dr Irene Chua</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>xman</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>31-Jul </TD></TR><TR><TD>precious</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Dr AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD></TD><TD>4-Aug </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

Feeling sad. My cousin in law whose EDD is also in July has just terminated her preg coz the detailed scan showed something wrong with the brain development.
She must be so devastated.

Mashy,
Hope your cousin in law is ok.
My cousin also encountered the same thing a few years back. Baby didn't have a skull. That's why I'm hesitant to tell people about my pregnancy before detailed scan is done... Got phobia...

Hi Mrs C,

U are doing ur detailed scan after 20th weeks?
Same as myself,Doc Ong will be doing my detailed scan only at my 23rd weeks...

Is it too late for that?
What do mummies think?

sherryl

I'm doing mine at 21 weeks.

I guess if nothing wrong, then it's ok. But if suay suay like my cousin in law's case,
bb will be even bigger &amp; better formed. So heartbreaking.

Yah.... I can't imagine what I will do if my baby had problems and need to terminate pregnancy. Will be devastated too....

Mashy,
Don't know if this will help comfort your cousin in law or not. My cousin gave birth to a beautiful girl 2 years after she had to terminate the pregnancy. My distant cousin is now 4 years old, a prfect little angel and mummy's &amp; grandma's girl.

mashy
yeah, i guess so. moreover when is 20 weeks alreadi halfwae to pregnancy and yet this ting have to happen. sigh. but haf to onli do the detail scan this late bcos onli at this stage then is truely form. no choice i guess..

sherryl
dun worriew so much~ shall alwaes look on the bright side. if it have not happen, dun dwell on whether t will happen or not. onli make us sad and baby will feel sad also.

mashy
yuppies. hopefully the girl will help her overcome and get out of this real soon.

Mashy - feel so sorry and heartbroken for your cousin. Hope she is able to recover from this soon.

My detailed scan is in 2 weeks but instead of feeling excited about it, I'm getting overly worried about any problems this scan might uncover, although I know majority of the babies are healthy. Even had a minor anxiety attack last night about this and couldn't sleep well. Hubby says the usual 'aiyah it will be okay' but it doesn't help...

hi sunnyduck, understand what u are going thru. I was feeling paranoid and worried the day before my scan &amp; didnt sleep well the nite, ended up with panda eyes and lethargic on the day of the scan. But it all went perfectly well. So dun have to worry so much so long as u have been eating n resting well. Stay happy n positive

All the best to your scan..enjoy..

Sorry to disturb. I am from the august MTB thread. I'll be doing my amnio soon &amp; would like to know if any MTB from this thread can share your experience.

Sigh... dropped my work laptop on the floor and there's now a crack in the cover... My boss definitely will chide me tmr...

Haha, just spent some time bonding with baby. Took photos of my growing tummy =) ANy mother keeping photographic tracking of tummy as well?

when i read this thread, i felt like a kuku.. u all seem so experience, seem like there is alot of homework to do for me.. Been reading on books. But still which product is good, i still not to sure..

i'm under dr douglas ong also.. EDD 2 july, nice to meet u all.. i will be going for detailed scan next wed, pretty excited.. currently @ my 22nd week 23rd week..

nice to meet u all.. so when u all start buying stuff for your baby??

lamagier, me too. My dh took photos and measure my waistline to keep track of my growing tummy. Keke... quite funny to see every month tummy size change.

I think some buy around 1-3 months before labour. But hor, I duno Apr (for jul mummies) having another baby fair or not... Could we wait till GSS in Jun? Any experience mummies know if GSS has good promotion/discount for baby stuffs?

HI Mashy, many thanks. Initially they told me the same too..but for the OSCARS the sonographer say should follow the Ultrasound Scan and later the Dr. also follows that..so also confused now..

pinkMaMa09,

I have done amnio 2 wks ago at 19 wks. Now waiting for results. Dr say at least 14 days for the result to be out.

Cost me $800+ with detail scan together at TMC.Can use medisave $550. Hubby paid $300+ cash.
Procedure slight pain but very fast. Do with scanning.Abt 3 mins I tink. A big 10cc syringe needles puke below bellybutton to draw out amniotic fluid. After tat a plaster and u rest a while then can go home.MC 2 days.

