(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

mashy
im onli doing breastfeeding for my maternity leave. after tat haf to go back to work so haf to pump out the milk into milk bottles for her. but saw from magazine that we have to introduce the teats and bottles to her wae bfore we decide to pass her on to the baby sitters. hence not sure wad i should do also.

pprincess,

I dun reali like jalan jalan, everytime I shopped unless I'm determined to buy something.
I also scared if never planned well, will tend to buy alot of unnecessarily stuffs. Biggest issue: I'm just lazy.. Ha Ha!

Re; teats & BF

For the 1st mth supposed to exclusive BF. But u should still continue to pump and store BM so that you can increase your milk supply. Then by the end of 1st mth, u should introduce the teats coz if not, your bb might reject the teats and not wanna be bottle fed at all.

My boy is one victim of nipple confusion coz he was hospitalised for a few days due to jaundice. After that, he didn't bother sucking anymore.

cecelia446
LOL. i go jalan jalan first bcos can roughly gauge the price also. somemore scare if i jus go once and buy, later too exp and can find cheaper elsewhere sure heartpain! plus i dun tink my sis or dad will allow me to anihow buy if i were to go jalan wif them. they surely will pick this and tat -.- like my dad sae dun need stroller until bb is bigger, which i duno bigger means how many months old. LOL. and my room is in a mess. no space to put any bb's stuff also. so cannt buy much ting lor.

Cecilia, me too. Worse still, i'm bad at comparing prices. Hee, almost end up taking the deal during first visit....my bridal studio & HM also like that.

pprincess

I now go jalan jalan to choose the things I want. Once there's a sale (which will be super crowded), all I need to do is go, grab and run. Don't need to squeeze with the crowd and decide this and that. Like I'm waiting for the Isetan pte sale, that one really cannot afford to just walk ard and see coz too crowded. I'll usually go and see a few days before, check out which are the ones i want. Then on sale day, just head straight there with the list i've in my hand and grab.

I hate sales coz too crowded but I like to buy when there's a sale. :p

my hubby will help me massage if i want him to.. hehehe...
my mother thinks my stomach is too small.. she say by now, should grow big liaw.. hmm.. i also don know, so will ask my doc on my next appointment.. i mostly drink chicken soup for my tonic o...

mashy
yea, i hate crowd. hahas. but no choice lar. i not lazy to shop. im lazy to go out. so mus haf transport then i will go out. LOL. no transport i damn lazy to go out lor. so shopping is fine wif me. i wish i can also grab and run leh. but sometimes certain sales item still exp -.- i know kiddy palace nw having sales also. their stroller also going at such a great offer. some even 50% discount lor. tempted to buy.

enli
dun worriew so much. my tummy also damn small. cannt see at all. and my colleagues all saeing tat i alreadi 17weeks + pregannt meh? why so small. LOL. i read before if it's the first pregnant, it is usually veri small until around 5 months, then will suddenly boom! and tat dae u will know why isit call suddenly. bcos realli sudden! got fren jus sleep wif small tummy, wake up wif big tummy. and it jus grow and grow everi single dae. hahas

hi Enli,
Don't worry. mine not very big too, but gynae said it's normal. If your abs muscle tone is good, tummy show later. As long as baby growing, no problem. Sat I went to Young Parents seminar got yoga talk. Yoga teacher skinny like anything, no tummy at all and she said she 4 months pregnant. Size of tummy doesn't matter.

Hi Cecelia & Kitty,
(*hi five*) I'm helpless in the shopping department too. Need a list... And really bad at walking around to compare prices... Too confusing and traumatic for me. Esp if you bought something and find it's cheaper somewhere else

Hi cecelia,
Don't worry, I'm outgrowing my clothes too. Just spent Sunday afternoon vacuum packing some of my tighter fitting clothes. Haha, I only have a pair of regular jeans that can still fit me. I think I'm reaching the stage where I will just suddenly balloon and turn into a penguin soon. Just waiting for my tummy to become obvious to colleagues and mrt commuters

Hi everyone, I'm also a July mum-to-be. Due 25 July.

Enli, my dad-in-law also commented that I'm still so small now, and how come I have only gained 2-3kg so little. I think they probably forgot many things about pregnancy and babies, since their children (our hubbies and us) are all so old already!
As long as the gynae says we are OK, just take what everyone else say with a pinch of salt.

