(2009/07) July 2009 MTBs

Hi MrsC,
Count yourself lucky, you crave carbo only... Now I find french fries unresistable..... Especially mos burger, long john silver ones.... Sigh. Feel very guilty, so I'm trying to get exercise every other day. But feel so tired... Still trying to force myself to go gym later....

Hi Sheryl,
I find multivits may irritate . I tried taking calcium supplements and multivit separately, found multivits was the one causing problem. The ones I got from GNC has stronger Vit B taste, I couldn't really stomach. Now taking gynae's one Pramilets, not so bad. I try to take after breakfast (not empty stomach), so will help 'cover' the multivits taste a bit

Sherryl,

I have that puky feeling esp when i take my FA and Multi Vit with room temp water.. i got to take it with cold ribena...

i know should avoid cold food but my No.2 like cold drinks..

i now do not really like lunch break in office.. cos the portion is usually too large for me to finish at 1 meal.. but if i dun finish it i'll get hungry very soon.. so such a pain to decide how much i should eat..

Re: Breast pump..

I'll stick back to me Advent Manual pump.. cos can proceed to pumping in office when back to office.

Oh mummies here do have the nausea feeling..

Hmm,this feeling be gone after taking the supplements for a period of time,or it will stay put there?

Really feeling very bad when this feeling comes,but still cant help,gonna take the supplements..

Hi Sheryl,
My 'anti-multivit' was bad during peak of MS. Now greatly reduced as MS fades away =)

Hopefully that will happen for you too

Sunsweet,

Currently, I can only take FA. Cse I tried to take my antenatal vit( total 4 tabs ) yday night, and oh my... I puke like anything.. Once I opened the medicine pack only, I felt very nausea upon smelling the tablets. My MS last whole day one, think I can only take those when MS gone. Haiz.. Hopefully will be gone. My colleague vomit till full term, so scary..

Hi Lamagier,

I do hope so,but dun know why my ms actually faded but it actually comes back the min i took the supplements..

Wonder why was it so...
So i did stop taking these supplements for a while...

cecelia,

ghees, you puked .. well, i just felt puky.. but try to hold back..

Wonder if u can find a better way to stomach the vits? like other kind of liquid to go with it? otherwise just wait for a while till MS subside..

I dare not say my pukey feeling totally subside.. but its getting less frequent..

As for puking for full term, my MIL says when she had my SIL, she puked for 7 mths. I was parying hard my will just be 1st trimester..

Any mummies out there like me, preggers now and already have a year old child. I am finding it quite hard to cope with my son expecially when he needs so much of my attention and insist i carry him all the time.

Zolldoll,

My gal coming 2 YO also wants me to carry a lot.. but its no choice.. short dist i'll carry.. but long dist.. will carry her a while then get her to walk..

its tiring i agree to look after a toddler while preggy.. but its really no choice.. need help from hubby and in-laws/ caretaker..

when No.2 comes how you are going to take care?

I'm sending my No.1 to Childcare in March so that my MIL can help me with No.2..

zolldoll,

me same here, my gal is 17 months now, and she always want me to carry her, else she will cry non stop.
I normally just carry her a while ,when she's happy then her daddy will carry her by attract her attention like bring her to ride on barney or something else that she loves to do.

Hi Zolldoll & Xman,
I tried to help my sister after she just gave birth by bringing my nephew out. Go zoo, birdpark, playground etc so he will see interesting and fun stuff and not be overly bothered that parents not around. Then he would get use to having other adults take care of him rather than just sticking to her. Also to give new mummy time to rest. Maybe you can try same method too

zolldoll

My boy is 3yrs old. Doesn't ask me to carry him much but I'll stroll him. Coz after walking a while, he'll start to whine and wanna carry.

I'm looking after him alone now, so it's tough. No help from my parents/ILs at all. He just started 3hrly sch, so at least i get a breather when he's in school.

When my #2 is born, it'll still just be me and the 2 kids. Hopefully i can cope.

sunsweet
if u wanna send your #1 to childcare, consider just half a day. Coz she'll need to take an afternoon nap anyway, might as well sleep at home. And in childcare, they really bring back a lot of germs and will spread to your #2. Things like HFMD... So half a day is lesser exposure.

zolldoll,
My gal is 1yr old. I hv to carry her, play with her, feed her, bath her...etc. Very tiring. Luckily hubby helps me a lot.
Later hubby got meeting, can't fetch her. I hv to fetch her then take bus home.
..backache backache...

Hi Sherryl,

yes, i was given vit & calcium pills since my 3rd visit. So far, not much of a pukey feeling, everything seems ok for me. Did you take it after your breakfast?

