(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Good morning mummies,

Juz wanna share this website for baby names & their meaning:

http://babynamesworld.parentsconnect.com/
http://www.babynameguide.com/categoryamerica.asp?strGender=&strAlpha=E&strCat=American&strOrder=Name

Have finally decided a name for my gal ;)
Enjoy searching the names!!

<font color="aa00aa">babyethan,</font>
Have u thot of your gal gal name? I suppose your son is call ethan rite. So are you thinking of a baby gal name starting with initial "E"?

Re: Taka Baby Fair
Heard that it will start on 12 Mar. Will let u gals know if i receive further info. I rem when i got my #1, i bot most of my stuff esp big items (i.e breast pump, bottles steriliser, milk bottles) from the fair. And usually is cheaper with some freebies or at least 20% discount. Is a worth going fair for 1st time mummies.

<font color="aa00aa">lamagier,</font>
Wow, this show that you still got charm despite being a preggie, heehee. But u mention he come &amp; visit u daily. How cum he didn't notice your tum tum leh? Mayb u can ask him whether he want to be your baby's "GODFATHER"?? haahaa..Think he will lve u alone from then on ;)

<font color="aa00aa">MrsC,</font>
Same here. I found that my left palm or rather the whole hand &amp; arm will becum numb every morning. Do u know what's the cause? I thot i didn't have good sleeping posture, didn't relate to this pregnancy cos' never happen when i got #1.

janBB
thanks for sharing the webbie. nw shortlisting the names. hees. is the taka baby fair the same as the baby fair this coming weekend? bcos if yes, then mayb i jus jalan abit on the coming baby fair at expo. and then confirm buying again at the taka fair as i onli doing my detail scanning on the 12mar.

babyethan yes my gynae is Prof Tee fr KKH
he is not strict/stern.. just that he is labeled by us as man of few words
but anythg we ask, he will reply nicely and assured us if its good or not
he dun always say thgs i liek to hear thou
liek I ask him bout eating cheese n such haa he will say better dun eat haha
its gd that u go for 2nd opinion. I personally feel he is a very experienced doctor and based on his 'confidence' showed during consultation.. i tink not too bad hee

oh yes we have tot of baby name also.. already decided =)

Hi MrsC, Princess &amp; JanBB,
I see him everyday.... I'm not pretty or charming.. It's just that his taste is quite werid. He take same company bus and everytime try to sit next to me. On and off will call me to ask me what time I'm going off and said he try take the same bus as me etc etc.... yesterday called me asked me why I never smile at him in canteen when he smiled at me.... I complained to my boss then he escort me to and off work. But recently my boss stop as thought that guy eased off =( Think he dunno I'm preggers cos my tummy not big yet... cos he asked me if going for company dragonboat training. I was showing off the elastic band of my maternity jeans today.

MrsC, janBB
Did you ladies rest on your side during sleeping and restricted blood flow to arm/palm? If not, maybe on mrt or free time try massage palm to improve blood circulation, see if that will help...

lamagier
LOL. tat guy is cute huh. then u should jus tell him, duno baby is girl or boy. duno what name should i call baby. jus like many of them say, ask him wan b godfather n0t. and guarantee he will run far awae. hahas.

lamagier

wah, this man so thick skin. Almost like a stalker who doesn't understand the word 'no'. U better be careful. Yah, maybe let him know that you're preg...

pprincess...
eeeewwww scardy he wants to be godfather how.....

mashy,
yah... he's creeping me out. SO obviously trying to come near me that even a few of my colleagues are noticing. i think my pregnancy hormones running wild. Got I got phobia later he goes nuts do anything to my baby... Cos sometimes news hear of those "crimes of passion"... My boss was telling me to go write him an email black and white, tell him back off. If he stills bothers me, then get the HR dept to step in.....

lamagier
but abit bad hor. to need to let the HR dept step in. i guess u should tell him straight to the face to back off. cannt. then ur boss should talk to him. still cannt then get the HR to step in lor. if he realli wan to b godfather, then bring ur hubby to meet him! ask ur hubby to act macho and fierce! ahhas

Janbb
Haven't decide whether gal will have her name starting with E. E has very limited choice. Only liked Emma but worried if will be mispronunced. How about u?

Good morning mommies, slept well? I slept with my 2 year old last night and she kept tossing and turning and so I look like a panda bear now, sigh...tgif.

