(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

re: baby items

i tink that onli after confirming the baby's gender then easily to buy stuff. else duno wad colour to buy =x

mashy & elijah's mum
im tinkin of getting car seats too. but all too exp. and also quite hard to choose. none of my fren have experience in car seats as they all dun drive. so it's veri hard for me

pprincess

yah, car seats are ex, but it's something we've to spend on. So buy only when there's a discount. I got my first car seat (Britax -Safe & Sound) during the Robinson's 20% sale which my SIL paid and gave it to us as a gift.

So when my SIL was going to give birth, I also gave her a car seat (Safety First) which i got from the Kidzloft 50% sale.

All these are convertible car seats which can sit from infant till a few years old. I just made sure that they're not some dubious names and made in china type.

loshita
hope everythg goes well for u =)

mbb2
ya lor nvm lar mayb is becos we gaining wter bag weight hehe...
btw do u noe the new born n s size nepia diaper gt hw many pcs per pack?

I'm from Jun 09 thread. I have 2 tins (700g each)of Similac Mum for sale. Selling at $15/tin, with a complimentary $5 voucher for each tin, on your next purchase of Similac Mum.

Self-collection at Clementi MRT station on weekday nights or Sembawang MRT station on Sundays.

Interested, please PM me.

pprincess

It depends on the type of car seats. For a cheap one will be at least $150. Average is $200+-$300+. Of course, the most ex can go all the way to $1k which i saw before for Aprica. But that Aprica one can turn and put in a lying down position.

THere're 2 types of car seats for infants. One is the infant carrier which can sit for abt 1 yr (abt 10kg) depending on how fast your bb grow. The other type is the convertible type which can sit till they're a few yrs old. But of course, the infant carriers will be more comfy for the infants as the convertible car seats, no matter how u place it, it will not be in a semi lying down position. It prob seem uncomfy to us, but seems the bb doesn't mind in that position though.

Britax & Maxi Cosi are reputable brands for car seats. U can also go Mothercare to take a look at their car seats. They're quite a comprehensive range.

Never buy a 2nd hand car seat, coz u don't know its history. Car seats are only meant to withstand 1 accident.

re: car seat
i bought the maxi cosi one
cos can sit fr new born up to 19kg i tink

Graco is good too so is britax.. but all these are all v ex...
gotto wait for sales then buy

I'm new to this forum. I'm a SAHM to a 2 yo gal and is expecting our 2nd baby gal on Jul 4. Looking fwd to chat more with you ladies.

mashy
thanks for your info. will check up the stores once ive done my detail scan to determine the baby's gender, hopefully
im sitll in the midst of clearing my room, so cant buy too much big items also as there wun b enuff space to place them in my room.

re: baby fair at expo
anibodi know when is the fair? i googled abit on the net and saw some saying it is on the 27feb - 1mar09. ani idea?

Hi Lamagier,

Saw an earlier post fm u on L'Occitane Grape Anti-water Retention Gel. I was interested in the same product but was told by the sales person that this product is not recommended for pregnant women.

mashy

really! haiz i din know... if so would have gotten hubby to go down to check it out...

re: baby fair

it on the 27th -1st march
11am to 10pm
at expo hall 6b.

hahah i got info from the baby stuff newsletter. :p

carseats...

yah the good brands are all very exp... can think about this at the next isetan private sale!

oh re the mothercare set right....

the set has only 3 sizes, newborn (up to 4.5kg), 0-3mths, and 3-6mths. also there is limited stock for it and it only comes in 1 color (white) and there is limited stocks for it. think you can check it out at harbourfront and ps mothercare stores.

mbb2, is nepia gd? mbe i will try petpet for my #2. i use drypers for my #1, but he always hve rashes then. It doesnt absorb as well, but not sure abt now since its been improvised.

Re: Car Seat
I gt the britax one for my #1. Didnt use much n its brand new. So will recycle for my #2 now.

Re: Post Natal Massage
I am looking for a malay massage lady after my delivery for post natal massage? Any recommendations? Have you gals book already?

elijah's mummy
thanks for the info on the baby's fair. shall pop down to take a look and see got wad bargain to buy. bcos detail scan onli on the 12th. and nw cannt confirm the gender so cannt buy much also.
for the car seats it seems quite wasted to jus have it for a few months, bcos not cheap also. mayb will invest in a more exp 1 but can use for longer one. hees.

sheryl
i also lookin for post natal massage. but not sure should book nw? bcos like so far awae. heard from my hair stylist, she sae tat gd massager will help u to 'adjust' ur womb and so on by binding and such. not such anibodi heard of it before?

pprincess,
i used Graco car seat in the beginning but i find it too bulky n heavy.
changed it to Combi (the latest light weight version, sorry cant remember the model).

i like this very much.
it's suitable for newborn to 3 yrs old.
price is ard $200 odd.
the price from Tat Sing (combi retailer) n Hypermart is abt the same.

it comes in 3 colors. most mag are still advertising it.