Any other ladies delivering in KKH?

pprincess..

hahaha... must be real suprise if the next day wake up suddenly the tummy become big.. i started to use the strech mark cream... hope the strech wont look so clear after birth...
me and hubby still survey for the price for the bb car and bed..

Lamagier, kitty,

So we r in the same boat. Must update each other what u bought k, so tat we won't get too 'lost'. Ha Ha! I printed out the Taka baby list last week, found from 1 of the thread here. But looking at some of the names, totally have no idea what are they anyway.. :p Then things like teats and bottles, why must buy so many lei? Wat if baby dun like to suck the particular teats how? Haiz... Very "luan"..

MuffinGirl

i am at KKH also.. will be deliver there..
i am july mum to be, due at 20 july...
which doc are u seeing?

muffingirl
yea, old ppl alreadi forget liaos. most likely is i ask A, A ask B this kinda stuff. LOL.
im delivering at KKH. edd is 31 July
abt 1 week after urs

Yes Enli, i agreed with other mummies. My tummy used to be v small...but the min passed the 5th mth, it's been expanding pretty fast. So dun worry k!

Lamagier, you are right. I should also collate a list. If not, i would really be very lost when i go shopping.

enli
i previously also use stretch mark cream liaos. but then alreadi stop bcos no itchness and such. so tink should b no problem. but hor, when i take pictures 2 days ago, i saw from the pictures i got new stretch marks! faint liaos. LOL. i too lazy to apply.

baby ethan,
for me now gg to be #2 mummy... need engage confinment lady as i cant handle # 1 & # 2 together... me intending to TBF my # 2 too... so, need lots of help... if urs is # 1 n someone is around to help out, den save $ lahz... no need engage confinment lady...

re: tonics
i didnt take much tonics for my # 1 n current # 2.. onli take bird nest lahz... i just eat 3 well-balance diet, drink milk everyday. n m super compliant wif the fish oil, multi-vit pills... i guess that helps ba... keke

Cecilia, where did u print the list? Can we share? hee....

pprincess, i thought stretchmarks muz apply everyday till the day of delivery? Actually i hav been lazy and has stopped for a few days liao. U mean it will so fast be visible?

I'm also very lost when it comes to shopping...what to buy, how many to buy, what brand to buy *headache*

My colleagues say that there are usually mid-year sales also. So I may just wait until then, rather than to buy something that I don't need, or to buy wrongly!

Pprincess...haha there is a change that we may be delivering around the same time since our EDD are close. Can't wait to go for my detailed scan

kitty
i tink i more prone to haf stretch marks. bcos i haf it even before gettin pregnant. mus b during my puberty days where i grw fat and sim down. LOL. but is supposed to apply everyday de lor. jus tat i lazy. hees

muffingirl
i also tinkin tat my edd will change leh. bcos on my last check up doctor sae around 30july again -.- so i confused. but guess is after detail scanning then more confirm bah? if i pop earlier or u pop later, then around the same dae. hahahas.

Hi Cecelia & kitty,
Yah, I got 2 list from the forum and a list my friend sent me. intend to ask my sister (who already has 2 kids) to help me look through and see what really need to buy, what can get from her, what need to add in.... Share with you mummies after my sister help me consolidate the 3 list =p

Haha, like my wedding, I tend to 'outsource' things like this to experience people so won't worry my brains out.

hi pprincess,
So fast got stretch marks on tummy? Oh dear, I have fear that now tummy smaller, later have to expand more , get stretch marks easier... In first trimester already have whitish stretch marks on boobs liao... haha, if really lotsa stretch marks on tummy, will look like watermelon... can retire my bikini and hide in my wetsuit when I go diving

pprincess
hahaha... no worries.. start to apply it until u deliver, i heard really useful.. but i sometimes also lazy.. sometimes got apply sometimes i forget.. hehhehe
yaloo..sometimes old ppl forget liaw, sometimes, i feel so hard also, when my mum say can and my mother in law say cannot. anyhow, we are different customs.. in hard situation

muffingal, enli, pprincess..

I'm delivering at KKH.. EDD 20 July...

keke
wonder if we might meet?

I'm taking 4 bedder as before.... since only 2 night stay..

Lamagier,kitty,

With the list, 1st I almost fainted looking at the foreign things to buy, 2nd I almost faint when I think of the cost, 3rd I wanna die thinking of every weekend squeeze with ppl finding carpark lots in shopping centre and cramp with crowds not 1 time but many many visit..