Thanks Mashy for updating the table, the list is getting soooo long, cool! A quick count - we have a whooping 61 July babies! That's amazing, imagine having 60 friends already when you are born

Speaking of cord blood banking, I banked with Stemcord for my first child, because they had a promo then and I happened to be there. I later on learnt that for CordLife, they actually separate the storage of the cordblood into 2 areas so in case anything happen to one, you still have some left in another. Not sure if I will store #2 cordblood as yet.

Poor lamagier! Have you told your hubby about this unwanted attention from your colleague? Perhaps can bring up the issue to your boss again? The guy you described gives the shivers and reminds me of the movie Fatal Attraction!

Baby names - those of you who have decided - way to go, so fast! We are toying still with a couple of names but I really like one. Anyway, it will be fun later discovering if some of us selected the same name for our little one. I found that the name I selected for #1 kinda defines her, or is it the other way round? Her name is Alexis, which means Defender, and she is a pretty strong character. Like me, hahha! I don't know, what do you guys think? Do a name defines a person's character?

JanBB, you might wanna try Salonpas, I checked with my gynae in KKH and she said it is ok to use that. I used it for my lower back pain, which can sometimes be sharp and very unforgiving.

BabyEthan
I think Emma is a very pretty name indeed. The other name that starts with E that is lovely is Emily. But the one name I really wanted during my first pregnancy was Elliot but in the end, we didn't choose that for gender reason. Anyway I can now as I am having a boy this time but for some reason, not as keen now...let's see. I am fickle and been known to change my mind at times...

Koko
There's always good &amp; bad but personally, I feel more comfortable with Cordlife becos' it's accredited. However, there's also ppl who encounter bad experience with them.

Hope following links will help:

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1300873.html?1227365348

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/5/984172.html?1202973363

You could type "Stemcord or Cordlife" in google search &amp; read more from Babysupplies forum as I couldn't paste it here (not allowed).

pprincess
Are you refering to Expo fair? If so, i find that Taka baby fair is better. More big items to buy. Expo Fair is more like exhibition fair with many booths like SPH promoting mag, ocbc promoting kids a/c, nestle product...etc. But if u are staying near the east, no harm taking a look.

Lagamier, Friends of Zoo,
Yes, my gynae advised we preggies to sleep on our left side cos is better for baby. That's why left side always numb. Ok, will try Salonpas. I'm getting very bad back pain too. Thks.

Babyethan,
Emma sounds short &amp; sweet ;)
My #1 is "Jayden". Have decided to name #2 "Jayna" ;p.

Thanks mummies =)
Yah, I've been telling my husband abt the guy. Cos the guy sends me sms-es. I don't want the husband to get wrong idea. Husband wants to bash the guy up for disturbing his pregnant wife. Yah, I brought it up to my boss yesterday that's why he suggested write formally to the guy. Cos the guy calls or sms. Suspect he dares not write email to me cos that will leave hard evidence... Anyway, he's not local. Highly suspect he already married cos which 40 year old in the right mind would keep going after married woman?

lamagier
40 yr old man!! What a DOM - Dirty old man!!
U muz try your best to keep a distance from him. Dun give chances cos' dun sound rite for a normal man to do such thick skin thingy. I thot is those young chap trying to "xian" you ;) Take care!!

Re: Maternity Panties

Any good brands to recommend?
I got a problem here. As i got c-section for #1, the rubber always irritate my wound (though already heal so long) cos' i'm wearing low cut cotton panty even i "upgraded" the size to Extra Large now!! My wound can get ithcy sometimes. But if i wear those higher waist type, the rubber seems to hinder my tum tum which i dun feel comfy at all.

janBB
i dun stay in the west. in fact i stay at cck which is super far from expo. haha. but my sis sae also can go and take a look. and im also quite sure there's nothin much i can buy since i still duno the gender as my detail scan is on the 12mar. thanks for the info~

lamagier
agree wif janBB, DOM. mayb he thought married-married can fling fling. then in that case tink better go and report to HR. else everidae he come ask u why u never smile back at me when i smile at u? =x if im u, i tink i will scream at the guy liaos.

hi MTB,

since u all are halfway thru pregnancy, do u all use nursing bra? i totally noob abt the nursing bra, all i know is nursing bra is better during breastfeeding, coz can easily detach the pad then breastfeed.. but i see online ppl wear nursing bra during pregnancy.. what is the purpose?? pls enlighten me MTB : )

pprincess
I'm staying in the west too. Near Jurong Pt. We are quite close ;)

