(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

princess

i buy a few spare so that i can pump for the comfinement aunty to feed. :p hahah i don want to wake at night this round.

cecelia i not sure leh. the car seat actually came with the parm the last round. bought the travel system the last round for my boy. think was about 499 at mother care.

the travel pack is to keep the teats sterile till you want to use it. also coz the bottles i got are the breast milk storage bottles lah so don have tops.

sunsweet, mashy

i did give my bm to my boy in bottles that last round and never have such problems leh. hmmm maybe coz from the very start i already intro both?

sales:
hahah mashy i am like you. hate sales but like buying then.... so i will go jalan jalna till i find what i like then ask around the staff to find out when is the sales then come up with a list then on sale day is just grab and go.

teats and bottles

pls don stock up.... for me coz i have older boy still using i will buy what is needed. coz yaps baby got preference one leh. tell you all... for my no.1 i tried like all the teats that i know of. like pigeon, avent and then finally stuck with nuk coz this is the only one that he likes. so the rest waste money. actually only buying 1 or 2 is enough. then the rest can buy when baby is here.

Cecilia and lamagier, thanks for the list! Think i can start shop shop around over the next few wkends already. But need to check with my sis & SIL wat can they pass down to me first....hee

HBB, your bb is growing really well
Wow, u already bought your stroller and car seat. So fast...

kitty
ya bb growing well... I keep telling her take her time dn rush lol

e car seat n stroller we gt it v early like whn I was in week 10 cos too cheap le. dh say jus buy haa

hope u girls cget some gd deals too.

Sunsweet
ur next appointment on the 3rd ar.. nevermind.. i believe we have the chance to know each other..

sunnyduck
wat a coincidence.. we both seeing the same doc.. but my appointment is on the 4th and u on the 9th.. Dr HY wee is a good doc.. and i feel so calm down after seeing him..

lately i can feel like something moving inside my tummy, but today can feel it quite a few times.. the feeling is so funny...

Been feeling stronger movements from the baby especially in the evening, even my hubby gets surprised. So he teased me that maybe the baby is stretching for space. Although I don't get very visible stretchmarks, it does make me reach out for the stretchmark lotion to massage my tummy.

Looking forward to my detailed scan this Friday. My weight gain has been kinda steady so far, 1kg or so gained every visit to the gynae, so placing me about a 5kg gain this coming visit at 20weeks.

What's torturing me lately is the backache. I haven't been sleeping on my side since the 1st trimester MS started, and been habitually sleeping on my back, and now I get an aching feeling in my lower back when I wake in the morning. I might resort to changing my mattress to something more comfortable, since it's nearing a 4yr+ mark anyways, and mattress change is recommended every 5 years or so.

sam
i notice i get v bad backache if i sleep on my back.. so i tried to sleep on my side , with addtional support below the side of the tummy.. and the back ache seem to get better n disappear
the fit ball instructor also advise mi to lean forward on the fit ball to relief pressure off th eback bone. seems like bb and everythg is pressing against our back and so we get ache so i tink prob chg of mattress might not improve the situation..
giv the sleep on side a try for 2 nite n see how if ur ms is better...

elijah's mummy
i onli scare not enuff BM as many of the mummies experience. then if buy breast pump at such an earli stage scare waste money. so realli at a dilema wad i should do lor. else if 1 week after delivery then i realise i got enuff BM then go buy pump also funni right =x

muffingirl
my appt is to see dr irene chua. is on the 12mar for my detail scanning in the afternoon and 13mar in the morning to see gynae. how abt ya? u mention abt 3 weeks. mayb around same dae. hahas.

re:baby movement
my bb have been more active in kicking me since yesterday, previously like onli few times a dae. but todae can feel that bb is kickin me from morning till night =x and today many times, i realise there's this funni feeling around the bladder, vagina area. like somethin poking or wad leh. but not pain. jus like a itch, but not itchy. duno how to sae leh. more like 1 sec of urge tat u wan to go urinate, but jus like tat. onli 1 sec onli. duno isit normal?

princess

don think that is funny lah. for me that was what i did the last time so for the first week i just totally latched my boy on... did not even bother to pump. also pumping is alot easier after the milk production has kicked in... coz the first week normally is colostrum so very minimal... also don worry baby got not enough coz babies only need 10 to max 100mls per day in 1st week. normal for babies to lose weight and if on top of latch on you give formula then actually is over feeding the baby.

re:baby movement

yaps its normal... hahah mine too.

Thanks HBB. I had read that the baby will put pressure on the back, and have been trying to sleep on my side more, and a pillow underneath the belly. Sometimes it helps, but haven't been getting as much an improvement as I hoped.