Not to worry,initially I also scare. Procedure very fast so I overcome it.

Mind if u can tell me ur age? I 31 yr old tis yr only!Got to do amnio liao cos oscar show risk 1:250!

mummies, i feel so sad after reading mashy post abt her cousin in law. such a news is so heartbreaking. i am doing my detailed scan on fri, now i am getting scared instead of looking forward to it. hope everything will go well smoothly. hop my bb is well n healthy.

hello poshicon

thk u for your prompt reply. Can I check if you did OSCAR or the NT scan + triple blood test? My NT scan result is normal at 1.3mm but my triple blood test shows very high risk. The risk cut off for my age group is 1:240 but my risk is 1:36. Sigh....I am a lot older than you...above 35 liao.

I am doing my amnio next week, but I opt for FISH, pay more, but results will be out in 3 days.

Have not been in here for a while, last week got a spotting scare so was in and out of hospital and dr's office for check-up and a couple of U/S for a couple of days to make sure everything is ok with baby, placenta and womb.

Please do not worry so much about the detailed scan, pray for bb to develop healthy and talk to bb daily, I am sure all of us will have healthy babies. I will be doing my detailed scan on 9 Mar, about 1 week plus from now.

shirley
realli dun haf to worriew
my detail scanning is on the 12mar, which is further awae then urs. as my previous child is suspected down syndrome so im more concern abt this child. and crossin my fingers. but i alwaes tell myself tat i shouldnt feel sad and worriew jus bcos it happens to my previous baby. since it have alreadi come this far, will b able to finish the journey :D

Hi pinkmama09!
When i went for 12wks scan i opt for scan and the blood test.Just like you scan result is 1.3mm only then i went for blood test after three days later the nurse called and informed mine 1:31.Very high.....then doc arranged for amnio..the results came back just two days earlier and it was normal. I know it is not easy if we know our risk is high...pls try to relax most of the time its normal only...good that you opt for FSH.For me i waited for 2wks...everytime the phone rings the heart pop pop.......I am just like you above 35. Just dont give too much thought into it you will be fine. take care!

sorry that i've affected many of u. Don't worry, the chances of the preg going wrong at this stage is very slim. Just stay positive!

Phoenix
Thk u for your reply. I am resassured with your results. I will be doing FISH on coming Tuesday. Praying for the best.....

Hi Cecelia, Kitty,
can PM me your email add? My sister just added some comments to the shopping list I have sent her. I can share the lists I have with you guys. But as she did put family members names in there etc, so I think she will mind if I post it up on the forum.....

PinkMaMa, Phoenix
I'm in opposite situation as u gals. My baby's neck thickness is 3mm which is abnormal. But luckily blood test result comes out to be 1:2000+. Dr suspected thalessemia which could contribute to neck thickness. Tested negative for it too. I was more at less at ease after all the test. But who knows, during the detailed scan, another worry pop up. I had single umbilical artery, meaning there's only 1 artery n 1 vein in the cord when normal is 2 arteries n 1 vein. According to them, all other scans on other parts of the baby are normal. I din know much abt this condition plus the dr who did the scan for me told me baby is normal n will grow healthily with the absence of 1 artery. When i read up on the internet after i went home, i realised that this condition could signify chromosomal defects and could result in a few renal, heart problem, low birth weight, early delivery, etc. The more I read, the more scared i got. Spoke to my gynae over the phone. He had a discussion wif the dr who did the scan and said chances of baby being normal is high cos blood test shows low risk n all other scan are normal.

I can't help but keep worrying although gynae said it's ok. I read abt certain conditions not being picked up by the detailed scan &amp; only discovered at birth. Have been telling myself not to worry so much and stay positive or else baby affected. Easy to say but difficult to do leh. I wonder if i should insist for amino test to get 100% assurance. But I know I'm putting myself at risk too.

Will prob discuss in details with gynae during the visit next week.

Sorry gals... hope you all are not affected by me too. Just want to voice out cos no one to turn to. Hubby keeps telling me not to worry. But baby is in me, he wont understand.