(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

re: oil and stretchmark cream
when i was pregnant with #1, i use cocoa butter, but i had very bad stretchmark all over tummy. this time i'm using clarins stretchmark cream in the morning and the oil at nite. the stretchmark from before has become faint in appearance but it's still there, cannot wear bikini liao.

but other than complains about my stretchmark from my #1, i was blessed with a smooth pregnancy with no morning sickness or tiredness. aiyoh, now with #2, it's totally different, first trimester so tired and nauseous all the time, now starting second trimester still tired, very backache, appetite still not so good.

i've been getting very bad backache especially if i bend too much from doing housework. sometime i wonder if it's from epidural. any of u guys take epidural and suffering from backache also? can kpo ask u guys if u have decided to go natural or c-section? mine first one is natural but vacuum so suffering not too long, but i'm thinking about c-section this time...

coolkero
u mean yr stretchmark becomes faint after applying the oil during pregnancy? Mine popped out like flower petals all around my navel during the last few weeks of pregnancy. So ugly. Now this time, i'm feeling lazy to apply. can see the lines seem to be appearing again.

y u want to consider c-sect? do give natural a consider cos healing time is much faster. I wanted a natural one badly but cos 1st one was c-sect, likely this round will go c-sect again cos i'm worried abt womb rupture as the gap between the 2 pregnancy is quite short. i took epidural. No backache so far *touchwood*. My only complains was the 1st wk after delivery. I moved slightly at the point the anethesiatist was injecting the needle. End up, he puncture my spinal fluid & resulted in very very bad headache for 1 wk after delivery.

Helo mummies,

I have hairy belly too and it stretch all the way above to my mid chest area in a line (not sure why it went ovr the belly area)... notice it when i was 14weeks when it get very obvious but didnt shave or pluck it cos hair usually grow thick once shaven or pluck.

Just had my 4th mth check up today,gain 1.4kg, bb at 11.2cm weigh 150g. Gynae found a fibroid at the area on top of my sac (as seen on ultrasound)but he said that it's fine , not to worry so much as it's pretty small. Maybe it will disappear after delivery, i know that some fibroid are cause by preganancy and it's harmless.. Will need to monitor i guess.
He also said that my bb might be a princess (90%) but will check again in next visit cos bb not in good position, no matter how much he shake my tummy, bb just remain curl up sideways only manage to catch a glimpse when it turn for a few sec. He said that bb is crossing legs, conservative and might be a ger ..haha
HB said i look a bit disappointed though i thought it's a boy but then no matter ger or boy, it's still my bb..

I'm actually having my detailed scan in my 6th month rather than 5th..didnt ask my gynae the reason when he told me the scan will be after my next visit..

babyethan, no lah the stretchmark still there, mine very ugly too, but over the years become faint. yes, i also thought about no use applying oil or cream now, but applying oil just hoping it wont get any worse lah, hehehehehe.

hmmmmm, i am considering c-section this time cos some of my frens say its more comfortable and less suffering, hehehehe. and also the last check up doc say got low placenta, so just in case if the placenta dun rise, then no choice also. but my doc is the pro natural type, so he might advise going natural unless complication.

mrsc, congrats on ur coming princess, dun worry too much, happy mommies have happy babies. if doc say dun worry, then dun think too much.

Hi mummies, any of you still bfing? My first born is 18 months and recently I've noticed a drastic drop in SS. Was wondering if anyone is in the same boat?

MrsC: Congrats on your little princess, I love shopping for little girl's clothes. So many pretty things to buy.