Lamagier, i'm craving anything that is potato, be it fried, roasted, steam..except those tibits which is too dry and i'm not even exercising yet.. my hb told me to exercise aft 4th mth to be on the safe side.. and he saying im gng to lose my jaw line soon!

mrsc, thanks for detail info, i think my gynae dun have the equipment, so he is sending me to another gynae for the first trimester test.

lamagier, do u know if it's boy or girl already? hehehehehe, i'm looking forward to wat bak kwa too, at least this cny can pig out without people saying we put on weight ahhh.

my appetite also so so, must eat everything with chilli sauce, the other time i eat too much chilli padi with soy sauce that started to have pimples, so stop for a while. but food is comfort for me at this point, although got funny after taste, but i've been gaining weight. btw, doc ask me to eat more fruits, but mil say cannot eat water melon and banana, then my gf say dun eat papaya cos papaya make the baby skin rough and eczema, hmmmmmm....wat fruits u guys eat or dun eat ahh? durian can eat or not??? i'm tempted to eat tiramisu also, but got alcohol, advisable to eat or not ahh???

Mashy,

I've tot abt that too.. but usually CC will be maybe AM eng then PM Chi class.. to if attend 1/2 day it will distrub her learning there.

furthermore I dun think my MIL can manage 2 kids at a time.

Anyway will start no.1 off with 1/2 day class slowly extend to full day.. usually CC will end their day's activities by about 5pm so my mum will pick her up from school and send to my MIL until No.2 is slightly older to be able to go out for longer.... then MIL will do the picking up..

The cost of full and half day is about the same.. and actually full day class is cheaper then 1/2 day class due to govt subsidies.. so will just enrol her with fulday then we adjust timing ourselves.

As for the germs part.. i can't avoid much only have MIL practice strict hygine.

but will have my gal have her flu jab 1st b4 she starts school.. at least some preventive action taken..

Koko,
I also weigh the pros n cons to do the amnio test but since the risk is 1%, I decided to go for it as I want to ensure my bb is normal and healthy.

Did any mummies here experience a tight chest feeling after meal? I always get this feeling when I eat a meal. 1 auntie look at me and said when she preggy with a gal, her tummy position is quite high but for boy, the position of tummy will be lower. Is it true?

Hi coolkero,
I still don't know gender yet. Going gynae for OSCAR test this Thursday. I got stong hunch I have a girl. (Dreamt about ti. And my sister had big nose and pimples when she was carrying boy. My skin and nose normal looking...) But my mil last time got say she want boy, scared she'll be disappointed.

I'm trying to take more apples. read in Fit Pregnancy magazine that will reduce possibility of baby wheezing or have asthma. I also take guava and grapes.

Quite a few friends told me durian high carbo and sugar, eat already baby grow big size fast. My friend suspect she eat too much durian that's why baby big, end up had to go for c-sect instead of natural birth.

Alcohol wise, that time my friend come my place make tiramisu, I just take one spoonful for taste. Don't dare to take more. Maybe you just take a few mouthful, satisfy craving but don't eat too much

MrsC,
I 'buay tahan' too long no exercise. Even very tired also must force myself go walk walk. Cos my family women tend to put on weight easily, so I try to exercise regularly to control. I will get cranky if too many weeks don't exercise, start to bounce off the wall.

hehehe, my elder daughter is in K2 this year, although no need to carry her around, BUT ahhh, the nagging can send fire to my hair. must nag from morning, drink milk, bath, go to school (they dun have time concept), then come home must nag to eat, do some homework (that's the killer) etc....the only time i can rest is when she finish and playing on her own, but then once in a while she'll ask me to play with her. those first timer better enjoy the freedom and independence cos second time around is more tiring, hehehehe. dun have "me" time...

wah lamagier, let us know ahh if boy or girl. mrsc, u know already if boy or girl from ur oscar? izit 3D scan?? cos my gynae has the old type i think hehehe, the 2D one. and he refuse to say boy or girl when my mil came along with me last week appt, doc told her too early...hahaha, mil hoping for boy since i have a girl already, she more anxious than me.

lamagier,

I'm hoping for a boy, as my symptoms are all different from my no.1 who's a gal.

But i dare not pin my hopes too high..got to wait till march then know the results in detail scan.

cos i hope to close shop after this keke..

The thread is really super fast, so long i didn't have time log in, year end, so busy...

