(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

any one w swelling gum?
notice 1 or 2 part of the gum like v red... then nxt day disappear and appear on another part of gum... is it lack of calcium like this?

Re: eczema

Gals, i am also having mild ecezma... cnt stand e itch at times. wondering if its coz my skin is too dry. i try not to scratch it every time, so that it dont get worse.

HBB
i tink i got read before tat during pregnancy will haf teeth or gum problem. mus b careful when brushing & lookin after teeth. or isit bcos heaty so will swollen? i onli know nowadaes weather veri hot. heaty so i got ulcers =x

Hi ladies, sorry to interrupt. I am from Jan 09 MTB. Have a brand new unopened Pigeon Electric Sterlizer to let go at $40 only. Willing to meet in town or east area. Pls PM me.

pprincessya i also read that will hav gum bleeeding due to calcium loss but duno is it so for my case or wat
dun tink im heaty cos the swell no pain kind..
duno shld see dentist anot

Hi HBB,
I read somewhere it's because mummies are have more blood and pumping them around, so it may be easier to get gum bleed. If it persists, maybe change to softer toothbrush.

Re: Weight Gain
Haha, my turn to start to outgrow my normal clothes. Jeans getting a bit tight for comfort and been facing constant chastising from my boss (male) to 'Please stop wearing your jeans'. Need to go shopping liao.

By the way, how much weight have you mummies put on? I've so far put on 1.5kg. Sigh. First reaction was to jump off sofa and head to gym to run it of or to go on diet. Then have to remind myself gaining weight is normal. So sad to see tummy, arms and tighs start to get flabby.... My boss has to keep reminding me ' You are pregnant, it's normal...'

thanx lamagier i will consider changing a softer toothbrush =)

ur weight gain means fr the original weight or fr the lowest point of weighing huh?
ya my arms also flabby now cos cannot carry weights so now the toning gone... grrrr

HBB
mayb u wan to observe awhile. if still persist & gettin worst then mayb wan to see a dentist for it? my colleague tell us, if the swell is not painful then haf to observe. mayb got prob? i also not sure lehs.

lamagier
me using soft toothbrush all the wae, but still bleeding bcos i brush too hard everitime. =x mus b still sleeping so brush too hard. has.
as for weight gain, me didnt gain much. from week 5 till week 12 i onli gain 0.8kg. but my colleague sae tat i seems to lose weight yesterdae. weigh myself at my own weighin scale and realli seems to haf lose abit leh. not sure isit realli true lor. bcos my weighin scale is those old fashion type. has.

Hi Lamagier,

Same here.. my legs and arms seems to go soft.. now i felt so breathless after climbing a fleet of stairs. Was complaining to my hb that after stop exercising since preggy, i felt so lethargic easily..He told me to do some light exercise so that i have easy labour..

My gynae say the preferred weight gain is between 1-2 kg a month..so i think u r fine lah.. Water retention and placenta also contribute to it..

mrsc
mayb can go do pre natal yoga or fit ball class? or aqua aerobics for preggy?
i gg to start on the fit ball class soon.. hopefully tis week hehe

Lamagier,

You can do some light weights training at home. There's a book on fitness for preganancy where they show pics of preggy ladies (w trainers) using fitball, hands weights and even those equipments use in gym. I borrowed that from the Library during my early preggy but didnt manage to make copies on the steps.

Helo HBB,

Yes, im intending to do pre natal yoga or pilates. As for fit ball, still considering cos gynae say yoga better. Im also considering the aqua aerobic by KKH but it's in Apr.
Are you gng to the KKH fitball class in feb? They have class starting this sat and also in march.

mrsc
yoga is better huh?
i gg to try out the one at birth n beyond one first cos my sis gt 2 left over class fr her package so i will make use of it n see hw it goes.

the aqua aerobics one in kkh i am considering but i am monitoring hw my skin condition goes 1st as the chlorine will trigger my eczema but i am quite keen hehe

1 thg lar i dunw an to buy swim suit haa wondering ok to wear my 2 pc for the aqua aerobics anot haha

Sunsweet,
I have dropped u a private message..

Lamagier,
1.5kg since u know you were pregnant? I think that's normal.. I have gained close to 2 kg since I knew I was pregnant..

Hi HBB,
The 1.5kg is increase from normal weight, before pregnant. But think I look like gained more than that cos also have to consider muscle mass that now has probably disappeared.