Coolkero: I'm just the opposite of you and thinking of doing a natural drug free birth. After this baby we're going to close shop already so we thought might as well go through the whole experience. But if the pain is really unbearable then we're open to having an epidural as well. My #! was born naturally with epi, very quick labour and not as painful or scary as I thought it would be.

lamagier
bcos cheap cheap so buy first & try. hees. but yesterday when i jus open & see i tink it seems a pleasent smell to me. im also same as u - lil pimples on face, alot on the back. cannt apply mask bcos cannt lor. tinking of doing pre natal massage & see whether she can help me do aniting?

coolkero
if can den try natural birth lor. bcos i got 1 colleague, due to medical problem, cannt gif birth naturally and she keep saeing tat it's a disappointment to the husband bcos he cant take part in the process, cant watch the birth of the child. thou is less torturing, less pain, bcos is done when u are asleep. but the scar will b there wor. and it's even worst then stretch marks.

mrsC
girl is also gd mar. bcos can plae dress up!

pprincess.. so sorry to hear bout ur past experience bout kkh...
i tink the nurse at ADC did tell mi iwe need to hav kidn of full bladder for the scan despite bb quite big already
mayb last scan u went toilet before u scan tat y cant see clearly.. try to drink 1 or 2 cup of water before u go in n scan yea.. im sure can see baby easily soon =)

LS
sorry.. i tink my detail scan shld b some where mid feb (me and my brain!!), but my gynae visit is end feb.

kitty
ya lor is ard belly button
look so funny
when i bath the hair will auto form ma ring ard the belly button haha... then the 'ring' looks een darker haa
gues sis hormones bah.. in no time we all gt hairy tum tum lol

HBB
cannt full bladder. last time when i went to KKH for the visit they also tell me full bladder. but if i never remb wrongly, ive to go for my scanning abt 1 hr before my appt to do the scanning with full bladder. then after tat drink water again bcos haf to go for urine test. and for my current check up is urine test then go for scanning. so cannt b full bladder lor.

pprincess

did i miss out on something? hahah what happened at kkh?

cecelia446

hahah. i agree with want you said about drs.... mind if i were to ask you what you are working as?

coolkero

had natural for my no.1. intend to do so for no.2 as i saw my friends who did c-sect and they were suffering for 3weeks while for me by day 2 i was up and walking with no issues other then the piles...... also suffering from backaches this round wondering if it was from the epidural that i had for no.1 or its coz my boy is super sticky and wants to be carried all he time... even to sleep!

another thing to watch out from c-sect... if you are prone to infections in your cuts then better not to go for c-sect as the chances for infection would be higher.. thus making the experience even more unpleasant.

re: hairy tummy

think i am of the more hairy type but then i got really hairy for my no.1 but then the hairs on the tummy disappeared about a month after i delivered.

elijah's mummy
nothin much actualli lar. jus tat earlier on m/s confused asked abt subsidized stuff at KKH. and gave her some feedback tat i heard & i went thru. hees. so after tat abit of discussion on tat bcos i make it sounds like so bad lor. aniwae, my dad wan me to transfer to KKH and see. still tinkin should i or should i not bcos since week 4 alreadi follow wif my gynae especially when i got infection & bleedin at that time.

Sorry to interrupt mtbs/mummies..

i bought a obuba nursing wrap www.obuba.com
before CNY, but baby dont like to be covered when bf, thus decided to sell it. used only twice in the car...bought at $37 selling at $28 self collect at sembawang...if posting need to top up $2 wait for a week.

then also giving away my confinement warming shampoo and body wash that bought from littledreamers...used less than 5 times, still got alot. self collect at sembawang pls.

Please PM me if interested.

pprincess
did u wait v logn or was it v fast for the scan?
i waited quite a while
i asked if i cn go pee and the nurse say NO.. cos need full bladder
then i gave her the ke lian look sayy i realy very urgent.. then she say ok go pee then drink water again.. lucky i beg her let mi go pee cos i waited like 2hours for my turn to scan!!!!
if i no beg her tink i leak pee liao haha

mayb for mi is easy to pee cos i can pee every 20 mins hehe

HBB,pprincess

Yar lor, dearie. Everytime first thing we reached clinic, they will check our urine 1st. End up, bladder where got urine left. Ha Ha!! :p

elijah's mummy,

I'm a n--se actuali. Tat's y have seen so many nasty d--tor.. :p Oops!! My itchy mouth again.. My gynae nw is actuali introduced by my friends working in the gynae clinic. Cse day by day they see Dr, they will know them best. I also very scared to suay suay gana the irresponsible type..