But since lately, both me and my hubby have been getting an ache despite our every-now-and-then flipping of the mattress to rotate the tension of spring mattress, toying the idea of switching to a foam mattress and seems about time. Shall see it works when I finally get the mattress haha, I buy things really slowly btw.

sam
then in that case better buy a new mattress haa
i did tink of changing my mattress also but i guess i gg to wait till aft bb full mth...
u know lar.. we might stain the bed w our menses or wat sort during confinement haa i dunw an stain my new mattress despite i using the mattress protector haha

Elijah, i am using avent bottles for my #1, but realise that it is leaking. sigh! i am aso tinking to get e newborn set, so that both #1 and my bb now cn share.

Actually, i hve left over Avent bottles from my #1. not sure if its new or used once or twice before. this mummy too blur, i shld hve labelled e bottles. Any idea if i cn use e bottles?

Btw, i gain abt 3.5 kg and i am currently 21 weeks preggie.

Yesterday went for my check up,and found out that I've gained 4kg in jus one mth time!!!!
Currently at 19weeks.

Was kind of worried,as even now I ate once every 2hrs.If i don't the nausea feeling will come,and I can't do anything well.But once eaten,I am feeling so much better.

Was told to take fruits for every 2 hrs when I feel hungry,other than fruits,what other stuff can I take too,so that wont gain too much of the weight?

Hi pprincess, my detailed scan and gynae appts are both on 13 march in the afternoon.
Won't get to meet you too, I think, since your appointment is in the morning and mine is in the afternoon =/

sherryl
is quite normal. but mayb take small and healthy stuff. like my supervisor, she sae she will take fruits like papaya, hahahs.

muffingirl
yea, dun tink will get to see u. my appt is actually at TPS everiting on the 12mar. but as my dad got appt at SGH and i need to go wif him on the 13mar afternoon so decide to change to clinic A to see my Dr but onli available in the morning lor. next time next time! :D

Hi Sherryl,

Hv you tried cereal, low-fat yogurt and pretzel?

I'm also watching my weight gain; only one carb (rice or noodle) meal at lunch, just dishes and soup at dinner. I would avoid high sugar fruits like mango, durian and melon.

Don't be too stressed up abt it yah!

sheryl

leaking from where? maybe can send it back to philips avent?

hahah that means that we are about the same delivery date.

oh yah talking about outings....

hahah anyone interested to meet up soon? hahah think that its the best time now before we all get really big.

Re: Clarins Body Treatment Oil
Mommies who use this product... Do you always shower after each application? I tend to leave it; apply on damp skin and towel dry. Don't like to take a cold shower after the application but worried if there'll be side-effect fm leaving it on...

noelle
i dun wash it off either
i ask the clarins therapist they say is ok
in fact they dun wash it off for us aft they apply for us during treatment.
now i mix the stretch mark cream with the oil n apply together =)

Hi all, Im a July MTB too. EDD 28 July.
Can anyone here advise if the tingling feeling (kinda painful) that I am experiencing in my breast is normal? I seem to have more veins on my right breast than left and the pain is making me uncomfortable.

Hi Noelle (zoe1)
thks,hmm maybe i will try taking cereal or milo and some crackers,hope all these wont allow me to gain more weight,,hee

Btw mummies,for those who done ur detailed scan,how was it like?Does it invlove 3D scan where u can get to see the face of ur babies?

noelle, I have been using the clarin's oil too, and I rinse it off after the application, removes the excess and you only need to gently rinse the areas of application. There will a thin layer of oil remaining that won't dirty your clothes.

Just to share with you.I am currently 19wks plus.I just got my amnio results yesterday which was normal and i am having a baby girl.I am very happy alreday have a son.So girls whoever waiting for amnio results i know its a roller coaster we have to go through almost six wks since we get our triple test results to the amnio results. Just relax and most of the time it was normal. Mine the ratio was 1:31. (the risk).Finally i am feeling pregnant.Cant wait to do the shopping.
Poshicon!
You take care and relax and it will be just fine.

HBB
Waaahh.. your bb is real big i think (cos' last time i saw u, u're very slim leh not those big type lah! What week r u in now? When I went for my detailed scan around 18-19wks, bb was just merely 265gram! Now i'm in my 20wks. Wondering how "heavy" my bb could be.

Ghees,

today i got the urge to re-arrange my spare room for my #1 and #2...

but old folks says preggy cannot shift furniture.. sigh

Sheryl
I did my detail scan at NUH. THey showed me the 3D scan & even printed out for me. Very cute. I saw my girl yawning a few times during the scan.

Phoenix
Congrats... good to know baby is all well.