Me like sunsweet, hoping for a boy too since my no. 1 is a gal. I feel the different of my tummy shape compare to my no. 1...also have to wait until the detail scan.
I will go for amnio test next week, praying hard for my bb is healthy.
It seems the amnio test also can tell the gender, heard somebody said that

hi again

Re: supplement vit...My Gynae gives me fish oil, multi vit and calcium...i hate calcium the most as i have to chew before swallow...yak....have to hold my breath and chew...sometime, my taste no good i skip that calcium...then i realize my finger nail break easy...haiz...my try to take calcium

hkbb, i take redoxon for calcium, and now my gal also take it with me, she like the effervesce thing and she says taste like soda, hahahahaha.

and like sunsweet and hkbb, since we have girl first, i also hope to have a boy to experience something different. but my girl pray every nite that she will get a baby sister to play wif her, hmmmmmmmm.

Amino can sure tell gender! Quite a few mummies here doing amino like me.Wish all the best outcomes for everyone!

I'm having backache these days. Should actually say is both buttock ache! Can use medicated plaster? I ask my gynae's nurse and pharmacy staff, they all say can use as they are external usage, not orally.
I just bought Salonpas patch to try(The cheapest). Any1 can advise on these? Cos I scare it will cause absorption and harm the baby.

Yen,

I'm ard 1.67 n weigh 52.6kg two weeks ago.. now think i should have increase to 53.x..

Sherryl, think u better dun eat too full for breakfast or else the pukey feeling will be worse? How about takin the medication 30mins after ur breakfast?

Tightness: i only have the tightness around the tummy area.. been having occasion pull around the uterus area,think it's stretching..

Fruits: I ate kiwi, apple, honeydew, dragonfruit, guava..the rest like watermelon, papaya, pineapple, green apple dare not touch..
One of my preggy frend said must eat a lot of fruits, rather than snack cos will put on unnecessary weight but too much sweet stuff can cause G.diabetes..Think i will also up my intake of cheese, cant stand milk even though MS has settle down..

Hi Mrs C,

I shall try taking the supplements 30 mins after breakfast,and see if it helps..

If not,i will check with doc ong again,to see whether can excuse from taking it...

MrsC, there are premium bus services by SBS to Shenton/Fullerton area, but it depends which part of the West you're in. Check this link: http://www.sbstransit.com.sg/transport/premium.aspx

One of my friends actually takes schoolbus transport from Tampines to Tanjong Pagar! Apart from having to travel with schoolkids, she says it is a good trip where she can sleep (most of the children are too sleepy in the morning to make that much noise) or catch up on her reading.

MrsC,
Wah piang. I'm 1.66 and 5 kg heavier than you. If you losing jawline, then my face already round like balloon! You can't be looking that heavy lah. Just now I was at gym and asking the staff if pregnant ladies can join the yoga classes, she still ask me who's the pregnant person who wants to join. If I already don't look preggy, I'm sure you still looking slim and trim.

Funny thing is, gym staff was shocked and said no exercise in first trimester. But Dr Chan said ok to go do light exercise. Anyway, I'm been doing exercise all these while, go check up on thursday will know if babay helthy or not.

Anyone starting to talk to baby yet? Found that these few days when I'm alone at home, I start to rub tummy and talk to baby... even though baby still cannot hear anything...

re: Stretch mark cream
Hi mummies, any one want
1. Galenic Elancyl Stretch Mark Preventive and Reducing Cream - 150ml
2. palmer's cocoa butter massage lotion for stretch marks - 315ml

Both 1 used a few times, not suitable for me, so I'm giving them away.

Now using Decleor (brand carried by my facial place) body firming concentrate oil and stretch mark restructuring gel-cream. Together about $200.... don't dare to tell the hubby... I'm the sucker type who's always very easy to sweet talk into buying beauty products... Sigh...

lamagier

that is good can even start to read to baby. even better yet is to get hubby to read and you just relax. when the baby is born he will respond very well to his daddy. heheh did it with my boy and he really responds great with his dad! amazing fact.... when my boy was delivered andmade his first sob, my hubby called his name and baby stopped crying and turned towards hubby. heheh that was how hubby managed to take his first pix!

re: weight

oh my then with that i must seem like an elephant now! am shorter then both of you at 1.6 and am now 57kg! :p heheh if i still need to ask people to give up their seats for me and my boy on the mrt and they look at me like am crazy then i can assure you that you must still be very slim looking mrsc!

re: fruits
i only know that if eat orange then there is higher chance that baby will have asthma, not allowed to take papaya or pineapples coz very liang or can cause miscarriage, durians, and mango also not advisable coz very high in sugar content and carbo can cause gestational diabetes.

wow you all are so healthy, i just try to run as much as i can after my boy and then its rest and rest! :p heheh i seem to be the slackest!

hehehehe, elijah'smummy, i'm an elephant too, i'm 1.65 but 60kg already....hehehehehe. my pre-pregnancy weight is about 55kg. just hope to get back to my old jeans next time.

ahhh, i didn't know eat orange will have higher chance of asthma....i've been drinking fresh OJ. i think i'll try to eat more apple lah. sometime i'm too lazy to cut fruits, so order juice faster, i'm becoming a lazy bum bum this pregnancy, hahaha.

hehe... talking abt weight. i think we shouldn't be too worried. Just don't gain too much. It's the only time we can eat and not worry abt weight gain. my first preg... i gain 17kg. took me 6mths to lose them all. this time, i just tell myself to control a bit.

talking abt fruits... i also don't know what fruits to eat. been drinking a fair bit of orange juice too. in fact, i find it a bit difficult not to snack and eat fruits though i keep reminding myself to do so.