HBB,

Er.. y they never ask me for full bladder har? So ke lian, alreadi preggy cannot dahan high tide liao, still have to dahan ah.. I so scared now for my next check-up next Thurs.

cecelia
i dunno leh
the full bladder one they onli ask mi full bladder during the DS scan.
the usual scan they din realy say
i onli knwo the initial few weeks when bb is small then they will prefer us w full bladder cos the sac n foetus v small hard to see.
but everytime i go gynae visit.. aft i urine test i will drink like 3 cup of water at 1 go (cos i always v thirsty one) while waitin for my turn to go in.

Thanks coolkero, princess & jillian, actually i dun mind a ger cos initially i wanted a boy to actually look after little sister if i be having a 2nd kid.. but then some pple say ger is good cos closer to mummy..

I love ger's clothing, so cute and adorable and lots of variety unlike boys but i'm no doll'er myself scare i dunno how to doll my ger ger up.. haha..can start to shop around for nice clothings for my "sleeping princess" (always sleep whenever i go for my scan and no matter how much my gyane shake, she just dun move even my gynae is giggling away..)

HBB
last time my weight at KKH damn long lor! is like 1-2hrs each time. so everitime waste my time wait there. then go take weight do urine test wait again. then finish liaos see doctor wait again -.- somemore tat time after my abortion right, they never wash the womb properly & got blood clots. and dey ask me to spend money to wash again! else wait for it to come out, duno when lor. how can? tat's why im quite pissed wif KKH. but my colleagues & dad tell me KKH best, bcos they are specialist care. ask me to go there.

cecelia446
u seeing at which clinic? sometimes is gd to be working in hospital. bcos u will know which doctor is gd or bad. i got hear from my few frens, they choose their own doctor bcos dey know which doctor best.

MrsC
thou girl will make us worriew when they started their teens age. but then they will mature faster then boy boy for most cases right? but yea, they will understand mummy better. closer to mummy. next time u got #2 ur girl also can help u out.

pprincess ya kkh is liek that when it coems to waitin time if its under subsidies. that y i refuse to go to the subsidise one already
go straight to TPS.. faster.
then itinkt he trick also is to get those earlier appt so lesser ppl before us.. onli need to wait for doc walk in then v fast our turn hehe

i have to agree in terms of specialisation kkh is best that y i opted for kkh tis time rnd jus in case i need any emergency treatment
so pay a bit more for the private care.
so far my exp is quite ok
except for the DS scan at ADC which they put subsidise n non subsidise patients togther... tskt sk

Princess,

I'm seeing at NUH. So far I find ok lar. I try not to reach early, just punctual. N most importantly, so far I didn't get to pay any check-up yet. Everything staff benefits, so got nothing to grumble le..
My gynae not bad lar. Every session, he will patiently talk to me etc. Waiting time can be 1 hour, but bcse I'm in this line as well, so I can understand abt waiting time issue.. As long nt more than 2 hours lar.. :p

HBB,
Wow!! You can reali gurp down the water lei. Now I'm still disliking water. Always onli can drink cold drinks lei. If not I will feel my mouth still very thirsty.

cecelia
ya i need to drink alot
now preggy it got worse.. sicne i woke up till now i already drank 5 big glass.. still v thirsty
and u r rite.. gotto drink cold one.. slightly more effective... room temp one dun seem to work!

cecelia

hahah where are you working at.... maybe we were colleagues once.... ne too n--se... hahah had my fair share of d---ors.... but now am a sahm with my 11 mth boy...

hbb

the reason why i chose pte instead of govt was for the waiting time... for me i do my visits during wkdays so that its shorter to see the dr... hahah almost no waiting time at all if i am early..