HBB,
Nepia NB hv 60 pcs. up to 5kg.
Nepia S hv 54 pcs. 4 to 8 kg.

dun bother to buy more then 1 pkt of NB coz bb may be huge and hospital provide 1 pkt.

i also prefer to let bb have more room in the butt
as long as it's not too loose.

i change my ger every 3 hrs coz i apply the same logic for myself.
i dun fancy wearing my sanitary pad longer then tat time frame even if it's not badly soiled.

This coming few weeks should be exciting for all of us as we will be due for our detailed scan and finally the mystery of our baby gender will be revealed!

My detailed scan is scheduled tomorrow! Hope everything goes well!

Baby stuff:
I shall start my spree for baby clothes only after baby gender is confirmed tmr! But i usually shop online, very seldom I buy clothes at stores!

I ll need another cot and another baby seat too.. expensive investment!

Sheryl, Pprincess:
Yes, I have booked my post natal massage with a lady from Rustic Nirvana! cost me S$450 for 5 days sessions.

mbb2

i agree... actually for the 1st month no need to stock up as you may want to try a few diff brands to see what suit your baby... for #1 i tried like all the brands avaliable and finally stick to huggies... hahah also coz i found a supplier that is cheaper... will share more later...also he had rashes to petpet and drypers. din try nepia though but heard that not too good in containing poop.

mbb2
thanx
ya i tink need to chg the diaper v frequently else risk of gettin rash
gd diaper cream also impt to act as barrier

hi all mummies,
back from amnion test. everthing ok now. just got shocked when i saw the amount of amnion fluid withdraw from me.

Hi Noelle,
Thanks for the information =) Guess the only waya to treat water retention for now is still to prop legs up, go for swim or avoid excessive salt.

Hi Sheryl,
I've this massage lady Aunty Sadiah that i saw was being recommended by some MTB in the forum.
$50 per session, full body massage, herbs and wrapping. Start after first check up with gynae after birth. If c-sect, start 3 weeks after c-sect Hopefully she's as good as what other mothers said.

hi loshita,
Rest well. Hope your results will be good.

Re: Phone Scam
Hi mummies. FYI. Got a scam call just now. Chinese lady with china accent called to ask me go "Fan Chuan" hotel opening in Hongkong on 1st March. Then said give me lucky draw number. Told me watch the hotel opening broadcast on Astro network. Asked me for name, age and address. I googled online and found this is scam. MTBs, please beware

Loshita,
Do rest well.

Re Diapers
I used Nepia for #1 & Pampers NB. Both very good. Equal quality but of course pampers more ex. Another brand is Goo.N. For Nepia, I only used NB & S. M size's quality not as good as NB & S. Now I'm using NTUC brand on my #1 cos so much cheaper and he has no reaction. I feel that probably for the 1st few months, use better quality ones as baby's skin is very sensitive and delicate.

A good diaper cream is also equally important. 1 good and cheap one is Drapolene which can get from most pharmacy. I've got California's calendula cream on standby in case rash gets really bad. It can also be used for other skin irritations. Very highly recommended.

Lamagier
I also booked Sadiah for my post natal massage. She's doing prenatal too. Thinking of trying out but must wait till after weed 28 according to her.

babyethan
i read from some magzine they say that as long as more then 12 weeks can do prenatal massage but then some massager they say after certain weeks. also not the same for all. some sae 20 some say 24 some 28. weird.

Hi babyethan,
You ever tried her massage before? She good?

Hi pprincess,
Yah, I read 3 months then do massage. My regular masseuse told me 5 months, then last month told me need to wait till 6 months... I gave up trying to figure out when actually ok to do massage. Save the money. Doing my own stretches and waiting till prenatal class WBB to instruct husband how to massage me.

lamagier
haha! but u never ask how come keep pushin more and more backwards? it's kinda.. duno how to sae. when it's alreadi so far back of our pregnancy, tink most of us will jus put up wif it and mayb try for the sake of knowing whether is she gd enuff for our post natal massage. when im going to 12 weeks i wanted to go for prenatal massage so much wif all the stiff joints, necks and back. but later on when i read that some onli when when u are BIG enough, i drop that idea. rather live wif it

baby ethan,
haha... we got the same massage lady..

agreed wif u that nappy rash cream is gd... i use desitin cream... is gd.. #1 no rashes at all... s for NB... personally like pampers n nepia... usu will use nepia for the day n pampers at night... mamy poko also gd...

lamagier,
i booked her for my #1, find her not bad... dats y booked her for my current #2

mashy & sheryl
I saw Britax (Safe & Sound) @BB's Kingdom selling at $399! If I bought with Combi Stroller ($629), they'll only give $50 discount. Do u think it's worth buying? Could share more on Britax carseat? Is it good?