HBB
Ya... agree with LS, yr baby is big. My EDD just a day ahead of yours but my gal only less than 400g last week. You must hve taken a lot of tonics.

sunsweet
im in the midst of arrangment and throwing rubbish and stuff awae from my room too. wad i do is throw and dump and clear the stuff tat i wan to move or move the ting to, then tell somebodi before i get out of the house. when im back at home, the furniture is arleadi moved :D

babyethan, ur baby is cute lar~ yawn. wish can see mine the next time. but i called up KKH they sae tat if i wan the pictures haf to request. not sure isit realli like tat?

Wonder how come KKH have 3D scan machine for detail scan?
NUH already using 3D scan leh..

HBB you've done your detail scan?

pprincess & elijiah's mum, i oso wanna join in the meeting up with all jul mummies...think it's gg to be quite fun

Sunsweet, i oso heard that preg women shd not shift furniture so u may wan to avoid....i oso dunno why.

re:moving stuff

think its pantang... like painting the house think the old folks say that the baby got a spirit and then if do it when you are around the baby spirit may get hurt or painted on so then the baby you delivery to will have defects. :p don know how true though

re:moving stuff

wad i heard is different. but also pantang. dey sae that u will move the baby's organ or body parts around. so better not to move aniting. but from wadi know is as long as not around can alreadi. else cannt move then bb coming no space how?!

elijah's mum & pprincess

I set up my boy's cot or rather my hb did while i sat and watch. We also rearranged the furniture in our bedroom to accomodate his cot.

well, my boy is born totally fine even though he was premature. His organs are all at the right place and he's a handsome little boy.

So i say, they're all not true.

I took last min leave and stayed home again. Don't think my boss is overly impressed at the moment, but really feel too crappy to work. Go to work also cannot do anything productive. Sigh. Now attempting to double boil some tonics. No one boil for me, so my first attempt to boil for myself =p

re: Shift Furniture
I think old folks say cannot shoft furniture cos "dong tai qi". But I suspect it's prob as they don't want preggy ladies to be moving heavy stuff. My sister also shift place and did reno when she was preggers. Just that she tries not to be in the house when shifting, drilling etc going on.

re: Detailed scan
Woah, many mummies going for detailed scan next week. Me too =) See baby next Thursday. Husband boss allowed him to take leave, so he will get to go detailed scan with me too. Scan will be done at gynae's clinic, so can get to have explainations along the way and ask questions too =)

mashy
yea. all are old wives tale. but of cuz, better to believe then not. for me, i believe bcos when im born, i haf this veri ugly big red patch on my tigh. i was born in kampong and later move to HDB when im born 100th day. and the red marks keep making me feel paiseh until i grow older and it jus suddenly fade awae. if u look veri carefully at my tigh, can see some veins, other then tat is nothin. hahas. my mum sae is bcos when im still in her tummy, my dad pasted some red paper on the wall. and later on fade bcos the kampong is being demolished to make wae for other stuff
so i believe lor.

Re shift furniture
ya... heard that shift furniture will "dong tai qi". But i think to the westerners, it's because in the process of shifting, we may strain & hurt ourselves. I've been moving my #1's cot every night. His cot is just beside my bed and is mobile. In the day when he's not sleeping, we will shift it next to the wardrobe. At night, we will shift it next to the bed so that he gets more wind. Hopes nothing goes wrong. It's unavoidable not to shift at all.

We are going to shift house and start reno. Don't think it's possible not to be involved at all. Prob will just stay away when the guys move the boxes etc. Will just help out with the packing & unpacking of stuff.

Who's going for the Expo baby fair? I'm going this fri afternoon.

pprincess,
sometimes cannot say don't believe such things. My friend's PIL was painting the table when she's pregnant. SHe happens to see him doing it. When her son was born, he had a big patch on his back. Sounds scary yah?

In fact, my #1 has patches on the whites of his eye balls. But I don't remember whether I did something that could "contribute" this. Now everyone who sees him will ask what happens to his eyes. Don't know whether he will feel affected by this when he grows up.

Hee, now i understand the story behind not moving any furniture. Most of the time, i choose to believe jus in case. Anyway, it's all for our gd.

Great, i think most mummies will know your bb's gender by next wk. Then we can all start shopping

oh yah, if u really wanna consider birth defect, i guess my boy has 2 birth defects - dimples on each side of his face. Both my hb & I don't have dimples. Well, I don't mind getting a bb with dimples if that's what shifting of furniture while preg will do to them.

kittyng

yah, they're actually birth defects. Haha, I also find them cute, so i don't mind. ANyway it won;t affect them physically other than making them cuter.