Hi MrsC,
(*sob*) I already doing stretches at home and dug out my old light handweights to do exercise while watch TV and read magazine. So nuts that yesterday I was doing leg raises and crunches. Then felt ache in abs area (think baby protesting) so i stopped.

Maybe follow your advice go lib find books to see what exercise I can do and what cannot.

I need to find safe exercise that can make me sweat =( I haven't sweat it out sicne gynae told me not to jog about 2 weeks back. Going bonkers, bouncing off the walls.....

Lamagier, think go slow in ur exercise, though it's important to keep yourself healthy and fit throughout the preganancy but do be careful, try not to overexert yourself. BB comes first now..
A bit of fats is essential i think, it act as cushioning for bb (my opinion!)

lamagier
dun tink so much abt the weight gain! mus remb tat those weight gain is not totally to ur body. still haf ur baby & the water bag etc. below is the information i get from the website.

Where the Weight Goes

7.5 - 8.5 lbs Baby
2 lbs Amniotic Fluid
1.5 - 2 lbs Placenta
1.5 - 2 lbs Breast Tissue
3 lbs Blood Volume
2 - 2.5 lbs Uterine Muscle
4 lbs Water
8 lbs Maternal Stores

I am feeling so tired, even though I am in my 2nd trimster. I slept 8.5 hours last night. I still need my bed now... Having plenty to do at work on my desk now. Sigh!

Hi Mrs C,
SIgh... am trying to slow down. Just that after so many years of watching my weight, its scary watching it climb....

Hi Sheryl,
I think that it's normal. I asked my friends, they all said their wives slept a lot during pregnancy. typical bedtime 10-12pm. Jia you jia you!!!!

I woke up at 3.30am to rush work cos just couldn't bring myself to work in the evening. (I do programing stuff. After whole day's of work, cannot think clearly... need refreshed mind to troubleshoot) now also concussed. Luckily today my company has company luncheon, I off for the day liao =)

lamagier

you do programming? hahah same thing as my hubby... hahah it seems that he create more bugs for himself if he was to be too tired but still insist on programming!
so you must rest more then if need be can try to drink more soups as fluid intake help to keep the brain cool and that way you wont feel tired so easily.

sheryl

the increased sleep is so that our body can replenish our stores that baby is using up... so its very normal! heheh for me i try to sleep all that i can1 am a regular pig now! hahaah or a bear in hibernation.

I am down with this cranky headache lately... I could feel the throbbing pain and my heart beat pounds as fast and hard.. sigh.. and now... just came back from lunch.. i am suffering from the headache again.. feel really sian.. no mood to work..

hi mummies, so i am not alone. sometimes even though i am at work physically, i cnt focus at all. feel tired n my brain cnt function.

im also feelin headache since last week. but tis week is abit better after abit more rest over the weekend. more relax, no using of much brain. but was told that it is normal? not realli sure isit realli so.

hi mummies,Hope you all are well.
Like Sheryl, i'm recently getting very tired, having flu, sorethroat and cough again, MC to rest more days...

Elijah's mummy: i'm thinking of 4 bedded too even not sure about the free upgrading heheh
, (it's good to have anyway )... as thinking i'm unsure i'll be able to try for V-birth or not since my No.1 was C-birth. i joined SBI at TMC, hopefully can save some hospital bill.

Elijah's mummy, you are having detailed scan early ah. Me schedule few day after that, 14 Feb, plan to take hospital tour same day, not sure got energy or not...nowsaday, getting tired very easily

Hi babyethan, it's so nice to video the process of your boy learning walking. Next time i muz learn too
So cuteeeee!!!!

HBB, i oso hav been using x-tra soft toothbrush due to my weak gums. But would like to see a dentist soon. Dunno preg ladies can go anot.

Sheryl and hkbb, are u all feeling better today? I had the same symptoms as u all, flu, sore throat, headache & cough. Was on mc yest and reported to wk this morn. But luckily my boss released me earlier to come hm rest...so hav been sleeping since 11am till nw.

U all oso muz take plenty of rest. I think, with the med...it makes us even more tired

hi ladies, i just went to the dentist for my check up and cleaning, yes doc say i have swollen gums and bleed easy. so he said pregnant ladies should floss more often and brush more regularly if possible.

i also went to my gynae today, my EDD is brought forward to 23 july. placenta still low, so doc say will monitor especially during last month, might have to do c-section if it's still low. i'm in my 14-15 week now, and doing detailed scan next month march 23 with another doc. have any of the ladies here done the detailed scan already?? how long did it take? and how much ahhh?