HBB
my colleague tell me that she also transfer to TPS after sometime bcos if u not at TPS and at clinic A or B, still haf to Q for the u/s isit? but i called up KKH jus nw dey tell me the u/s at TPS cost $150 lehs! so expensive? and im tinkin if so expensive then i rather go elsewhere liaos. bcos my current gynae is $180 includes consult & scan mar.

cecelia446 & HBB
i also like to drink alot of water. everitime like soar throat, forever not well and very irritating. esp when i need to keep talking. -.- but for plain water ive to drink is warm. cannt room temperature. else i feel so yucky and want to puke. but i love to drink sweet drinks! but scare later sugar level too high

cecelia446
u under NHG? then we under same group lehs! hahas. but then i cannt claim aniting. heard from my colleague that NHG allow maternity claim for medical expenses. too bad for me lor. bcos im unmarried.

pprincessya i heard at the normal clinic need to re-q for ultra sound and its not the gynae who do for u somemore

ehh $150 for u/s at TPS?
not true!!!!!
why shld it cost u extra?!?!
i am under Prof Tee who is one of the most senior doctors thr. his consultation is one of the highest. jus a few dollars i tink. now at TPS i pay like $70 plus ($80plus if i go aft 5)
and it include u/s and all the routine test leh
everytime i go he scan for mi. no extra charge
the onli time i pay extra is the down syndrome scan and i tink prob detail scan
which i tink its always not included in packages sign up w pte gyne rite?

i also enquire bout stuff like x ray, c sect, n etc will it cost more if i go under TPS.. apparently the nurse say no. all other procedure except the consultation will cost the same.
but the main thg is u need to deliver in clas B1 or A if under TPS

Hi pprincess, ya i'm using palmer's nw...so far luckily no rashes. Hav not tried using the oil yet as it comes along with it. Dunno where to apply the oil oso...

Thanks lamagier, i will travel light for the trip. Hee, more afraid of the steps instead.

Hi coolkero, my sis oso took epidural when she did c-sect for her 1st child. Also suffering fr backache since then. But my frenz who recently gave birth encouraged me to use it so that will enjoy the whole delivery. Haiz....so in a dilemma, but scared i can't tahan the pain oso.

elijah's mummy
if can afford then go private better. tats why almost all my colleagues go private one. none of them subsidized thou working in healthcare line. hahas. but current gynae still alwaes haf to wait. got once even waited for 2hrs at the clinic.

HBB
yea. last time when i subsidized also need to go elsewhere and do and is the 1 who in charge of the u/s do for us de. somemore they keep quiet do liaos ask u go back onli. then haf to wait see doctor then can know the result. that amt is include of all the test & u/s? bcos my colleague tell me that it is only the consult. and have to pay another $10 for the urine test & u/s also additional leh. how come all different huh. i nw so confused & duno what i should do

pprincess
mayb i can share w u on 1 transaction how much i paid
heres the break down base on normal hours at TPS

consultation $61
routine test $10
adding on 7% gst about $4+
about $70plus per visit

and it includes my u/s scan

1st consultation will cost slightly more. for my case is $85. but also include u/s

mayb ur colleagues say the aditonal for u/s is for those other scans like at ADC
not with the gynae?
cos i went thru all my 4 bills for the gynae visit which all have the same scan n test, and no additonal charge for the u/s

the downside to go to kkh will be there is no package. esp if u go TPS.. it might seem to cost more than gg pte gynae
but then again kkh dun see mi often
onli initialy see mi every fortnite, then every 5 to 6 weeks aft that
now im in week 18 liao and i seen gynae 4 times onli.
i tink they dun anyhow ask mi to go bk scan n check up as long as my baby is doing fine.
all in all i am not sure will it b cheaper than pte or same as pte cos i wun know what i will have to go thru for the nxt 20 weeks hehe
but i gt csc card. i tink can subsidise 15% fr total bill per visit.