Sorry to intrude. I have a Scarlet Red Maclaren Techno XT 2008 version to let go at $400. 5mths old but rarely use, in very good condition.

Pls pm me if interested.
Thnks!

Anyone sign up with Cordlife previously? Thinking to sign up & if could get a referral name, we both could get $50. Just PM me & first come first ok?

Thanks in advance

cecelia

haha, u so funny. U print out the list. ASk ard and see who can give u what. If your company will give u a hamper, ask to choose the gift.

If any of your family members are going to get u a gift, ask them for a budget and tell them what to buy. Get a group of friends to share in a gift together. U can then tell them that u need a stroller, or bb gym or whatever. At least u won't be getting tons of useless bb gift sets.

mashy,

its good i think to put up a baby shower wish list.. keke.. so ppl will know what u need and which items that u need is missing so they will buy as a gift for u.. keke

but i think most practical is $$.. we buy it ourselves..

i am seeing dr.HY wee..
i planning to get the 4 bedder also..
don want to be alone in the room..
maybe can share some exp with other mummies also.. hehehe... do u think we will meet?
my next appointment to see doc is march,4th.. wat bout u?

July2009MTBs, Sorry to interrupt.

Any of you gals interested in buying swimsuits from this website? http://www.motherhood.com/maternity/swimsuits.asp

Some of us from Aug thread would like to get more mommies to share on the shipping cost.

VPost promotion will be ending 28 Feb, we would need to order from the site by Wed (25 Feb).

Please pm me or post in the Aug2009MTBs thread if anyone is interested! Thanks!!

sunsweet

true lah, but when the bb comes out, u won't have time to go shopping for the stuff. So it's better that they give u the items, coz cash gifts usually come at 1st month celebration.

Maybe can give them a few choices for them to choose from?

hi Cecelia,
Haha, I discuss cost of baby with husband, he also want to faint. But I guess the spending is done over a half a year or so, not one time cough up all the money, and some can get hand-me-downs, so you prob won't be spending the full amount stated on the list (I'm always optimistic =p)

Mashy has a point too. Usually good friends check what do you want before buying. The thing is, they usually buy for 1st month celebrations or give ang pows. So stuff that baby will immediately use and cannot get 2nd hand like milk bottle, teats still die die will need to buy. Stroller, baby cot etc I will get 2nd hand.

Don't worry, we at the beginning of 2nd trimester only. Still have time to to plan shopping list. Don't need to panic yet.

Enli,

i'll go for my next check day earlier, on the 3rd.

As for meet up have to see if i can arrange the time

Mashy,
I told my frds and relatives cos we dun wish to have dbl gifts / have unused gifts thus $$ is preferred.. of cos we dun wait till we receive the $$ then buy.. we buy 1st from our own pocket...

its quite common for my foreign frds to have a babyshower wish list online.. then from the list we tick off what we'll buy for them.. in this way no useless gift, no dbl gift and the person buying gift do not need to guess so much.. keke

good for everyone

I have a brand new Britax car seat for sales. It can sit from newborn to 4 years old. I bought it at $400 and will like to sell it off at $299 as my baby boy simply don't wan to sit in it. It's been used for less than 10min only.

Please email me at [email protected] if interested.

one word of caution,

dun invest on bottles and teats in huge no. at one time.. babies have preference... so buy 1 or 2 to try 1st...

Hi Enli, pprincess, sunsweet,

Your appointments so soon. Mine is in about 3 weeks time. I'm seeing Dr YML, will be taking the single bedder cos I can claim almost all the costs from my maternity benefits.

Do some teats only fit certain bottles?

Muffingal,

yup.. and there are wideneck and narrow neck bottles...

many varieties... keke my #1 uses pigeon.. cos easiest to get at most NTUC.. in case las min need something at least its available at NTUC..

enli, muffin girl
im delivering at kkh too =)

LS
yes the car seat was really quite a gd deal... so if u no hurry mayb can wait a bit n see how
at the same time i gotmy stroller too. forgot brand name(strolelr ins toreroom already haha) org pric was near 600 i tink.. and igot 50% also.. i like the structure as in it can put the seat on dual direction and the wheels are big so more steady hehe..

anyway i jus bk fr check up w gynae
baby is growing good 500 odd g liao! which i tot is realy big haaa.. gt a feeling my bb will b born big like me... and this is only when I am very careful with what I eat.. i wonder if i anyhow eat what will happen!