Hi lamagier, i hav oso gained 2kg since pregnant. So i think is normal...gynae said as long as bb is growing well, it's fine

Coolkero, thanks for sharing abt yr dental checkup. I should book mine soon.

mummies with swollen gum - switch is a super soft toothbrush, instead of the normal soft toothbrush ... it actually helps. also if u need to gargle, gargle with a non-alcohol based mouthwash. think there are 1 brand (either dental or g.u.m) which u can get from watson/ GP tt's non-alcohol base.

i went for my checkup today - hardly any weight gian, if any, 300g loss from my last visit, partly cuz i didn't take my lunch. still no appetite for the past few weeks. i can't even eat my fav century egg porridge =( but baby is growing well though ... so ok lah ... just must rem to take all my supps!

kittyng,
thanks for the compliment. He really surprises us when he starts walking. Now waiting patiently for him to call me mummy. When baby comes along, all kind of things will also learn along the way. Though it's a tiring process but it's really a fulfilling experience.

Coolkero
My detailed scan will be on 18th Feb. Having it at NUH. Think if i don't remember wrongly is abt $100. The scanning takes abt half an hr if baby is cooperating cos they scan every detail parts of the baby. It's very nice to see the sonographer counts the fingers and toes, scan the heart, kidneys, etc...

hkbb

yah heheh... dr now very worried that i will change the appt again coz i forgot. :p
haha the nurse even called to remind me. :p

coolkero

no worries.... i had the same prob with my boy..... but it settled by itself in the 7th month...so then i went for natural v birth

I am having flu, despite all e rest. Now i am in office, my nose is stuck n I keep sneezing. I cant take MC coz I gt things to do today n tml... preparing for product launches. Sigh!

Trying to drink plenty of water to keep the bug away. Btw, I am only having my detailed scan n gynae chk up on my 21 weeks... 27/02. It seems so far away. Cant wait to see how bb is doing.

Hi Sheryl,
Hope you are still ok and no fever. Flue most dangerous is fever cos baby can overheat... Baby temp about 1oC higher than mother's temp. Have and early night. Or able to take leave and rest on Friday?

I also can't wait to see baby =p But my next gynae visit on Valentine's Day and only 17 weeks... Only can see baby with normal ultra sound machine... Me and husband miss seeing baby too. He was saying how come this time must wait so long till next visit... Cos last time in between visit, I emergency went see gynae cos got severe tummy pains after 3 days of relatively high fever

Re: Bird's nest
Any other recipes for cooking bird's nest? Before pregnancy, I normally cooked it with american ginseng + rock sugar. Now, cannot take ginseng thingy, so only rock sugar and it tastes very "raw" with only rock sugar. Wondering how u gals take it?

Re: Comparing Stemcord & Cordlife (cord blood banking)
Anyone has a contact @Stemcord? As TMC works closely with Cordlife, they contacted me from my record there. I've gone thru' Cordlife plan and would like to compare it with Stemcord.

LS
the birdnest the guy fr the medical hall say can use a certain type of ginseng. jus put 2 pcs in and double boil together then add the rock sugar jus before serving
i haven try makin any yet as i still got the big bottles one..

HBB
Thanks for info!
Will check with the seller. Are u taking any other "bu" things now? I know u stopped taking chicken essence liao. How about just herbal chicken soup? I really blur & dunno what to take for 2nd trimester actually.

LS
actualy hor i din take much bu now
i cant take chinese soup duno why!
even my cordycep i also a bit lazy to make haa but i tink later iwillg o make lar hehe 3 weeks no drink liao.

i tink cordycep will b good enuff together w a bit of birdnest if u wan.
the normal herbal chicken soup i dun dare take cos i duno the herbs ok to take anot but if ur parents know can take anot then i tink ok to take.
the ginseng i took the guy say can put in soup and brew also.
mayb if u make the chicken essence can put a few slice of the ginseng or the cordyycep to make it flavourful

birdnest can add wolf berry also but not too much else it turn sourish

LS,

My mom normally put "pao sen" inside the birdnest. She also will cook soup for me. But I dunnoe the name lei. It taste abit like lotus, but a bit more powderly then lotus. But the soup taste like the normal lotus soup. She says tat one is very good for 'bu' yr 'qi' and blood. Will check with her next time..