pprincess dun confuse ok
mayb ushld jus go w the flow go to whichever u tink u feel comfy with
i feel tat most of the time if u r happy w the gynae.. other thg doesnt realy matter
afterall gg gynae visit n having him/her to deliver for u, main thg is u must b comfortable w them.. if u r ok then no prob lar.. anywhere also same
some ppl go to the best gynae int own .. but they dun like the service due to diff chemisty

elijah,

Wah.. You so wei da!! Sacrifice for yr child..
Har.. If I say my dept, wait got spy come & read my posting how.. Ke Ke!! Which cohort r you? I'm NYP 98. Used to work TTSH, NUH etc.

Princess,

Got such thing ah.. But definately you will be entitled 4 months maternity. Cse my ex-colleague also the same situation.
Anyway, Jia You!!

HBB
bcos i duno which Dr is gd, so i jus let them choose for me and they put me in TPS to see Dr Irene Chua. tink i will change the Dr ater researching. hees. but they sae the consult 1st time is $86+ and sub visit is $62. duno why when i ask u/s she tell me $150 lehs. maybe call and ask later again

cecelia446
i wun b entittled to 4 months maternity leave. onli 2 months. bcos not married then no government paid de maternity leave mar. alreadi ask my boss liaos. so haf to take NPL if i wan to take extra lor.

cecelia

am the 2002 cohort... joined nyp in '99.... use to work in ttsh then went private, specialist clinic. left when i was preggy as me and hubby decided that i will look after my boy myself... his parents and mine are not able to help with childcare.

princess

wow! i really take my hat off to you leh! you are so courageous! for me... i don think i can loh. yaps according to mom you get the 4months if your superior is good but on the other hand, you will still be entitled to all the benefits if you were to get married within the year of baby's birth to the natural father of the child.

re: breakdown of my gynea pricing

consult $50
u/s scan $70
urine test $3

total approx $12-130per visit not inclusive of the supplements.

pprincess
if u take dr irene chua liao and subsequently if u chg to another doc.. u need to pay again the 1st time consultation fees.. so i tink if u r comfy w her can jus stick w her bah
unless u dun mind paying the $85 again hehe

oh yah... forgot to mention that there is a package with my gynea after the 5th month detailed scan... think the cost is $660 (covers all consults, u/s scan and any other simple tests) till the day you deliver.

Elijah's mummy,
Meaning u r 99 cohort actuali. Cse I graduated 2001. Maybe we ever see each other in school and hospital before. Ke Ke!! Another coincidence..
If I can choose, I will also want to be SAHM, but dun reali wanna stress my hubby on the other hand lor. So boh bian.. Anyway, given our job scope, reali difficult to monitor our child in the future lei.. So, it's good tat u have a choice..

Anyway, going off now liao. Going to tour agency later to look out for tour package. Catch up with u gals again...
Enjoy yr weekend mummies!!!!

cecelia

going on babymoon.... haiz well there are lots to give up if you become sahm... like holidays.... hahah but yaps i don regret quitting to be a sahm. looking after my boy do bring its own joys. hahah but at times you can really pull out all your hair. hahah yaps we may have met in school or at work before.

Happy weekend =)

Re: Full bladder
Eh, I did my DS test on an empty bladder. Was bursting so had to go to toilet whle waiting for scan. But had no trouble seeing baby on the ultrasound =p Maybe jus 'heng heng' manage to see baby

elijah's mummy
im unable to get married to the father within 1 yr of the birth of the child. duno yet lehs. see how lor. is can then before birth of the child. if cannt, then haf to wait till 2010 then see how liaos. ur gynae quite cheap huh. my private 1 alwaes need $200 with vitamins.
as for the maternity package i tink dey no longer haf liaos leh. bcos tat time when i searchin to see doc got ask them. dey sae no longer haf package animore.