Re: Weight gain
Most of e mummies here seem to be so conscious of our weight gain. I am also.... haha! My apeptite has increased n I tink I am gaining weight though I didnt check my weight since my last check up. For mi, since I am expecting no 2, i am afraid i cnt lose e excess weight after birth... thn will be out of shape easily. ;p

Re:#1
Same as mashy, my boy is gg to be 3.5 plus end feb. He is getting so clingy n always want mummy... He seems to be jealous of e bb though he loves bb a lot. He always sayang n tok to my stomach. haha! He is throwing tantrums on n off as well. Its definitely tough to be preggie with a toodler ard. I dont get much rest n spend most of my time with him when i am home.

re: fruits

i do have the ocassional craving for OJ so will order a cup and then share it. :p but then.... it could just be old wives tales..... though those were the advise that my granny gave me when i was preggy with my boy.

hmmm,
it seems that its better to take fruits then fruit juice though coz there is no fiber in fruit juice and constipation is supposed to be quite a prob for preggies.

heheh i am terrible too.... have been eating instant noddles coz have been too tired to cook for lunch when hubby is at work.... :p dinner i still cook coz its the 3 of us eating together.

re: weight gain
oh my 17kg! that seems alot coz i only gained 3-4 kg but my boy was 3.725kg at birth. heheh was down to 58kg post delivery then. hope this will be the same but i seem to be eating more this round though!

elijah'smummy
u gain only 3-4kg during yr first pregnancy? how did u do that? ya lor... shocked me when i hit the 70kg mark. gained most of it during trimester 3. my boy was 3.765kg at birth. my mum said could be due to the tonics i took.

Re:weight gain

I only gained 5kg for my first pregnancy, mainly cos first trimester lost some weight, all the waight gain was from second trimester, since wk27 gynae found I kena gestation diabetes, so start to control diet very strict, every check up weight kept drop or no changes until give birth. but my gal turn out very small, so I hope this time round I wont kena GD again and can eat normal and hv a normal weight bb.

babyethan

hmmmm, yaps could be that coz i only took bird's nest, some fish stomach thing(not sure what its called), and not much tonics. also i only really started to show when i was 7mths on. also hahha my weight gain only happened in my second trimester, after the second tri passed i actually stopped gaining weight. but baby was gaining 0.5 - 1 kg per visit.

Wow you ladies are really lucky to have only a bit of weight gain. One of my friends put on almost 20kg (even after baby was born!) and took about 2yrs to lose the weight. I'm trying to stay in control of my weight but so far I've already put on 3kg...

Look on bright side. As long as baby healthy, safe and sound, ok to gain abit of weight. Just that afterwards need to work hard to get rid of the weight. Main thing is baby be safe.

Now baby hidden inside, cannot see and hear baby. Always have to worry if baby alrite....

MrsC,
Aiyoh...you very slim le compare to me...me 153 height but weigth 52kg le...

For my first pregnancy, I put on almost 18kg. I managed to go back to pre-pregnancy weight 50kg in 3 mths.

Re: Weight gain
Elijah's mummy, you are gd to gain so little weight. For my #1, i gain 18 kg n was told by my gynae in the third trimster to cut down on carbo. Coz, if too much weight gain, its quite hard to give birth via natural delivery.

Lamagier, you are right. as long as bb is healthy, i think thats most important. Coz at e most of us here will pray for a smooth n healthy pregnancy with a healthy bb. hee!

Hi coolkero,

I read it's best not to eat salad cos not surer if vege properly washed. And salad dressing (creamy type) may have mayo and mayo maybe prepared with uncooked egg white.
Best stick to fully cooked food....

Been long since i last came in 2 this forum.

Mashy & other SAHMs,

u became SAHM when ur #1 came rite? How do you cope being just one person taking care of bb? No helper i suppose?

Am considering 2 be SAHM when my #2 comes, by then, my #1 will turn 17 mths. I wonder if it's difficult 2 handle both? No helper at all.

Could u all give me some advice?

Do you all know if I 'kena' retrench now, am I entitle for the maternity benefits(16 wks maternity leaves's pay)?