I got this checklist on the things to buy.
Useful for 1st time mummies. Maybe u gals wanna take a look :

mime_msexcel.gif
c
FirstTimeMummyChecklist-924430.xls (20.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

nicolle
i hear from some of them saying that as we are alreadi producing milk, so it is better that we wear a nursing bra as the normal wired bra is not gd for us. the exact reason i also duno. i also noob and still stickin to my bra.

hi nicolle ann... my EDD ard 1st July, also in Mount A too...are u taking 2 bedded?

who going to Baby fair in expo tonight? cos there is natas fair, i cant decide to ask my hubby drive directly to expo as scare big jam n lack of car parks. think will juz park at simei mrt that side then take mrt down.

annie
confirm will jam i guess. my fren sae the last time they haf the natas at expo, she also went and there's no lot. and the Q is damn long for the natas. guess will clash wif baby's fair. i did think of borrowin car from my dad to drive there. but then my fren sae it is gonna b crowded and no lots.

Lamagier - this weird guy definitely is crossing the line. Perhaps you should write an email to him asking him to back off. Even if he doesn't dare write to you cos it will leave evidence, at least then you're making it clear (and leaving black/white evidence) that his attentions are unwanted. Be specific in what areas of his behaviour are not welcome - eg. constant phonecalls and coming close to you.

Re: sleeping
I don't know why but sometimes I end up sleeping on my tummy! I normally sleep on my side but recently hubby has found me sleeping on my tummy, then he wakes me up to change positions. So weird! I don't even know I'm doing it, argh! Hopefully will stop once tummy gets a bit bigger... :p

BTW anyone has recommendations for shoes with non-slip soles? Hopefully flat and nice-looking enough to wear out for work or shopping. I was in sneakers the other day (canvas sneakers, like school shoes, heh heh) and slipped in the rain and now there's one big bruise on my knee. Thought the sneakers would be safe enough in the rain but apparently not!

Lamagier,

just dun be Miss nice anymore loh..

tell him he is too friendly and you don't like it.

as for the godfather suggestion i think better skip. in case he really wanst o be your bb's godfather.. keke

I'm staying at the west too.

hey mummies, abt taka and isetan baby fair is it firm to be in Mid March?

My cousin who is due in April and she's now busy buying her stuffs.. so she wants a few more places to compare items

Friend of Zoo, is the isetan sale for isetan members only?

JanBB &amp; MrsC, sounds like restricted blood flow to the arm disrupting the sensory nerve supply, make sure you don't sleep with your arm under your body or in a strange position like above your head or bent.

I'm not going to the BabyFair either, the deals don't look that enticing and I was at the Natas Fair last year, there was no space in the carpark to park at all, ended up parking together with many many cars illegally on the road.

Isetan private sale (1-day affair) is for members only on 12 Mar (Thursday) but members can bring in guests. Not sure how many though.

JanBB that's a very good list, though I am a second-time mom, I found it useful and will be using it for my shopping. Well, except for the section on Toys &amp; Playstuff. :p
As for maternity panties, they are just full briefs, isn't it? I like those from Marks &amp; Spencer and Bonds.

Sunnyduck, I wear Puma flats, pretty comfy. Decent-looking, won't use the word "pretty". Some friends swear by Crocs ballet pumps.

pprincess.. me too.. and i think i somehow cannot fit into my WIRED BRA.. coz the wire is not resting on my ribs..hahaha....

nursing bra all look very AH MA leh..hahahahahaha

annie.. ehh.. cool!! scully we same day deliver... then at least i got someone to tok tooo..

ehh.. haven really decide on the bedding.. ehh.. should be 2 bedded i guess.. unlesss my dh say 1 bed..

who is ur gynae?? scully same gynae.. hahaha

nicolle
me also. my colleague say my tummy nt so obvious bcos my boobs is obvious, which dey sae cannt 2 b obvious at the same time. not sure isit true. hahas. but then wired bra is damn exp. nursing bra also scare later after gif birth BF awhile will b too big to fit =x bra is exp lar

me too.. i got the same prob.. ppl keep telling me i dun look pregnant.. coz my tummy only little round.. is it?? i nv heard abt cannot 2 b obvious.. ppl just tell me when i 7 8 mth it will be very big..hahaha... and my mother in law keep asking ME eat durian .. becoz they keep thinking my baby is too small -.-

nursing wired bra is ex.. i also scare.. but i think baby fair will be offering quite cheap nursing bra.. if u go, maybe can check out i think BOOTH E06 OR E07..

acually breasfeeding makes my boobs droopy.. sigh.. so goes will with the nursing bra?? hahaha

i find nursing not very padded.. so not suitable for me to wear out b4 i start wearing does breast pads aka breastfeed..

but i do wear them at home as its less tight fitting.

and was told underwired ones are not good for milk glands..

soon will upsize my cup size and those i'll get normal but unwired bras..