Hope could find good deal this Sat @Expo before buying from BB's Kingdom.

LS
tat time i bought my maxi cosi car seat fr baby hypermart. or price was $399 too
but they had 50%
if u can wait u might wan to wait till they got sale or when time draws nearer then buy if realy no sale.

HBB
she charges $50 per session for both pre & post natal massage.

Lamagier
i didn't try her before. read a lot of good reviews of her on this forum. My friend also used her & strongly recommend her. #1 didn't try any massage cos had c-sect n didn't dare to try. this time round, i tell myself must get back to shape fast cos unlikely to go for #3 that soon.

Jasmine,
good to know you find her good. at least set my mind at ease. You managed to find your CL right? Still undecided whether to get cos the total cost seems very high compared to if i order confinement food.

lamagier
drink more water~ todae's weather is cooler
drink more water and have a gd rest. for me, not much sickness bcos i usually drink lots of water & stay home through my weekends until i need to go get something =p

pprincess,
Haha, I must learn from you and stay home on weekends. Sigh. Maybe I packed too many activities into the weekend.

Lamagier,

Yr hubby so loving. My hubby, you asked him to massage, he will either make it so painful that you cannot dahan or he will massage 5 mins then say enough liao. Not shiok.. :p

Anyway, read earlier that u merely gained 2 kg? So good... Still slim lei.. I already 5 kg liao. Felt so big now. Anyway, I'm already wearing maternity uniform liao.

lamagier
i stay home bcos i no activities mar. hahahas. i try not to haf ani activities bcos it's the onli dae where i can haf a full dae rest.

cecelia446
i onli gain 1.4kg since pregnant and feel that is not enuff lehs =x i tink 5kg is normal since alot of mummies here also gain 5kg. i aim to gain abt 12kg+ enuff liaos. LOL. i nw complainin i gain nt enuff weight. but my colleagues all sae when in the later stage will suddenly gain alot!

princess,

So u noe wat gender yr baby liao? My colleague all guess mine is a boy judging from my sudden roundness of tummy and my look now. (Last time very vain, now everyday go to work with no make-up. :p)

cecelia446
i duno the gender of my bb leh. bb shy lar, dun wan let us know. but almost 99% of the people around me guessin is girl. bcos i got alot of pimple outbreak. they sae girl girl ai mei, so wan mummy haf all the pimples, get rid of toxic so dey can mei mei. some commented that bcos i haf this 'glow' which makes me more fresh then before, so guess is girl also. haha. so excited to know whether true or not lor. also did the online gender tingy also sae is girl.

Jus wondering hor..what is your nuchal test/neck thickness of your baby during OSCAR/any scan?
Did you gynae say what is the normal range?

All mummies,

BTW can share what baby stuffs u gals start buying liao? I want to start, but dunnoe what to buy 1st lei since I dunnoe the sex yet..

cecelia...

i got the following items already
1. extra baby bottles (only found that i have 2 4oz bottles so bought another 4bottles)
2. avent travel pack for teats (intend to bring my #1 for classes so #2 will have to follow so travel packs a must)
3. sleepsuits (found these on sale and i could not resist... size is 3-6mths)
4. new graco car seat pram (shipped in as i have a graco travel set... the car seat will be for the new baby... old pram my #1

so far this is all

thinking if should stock up on diapers for the new baby... will be checking this out at the baby fair.

cecelia446
i also no idea wad to buy. tink i will jus go to the fair this weekend to jalan jalan, see got wad ting dun need to know gender de and on gd offer and buy abit first lor. also need to check wif my fren wad dey gifing me before buying, else waste money =p

elijah's mummy
if i decide to BF, do i still need to buy bottles? or buy a few bottles to put spare in case not enuff breast milk and need to use formular milk?

elijah's mummy,

Wat is travel pack for teats? Tot milk bottle have teats liao? Then car seats is it better to buy from dept store or through web? Me reali blur and reali had no experience on wat to buy lei.. If baby sick, I will noe wat 2 do, but shopping... I know nuts.. :p

Hi HBB, ya all the photos of my bb's scan are all captured in the cd rom and given to me. Hee, then when i go home, can still look at them

Loshita, glad everything went well. Do hav a gd rest and take care!

Sob....everyone in my office is getting sick. Coughing and sneezing away....so frightened nw & dunno how to siam

I'm oso looking for car seats & baby cots...seems like the market rate is all abt 200-300+ for a gd ones.

Experienced mummies, i oso clueless abt how many bb bottles we need to get. Can advise?? thanks!

LS

Wait for sale. We've plenty of time now. SO just keep your eyes open.

pprincess
U'll still need to buy some milk bottles. Not so much for FM, but for your expressed breastmilk. Like at night or during weekends, u can get someone else to feed your bb. It's gd to express some of your milk for your hb to feed, coz if not your bb will be very attached to u and u won't even get time to go toilet next time.