HBB
isit? need to pae again ahs. why like tat de huh. i jus went ot search. alot of them sae tat Dr Benjamin and Dr Han is gd. find tat alot of gd gynae are males hor? hahas. mayb i will change after tinkin for awhile more.

kitty
i haven see Dr irene chua yet. jus fix appt jus nw and the appt is in the 2nd week of feb when im abt 16 weeks pregnant
but is she new? cannt seems to haf ani recommendation on her also.

princess

my gynea if with the dha and others then comes up to about 200 plus too.

here is the break down for the vits

pramilet $9 (for 1 mths supply)
prolacta dha $58(for 2 mths supply)
cal vit -D3 $15 (for 3 months supply)

so if you were to average it out its about $160-$170per visit... hahah if you are like me and keep forgetting to take the vits then is going to be even cheaper. :p

princess

my 2 cents worth on the gyneas... hahah i think that female gyneas always charge more then the males. think its coz there are fewer female in this dept. also i got to say that seeing to a female dr is more time consuming... that they a prob with pms (hahah just like us, got good days and bad too), more loh soh (waste time talking about matters not related to baby at all), hahah this is just my opinion. but just go with one that you are comfortable that way will make that process much better.

Gd saturday mummies... din expect so many postings on a saturday.... usually very quiet one

elijah'smummy
u got yr vits from yr gynae? I'm also taking prolacta dha. GYnae charged me $60. Do u know if can get it from outside? I've been buying my iron/folic/calcium pills from Unity Pharmacy. Much cheaper cos they sell in boxes.

babyethan

yaps getting it from gynea... coz its not possible to get outside leh...i checked. :p hahah even told my gynea if its possible to just write prescription for me. :p but its not sold outside don know why.

elijah'smummy,
Hee, I 'heng'. My gyane quite easy going and 'shuang kuai'. Never nag me, and so far quite short and sweet and if I got questions, she will take time to answer me =) I'm paying about $150 for each visit.

Xmas eve morning I suddenly developed severe tummy pains at work. Called up her clinic and rushed down already about noon. She let me skipped the queue and got to see her when her current patient was done. Luckily it was gastric related pains and not baby prob. She still reassured me and never say I overly panicky.

lamagier

haha that is so good... hahah yah think its a 'heng' 'suai' thing bah... i know that there are a few male drs that are not too good too....

wah,... must share where your dr's clinic is at coz this one is likely a gem... hahah!

pprincess
yes every new doctor u see is consider new case (this is wat the nurse told me) so need to pay 1st consultation fees

quite a few good gynae in KKH
the one i am gg is good, Dr DF Loh is also v popular, i have heard of Dr benjamin too.
as for female gynae so far i dun hav friends rec me.. but i went to 24 hour clinic once and this female gynae attended to me. she seems v nice and prof too. her name is Dr Jasmine Modh.
i agree female gynae seem more ex. but my friends dun encourage me to go female one so i went to a male one hehe

like other mummy say its a heng suay thg.. and also the chemistry btw patient and gynae
1 man's meat is another man's poison haha

elijah's mummy
me also alwaes forget to eat vitamins. my private clinic nurse alwaes scold me. until i scare to tell them i still got left over =x
1 of my colleague sae mayb male gynae most of them better bcos dey are more attentive as dey dun realli understand how it feels for preg lady. as for female dey feel tat they also went thru the same, no big deal, so abit hack care. but quite funni lar the wae she tink.

babyethan
can tell doctor that wan to get the vitamins outside? bcos i wanted to do tat as much cheaper but then scare later doctor sae cannt, mus buy from him. haha.

lamagier
ur doctor quite gd! mus share share. bcos some prefer lady gynae but scare meet wif bad 1. for me, is no issues. but sometimes wan ask some qns like veri funni to ask male doctors =p

haa
pprincess
u knw either i forget to eat the supplement like FA
or i eat two times cos i forgot i got eat anot LOL

HBB
i onli will forget to take, wun take double bcos duno got take not! hahahas. i normally onli remember i never take when im falling asleep. which is too late. bcos my vitamins need to b taken during food.