Sunnyduck,
Can look at Teva or other tracking sandals or shoes. Cos trekking shoes sole are made to withstand slippery surfaces. I swear by Teva sandals whenever I go trekking in M'sia. Queensway shopping center would have good and reasonable priced selection

re: UNwanted attention
Yah, my boss made it my today's KPI to send email to that guy and asked me to cc him inside so the guy dare not try anything funny. I actually was still ok one. But today I deliberately put my backpack on seat next to me and pretend to play with my handphone and he actually shifted by bag and plunck himself next to me. I will start screaming soon. Trying to draft my letters while I do my work and check on the forum =p

pprincess, nicole,
DOn't worry. My gynae said nothing to worry as long as baby growing steadily in your womb. Tummy size not critical, baby size then critical. As long as gynae happy with your baby's progress, no need to worry too much =)

I think I read somewhere in forum that nursing bra is can detach bra strap in fract so easier to breast feed.

And not advisable to wear wired bra during pregnancy and bra feeding as will press on milk ducts. My sister wore wired bra through her whole pregnancy and said she had blocked ducts when she started breast feeding, had to get gynae to help clear them

hi mummies ,

im selling off some items, do PM me if interested:

1) MEDELA MINI ELECTRIC (single breast pump)
-only bought in mid FEB, only used once, sterilised and back on box. giving baby FM so no longer need pump
selling at $155

2)PIGEON - Breastmilk cooler bag (brand new)
selling at $48

3)PIGEON - nursing pads 36s (unopened)
selling at $10

self collection at mrt station (sembwg, admiralty, woodlands)

Lamagier,

can u tell him a white lie like the seat is for someone else?

or u get up the bus later or u choose to share seat with someone else?

this guy is v. irritating!

Sheryl: The cd is a collection of the scan pictures the doctor took during scanning. Its good for revisiting since I'm so blur at times, and can't see clearly on the monitor.

BabyEthan and LS: Thanks... I actually did a google search last night and saw someone having an unpleasant experience, think its with Cordlife. But whatever it is, still undecided.

iamagier

oh ya.. i feel relieved when gynae told me everything is fine..hahahaha.. so far, i think i put on alot of wt.. and i think all the food goes to me not baby.. coz tummy so small : '(

but nv wear wired.. feel funny leh.. plus like "sagging" hahahahaha

What's the difference between nursing bra and maternity bra? When I ask the sales person to show me maternity bra, they always show me nursing bra. Anyway, someone was mentioning about OG. Sometime back, I went OG and bought some nursing bras which I think is pretty good, comfortable and priced reasonably. Its by Thyme Body. Price is $29.90 ( I think)... Its wired but very comfortable compared to those I bought from Triumph. There are other brands, if I'm not wrong.

koko

maternity bra is for preg women. Nursing bra is for breastfeeding later.

It's actually advisable to buy the nursing bra only in the last trimester of your preg coz u'll still continue to expand.

nicolle
i also feel the same. bcos when breast get bigger, means tat we should get more support. but unwired one.. seems so funni lor. hahas.

lamagier
wah, ur boss support u leh. even ask u to cc him so that the guy can see tat the boss alreadi know wad he is doing and he wun dare to do aniting funni. but after doin so u haf to b careful of urself as he may be doing harmful tings to u as he feel that u are shaming him, if he have a big ego, in front of ur boss and badmouthin him in front of ur boss also.

re: tummy size
i dun tink that my dr can be not satisfied wif my baby growth and my weight growth bcos i onli saw my this doc 1 time. my previous gynae which i follow up since 5 weeks till 12 weeks is quite unhappy wif my weight. but as the kkh doctor i onli saw 1st time. she duno my previous weight. so sae okie. hahas. but tink since my tummy is startin to balloon, then i should b gaining more weight nw